We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Ranked #57 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

The room was sooooo tidy and clean. Good amenities.
But one time cleaners forgot to replace new shampoo when they cleaned up.It seemed not professional for me like far from 4 star hotel service.Even they brought it to my room, they had no smile.

I left my shirt when checked out and called the hotel but it took a long way. I needed to call them many times, and they never called me back. finally they said it took $200 for the shipping fee... I really felt "I shouldnt forget my things in Mexico".

But there is very beatufil private beach you definitely enjoy!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,157
    1,078
    469
    208
    177
See reviews for
768
1,302
138
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Overall, this Hyatt is not up to the general Hyatt standard that I am used to around the world but it is still a very good hotel at a price better than the standard, more-expensive Hyatt hotels in other parts of the world..

That being said, the hotel location is good, the staff try their best, English is quite good and overall they all make the best effort to provide a comfortable stay. Yes, the standard of service is not the "standard" hyatt level of service- i.e. a few days in a row I had to request laundry bags, breakfast menus, etc) - but the lower room rates made up for these small issues.

So all in all, if you still want the general familiarity of the Hyatt chain with staff that do try their best - stay here. If I come back to Cancun, I would stay here again.

(One note, there was some confusion over a charge on my bill and the front desk manager dealt with it very professionally)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott_Lombok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyCancun, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Grand Punta Cancun, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your kind letter regarding your recent stay.

We are always very happy to hear from our guests; we shared your comments with the staff and were commended for their efforts.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

After selling our condominium after 29 years, this was our first Cancun hotel experience, and we were a litlle apprehensive.

I've seen this hotel through the years, and saw it close and change after Wilma, but we were very pleasantly surprised by the quality and value. It's not the Grande Dame it used to be when it had monstrous ficus trees in the lobby, but it was extremely professional, clean, and the price we received for the room was an outstanding value.

Only dined here once, and the breakfast prices were not at all unreasonable. Late night bar staff was very good.

This is the area where our condo was, and we will most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I love the view south down the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 41-38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyCancun, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Grand Punta Cancun, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your kind comments; we are all very happy to learn your experience in this beautiful part of the Mexican Caribbean, along with our hotel and services, were appreciated and enjoyed.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was really nervous after booking this hotel - I have no idea why!!

Me and my partner stayed on the 5th floor with an ocean view room. The views were amazing.

We had great views and clean bed linen and towels daily. One day they forgot to leave us towels, upon request they bought them up immediately.

The room was clean and nice to stay in. The drawer with the safe never opened and we never touched it. Our belongings were never touched. We ordered room service once and it came on time.

You can double your credit when you buy any level of credit (very handy when you keep your wallet in the room!) You don't realise how expensive it will be! They had a great spa but again very expensive! The hotel staff were reasonable, the queues at the check in/reception desk were silly. We used the concierge to help us out - he was average, nothing special. The pool was really nice and don't forget to see the other pool too!

The Grill restaurant had amazing food and drinks as did the pool bar. If you have foursquare check in and get 241 on all drinks at the pool bar.

The bad side was that our room had two other peoples bills added to it, when we had not ordered any of the food on there. It later transpired that despite me not even signing the receipts we were charged (you sign each bill to avoid any doubt) and on checkout we managed to resolve the issue immediately.

As soon as you walk out staff will whistle a taxi for you. It is a fabulous location close to all of the clubs and the main strip in Cancun. The hotels private beach is also awesome. The area next to the beach has four poster beds and little circle hubs near the pool. We went at the perfect time.

I would definitely go again, but make sure you take lots of money with you!!

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room every time
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pooni21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyCancun, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Grand Punta Cancun, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear guest:

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your stay; we are very happy to learn that our main purpose, which is helping you have a great stay, was accomplished.

Just to inform you we will have available our promotion Hyatt doubles your credit on next year and keep doing another promotions in 4square!

We look forward to welcoming you back and enjoy the beautiful beach in this area of our Mexican Caribe.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at rhe Hyatt in June 2012 mainly because of the reasonable cost and their double your money food coupon deal. This is not an all inclusive hotel but if you bought a food "coupon" they would match it. So I paid $100 and had a $200 credit for food only. Others in my party bought more and we were unable to use the whole thing before leaving. So this worked out fine for me. If you love to eat and drink alcohol this may not be for you. The breakfast was good the usual stuff eggs, bacon, orange juice cereal etc.
-The overall appearance was Ok nothing fancy but it was kept clean and front desk service including check in was excellent.
-the rooms are decorated with modern furnishings but had only the bare essentials
-It was slow season so they upgraded us to a ocean view room and moved some of the other people traveling with me when they complained their room smelled musty.
Positives
-But overall you get what you pay for ...adequate rooms
-the safe was free
-they had a coffee maker
-Never felt unsafe
-Waking distance to middle of Hotel Zone Strip literally
-Beach was great
Negatives
-the refrigerator we couldn't use because they were silent mini bars. Move any of their contents out of place and your room was charged.
-Rooms were decorated with the bare essentials bordering on ugly
If you want to go the cheaper way and you don't care about ambiance or food, and you just want a place to sleep then this is the hotel for you.
-Food was so so
-Internet was NOT free not even in the lobby

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hottyhotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyCancun, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Grand Punta Cancun, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your kind comments; we are all very happy to learn your experience in this beautiful part of the Mexican Caribbean, along with our hotel and services, were appreciated and enjoyed.

We have discussed your comments with our Executive Committee and rest assured these will be the focus of their attention.

Just let me inform you that we will have available our Hyatt doubles your credit promotion on next year also.

We look forward to welcoming you back and enjoy the beautiful beach in this area of our Mexican Caribe.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durant, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were a little unsure of booking Cancun for our honeymoon due to the "spring break" reputation but it was great! There were plenty of activities to choose from, the Hyatt Regency resort was the best location. The staff was really friendly and helpful and the resort was very clean and had the most to offer of all of the ones we researched. They have on-site activities and we even had a candle light dinner on the beach. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The ocean view was definitely worth the upgrade! Very beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyCancun, Front Office Manager at Krystal Grand Punta Cancun, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay. We are certainly happy to learn you enjoyed it and look forward to assisting you in celebrating such an important Day!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, FL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

my relationship with the Hayatt Regency - Cancun began almost 30 years ago when it was one of only a handfull of properties in the burgeoning vacation mecca of Cancun, MX. As one of the first hotels in Cancun's "Hotel Zone", it secured a prime location on the point of Cancun with magnificent views of the Caribbean, sprawling beaches, and within short walking distance of shopping, clubs, and additional restaurants. Thia all remains the case today. The hotel had a wonderful, welcoming, Mexican ambiance with an abundance of colorful, hand crafted wall-hangings, tapestries, pottery, and its 14 story circular atrium featuring cascading, living foliage.
Unfortunately.... Hurricane Wilma (2005) caused this, and numerous other hotels in the area, extensive damage resulting in it being closed for repairs and renovations for almost a year. When it re-opened, the warm, welcoming, Mexican ambiance was gone, replaced by a rather muted, minimalist decor. With that said, I still adore most of the aspects of this property and have stayed here numerous times since its renaissance.
Perhaps its signature trait is the awesome view offered by any of its rooms. Even after many, many stays here, the view is still awe inspiring. The best of the best view is probably had from rooms facing south, overlooking the entire hotel zone strip and miles of beach and ocean. Be it the ever changing Caribbean blues of the ocean by day or the jewel like string of hoyel lights by night, it is spectacular. Many Cancun post cards have been shot from this location.
Within the property, the upper three floors comprise the The Regency Club area. Rooms here offer a host of additional amenities and their own lounge area. Well worth investigating prior to booking. Or...up-grading to for $60.00/day.
The Hyatt offers two restaurants and a "Deli". On the ground level, off the atrium, is the breakfast buffet. It has a good selection of regional dishes along with made-to-order omlets and an interesting assortment of breads, fruits, juices, and meats. The lay-out can be a bit of a challenge during busy times, but the overall quality and selection of food and the lovely ocean view, make it well worth a visit. Price....as in all hotel zone restaurants, is expensive.
A second restaurent, open for lunch and dinner, is The Grill, located between the pool area and the beach/ocean. Here I found the food to be good, well presented, but not particularly inspiring or innovative.....and again, price is in the upper realm.
Back inside the main building of the hotel, near the entrance, is the Deli. It has expanded hours with snacks and beverages able to be eaten there or taken to rooms.
The highlight of my last visit, however, was the Spa. A wonderful experience which is now on my "must do" list for any/all future visits.
The beach, which had been lost to Wilma and remained missing from this property for several years, has been replaced by a massive reclaimation project. It is now better than pre-Wilma. It, however, is being lost little by little to each passing storm. Enjoy it while you can. The hotel has numerous palapas and lounges on the beach and Bali Beds ( no additional charge) overlooking the beach and sea.
To summarize: I'd have to say the list of positives for this property have to be...location, location, location......followed by Regency Club ammenities and room locations, Spa programs and staff, pool area and beach ammenities, the lobby and atrium interior, front desk staff and bell staff.

On the negative side: The staff of both main restaurants could have been a bit more welcoming and personable. It was September...slow season....time to take time with your guests. As great as the circular atrium design is...it also allows any/all interior noise to be transmitted directly to every guest room. Better sound proof doors would help. And a safety note... The showers, like the bathroom and bed room, have marble floors....extremely slippery when wet or with wet feet. A handrail or two in the shower and bath are needed.

Room Tip: High room on the south facing side will have a spectacular view day or night. Ask not to be next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#70 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,679 reviews
4.7 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
0.2 mi away
Aloft Cancun
Aloft Cancun
#68 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
0.7 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
0.2 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krystal Grand Punta Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krystal Grand Punta Cancun

Property: Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 8.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Hyatt Regency Cancun)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#40 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#41 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#42 Family Hotel in Cancun
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Krystal Grand Punta Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Krystal Grand Punta Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cancun Hotel Cancun
Hyatt Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing