We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9,853)
Filter reviews
9,853 results
Traveler rating
4,150
3,139
1,357
652
555
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,150
3,139
1,357
652
555
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswayne's bootsadult poollos galloskids paradisela piazzamechanical bulltrafalgar barfrench restaurantmain poolnew towercovered poolsteakbunk bedszip linegames roomfamily resortchicken wings
Filter
Updating list...
5,048 - 5,053 of 9,853 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2011

After reading all of the negative comments, we were unsure of this resort. DO NOT BELIEVE ANY OF IT! I think that all of these negative comments come from people who are not happy with anything. Our room (with bunk beds) was perfect. It was clean and our beds were made everyday AND we also saw the maids scrubbing the tub and bathroom EVERYDAY! The beds were great - yes they were firm, but what's wrong with a firm bed - that is what we are supposed to be sleeping on. We did not even ask for a topper. We phoned everyday for room service, asking for 6 waters - they were delivered quickly. The food was AMAZING - if you find something you don't like - don't have it again - there are SO MANY things to choose from. It was delicious. We phoned every morning at 8:00 to book for the NEXT day at an a la carte restaurant. If you don't do this, you may not get in. Many people expected to just walk in or reserve an hour before the meal. Call the day before. You can only call one day in advance. The only restaurant that we didn't go twice to was the Mexican one - it just wasn't our favourite. The beach was beautiful. Our girls, 10 and 12, had so much fun in the waves. I would suggest going down early to reserve your chairs (by 8:00 or maybe a bit earlier). Just take your towels down and put them on - the signs say you can't, but EVERYONE does! The Sushi bar opens at noon - absolutely DELICIOUS. We had it EVERYDAY!!! You can order two at a time.....get in line at 11:45 because it takes a long time to get your meal as they make it right in front of you. Be first in line!!!!! All afternoon there is fries, hamburgers, tacos, amazing wings, drinks,etc.......to eat. You can always go into the buffet and grab some ice cream or whatever else you want. What we loved the best was that when our girls were hungry an hour after they just ate, they could go and find some more food!!!! The only negative thing about the resort is that the pools are FREEZING....too cold to get in......at least for us. The kids pool is better but it isn't deep - too shallow for our kids. My husband wants to go back to this resort ASAP!!!!! This is a family resort so adults without children may not want to come here - but I sure would - there are kids everywhere but there are so many clubs for them to attend that they are off and away enjoying being with the wonderful leaders. This is a MUST resort - our family LOVED it!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anderson4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We spent 2 weeks at CPC and we loved it!! It is the perfect resort for kids, with kids club day and evening, so you can eat in peace at any A-La-Carte restaurants, that you can book unlimited!!!!!! Booking is best done at 8:30am, not right at 8, that is when lines are busy, or try the concierge desk, right around 8:30am. The drive from the airport is only 15-20 min.

THE FOOD

The 5 A-La-Carte restaurants were all very good, and you can eat every night, no limit.
Just make sure you reserve your kids club in the eve. if you want ot eat with no kids, especially the french restaurant where kids are not allowed.
The buffet is mediocre but you will never go hungry, the lunch by the pool hut has fantastic wings, and other options, opens at 11, and the japanese by the beach and pool opens from 12 to 5, is fantastic!!!

BEACH

Very nice and wide but he sand is coarse right when you walk in the water, so you have to be very careful.
You can get a million shells if you want.
You can go for very long walks if you want, in any direction.
They clean the beach every night and arrange the chairs, if you want to reserve a chair you have to do it by 8-9 am to still find some.
The ocean is ruff, be very careful with kids in the water, the water goes deep very quick and then the sand raises up and it not so deep anymore, that is where a lot of people have a lot of fun with waves. But you have to pass the deeper area first, about chest deep for an adult, and very ruff ocean. But we did have 2 days of calm ocean and that was absolutely beautiful, my kids snorkeled and got a million of shells from right under the water only 1-2 metters from the edge of the water. The colour of the water is breathtaking!!!! Usually in the morning the water is more calm and by noon or early afternoon it gets wavy.

POOLS

The pools are clean, the adult pool is in the back of the hotel, the infinity pool is the one with the activities, and the only heated pool is the one that is covered, the one next to the the kids club and the lobby. But on hot days the pools water is pretty warm, feels cold only at first touch.

ROOMS

Rooms are OK, but the bathrooms are very small, (water pressure if great), still they are just fine for the time there, you are not spending much time in the room anyway. We had room #1639, on the 6'Th floor, amazing ocean view, in the older tower, that is right above the main lobby and bar and it is noisy at night but if you keep the balcony door open a bit the ocean's sound covers most of the noise, and by 11 the noise fades anyway.

SERVICE

Room service is very slow, do not bother, they have a midnight snack that has a very good menu, just go and order from there and you have more variety and it's faster.
Other than that, service is very good everywhere, the restaurants, the buffet, and the reception desk. There is no FRIDGE in the rooms, unless you upgrade for the new tower, and it costs quite a bit more per night or if you upgrade to the bunk bed rooms, but then you don't get the great ocean view, the bunk bed rooms are on the same side
with the destroyed resort that is the the left on the beach as you look towards the ocean.
If you want bottled water you can only get it through room service, so tip them and get a bunch at once, so you don't have to keep waiting for them.

KIDS CLUB AND ACTIVITIES

The best kids club ever, it is at the back of the hotel, it has reservations for night time too, they feed them lunch and dinner, they have activities like pinata making, ceramic painting, cake eating contest, crafts, basketball, etc. The pirate boat is very nice and the slides but the water there is freezing!!! So make sure you bring a towel for your child and some clothes to change when he is done water play there. They also have a zip line and big water slides on the side of the hotel, and a climbing wall, and a pretty nice minigolf. See the pictures.

CONCLUSION

All in all it was a very nice stay, I would totally recomend this resort for families with kids, not so much for people without kids or honeymooners. You will have great time, we loved it. Be aware if you loose a towel or a towel card you have to pay $35, if you loose your bracelet you have to pay $50 and if you loose the safe key you have to pay $85, (the safe is free of charge). We also went to the flea market (20 min. by bus, $1 per person for each ride) where everything is much more cheaper than at the hotel when the local vendors come with stuff every 3 days or so, (we went on a rainy day).

Have fun!!! From Ramona from Calgary.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RamonaFromCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Where do I start, after reading the reviews about this resort I was pretty skeptical but decided to stay anyways. I decided to email and reserve our nights at the specialty restaurants a week in advance. The reservations department quickly responded and notified me of our confirmation. Without stepping foot on the property, I quickly noticed the great customer service that this resort strives for. The only downfall of our whole entire stay was the transportation from the airport to the hotel. The company has a monopoly at the airport. Have it booked in advanced there are no outside taxi services allowed to pick you up from the airport. They provided a birthday cake for my son after dinner, a wonderful touch. The resort is about a 3 or 4 star resort. The rooms are nice, the beds are ok but the view is to die for. A beautiful beach and pools make up for it all. The resort is very kid friendly- providing pool activities, kid club and water parks. The water slides were great and there was rock climbing and zip line for the kids. Lets talk about food: The buffet is just that a buffet. The breakfast was good, there is a mexican section, a deli sandwich/smoothie section and a italian section for lunch. The sushi was ok, although I have to say the burgers, nachos and chicken wings by the pool were great. The drinks were great and they had no problems keeping them flowing. Every specialty restaurant was great. The Mexican-must haves blue margaritas and ceviche. Wayne Boots- must have rib eye and beef tenderloin. Fishermans and The Italian restaurant were great as well. They are totally worth the reservations over the buffet. We really never did of the non motarized activities, there was no need plus they are off site which is one down side. Overall, this trip was amazing and memorable. I would definately stay here again and recommend it anyone that asks. Plus, for an extra touch we received a $100 credit for our next stay.. See you soon again Crown Paradise Cancun.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank yarissar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

After reading all the bad reviews on this resort i was worried, but after staying there from jan 15 to jan 22, i can honestly say that there is nothing wrong with thjs resort.
the food was absolutely the best, the three best resturants are the italian, the french, and waynes boots, you have to try the mechanical bull, what a hoot.
the beach was one of the best ive been to, but you do have to go early to get a chair, lots of local venders on the beach but none of them were overly aggresive or annoying.
p.s. cigars on beach are fake, only buy from la casa de habenos or duty free at air port.
the staff, some of the most friendliest people ive met, gwendoline who work in the crown club room was propably the most helpful and nicest, followedby diego the bell boy. best bartenders had to be alfie at the adult pool, and rogelio at the lobby bar.
the rooms were very clean, the hot tub in the crown club room, with aview that looks out to the ocean will always be remembered. the maid was very good, always availible to get us more coffee, clean housecoats or towels, and always made the cutest animals wiyh the towels.
anyone who complained about the children or noise at this resort obviously had a personel problem or they were there during peak season, if you get a noisey room ask for tower two, if you dont like childre stay in the crown club suites and avoid the main pool.
all around this is avery nice resort and i would diffently recommend it to friends, i know oneday i will return to see how my new friends are doing and to live the vida loca.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dclow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

I was very nervous after reading reviews on here and I was ultimately quite pleased with the resort. I booked through RCI so dont know whether that made a difference in my room but the room was huge for me and the 2 other adults and 2 kids in our group. We were thrilled to have 2 huge bathrooms. The room was clean and well stocked. The beds were hard like alot of the reviews stated but we were all able to sleep fine. The main issue we had was that by the end of our stay our room had a damp feeling to it and there was no place to hang wet bathing suits so we had to pack them still wet and they had a mildewy smell.
The food was good. We loved the breakfast choices....just wish that breakfast started earlier since my kids were up every day at 6 and breakfast not available to 7. We used that time to save our chairs by the pool and/or beach. For lunch we either had sushi or chicken wings. Both were great but the lines to get them was very slow. We made reservations for a different restaurant each night enjoyed the variety.
The shows at night were quite good just wish that the started more on time. My kids liked the baby club the first two days but didnt want to go back when Miss Janine was no longer there. My oldest didnt want to be with other kids club. I think the age range for that group was too large, ages 4-12. I was also not comfortable with her swimming without us.
Overall we had a great time and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank efollick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews