We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crown Paradise Club Cancun
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Oasis Sens(Cancun)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (9,180)
Filter reviews
9,180 results
Traveler rating
3,694
3,026
1,309
626
525
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,694
3,026
1,309
626
525
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswayne's bootsadult poollos galloskids paradisela piazzamechanical bulltrafalgar barfrench restaurantcollage barmain poolnew towerbunk bedszip linegames roomsteakfamily resortchicken wings
Filter
Updating list...
6,424 - 6,429 of 9,180 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2004

We've been back for a while, our visit was 9/25-10/2, 2004. Planned for this vacation for months and was sorely dissappointed. Have been to Cancun 4 times, always stayed a the OMNI in the past and was pleased but decided to try this place instead this time. This was our 1st time at CPC and won't stay there again. Here is why...

ROOM: Paid extra for Club Floor in new tower. Room was nice, maid service was EXCELLENT, concierge service good, room was ready on time and clean, no problem there. The A/C was a HUGE problem!! Had read other reviews of this same issue and thought "we live in hot/humid Florida, and have been to Cancun this same time of year before and knew how hot/humid this time of year is, how bad could it be??" IT WAS AWFUL!!! There is a thermostat on the wall that was useless. Reported the problem to the concierge with no resolution. We had to keep the drapes closed to keep the sun/heat out so there went our view!! The maintenance staff hung wet drapes in our room which made the situation worse. My husband said that the a/c didn't work well because there was only one vent to cool the entire (large) room. So we even resorted to hooking two belts together, attaching them one end to the wall the other end to the tv cabinet and draping sheets over the belts to try to tent or capture the minimal amount of cool air that was coming out. With the a/c so poor, everything was wet with humidity!!! The beds, the pillows, even our clothes that were in drycleaner bags soured!!! Now remember, we LIVE in Florida with the heat and humidity, so we knew what to expect as far as that goes, but we were expecting some releif from the heat/humidity at least when we slept!! Our home was ravaged by hurricane Ivan and we were without power (in FL) the week before our vacation, so we were planning on a nice get-away and at least some a/c. But that didn't happen. And the staff did NOTHING about it!!! JUST BEWARE of the a/c problem there.

FOOD:
The food was good. Not great, but good with many choices. Know that you MUST make reservations the day before you plan on visiting ANY of their restaurants. I mean, who decides the day before what they are going to have for dinner the next day?? We figure that the CPC saves money that way by not allowing you to make reservations that same day, thus forcing you to eat elsewhere. Room service was ok, if you only want appetizers. Not much choice other than a burger with nothing on it. However, the romantic meal in our (Club floor) room was absolutely WONDERFUL!! Can't say enough on how pleased we were with that. Wished that caliber of service and food was throughout the CPC.

TIMESHARE/VACATION CLUB:
B E W A R E !!!!!! Stopped by the information booth for some general info and was talked into signing up for the "free" breakfast/tour with promises of "free hats and shirts". Well, we should have been smarter because ALL THE BREAKFASTS ARE ALREADY INCLUDED in the all inclusive price. Duh!! Was told at the info desk that we didn't have to take the tour to get the freebies, just do the breakfast, but that wasn't the case. Never got the freebies even after talking with the Club level concierge about it... Oh, well...

POOL & DRINKS:
Family pool was too loud. The entertainment staff was non-stop. No relaxation time. Always noise, noise, noise!!! Kids were evident, but not a problem. The place is big enough that you don't feel overwhelmed by them. Also, no trees or umbrellas for us who need a break from the sun. The adult pool was much better. Our bar-keeps there were great!!! Tip them well!!! The glasses were only 6 oz cups, so you almost HAD to purchase the ones for sale in the numerous gift shops to get a "normal" size drink. The booze they use is the absolute cheapest you can buy, so no "call" drinks -- all cheap "well" drinks. But all in all, they were ok I guess.

ACTIVITIES:
Although we realized that this is a "family" resort, we were hoping for additional adult activities. Since the adult pool closes and stops serving drinks at 5 p.m., not much choice of things to do for us adults other than sit at the lobby bar (not air conditioned) and swill the cheap well drinks. Also, beware of the "locals" that come in and set up their souviner tables a couple times a week. Highly over priced!!! Look elsewhere in Cancun for the same goods at cheaper prices.

ALL IN ALL:
Would NEVER stay there again!!! A non-caring staff and the other associated problems have tainted our experience there. Also have informed our local AAA South branch of our lousy experience there. Wish there was a way we could get a refund... it was THAT BAD!!! Just know that the old addage stands true... YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR and BUYER BEWARE!! This is probably a GREAT place for Spring Breakers, though. But for us, it's back to the OMNI -- where we know it's a good thing. Ta-ta CPC.... for good!!

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shelling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Scotland, UK
14
Reviewed November 27, 2004

We recently spent 8 nights at the CPC and had a really good time.

We read the reviews before going and sent an e-mail to the CPC asking for our room to be located in the new tower and confirmed that our booking should be a double room and on as high floor as possible.

When we checked in we had been allocated a double room on the 7th floor of the old tower, we decided to look at this first, the room was a bit disappointing as it looked as if it needed new furniture and painted, we asked to see an alternative room in the new tower, we were shown a room on the 2nd floor but this had no view and to be honest wasn't in any better condition. We decided to stay in the 1st room and came to the conclusion that the hotel needs some (not much) TLC!

The food was really good and I am a fussy eater. We ate in all restaurants and didn't have any problems making reservations for the a la carte restaurants other than us forgetting which wsn't a huge problem as you can use most of these restaurants at 9pm without booking!! Our favourites were 50's - really good quality food and quiet setting - and Wayne's boots were the steaks and ribs are great!!

The service by the waiters is very attentive in all restaurants but the buffet restaurant is let down by the miserable staff serving the food! There is a great choice in the buffet restuarant and everything seemed fresh.

The snack bar at the poolside servied great burgers and hot dogs and the japanese place was great and worth the wait in the lengthy queue's!!

On a negative note, this hotel is very noisy!! There is constant noise at the pool, mostly from the staff and also blaring music, this isn't quite as bad at the adult pool but there is sometimes a smell of sewage there!

At night a mexican group play at the lobby bar but the design of the building means that you can hear this in all rooms very loudly, also the bar staff have whistles which get rather irritating!!

We were disappointed in the lack of beach and so used the sister hotel which was far more relaxing without the noise!! The beach here is lovely and has waiter service on it, the buffet restaurant is also very good.

Overall we had a great stay but would rather they had found the volume button on the sound system during the day or at least gave it a rest!!

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
England, Birmingham
17
Reviewed November 27, 2004

Well where shall I start this holiday was fantastic from start to finish!!!

Me and my boyfriend have recently returned from cancun. We holidayed from the 9th November to the 23rd. If you are planning to stay at this wonderful hotel you surly wont go wrong!!

The food is excellent there is loads to choose from.I was so suprised I was just expecting a buffet, but no there are several fantastic restaurants to choose from. Our particular favourite was Fifties. The service is erxcellent and the food is out of this world. The only thing is if you have kids this is an adult only restaurant.(The only one mind.)

Being young aswell me being 19 my b/f 22 the night life is excellent. For roughly $20 each (thats roughly £15) you get:
Transport to the club
A table waiting for you when you get there
FREE BAR ALL NIGHT!!!!
(I asked for a shot of tequilla I GOT A BOTTLE!!!)
Waitor service all night
We had some excellent nights out, senoir frogs, COCO BONGOS!!, Bulldogs,daddy rock
And what makes it even more great is you go with the entertainment staff from the hotel. These guys are all so great, we made some great friends. Thery work so hard during the day and they carry on into the night.

My boyfriend was in heaven, there is plenty going on round the pool in the day. But on the otherhand if you dont want it, there are 2 other pools to choose from.(one being an adult only pool with a swim up bar!! and hot tubs.)
We strongly reccomend playing tequilla volleyball, its a scream!! There is also water basketball, water polo, volleyball.

Our rooms were great, maid servive daily with her daily touch of a flower on the bed for decoration, clean towells daily. Oh and if you are taking beach towells with you DONT no need,just wastes space, you can get a fresh towell every day or whenever in the day.

There are some good bars to go to on a night in the hotel. Our favourite was the lobby bar. Look out for Alberto he is a scream, if you order a shot of tequilla as I did you get hit over the head with a plastic bottle simultaniously with a whistle blasting, its hard to explain but its so funny.

You are right on the ocean its so beaautiful, but I wouldnt swim in it, it was still a bit rough from the hurricane. If you do want to sunbathe on the beach we recommend going to the sister hotel I think there are shuttle busses going every half hour from the hotel, very convenient, but again the sister hotel is for adults only!

All on all we hope you have a great time at this hotel just as we did.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2004

Finally I've gotten around to writing my review of the wonderful Crown Paradise Club! There's a lot of info below, so sit down, relax and enjoy!

We (me, wife, daughter 8, son 6) spent 9 days at the CPC from November 13-21, 2004. We were amazed at the size of the place, and the overall efficiency of everything. Check-in (and the so very sad check-out) was smooth, but upon arrival our ocean view room was not available, so we were given a partial ocean view room until one was available. If they had not told us, we wouldn’t have known since we were in the new tower (be sure to request it!) and almost every room has a great view! Two days later we were easily moved from 2209 to 2221 (on the second floor) and got an even better view.

The room was very nice. WARNING: This is NOT a 5-star hotel, and you should not expect perfection. Everything worked fine, the toilet didn’t smell at all, and never backed up. The water pressure was tremendous, I didn’t want to get out of the shower! The beds were quite comfortable, although the pillows were small and rather soft for my taste, so I grabbed the extra one in the closet to “double up” (DaddyO’s prerogative!). The rooms were often noisy, due to incessant slamming of the room door from the suction caused by the balcony door being open, an unfortunate byproduct of the hotels air flow. You are also warned not to stand on the balcony when both the balcony and main doors are open due to sudden winds that can be strong. Also, the walls were very thin, such that conversations were easily heard if you have noisy neighbors. The rooms were cleaned very well, and nice swan shaped towels were always left in the bathroom, along with flowers and fans made from the toilet paper and tissue box. The televisions had mostly Spanish stations, but the few English stations were fine (CNN, ESPN, and CARTOON NETWORK, etc.).

The food was amazing! We didn’t hit every restaurant, as the buffet was awesome and we loved the variety! Wayne’s Boots was fun, and the steaks were nice and big and juicy. My t-bone was large, probably 14-16 ounces, and my wife’s filet mignon was around 8-10 ounces and DELICIOUS!! We ate there twice and celebrated my daughter’s 8th birthday there. Both times a cake was provided, and the second time the cake was arranged by the concierge and was nicely inscribed with her name and had some rum and sliced strawberries and peaches inside. All complimentary! The wait staff was wonderful, and never let our drinks get too low before providing a refill. Also, be sure to try the Japanese restaurant near the main pool, they make tempura, fried rice, sushi, etc, to order and it’s all very fresh and delicious. Some people complained about waiting a few minutes, but hey, how quickly can you make things to order when you’re waiting in a line?? I think people were getting used to instant service as a lot of the other “snack” bars that had grilled food like hamburgers, hot dogs, etc. had a lot of food prepared to save time. We ate so much food, it was all delicious, and the breakfast buffet at La Palapa near the main pool was awesome. LOVED the crispy bacon, the hash browns, any cereal you like, tons of fresh fruit, etc! The waiters there got to know us and always brought coffee and drinks for us as we sat down. We always gave small $1-2 tips to them, and they were always very appreciative. They were just as nice to everyone else, regardless of tipping, but they seemed to go the extra mile for us. BTW, we drank the water, and it was delicious, purified, and actually very tasty! None of us ever experience any stomach problems.

The pools were fine, nothing special. Always plenty of room, and chairs available when we were there. The side pool off the main pool gets shady very early due to being in the shadow of the new tower, but the main pool and adult pools were fine, and decently warm, NEVER COLD! What was that other person talking about? We got there late on a Saturday, found out that the pools were available until 10 pm, and jumped right in! Even at 9pm, the pools were quite nice after the 90 degree day! The adult pool is great for sunning yourself, cooling off in the water, and swimming up to the bar. Those bartenders worked their butts off, unfortunately for quite a few of the daily drunkards who liked to get smashed by 10 am.

The Kid’s Club was fantastic! I can’t say enough about this feature of the resort, included, like everything else, for free! A large water park, with multiple slides and a huge Pirate ship, was so cool for the kids (and adults too, during family hour). They also take the kids on side trips to El Rey to feed the iguanas, do arts and crafts, play games, and they’ll take your kids to lunch, dinner, and the nightly hotel show, if the kids are thee during those times. You are welcome to leave your kids there from 9am to 9:30pm, if you desire. We never kept them there more than a few hours, because we actually like to spend time with our children. But, many kids lived there as their parents ran around doing their thing. Thanks the Pretty Paulina, Happy Helen, Crazy Emily, Fancy Fran, and all the young ladies who were such warm and lovely people and made the Kid’s Club such a great experience! The Kid’s club was just newly renovated when we got there, and was one of the highlights of the trip for our family.

Yes, the beach was ruined by the recent hurricanes, but who can blame the hotel for that?? Hopefully either Mother Nature and/or humans will do something soon as far as reclamation of the beach area. You can still use it, as it’s normally 20-30 feet wide during the day, but the water was so rough, you probably wouldn’t want to venture out into the sea at the moment anyway.

All rooms have safes in them now, the final floors were being done in the old tower while we were there. What else can I say? The place is spotlessly clean, always being cared for. Some areas are looking their age, but overall it’s a very nice place, not 5-star, but a tremendous value for the money. 8 nights including airfare from Philadelphia cost our family of 4 approximately $2800, which was less than half of what we were quoted for the Moon Palace. Now don’t get me wrong, this place is no Moon Palace by far, but with the leftover money we would have spent we had a wonderful time and had thousands to spare!

A big HELLO to all of the wonderful Canadians, English, Scottish, Mexicans, and many other nationalities that we met at the Crown Paradise Club! You are all wonderful people and we felt honored to meet and have fun with you all!

BTW, we saw the beautiful wedding party that was held on 11/16/04. The bride and her maids and flower girls who flew all the way from England were gorgeous!

Any and all questions are welcome, please feel free to email me at daddyo66@gmail.com!

10  Thank DaddyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Center Moriches,NY
13
Reviewed November 26, 2004

We just returned from cpc 11/17-11/24 and had a wonderful time!! We have 3 children, ages 10,7 and almost 2. This place is made for families! We were very happy with everything, especially the care of our 3 kids. The two older one's loved the kid's club, and our toddler LOVED the baby club. We could not get her out. I never in a million yrs. thought I would ever leave my baby in a "baby club" in cancun for more than maybe an hour or so a day, needless to say, she would wake up at 8:30 am begging to get dressed and go to "school" as she called it. We would try to pick her up and she would leave kicking and screaming. One night after one of the very fun family shows, we were walking back to our room and she saw Rosie at the baby club cleaning up and closing. She banged on the door until rosie opened it and hugged and kissed her and rocked her until she fell asleep and then gave her to me. What's better than that? They truly care for the children and really have a great time with them. The food was excellent, and can't complain about the margarita's either. I don't know that this hotel would be my first choice without kids, but a definate for families! Take advantage of the clubs and relax and enjoy!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews