We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It gets Better With Every Visit”
Review of Grand Oasis Sens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Oasis Sens
Ranked #82 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great Vacation!!!
We just spent 5 nights from 7/17 to 7/22 and stayed in rm 707 there.This was my wife and I 3rd trip to Cancun and 3rd trip to Oasis Sens. I will be bringing the whole family for Thanksgiving, can't wait.
If I could make an appeal to management, Please do not remove Daniel the pool bartender from Sens, he is great and should be considered an asset to your company. Please put back the waiters that walk around the pool getting the guest thier drinks. other than that, we think you guys are great, keep up the good work and we look forward to seeing you in November
I work as a Regional Director of Environmental Services for 6 Nursing Homes and I give a big thumbs up to your Housekeeping Dept.

Mr. and Mrs. Roveccio

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vince R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Roveccio,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel during your multiple visits to Cancun, thank you for your preference, we feel flattered to have you as our guests.

It is a pleasure to know you received a great service. We are proud to say we have a team always ready to give their best at all times. We will certainly congratulate them for making your stay an enjoyable experience.

We are extremely happy to know you will be coming back soon; it will be a pleasure to welcome you once again. Please contact us prior to your arrival if we can assist you with anything.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,067 - 3,073 of 5,425 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

I've been to many many hotels and felt like i had a good experience so there really wasn't any need to write a review until now. Please people...as you are reading my reviews, note that when I say do not stay there....I mean...do not stay here...

First:

My trip was from July 17-July 21. After my flight from American Airlines was delayed three hours, my friend and I arrived at approx 1 am. By that time we were cranky and hungry and could not get anything to eat. You would think since they know this is a busy time for them that they would at least give us food, NOPE, we had to pay $15 for room service. The food was yucky!!!...Since this is a gay friendly resort, they assumed that we are a couple and placed us in a one bed room. That is AFTER we specified in our reservation that we need a two bed room on a high floor. Once we got there, they placed us in a two bed room on the second floor, which faced the The Whimpy. The front desk claimed there was nothing that could have been done for us so we were stuck with that room for only one night. The faucet was not working and when you turn on the cold water, water was leaking. The bath tub was cracked. Terrible room...Oh and I forgot to mention how dark and uninviting the lobby is. No one helped us with our luggage.

Secondly, We managed to get our room changed the next day and I must say Violeta was very helpful. The other staff members did not seem to care but what can you expect from a place like that. We were moved to the fourth floor and the room was a little better. We had a nice view but the room service was terrible. The air conditioner was set at 60 degrees but the room felt like it was approx 70+ degrees. Our rooms weren't cleaned until late in the afternoon. The cleaning products was so strong that we had to keep the door and window open to let the smell out of the room. OH God...

Lastly, the food is horrible. We ate at the Italian restaurant and I ordered the pasta in tomato sauce. OMG...the pasta was not boiled long enough to be cooked and I could not eat it. The breakfast buffet sucked. The food served more like a laxative for me...If you get my drift. If you want to eat quality food...you MUST and I repeat MUST go to Harrys. GREAT GREAT GREAT service...pricey but great...damn, I spent money on food and this is supposed to be an all inclusive resort.

On a positive note, the pool area is nice. The beach is gorgeous and it was really relaxing...despite having to work in order to get our living situation in order. I also liked being able to get on the bus for $1 and going to the mall. Really nice...

All I can say is...do not stay here...so not worth it!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lilly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Lilly,

We are truly sorry for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We appreciate you for taking the time to share your experience; this helps us know our areas of opportunity so we can provide better services to all of our guests.

It is nice to know you liked our calm and relax atmosphere and that you enjoyed the pool area and the beach.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the future to enhance your experience and perception of the Hotel.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Originally we were booked at Oasis Tulum but due to power and A/C failure we were moved to Oasis Sens. We waited at the Oasis Sens's lobby for 5 hours to check in to a room. The reception staff stalled us hour upon hour telling us the rooms were not ready. Finally after 5 hours they decided to send us 3 kms down the road to their sister resort called Oasis Cancun. It will take another paragraph to explain the quality of Oasis Cancun. Suffice to say that it is substandard. The following morning we returned to Oasis Sens at 1:00pm and again the rooms were not ready. They made us wait till 3:00pm to get our first room and 4:00pm to get the second room.
Rooms were modest, bath tub drained really slowly, daily rooms cleaning were late around 3:00pm, they were stingy on bottled drinking water to the rooms, they only had king beds with a cot, no two double beds were available.
There were no free non-motorized beech recreation available, no paddle boats, no Kayaks, no sail boat, only free sport available was beech volleyball. The resort didn't have basket ball nor tennis, there were ample swimming pools, aerobics, cha cha, rumba, slasa workouts, ping pong and board games were available too.
Bars were plentiful including at the beech, swim up pool bar and various other locations. Food was great too with Buffet, Sushi bar, BBQ & Rotessarie Chicken, italian, Mexican and Arabian. Arabian was very hard to book and subject to cancellation often due to rain. Quality of food was pretty good. Last call for food was 10:30pm.
Some of the welcomed unexpected sights were seeing men's size 13 shoe size lizards running around the garden and 150kgs sea turtles coming to the beech at night to lay eggs. These two were amazing experiences. This is coming from a guy who enjoys NatGeo over American Idol).
All in all i rate this resort as AVERAGE.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear James,

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniencies that occurred during your stay.

Regardless of the issues, we are extremely happy to know you were able to enjoy our various food and beverages selection and glad you had the opportunity to be in contact with nature.

We wanted to let you know that our concept is an adult’s only hotel with a relaxed and serene environment. Despite this, we still offer various moderate indoor and outdoor daily shows and activities to entertain our guests.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to improve your perception of us.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

A great place to relax. Great entertainment staff. The rooms are clean. The service is good. The food is good. They have an excellent chef, with a great upscale restaurant. They have different shows everyday for all hotel guests. The hotel is small but very elegant. I would definitely return and recommend others to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Mary,

Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. We are delighted you enjoyed our calm and relax atmosphere, our rooms and our entertainment. An important part of our effort is to create unforgettable experiences and our entertainment department works hard to offer shows and activities to achieve it.

We highly appreciate you recommending us and we hope to see you soon again.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Some small remarks make that this hotel isn't full top (yet?). Example: without prior notice one the restaurants was closed whole week for diner (Gran Coba). Some dishes were not available in the other restaurants (several days).
Besides this, all is available to give you a very relaxing experience. The SPA resort is very professional and good value for money, ask for Berta and her team for a red wine/chocolate massage and so much more.
Drinks and food (sushi!!) during daytime at the pools and bars are very good.
99% of the bar men are pro in mixing and serving cocktails, beers, shots ...
Pools and chill areas everywhere, nice private beach, inhouse night club, sunset bar, entertainment: live music, Mayan stuff, cirque-du-soleil like acrobats, ...
Best of the hotel = Benazuza !!!!
We'll go back!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the lower floors,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B31R3S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your preference and for sharing your experience of your time in our hotel. All of your comments are very valuable to us since they are our main tool for improvement.

We are delighted you enjoyed our calm and relax atmosphere, facilities and our entertainment. An important part of our effort is to create unforgettable experiences and our animation department works hard to offer shows and activities to achieve it.

We are truly sorry to know that you had some issues with one of our restaurants but we hope you were able to enjoy the other great variety of restaurants and bars we have available.

Hope to see you once again.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My partner and I enjoyed staying at this hotel. We liked that it's not so noisy and the location on the beach was great. We liked the benefit of going to other Oasis hotels. It's nice to change atmosphere and see what they had to offer. We're impressed with Oasis Sens in general but we think the food variety was a bit limited. Breakfast choices were always the same, which was expected but choices for lunch and dinner should be more varied.

We received great service from Cristian, Ernesto and Jose at the restaurants. It was always a pleasure to have Luis (our favorite seater/greeter) welcome us to Muerde Mucho restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sogreat18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to share such nice comments about our Hotel. We are flattered that you have taken advantage of our runaway program and that you enjoyed the location and facilities of our hotel.

It is very satisfying for us to know that you had a great time and a wonderful vacation.

It has been a pleasure to serve you and we hope to see you again soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

If your are looking for a fun and relaxing vacation this is the place. Great location, beautiful beach, unforgettable food, fun activities and great parties. We had the best time! Restaurant food and services are excellent. Loved the guacamole. Special thanks to Joel and Guadalupe in Muerdeme Mucho and Eladio, Luz y Alfredo in Moonlight. The entertainers are the best-Sabina, Jonathan and Jorge, thank you for making our vacation better than we expected. Loved Kinky bar and the night at Captain Hook galeon. Our ocean view room was spacious and clean. We will definitely be back. Thank you Oasis Sens!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillyPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Sens, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Willy,

It is a pleasure to know that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed our dining options, entertainment and especially our excellent service.

We are proud to say we have a staff always ready to give their best at all times and create positive experiences for our guests.

Hope to see you again soon and do not hesitate to contact us if we can assist you with anything on your next stay.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
7.6 mi away
Grand Oasis Cancun
Grand Oasis Cancun
#96 of 177 in Cancun
10,888 reviews
6.2 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#46 of 177 in Cancun
3,746 reviews
2.8 mi away
Golden Parnassus All Inclusive Resort & Spa Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Occidental Costa Cancun
Occidental Costa Cancun
#48 of 177 in Cancun
6,007 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#38 of 177 in Cancun
2,253 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Pyramid at Grand Oasis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Oasis Sens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Oasis Sens

Address: Ave Kukulcan Km 19.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sens Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Cancun
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#53 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#54 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $182 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Oasis Sens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Oh yes - I'm sexy, sensuous... And adults-only resort that's romantic, relaxing and a little risque. Warm and inviting. Follow your bliss and learn my secrets -from my foodie-friendly gourmet dining experience to my exclusive Sian Ka'an preserve, a true Shangri-La, a lost paradise on earth". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Oasis Sens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sens Del Mar Hotel Cancun
Oasis Playa Cancun
Cancun Oasis Playa
Grand Oasis Playa Cancun Mexico
Oasis Playa Hotel In Cancun
Grand Oasis Playa Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing