We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax. Mediocre food. Benazuza MUST TRY!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Oasis Sens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Oasis Sens
Ranked #81 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to relax. Mediocre food. Benazuza MUST TRY!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Check in was good, we got there early and they held our bags and gave us bracelets so we could go grab some food and drinks.
check in was fairly easy, a bit confused when the front desk person gave us a run down of the schedule.
The concierge was very friendly actually the best person at the front desk!
When we first got to our room, we had NO towels and the room smelled off bug spray or something. Worse of all it was soooo hot! A/C on high was barely blowing any air. After calling the front desk 2 times and a bit over an hour we had the towels and A/C taken care of.
The whole hotel seems to not use much A/C, mostly just leave doors open during the daytime for air to go through.

FOOD::
Coba (buffet)- food was mediocre. one time they sat us at a table and it was crawling with ants!! The drinks they offered were on ice but always room temperature. For breakfast the omelet (made to order) station was the best thing there.
Benazuza- BEST FOOD OFFERED in the hotel. We were offered a free trial/sample menu breakfast and dinner.... we made the dinner reservation right away after check in. we thought we could just make the breakfast reservation later but that was totally wrong. they fill up really quick so make sure you make a reservation for this restaurant as soon as you check in. We got upgraded the day after our reservation so we didnt get to try a few of the dishes that comes out for the vip. The lady in the bar was absolutely lovely and friendly. The server was ok, not the nicest person, but got the job done. All the dishes that came out were unique, small and delicious and the presentation was also done very well. Its a pre-set menu.
Muerdeme Mucho Mexican- food was okay. lots of communication problems with the servers there. They couldnt explain anything on the menu.. basically just read it back to us. the chips with salsa and avocado was good.
Moonlight Italian- the shrimp spaghetti was good. but other than that we thought the food was pretty horrible. Service was really good though. When we asked about something instead of explaining they just brought it to us.
Mr. Wimpy snack- hamburger, hot dog, panini. we only tried the hamburger it was good. not exactly a hamburger though...
Happy Chicken- the fried chicken was tasty! its the better food out of the other restaurants.
Sushi- there was soy sauce all over the table under the table mats so constant bugs around. it was okay but i wouldnt really recommend it.
The box (tapas) - another place you can try with a reservation. the cheese platter was good with a glass of wine and the desserts were good. but the food well... we left most of it.

BARS-
Mare i think has the best drinks!!!
we didnt really drink at the bars much so other than that dont really have much to say about the bars.

KINKY club- entertainment was exciting. lot of the nights felt like we came to a strip club. Mi Amore the drag queen was awesome loved him!!! the drinks were so weak and mostly juice. i could drink about 5 and not even be buzzed. If you want a nice buzz stick to beer or shots.

Activities we did the water volley ball and aquaerobics. was a lot of fun. we're usually more on the shy type but they got us really into it and had a lot of fun! We always tried to catch the other classes such as stretching, bocca and dance classes but it never started on time and we always seemed too early or missed it. Found out later it was due to no one really showing up for it.

Its more of a couples place, not a crazy party scene. by around midnight or latest one everything is pretty much done. so if you really want to party it up probably good to plan to leave the hotel.

If you didnt eat by 10:30pm your pretty much out of luck. you have to pay for room service or again leave the hotel.but if you can wait for the morning the buffet opens back up at 630am.

UNIQUE VACATIONS sold out of the oasis hotels.....
well they talked us into it saying its not a time share. we went... we ended up staying at oasis viva basically the whole day! didnt even get to eat lunch. We ended up buying into it. not sure if its a scam or what still.... everything we were told by our sales guy was pretty much false so far. He gave us an email address saying "write to me anytime with any questions and I'll get right back to you" well we wrote to him several times he wrote back once and never again. After down paying a bit over 7k and another payment due soon... we still havent gotten answers back. Still trying to find out what we bought into!!! anyone else read this that signed up please write to us~ chang.y77@gmail.com. we cant find any reviews or comments online about unique vacations online. we did get an upgrade to a ocean view room which was much cooler and a free cab ride back to the airport... but hopefully thats not what the 40k were gonna end up paying was for. If any supervisors from oasis reads this part of the review please have someone from unique vacations take care of our problem. we've been dealing with them for 2 weeks now and still slow response! Very stressful and upsetting.

The hotel itself is lovely, clean and the layout was done very well.
Make sure you take a lot of dollar bills for tips. because even if its already paid for and included... they expect it and a lot of them well deserve it. They take better care of you when you tip.

The beds on the beach... you have to pay for it... NO ONE uses it... no water activities are offered... they have a few at viva though from what we were told.

We bought a wave runner excursion inside the hotel... and they have it at the beach right in front of the hotel, but we had to go to a different hotel to do that... which we didnt like so much.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Chang Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Chang,

Thank you very much for sharing such detailed comments with TripAdvisor readers, we feel completely honored that you had a pleasant stay.

We are glad you were able to experience our molecular cuisine; every dish that leaves the kitchen is a true delight and an authentic culinary experience.

It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed our entertainment since our staff works really hard to offer shows and activities to create unforgettable experiences for our guests.

Regarding your comments on the unique vacation package, please send us an email to info@oasishoteles.com with you reservation information and we will contact the department in charged to make sure you get an answer.

We look forward on welcoming you once again, best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,705
    1,343
    772
    409
    472
See reviews for
293
2,746
150
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,054)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewisville, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

My husband and I came here for our honeymoon over Thanksgiving break, and we had a great time. The service was excellent, the drinks were wonderful, the scenery was beautiful and the pools were wonderful. The best food was at the Italian restaurant. Lots of variety at the breakfast buffet (and excellent potatoes). Just be mindful that some restaurants are closed one night a week. We loved that there were representatives to sign up for day activities (these cost extra) right in the lobby. The shows they put on at night are wonderful. Our room was beautiful. We kept the balcony doors opened at night and had a nice breeze and the sound of the waves to fall asleep to at night.

We had a wonderful time and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Lauren,

We are flattered to know that your stay with us has motivated to share such a great review about our hotel.

We are very happy to have met your expectations and that you were able to have an excellent honeymoon. We work hard to create positive experiences in our guests for you to remember our hotel with a huge smile.

Thanks for highlighting those qualities that made your stay unforgettable. It makes us happy to know you enjoyed the restaurants, facilities, entertainment and personalized service we offer.
It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again on your next visit to Cancun.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

I went for a week in the end of November end for celebrating my anniversary.Overall It was an average to good experience.... Resort rating says 5 stars but it is almost a 3 star... Little bit communication problem for only english speaking tourists but we managed somehow..... Thanks to Jonathan, Josefina and the Manager at the front desk for helping us in relocating to a better Oceanview room...But The VIP Check-in girl named IRINA was terrible.... Being on front desk, she was not at all helpful and that was the first bad impression of the hotel as she was the one who checked us in.......I am thankful to Daniel who helped us all the time in the restaurants.......Food was average.....Less options for vegetarian people.......Pools were great, swim up bar was ok......Beach was awesome......Also thankful to the room service staff who decorated a very good room for us for our anniversary....WARNING: Please stay away from Carlos and other staff in the lobby who are UNIQUE VACATIONS employee with an oasis tag.They are CROOKS-Will try to trap you by offering a 90 minutes presentation with a bag and tequila as gift...........STAY AWAY FROM THEM.......When you will not agree to pay vacation or time sharing with them, they will show their rudeness............Very bad impression for Oasis group to allow these people on their premises........Just stay away and enjoy your stay.........

Room Tip: Some oceanview rooms have terrible A/C noise and weird kind of smell so if possible go for SIAN KAAN...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hardik83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion about your experience. All your comments are fully considered in order to improve our range of services and facilities.

We would like to let you know we are very devoted with our guests, and the staff is committed to understand, help and satisfy all of your needs. Thank you for letting us know the inconveniences you had so we can enforce and improve the service, since your comfort and satisfaction is really important to us.

It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed our facilities and we hope to have the honor of welcoming you once again in the future.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

This all inclusive resort has some really great things going for it. And yet, they screw up on some of the basics.

OUTSTANDING -
- Friendly staff
- Awesome setting on the beach
- Great pool
- Nice room
- Entertainment - top shelf - outstanding

NOT SO GREAT -
- The food is mediocre and the presentation is horrible in the buffet. Desserts at the Italian restaurant are inedible -- all of them. Buffet desserts slightly better.
- The VIP service is horrendous. No one ever at the desk. They can only wait on one person at a time. Their computer doesn't work. If I found someone, they always (without exception) sent me to the front desk. VIP desk (red carpet) needs to be moved to the front desk.
- A/C only works when the hotel deems its warm enough for you to have A/C. They just don't tell you that.
- The house wine is horrible. No bourbon at the bar. If you're going to do all-inclusive do it well or don't do it at all (that comment refers to the food and the alcohol).
- Frequently the pool towels were not available at 8am and they frequently ran out (without a capacity crowd).
- Bad smell in our room (sewer gas). Speaking with the front desk and the Asst Mgr got it addressed 90%.

If you address the VIP process, improve the food quality & presentation and improve the house wine, you will an all-inclusive that I would consider returning to.

Just an aside: The plunge pools on the balconies of some of the rooms are probably a wasted expense. We did not use ours and I never saw anyone using theirs. Spend this money on food & wine!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barry57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Barry,

Thank you very much for sharing such detailed comments with TripAdvisor readers, we are glad you had an overall nice stay with us.

It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed our facilities, entertainment and personalized service.

We appreciate your observations and suggestions you mentioned, we will definitely consider them as areas of opportunity to continue providing the best service possible to all our distinguished guests.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Sens is just fantastic. Great place to relax in peace and quiet. My wife and I would love to come back one day. The breakfast buffet is totally awsome. The staff are great in every way. To anyone looking for somewhere to stay - stay at Sens. I wish Cancun was closer so i could go yearly, but me being in Australia is a bit too far. One day i will be back. PROMISE!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank balkansun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments, it is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our adults only concept and our calm and relaxed environment.

We are glad you received an excellent service, excellent service. Our team is always ready to give their best at all times to make every single one of our guests feel at home and make sure they have a wonderful vacation.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again on your next visit to Cancun.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We loved every minute of our vacation!! The drinks were great and the scenery was wonderful!!!! Ernesto was the best bartender ever, drinks were sweet and strong!!! Service was impeccable, the hotel was modern, great place

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keisha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Keisha,

It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your vacations in our hotel and that you received such excellent service.

We are proud to say we have a team always ready to give their best at all times to make every single one of our guests feel at home and make sure they have a wonderful vacation.

We look forward on welcoming you once again; please feel free to contact us prior to your arrival if we can assist you with anything to make your next stay a unique experience.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

It was our first time at the OASIS Sens but not our first time in Cancun and the OASIS Sens was a wonderful surprise! The Resort has been the best Cancun resort stay by far!! It was clean, stylish and a perfect place for a relaxing vacation for my husband and myself. The staff was hard working with always a smile to greet you. Mauro at the Sushi bar was a total standout; he was simply the best! We always felt taken care of and appreciated.... The VIP upgrade "Sin Ka'an" was the best decision we made. Our check in was fast and was a breeze, while we sipped our cocktail (Big thanks to Jonathan, the VIP bar staff and Manager Luis). Our room was HUGE and was very nice and had the best ocean view…..it really was AMAZING. I've never been so close to the ocean and was completely blown away when we walked into the room! Modern furniture, stylish lounge beds and the "adult only" made it easy to relax and we felt stress free instantly! Benazuzza was a MUST do and the experience was a total stand out! The GLBT aspect didn't necessarily apply to us but was a wonderful addition to the resort. It truly felt as if the guests were easier to be around than at other resorts in Cancun, and as a straight couple it was a great surprise and made us wonder why more resorts weren't GLBT friendly...... Thank you OASIS Sens for an AMAZING VACATION!!! We WILL be BACK!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kenda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Kenda,

Thank you very much for sharing such detailed comments with TripAdvisor’s readers, we feel completely honored that we were able to make your first visit so pleasant and that we met your expectations.

We work hard to create positive experiences for our guests to remember our hotel with a huge smile. Thanks for highlighting those qualities that made your stay unforgettable. It makes us happy to know you enjoyed the restaurants, facilities and personalized service we offer.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again on your next visit to Cancun.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
7.5 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#44 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
6.2 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#49 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,154 reviews
0.4 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#26 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
0.3 mi away
Royal Solaris Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun
#35 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,128 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Oasis Cancun
Grand Oasis Cancun
#88 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Oasis Sens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Oasis Sens

Property: Grand Oasis Sens
Address: Ave Kukulcan Km 19.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sens Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Cancun
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#51 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#53 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#62 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Oasis Sens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Oh yes - I'm sexy, sensuous... And adults-only resort that's romantic, relaxing and a little risque. Warm and inviting. Follow your bliss and learn my secrets -from my foodie-friendly gourmet dining experience to my exclusive Sian Ka'an preserve, a true Shangri-La, a lost paradise on earth". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Oasis Sens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sens Del Mar Hotel Cancun
Oasis Playa Cancun
Cancun Oasis Playa
Grand Oasis Playa Cancun Mexico
Oasis Playa Hotel In Cancun
Grand Oasis Playa Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing