We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jim Moschoyiannis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Ranked #53 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is an amazing hotel and highly recommended. The concierge Jim Moschoyiannis is brilliant and makes sure that you have a great time. He goes the extra mile and earsn every cent of his tips. The hotel staff as a whole is great and the rooms were very clean and compfy. Highly recommend it, only bad thing I could say was that house keeping missed a few days and we had to request towels but they came up straight away.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 373MichelleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,287 - 1,293 of 3,544 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

We were in Cancun for a wedding and booked the hotel through Agoda. It was pretty much as expected. The hotel is located on a less crowded part of the beach very close to the clubs. The service was standard. For a place carrying the Hyatt name I'd say it was average but that says more about what one expects from the Hyatt brand than for the hotel itself.
Since we were there for a wedding at another hotel we did not spend as much time as we might have in the facilities. However, I can say that I would book this hotel again.

Room Tip: At the moment at check-in the Hyatt Cancun is offering the chance to purchase credit from US$100 to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Everything was wonderful at this hotel! Beautiful view, clean beach, excellent service! Really the perfect place relax. Close to everything but far enough away from the crowds and noise. The best of both worlds!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conventiontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Just finished spending a week at the Hyatt Regency Cancun. After reading the reviews posted, was unsure what to expect...loud noise from the ac units of the resort next door? Great service? Bad service? So, we went with an open mind.

We were fortunate to be on a Regency Club level which got us access to the club lounge, breakfast, snacks at night and free beverages PLUS free internet during our stay. Location of your room is key if you wish to avoid the ac noise that is mentioned in other reviews. We were on the 14th floor and didn't hear it.

*The Great Stuff*
The beach location was superb! Being at an end of the beach area meant a more relaxing environment. We were warned by friends about being bothered by beach vendors but only saw one during all of our time there.

The beach was amazing and set up for relaxation. In Mexico, all beaches are open to the public and there are no "private" beaches. The Hyatt has plenty of beach chairs and palapas with tables. More importantly, they have staff monitoring their beach areas so non Hyatt guests or those who did not buy a day pass were gently removed from the chairs and back to the public sand.

The central location was superb! If clubs like Coco Bongo are your style, they are close. Shopping is close. Other restaurants are close. Just go outside and walk a bit. Our favorite place was the little burrito shack called the Surfin Burrito across the street from Senor Frogs. Avoid the frog and embrace the surfin burrito!

Activities were present for those who wished to partake. Water aerobics, yoga, volleyball, arts/crafts, croquet and more were done on the hour by a trio of very friendly (but not pushy) activities staff. We did a few and had fun.

The Double Your Credit promotion is a no brainer...do it!

Bali beds and the pool were fabulous! Relaxing with the beach in front of you, winds caressing your skin and drapes blocking the strongest rays of the sun...those Bali beds cannot be beat. Add in a pool waiter to bring over food and drinks and you have heaven.

*The Bad... aka the Caveats*
The hotel's dramatic open lobby rising up to the top of the hotel is not good for keeping noise down. It is all hard tile floors and open space which sometimes served to amplify noise happening in the common areas. This is a design issue and you are either ok with it or you are not.

The hotel rooms are similarly attired with tile floors and the absence of carpet (which I understand because beach sand + carpet = nightmare) means that there is not much to absorb sounds from inside your room or the rooms near yours. We learned this vividly when one night the folks partying until 4:30am in the suite next to ours sounded like they were in our room, it was so loud. Luckily, this was only one night and they left the next day.

Internet service is slow and spotty...be warned.

Food was hit and miss both in quality and service. The servers were kind and usually attentive but it took a long time for food to get to your table. This was consistent for our 6 days at the property. Being on vacation we weren't in a hurry but it seemed like some changes could be made to make the kitchen more efficient in turning around orders.

Beach party noise - Yes, you probably want a beach facing room but for those nearest the Dreams resort, be aware that they sometimes have beach parties that have loud music and run late. We called the front desk staff to investigate as it seemed odd to hear music filter all the way up to the 14th floor from a beach party next door.

In room ac needs some tuning up - The entire time we were there we tried to get the ac to cool our room down...even just a little. That room temperature shifted one whole degree the entire trip. That was a bit annoying.

*Conclusion*
All in all, it was a fun trip and the hotel's good points outweighed it's bad points. Would we go back here? Sure! Would it be during spring break (aka party hell)? No way! :)

Room Tip: Higher floors have less ac noise. Upgrade to Regency Club, if you can so as to take advantage of fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SandraG23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed at the Hyatt Regency in Cancun for just under 2 weeks. We opted for an ocean view which was breathtaking - lovely to wake up to every morning.

Encountered a few issues with the room however, it rained a lot the first couple of days we were there and I noticed some water had seeped in from the balcony. This was dealt with promptly but the problem returned on 2 more occasions. Quite annoying as you don't expect it to keep happening.

On the whole the hotel is very clean and rooms are basic but you have everything you need. The breakfast at O was yum but overpriced at $21!

The grill restaurant is also very nice.

Service at check in / check out could be quicker and staff could be friendlier seeing as you would liked to be greeted in a positive way after a long flight. Having said that. The bellboys do a fantastic job and room service was very quick.

Beds are very comfy but the shower could be more powerful.

Overall I would return to the hotel due to its lovely beach and close proximity to all the hot spots ie Coco bongos etc.

Thanks for a great stay and 11 nights of lovely sleep!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KMarls7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I first stayed here at the Hyatt in 1987. Back then it was the talk of the town. Since then, many new properties have risen to unprecedented levels of luxury. While this is still a very nice stay, I would recommend other properties UNLESS the deal is extraordinary. At times one can book for little or nothing when the chains run specials. So keep alert and watch! The Hyatt Regency has good food, nice pool, funky beach....everything is dated. I am not sure when it was last renovated. The location however is excellent as you are in the thick of it. You can relax or get caught in the hub-ub of Cancun life!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123goSt_Louis_Mo_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

First time at a Hyatt, the location is good because it is on the beach, and the pool area is quite pleasant. However:
- wifi isn't free, and in the 21st century it should be!
- the plumbing in the rooms is terrible, the toilets don't flush easily, you have to learn how to press it halfway down and if it doesn't work it gets stuck. Also, the toilets in the basement have no flush on them, the sensors don't seem to work
- some of the staff were not friendly. I arrived at 10:05am in the Regency lounge on the 14th floor, the attendant was already clearing breakfast and would not wait for me, she was pulling the dishes away from under my nose. Also, the reception staff never smile and had no maps available.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ianoflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#68 of 176 in Cancun
5,117 reviews
4.7 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#46 of 176 in Cancun
2,141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
0.8 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
0.2 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krystal Grand Punta Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krystal Grand Punta Cancun

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 8.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Hyatt Regency Cancun)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Cancun
#37 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#41 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $136 - $559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Krystal Grand Punta Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Krystal Grand Punta Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cancun Hotel Cancun
Hyatt Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing