We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the service was poor”
Review of Grand Oasis Sens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Oasis Sens
Ranked #84 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Toms River, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the service was poor”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

the service was poor bathrooms are not in good condition cracked tubs paint peeling off walls no blenders at lobby bar there should not be a charge for room service every time you call they charge $12.00 for the service bars close too early housekeeping very poor there days when there no towels left in the room had to call many times for service that were supposed to be included

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are truly sorry you had an unpleasant experience during your vacations. We appreciate you for taking the time to share your comments; this helps us know our areas of opportunity so we can provide better services in the future.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to improve your perception of us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,767
    1,395
    816
    441
    537
See reviews for
306
2,897
160
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mérida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I went to thia hotel with my best friend as this is a gay friednly hotel. Good in most of all aspects, the food maybe is not that good, but clean, price regular to good , i definitevely come back next time

Room Tip: if you can upgrade to suite do it it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onn_toi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to greet you and at the same time we thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit to Cancun.

We are glad you enjoyed our concept and facilities and are delighted you had a pleasant vacation.

We look forward on welcoming you once again; please feel free to contact us prior to your arrival if we can assist you with anything to make your next stay a unique experience.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My friend and I (two single girls) traveled to Cancun from December 7-14, 2013. We got a great deal ($) for what it's worth. This was my second time in Cancun, first time at this resort, and again it did not disapoint. Hotel staff are super friendly, professional and helpful. Hotel grounds are super clean and well maintained; same applies to our room. The beach is gorgeous! Because this is an adults only hotel, it is fairly quiet - there are many couples and very few singles which is fine as we could take the bus to downtown Cancun for $1 USD and party there if we felt like it. That is the advantage of Cancun, it is like a mini Vegas, everything is on the main road and is easily accessible.

I'd like to give a shout out to Jorge and Jonathan from the animation team, they are great staff members, with a good sense of humour, very engaging and enthousiastic, they made us laugh a lot. Also, a special and warm thanks to Luz who was our server at both the Italian and The Box restaurants. He did a great job, was very friendly and professional.

My only "complaint" or perhaps I should use the word "recommendation" instead, would be that restaurant services/options should be revisited and looked at. They should have some sort of food available 24 hrs (I've traveled many times to the Dominican Republic, Cuba, Mexico to name a few, and there was always the convenience of having a 24 hours restaurant)...this place lacks this. They don't have a buffet lunch (which i prefer) - only a la carte. The small burger/hot dog/panini place was closed on the Friday so we had to do "a la carte" and it is not ideal when you are looking for a light lunch. We actually took the bus to the Grand Oasis on the Tuesday to try their buffet lunch and it was awesome; it is worth trying (as an Oasis guest, you can go to other Oasis hotels and eat/drink for free).

Please note that the hotel is quite far from the downtown area (20 minute bus ride - including stops). We visited friends that were staying at the Oasis Viva which is a 10 minute walk to the popular night clubs such as the Coco Bongo, the City, etc. so if you are looking for downtown proximity, i would recommend going to the Oasis Viva.

I met great people and made new friends, always a pleasure when I travel.

Thanks Oasis Sens for a great vacation, I would consider going back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rockndyva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. We are delighted you enjoyed our facilities, personalized service and entertainment. An important part of our effort is to create unforgettable experiences and our entertainment department works hard to offer shows and activities to achieve it.

We greatly appreciate all the suggestions you mentioned, they certainly help us improve in order to satisfy the expectations of our future guests the best way possible.

We would be pleased to welcome you again on your next vacation.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My friend booked her bachlorette party here in cancun and it was perfect! It was nice because everything was inclusive so we didn't spend extra money on food and ALCOHOL!!!!! When we arrived we were greeted promptly and got checked in even though our check in time wasn't till later. They had to acomadate for 15 girls....so having such a big group they took care of everything in a timely manner. The first glimpse I got when I stepped outside was breathtaking...the infinity pool over looking the beach was amazing. I really loved the hotel and it's decor! Our room was kinda warm even with the ac on. So we kept the windows opened at night, it had a nice breeze. The staff here are ALL very FRIENDLY!!!!! Everyone was so nice and they catered to everything we needed. The waiters at the buffet were the best, Luis, Moses and Emanuel took great care of us. The food was ok. At least we were fed so i cant complain. David from the bar was also really good, he kept the drinks coming....and that kept us happy:) although I wished they had hennessy! There was also Jonathan and Jorge from the pool, I think they were dance instructors, they were fun! My overall experience here was very good. I usually wouldnt care to name names, but they took their time with us that's how I was able to remember everyone's name. I would come back here just because the staff was so great! Thanks oasis sens for a memorable trip!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xtna82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with TripAdvisor readers, we feel completely honored that we met your expectations.

We greatly appreciate the special mention of those members of our team who helped make your stay more pleasant.

We are proud to say we have a team always ready to give their best at all times to make every single one of our guests feel at home and make sure they have a wonderful vacation.

We look forward on welcoming you once again; please feel free to contact us prior to your arrival if we can assist you with anything to make your next stay a unique experience.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 6 nights in September 2013, and felt that the experience was a great value for the price paid. This was our second stay at the resort.

Rooms - Due to low occupancy, the resort staff upgraded us to a suite, to our surprise. The room was spacious and suitably cleaned each day. TV service was intermittent, but we didn't visit to use the TV! We enjoyed spending time on the balcony with excellent views of the beach and ocean.

Food - Overall excellent, but breakfast usually left a little bit to be desired (fresh, but generally bland. Fresh juices were excellent, however. The Italian restaurant was excellent on each visit - carpaccio, salads and pizzas were especially good. Sushi was good, but very plain and waits could be long, at times.

Bars - bartenders all very friendly and willing to make anything requested. No wait times at all, as the hotel was very slow. Some top shelf brands were available, but had to be requested by name.

Entertainment - good overall, a big step up from our last visit. The drum & fire show by the pool was entertaining, as was the circus show in the lobby.

Overall, we would return again given the right price was available. This is not a "luxury" resort, and the prices do not usually reflect that, but the value and service seem great overall given this resort's rates in comparison to others in Cancun.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Ryan,

We are completely honored that your second stay was as good as the first. It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed the upgrades and changes we are constantly making to provide better services for our guests.

It is great to know you liked our facilities, restaurants and entertainment. An important part of our effort is to create unforgettable experiences and our entertainment department works hard to offer shows and activities to achieve it.

We look forward on welcoming you again soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We went to this hotel from December 7th to the 10th. The resort was nice! For what we paid, this was what you should get in this location so as long as you have the right expectations, it's a great place to go.

The positives are the beach is great, location is ideal, it's an all inclusive and the fact that it was an adults only resort.

The negatives were the food wasn't great. It wasn't bad, but not the best. The Italian restaurant was the best but the menu was fairly limited. The rooms seemed to have paper thin walls and our sliding glass door was probably the loudest in the history of mankind. The air conditioner in the room kept our room comfortable (low 70's) but it was set at about 60, so I think it could use a tune up. The bed was also rock solid.

The drinks at the resort were good and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jimmy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Jimmy,

We appreciate you for taking the time to share your comments about your experience at our hotel.

It is a pleasure to know you had a nice stay and that you enjoyed our facilities and adults only concept.

Thank you for your observations, we will definitely consider them as areas of opportunity to continue providing the best service possible to all our distinguished guests.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Me and my best friend/signifigant other stayed there for 8 days and 7 nights on our 9 year anniversary. The ride from the airport to the hotel was super quick! The front desk personnel was fantastic and very imformative. Our room was amazing! and super clean. We had an ocean view room and omg! the view from the 8th floor was so amazing it looked fake. "These are the waiters/bartenders to know. Italian Restaurant "Manuel, he's the best waiter I ever had in my life.
bartenders " Francisco & Carlos" they keep you smiling. The only thing I think they can improve on is, If it rains they don't have practically any inside activities. If you want to maximize your stay, get the free tickets from the front desk to visit, eat free, and enjoy the festivities for free at all of the Oasis hotels. This resort is the place for couples. I will return,

Room Tip: Get a Ocean view room UP HIGH , 8TH FLOOR if you can. the view is incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank askewh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your vacations in our hotel and we are delighted to have met your expectations.

We are glad you enjoyed our facilities and personalized service. Our staff works hard to create positive experiences in our guests for you to remember our hotel with a huge smile.

We look forward on welcoming you once again; please feel free to contact us prior to your arrival if we can assist you with anything to make your next stay a unique experience.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
12.7 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
7.5 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#36 of 175 in Cancun
662 reviews
6.2 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#51 of 175 in Cancun
3,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
0.4 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 175 in Cancun
3,130 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Oasis Sens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Oasis Sens

Property: Grand Oasis Sens
Address: Ave Kukulcan Km 19.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sens Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Cancun
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#52 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#54 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Oasis Sens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Oh yes - I'm sexy, sensuous... And adults-only resort that's romantic, relaxing and a little risque. Warm and inviting. Follow your bliss and learn my secrets -from my foodie-friendly gourmet dining experience to my exclusive Sian Ka'an preserve, a true Shangri-La, a lost paradise on earth". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Oasis Sens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sens Del Mar Hotel Cancun
Oasis Playa Cancun
Cancun Oasis Playa
Grand Oasis Playa Cancun Mexico
Oasis Playa Hotel In Cancun
Grand Oasis Playa Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing