We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel and food”
Review of Maya Caribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maya Caribe Hotel
Ranked #153 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“hotel and food”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

hotel and food was extremely bad and discusting,I wouldnt reccomend accomodate.Very dissapointed,all surounded especially drunken russians,they was so rude.Getto capm!

Room Tip: not in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Maria P, Director of Sales at Maya Caribe Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Hello Sandra....we appreciate your comments, however, in order to improve the quality of our services, I would like you to send us your feedback about what you think it can be improved in our rooms, services and facilities. We do not chose our guests but we always take actions against those disturbing the rest. Please, feel free to provide additional comments to sales@celuismamexico.com
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    42
    35
    31
    70
See reviews for
39
49
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We booked Roulette vacation with Sunquest and ended up in the Maya Caribe. We weren't sure what to expect as the hotel had several bad reviews. We were very pleasantly surprised! Our room was very large, ocean view with a king size bed, and sliding doors out onto the beach area. The grounds were beautiful, the beaches clean and not crowded at all. The food was great, good variety for a buffet restaurant. The location is also great... it's a quiet area but close to lots of entertainment. The most amazing thing was the staff! Everyone was so friendly and helpful! And Ivan and Paloma did a fantastic job of entertaining us and getting us involved at the pool area!
All that being said, it is an older hotel and if you look for flaws you will find some... if you are looking for a Five Star resort you probably shouldn't book the Maya Caribe. But, if you are looking for a great time for a great price then this is the place to go!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

We enjoyed our stay here. We travelled with two kids and got two rooms. It was very affordable. It is not a luxury place. It was kind of like going to a cabin. The plumbing has major problems. The beds and pillows were VERY old and not to comfy (bring a pillow). If you are looking for small and quiet and very beachfront it is awesome. Food was okay and the spa was nice.

Room Tip: We changed to a beach view. If you offer a tip you will be more likely to get the room. It is almos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Del Carmen, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

On arrival we were taken to our "room" which was nothing short of a garden shed, we had booked a sea view but ended up in this little shed thing in the garden. The door had a huge gap underneath it , the safety deposit box was hanging off the wall, the bed/sitting room light did not work and there was no hot water. We returned straight back to reception to complain and were told that there was no other room available but that we could move the next morning. We went to the reception the next morning to be told that there was still no room available and we would have to stay in the shed. Luckily our Rep arived and had a chat with the reception guy, surprise we were taken around the hotel and given the choice of two rooms. Neither had a sea view but at least they were clean and had electricity and hot water. If our rep had not interveined on our behalf I don't think we would have had a hope.
We were staying all inclusive but it was the worst version of all inclusive we have ever found. If you did not get to the restaurant as soon as it opened you had very little choice of what was there to eat. The two bars ranout of wine 6 times in the two weeks we were staying there.They ran out of vodca gin and teqila one night. The only way to get the drink you wanted was to be a good tipper, not quite my idea of all inclusive.
Although we did eventually end up with a fairly decent room on two ocasions we returned to our room in the afternoon to find the shower tray bubbling up with raw sewage, the smell was awful. As our room was on the second floor I was unsure of who's sewage it was. They sent a plumber up to put some strong chemical powder down which seemed to clear it but only for two days then it happened again, thank heavens it was then time to come home.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

The hotel is really nice with a great swimming pool in front of the sea.
The staff is really friendly and helpful.
The only flipside are the food which is average, but it is really cheap.

Very small hotel so you don`t have to walk amlotto get to the beach!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelhappy080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

the setting of the hotel was verygood but that is the best i can say the only resterant was the worst i have ever bean to the food was terrible the service was none exsistant if you didnt get there early thay ran out of food and what thay did have was cold there was another resterrant on site but it was the other side of the hotel and the staff had to carry the uncoverd food across the gardens because thay did not cook in the second resterant there was only a couple of tabels and chairs out side so even if you managed to get a drink from the bar there was nowere to sit with it the rooms were very basic with no hot water at all and not very clean

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wurzelofleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

beautiful gardens- ocean view rooms are 50 feet from ocean

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank macambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dos Playas Beach House
2.1 mi away
Las Perlas Condos
Las Perlas Condos
#150 of 175 in Cancun
693 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
#102 of 175 in Cancun
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cancun Clipper Club
Cancun Clipper Club
#81 of 175 in Cancun
601 reviews
1.2 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#148 of 175 in Cancun
174 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Caribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Caribe Hotel

Property: Maya Caribe Hotel
Address: Paseo Kukulcan Km 6, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#59 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#77 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maya Caribe Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maya Caribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Caribe Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing