We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crown Paradise Club Cancun
Ranked #59 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“So Relaxing”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We spent a very relaxing week in one of the Honeymoon Suites and overall we enjoyed ourselves. We were here a Sun-Sun in mid May and reading some other reviews we were concerned that it would be very busy and that sunbeds would be difficult to find or that booking a restaurant would be hard but alas no it was quite the opposite.

The restaurant booking system can be confusing or annoying for most but were considered "Club Level" so could use a Concierge in the 8th floor Club Restaurant to book ours whereby apparently everybody else could start ringing a number at 8am. In saying that I did notice other people were making bookings at the ground floor Concierge desks with absolutely no issues so you should probably try that because it's not far from the breakfast buffet. We went to the Italian and Mexican restaurant twice and preferred those. We didn't bother with the French restaurant and Waynes Boots, although sufficient, is a little lacking in quality of the Steak. We were kind of disappointed with the variety on the menus in each restaurant as it was quite limited. The Buffet was perfectly fine. It's a little haphazard where they place items in so much that you have to travel to different sections to get items you would have assumed should be next to each other. There is an "Adult" seating section of the Buffet which was weird that it existed because why would somebody take issue with children eating near them but I guess if the entire 8th floor is Adult only, Trafalgar bar and the French restaurant are Adult only then why not have a seated area of the Buffet Adult only as well.

We stayed on the 4th floor in the "New Tower" in a Honeymoon Suite and I didn't think our specific room was worth the money. There are 8 of them but 3 of them(ours) are different from the others. The one directly below us had a huge terrace with sun loungers, jacuzzi, day bed, hammock, 2 chairs and a table. Off that was a living area with sliding doors on two sides adjoining to a bedroom. Ours had no Sun Terrace, nowhere to put a Sun Lounger, no table and No Living area off of it. Instead our living area was where the sundeck should be with windows. It was essentially a smaller outdoor living area. When you open the Suites door from the hallway you are in a living area with no doors, instead windows only on 2 sides, which is hot and stuffy like a greenhouse. It collects the wind like a sock as well and because the bedroom door, off it, is just a normal internal door sends a permanent wind noise through the room. Unusable basically if you like sleep. The bathroom had 2 sinks but no glass shower like some pictures I saw. It was just a shower above the bath but although fine was a little disappointing. You would have thought the honeymoon suite would have been the most appointed of rooms. We didn't trust the safe in the room because if you enter 1,2,3,4,5 the safe would open irrespective of what code you chose so anybody could enter your room and open it.

Some reviews refer to the hotel being in need of repair. I agree and disagree. I agree because some things need attention like the weird air con unit just sitting on our small terrace making that area a no go because it is very hot and also the balcony door had no outside handle so opening it from the outside was a challenge. The hotel though, when we visited, was being painted in different places and they are always cleaning the public areas and most of it is done during the night.

The lobby bar seems to be the main place in the evening for a drink but not many seats unless you go inside to the "Collage bar" which was more like a teenagers games room/sports bar. Well, they say sports bar but a few small LCD tvs on the wall showing regional sport is the closest it gets. There is a table service but getting your own drink is much quicker and the bartenders are very good at their job and very quick but I don't know whether tipping them got us any better service. The challenge for those staying in this tower is definately the bar I would say because the sound must resonate up and along the buildling. I noticed down the the nightclub and Trafalgar bar there were those duplex family rooms on the ground floor. That cannot be good for families.

The Club rooms are on the 8th floor of Tower 2/B and when you exit the lift it says "Adult Only Floor" and the Club Room is up here which has the Crown Club Room where you can have an American Breakfast and use the Concierge service to book your restaurants for that night and the following night. There is one computer in here with Internet Access. You are asked to stick to 15 minutes and most people did. Honestly those paying for Club Rooms should be given WIFI for free considering they have paid for an upgrade already.

The hotels had a beach BBQ on the Saturday which we went down to but for 30 minutes it was just kids games so we left. There was a fire show, food and a bar(which is there every day).

The hotels allows people sell their goods in the foyer every 2nd night(it appeared) and you really need to haggle. The stuff they sell, it seems every vendor in the region sells anyway so handy if you don't plan on leaving the resort.

Drinks. If you know the names of Cocktails then you'll be fine. We didn't so were often saying "we'll have one of those". The only names we recognised were Smirnoff and Bacardi. Everything else was unknown to us.

Location. It makes no difference really because of the bus services up and down the strip. As long as you not leaving the peninsula any bus R1,R2 or R3 will do fine and it's 8.5peso currently. They are literally every 1-2 mins and you didn't really need a bus stop because they beep as they come up behind you so just put out your hand when you see / hear them. It's worth nothing though that the R2 to Walmart/Mercado 28 can take up to 30mins because of the frequency of stops.

Would I stay again? I would but I won't. There's so much in the region it would be foolish to go to the same place again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BertieBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaki J, Guest Relations Manager at Crown Paradise Club Cancun, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Catch Frase,

On behalf of Crown Paradise I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us while vacationing in beautiful Cancun and for taking the time in leaving such a detailed account of your stay. So many readers will appreciate it. I am glad that you overall enjoyed your stay with us, although saddened that you will not be returning. If you do have a change of mind, please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any help.

Best wishes,

Jaki Jamieson
Social Media Coordinator
Jjamiesoncrownparadise.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,758
    2,678
    1,218
    579
    483
See reviews for
3,837
1,651
87
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Central Ohio
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel is in need of some renovations and restaurant improvements. The hotel is in a great spot overlooking the Caribbean Sea with no obstructions to the view. The beach is clean, well maintained and the available furniture is reasonable quality.

There are 4 pools on the property and 1 is designated adults only. The 2 pools that are in the center of the property are in very good condition and always active. There are servers and lots of food choices close and readily available. We did not spend any time at these pools because we chose to frequent the “adults only” pool. The “adults only” pool was not maintained as well as the other 2 pools and there was no food to be had anywhere near it. There was a “swim up” bar which was convenient but this closed at around 5:00 each day. The “adults only” pool did not have any visibility of the beach and had a view of the road or the condemned hotel next door. There was also a pool that was focused on younger children that I only walked past but it appeared to be well maintained from what I saw.

There were other entertainment areas on the property that did not seem to be supported or working. A water slide was mentioned but I did not see it. From the hallway near the elevators in my building you could see basketball courts, field hockey and huge chess boards but I never saw anyone near them.

There are 10 choices for food on the property and below I will detail each one:
Sans Souci (French cuisine): This restaurant looks very nice and is said to be “Resort Elegant” for dress code which was left for interpretation depending on who you asked. The description on their website says “Gentleman must wear long pants, shoes and collar shirt”; some said that this meant closed toe shoes so do not plan on wearing dress sandals like I was. There is no detail for the ladies and it showed in the variety that I saw in the restaurant. Our server was very nice and provided very good service; I unfortunately do not remember his name. The normal menu was reasonable but the quality was lacking. The French onion soup was reasonable but nothing to write home about. Their version of Duck L ’orange was very fatty and a small portion. The breads were good. The seafood entrée was reasonable but my wife was sick with diarrhea for 2 days after eating it. Wine choices on the property are lacking so do not expect much more than a $10 bottle for $25. Their interpretation of crème Brule was barely caramelized and tasted more like tea than caramel.

La Piazza (Italian cuisine): This restaurant has the look of a typical Tuscan style Italian restaurant. The salad bar was very sparse with maybe 1 or 2 options that would please each patron. Bread choices were reasonable; we did not like the one covered with parmesan cheese but the garlic breads were good. The minestrone soup was more like an Italian version of the wonton soup that you see at the very low end Chinese restaurants; water with a few vegetables. The steak entrée meat was reasonable but the vegetables were untouched due to the very bitter taste. The seafood entrée was reasonable but nothing more. Dessert options were typical for the entire complex.

La Palapa (Buffet): We unfortunately ate many meals here and became tired of everything. The best option was the Mexican station which I ate at most of the time. The Italian station usually only offered pizza under a heat lamp with odd toppings (one day it was peas). The center station which offered American foods usually had beef, pork and fish options along with a variety of sides that often included French fries. I ate several hamburgers out of frustration with the options. I would describe the hamburgers as “edible”. The desserts here consisted of several production line options that you usually see at your local cheap buffet. The “ice cream” was actually ice milk reminiscent of the 1970’s in the United States. One of the best servers in the buffet was a gentleman named “Angel”. He was almost clairvoyant in his abilities. He would bring drink refills before I asked and was there every time that we needed anything.

Fujiyama (Japanese cuisine): This was more like a low end Chinese restaurant attempting to do Japanese food. It was just a very small buffet just off the beach and main pools.

Poolside grill (fast food): This place was self-serve hamburgers and hotdogs. Food here was edible.

Room Service (the basics): Eat at your own risk. The food was basically food from the buffet that was delivered to your room so slow that it was cold. The breakfast service (hang the card on your door the night before) was very confusing to order and the food was mostly cold when delivered.

Crown Club Lounge (8th floor concierge type room): Breakfast was available with a reasonable selection from 8 to 11 each day. The selections changed daily and were average for a free breakfast at a Holiday Inn or Hampton Inn. The server at breakfast was Isaac and he was very friendly, helpful and all about customer service. He would remember your drink preferences and ask when you arrived it that was what you wanted. In the evening from 6 to 11 this was a bar with a few different liquor options from the other bars on the property. Carlos tended bar most nights and was very friendly and attentive.

Los Gallos (Mexican cuisine): After our experiences with Italian and French cuisines we opted to skip the rest of the “specialty restaurants”.

Fisherman’s Seafood (Seafood): After our experiences with Italian and French cuisines we opted to skip the rest of the “specialty restaurants”.

Wayne’s Boots (Steak): After our experiences with Italian and French cuisines we opted to skip the rest of the “specialty restaurants”.

The lobby bar was staffed by two excellent bartenders from 10 am to probably 11pm or later.

We chose the honeymoon suite for our stay and we did truly enjoy the view from our huge balcony but not all of these suites have the same size balcony. We were in room 2131. The “Jacuzzi” on the balcony was actually one of those corner whirlpool tubs that the cheap home builders offer as an upgrade to the master bathroom. The air conditioning barely worked in our room so we needed to open the windows to create a breeze every night. The refrigerator in the mini bar was at a temperature of about 50 degrees Fahrenheit and the walk to the ice machine was about half a mile so we drank warm drinks in the room. The television in the room was probably a 42 inch flat screen and worked very well and there were adequate choices on television. All of the floors in the room were marble and the entire bathroom was including the walls. Our room looked very nice and the furniture was in very good shape. The bathroom lighting was a little above poor at the vanity because there were only 2 very small halogen bulbs pointing straight down in front of the mirror. Lighting in the tub/shower was more than adequate. There was a design flaw in the tub design because the edge facing the floor actually directed any escaping water onto the floor instead of back to the tub; this took some practice to stop flooding the bathroom floor. There was a safe in our room which made worrying about our valuables a non-issue. The items that were supposed to be included in our room listed “His-and-hers bathrobes and slippers for use during your stay” which were not to be found in our room.

Overall this would be a good place for a family on a budget because it is all inclusive the only additional expense would be the things that you decide to spend money on and tips if you decide to tip. Almost everyone working at the property was fluent in English and Spanish which made customer service a non-issue. Some areas of the property showed signs of needing attention like peeling paint or missing tiles. The adults only pool area seemed to be the most neglected area and the central pool area and lobby were the best maintained. I personally would not return because when we travel food and drink are some of the more important things that we look for.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaki J, Guest Relations Manager at Crown Paradise Club Cancun, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Jeffrey H,

I am very impressed with your thorough review of the Crown Paradise Cancun! I would like to thank you for taking the time to review us here on Trip Advisor. Your reviews not only help other vacationers but they also help us to provide better service and help our guests have a memorable vacation experience with us!

Did you mention to house keeping, the front desk or concierge that there were no slippers or bathrobe? As this was an oversight and they would have gladly provided them to you. I do wish you would have tried the other restaurants as they are all so different (Mexican, Seafood, Italian, Steakhouse, French…) that I am positive that you would have enjoyed them and not to forget about the live Mariachis in the Mexican restaurant and the mechanic bull riding that some brave guests are willing to attempt. It is a very entertaining way to spend an evening.

Again, thank you in taking the time in posting. Best wishes on all your future travels..wherever they may be

Sincerely

Jaki Jamieson
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Just got back from crown paradise, the reviews on here worried me before we went and the poor an average reviews are about right. To be honest its suppose to be a 4* but that's hard to believe. It has its good points but also its bad. The place could defiantly do with some refurbishing. The food is not to a very good standard the, best place to eat is fisherman's or the French restaurant. The phoning for a reservation is a joke unless you've paid for the purple wristband an then you have your own concierge which makes it easier. The quality of the alcohol is pretty poor, struggled to get drunk.!(every thing was watered down). It would be nice to see a menu of cocktails and drinks to see what you could have. Had paid for crown paradise club room, the room was good but pretty basic an dated but did have a nice view. The cupboard door was missing in front of the mini bar and the hinges left on for you to catch yourself on if you weren't careful. We were on the 6th floor and the floors must be pretty thin cause if anyone had heels on upstairs you could hear every step also if they used the double jet bath sounded like a plane was taking off. If your a couple and your going there, the best place to go to is the adult pool. Its the place to get away from the kids an also the barman there Melchior was a legend, mixing up awesome cocktails and serving drinks always with a big smile on his face. He was the best member off staff there, he deserves a pay rise. The only downside of the pool is the view of the abandoned hotel and the sewage works. The staff there, some are pleasant an some miserable but that's because there over worked an under paid. One of the best nights was the beach party sat on the beach and being able to drink outside and the bbq food. was good. Downside it finished at 10. There is no where to sit outside and have a drink at night. Being from the UK we don't wanna be sat inside drinking the weathers that bad at home we can do that here. Its lacking in some where to have a few drinks and some music with a atmosphere. The best part of the holiday was to meet some great friends there, that made the holiday drinking an having laugh with them and having nights out in Cancun. We only stayed at this hotel cause it was to surprise my mate for his 30th an this is where they had booked. We ended up moving to Moon Palace for the last 4 nights since we'd stayed there before and needed a bit of luxury. To sum this place up imagine Benidorm (on ITV) but situated in Cancun. If you want cheap and cheerful(not value for money) come here if you want luxury for not that much more money stay at Moon Palace or one of the Palace resorts.

Room Tip: go to moon palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaki J, Guest Relations Manager at Crown Paradise Club Cancun, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Tim S,

I would like to first thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your comments help us to find areas for opportunity of improvement so we can continue to offer improved service to our guests.

I would also like to apologize on behalf of the Crown Paradise. We are sorry you did not enjoy your experience at our hotel to the point of suggesting not only vacationers stay at another hotel but a specific hotel as well. Did you mention any of your issues with the hotel? In situations when our guests have any special comments, requests (such as the location of the room not being to your liking) we strongly encourage guests to contact our Guests Services Manager, this always give us an opportunity to give guests options to ensure a memorable vacation stay.

Thank you for the special mention of Melchior. We are very fortunate to have him on our team and thank you again for taking the time in posting.

Best wishes

Jaki Jamieson
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I rely heavily on reviews so I will return the favor. We stayed 5/14 – 5/20.

The place is very clean. There is always someone cleaning something all day long. The floor by the main pool could have been cleaner however.

Having to make reservations for dinner was annoying. If you decide you don’t want to eat at the time and place you chose at 8AM the morning before, you were stuck with the buffet which we didn’t enjoy much. And some of the restaurants were closed on certain days but they don't tell you that until you try to make your reservation for that restaurant.

The room:
We upgraded to the VIP club room (adults only) and it was pretty small and HOT but still worth it. I asked for a second fan for the room and they accommodated me. The patio was small and there was no door handle on the outside to get back in. Don't close it all the way when you're out there unless someone stays inside the room. I got stuck out there. The room was very humid and smelled musty. My purse and some other items still smell like the room. I’ve stayed in Cancun before and did not have this problem. The bed was comfortable. The mini bar wasn’t cold enough but we found if you left the dresser door open it got colder because the exhaust heat from the fridge was able to escape. They stocked it daily and even left a note saying they tried to stock it when we put up the “do not disturb” sign. With the VIP upgrade you can enjoy a quiet buffet breakfast on the 8th floor. There was a free computer for 15 minute use - and the friendly gal in there (Sandra?) booked our dinner reservations every morning and answered any questions we had about the hotel. They open the bar up in that room at night so it was a nice place to go and have a quiet drink in an air conditioned place as most of the rest of the hotel is way too hot. The bar with the pool tables at the end of the main hall was so hot we couldn’t stay in there.

The restaurants:
San Sious/French = amazing. Don’t miss that one. It’s worth getting dressed up for. Try the French Onion Soup and the chicken & mushrooms over puff pastry appetizer.

Fisherman’s/Seafood – also amazing but since my boyfriend doesn’t like seafood we didn’t re-visit. Grilled shrimp were delish.

Los Gallos/Mexican – We loved the food, ambiance, Mariachi band. The squash cream soup is amazing. We went twice.

La Piazza/Italian – Awful. Nothing you can’t get from the freezer section at your grocery store. We left hungry.

Wayne’s Boots/Steakhouse – watching the people on the mechanic bull was about the best part of this place. I had the chicken which was dry and my boyfriend had the ribs which he liked although we couldn’t quite identify what part of the animal it was from based on the oddly shaped/sized “rib” bones. He loved the beef broth soup.

The buffet: Just ok. We only went in for lunch. It’s somewhat chaotic at breakfast time. It's basically the same food every day. The guacamole was delicious but it wasn’t available every day. The stand that grilled beef and chicken was the best.

The only food we liked at the Japanese place behind the grill by the pool was the mini eggrolls.

The pool:
There are no umbrellas. We stayed under the partial covered section. We went down early and put towels on chairs (brought from home because if you lose the hotel towel they will charge you $35 USD per towel) and then went and had breakfast and our stuff was still there when we returned. It wasn’t that crowded but I could see how it might be hard to get desired chairs at busier times of the year. We got our favorite chairs every day but we were down there before 9AM. The entertainment staff tries hard but the music by the pool was repetitive … as were the “catch phrases” … and the “whoot whoot”s got old real fast. The initiated pool games (volleyball and water polo) were fun. The view of the ocean from the main pool is breathtaking. I could have stayed there all day … but we had dinner reservations …

The birds!!!
So many of them. Both my BF and I were pooped on at different times. Plus I had to change out our towels a few times since when we got back from the pool there was poop on them. This is why I like umbrellas instead of that wooden slat like covering they have. The poop goes right through the slats. Even the pool had poop in it. Not enjoyable.

The staff is very friendly, the place is clean and the food is decent but the dinner reservations, no pool umbrellas and mediocre entertainment were deal breakers for me. I’d only return if I couldn’t book anything else I wanted and if the price was right.

Tips:
Bring decoy beach towels to secure your beach chairs early AM.
Bring a Bubba Keg or larger drinking vessel because the cups are tiny.
Bring your own bar soap because the hotel soap smells nasty.
Ask which restaurants are closed upfront and plan accordingly.

Enjoy your trip! Cancun is gorgeous!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaribbeanDreamer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaki J, Guest Relations Manager at Crown Paradise Club Cancun, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear CaribbeanDreamer1,

Your review on Trip Advisor is wonderfully detailed, honest and very well written. Thank you so much for your positive comments! I appreciate that you have taken the time to write about us and share your experience, not only does it help other vacationers choose their accommodations, it also helps us to keep improving.

It is our goal to provide memorable vacation experiences to our guests, your feedback helps us to do just that!

If in the future, you would conside giving us another chance to provide you with an unforgettable vacation, please do not hesitate to contact me if I can help with any inquiries you may have.

Best wishes

Jaki Jamieson
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were with a large group - and this is a bit of a mixed review.

Staff in the restaurants were great. My congratulations to the management team for building a large group of very dedicated employees. Your entertainment staff were also a lot of fun - and took the time to get to know and really interact with the guests. They were entertaining and really did a good job of engaging people around the pool.

I suggest you work with your front desk team however - they do like the word "no" a little too much. It was generally their first answer to any question.

If you go - make sure you ask for a room in building 2. We had a maintenance issue in our building 1 room - and were accommodated with a move to the other building (thanks to Carlos the night manager - we appreciated your intervention). Night and day difference between the two buildings. the AC actually worked in building 2 - and the rooms have clearly been reno'd much more recently than the other building. To the ownership - you guys really need to spend some money......you have a great property - but if you don't maintain and continuously develop it - you will not have repeat customers - a critical part of the Mexican tourism business.

The other suggestion I have to people booking here - the "reservation" system for the restaurants is a bit goofy. you need to book a day before for the a la carte restaurants. The hotel takes bookings starting at 8 AM - so if you're off doing an excursion and leave at 7 AM - you're kinda outta luck. If you wait until later in the day to book - you've got options of "5 PM or 9 PM". We didnt really understand the process though - as the restaurants were never really "jammed" full - yet we had to comply with very specific times and there was little flexibility on getting an earlier or later time - even though there was clearly LOTS of room in each of the places. It seemed to me more about controlling the flow to make it easier for the staff than for accommodating the guests.

It is a really beautiful property - and could be a lot more with some investment back into it.

We had a good week - but I really would want to know that it's had money put back into it before we would consider staying again.

Room Tip: Building 2. your experience will be so much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travel4funCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaki J, Guest Relations Manager at Crown Paradise Club Cancun, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear travel4funCanada

On behalf of Crown Paradise I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us while vacationing in beautiful Cancun and for taking the time to review us here on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your input as it gives us an opportunity to see where we could keep improving on providing the best holiday possible to our guests. I am forwarding your post to our management team. Please contact me when you are preparing for your next visit. I can update you on the hotel and possible sway you to return for a second visit and do not hesitate to contact me prior if you have any questions or further comments.

Sincerely
Jaki Jamieson
Social Media Coordinator
jjamiesoncrownparadise.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have just returned home from the most amazing holiday to the crown paradise!! To be honest after reading the reviews before we went I was a little worried, however I was so relieved when we got the to a nice clean room great pools, great food, not having children ourselves and the crown paradise being a family friendly hotel we did find it a little 'loud' but we soon found the adults pool with swim up bar where we was constantly served by melchor,, a truely kind and happy bar man, and to be honest I wanted to bring him home with me!! That guy needs recognition for his work because we really did feel welcomed every day by him! Our room was cleaned everyday to the highest standards, and I felt safe in the knowledge that my belongings were safe, as everyday my jewellery and spare cash we had left lying around was neatly placed in a pile every day! The beach party on a Saturday with BBQ was really good however I wish it lasted a bit longer as 9.30 is to early to end everyone was quite happy to stay later!!
I suppose my only down point, is the night entertainment, were early thirties, and the club attached was always empty, trafalgers is a London themed bar open till two, but we all agreed that we wished there was an outside bar at night to have cocktails, with a bit of music,, we were lucky in the fact that we made a big group of friends and we met up every night to have drinks, but if your on your own you would have to make your way into cancun for more entertainment,, all in all,, we had an amazing time and would definitely return,, infact I've just been pricing it up so may see u soon ;-) xx

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Kooper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaki J, Guest Relations Manager at Crown Paradise Club Cancun, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Kooper2,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor and for your kind words regarding the hotel staff. We take pride in giving our guests the most cheerful friendly service possible and we are truly fortunate to have Melchor on our team. It is always our goal to provide our guest with a memorable vacation experience and it was nice to see we succeeded once again and that you are already planning on coming back. Thank you for the suggestions in regards to the nightlife. I will pass along your message to management for their review.

See you soon.

Sincerely
Jaki Jamieson
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We returned from Crown paradise on sunday from a 2 week vacation. I'll break it down,

Check in- Quite quick and was greeted with arrival drinks which was nice.

Drinks- RUBBISH all watered down, we are big red wine drinkers and the wine was terrible, we ended up paying $80 worth of wine just to have with our meals. Disgrace

Wifi- You have to pay $80 for a week which I think is disgusting especially after paying £2800 for the holiday! Disgrace

Room- Was nice we upgraded to superior so had a jacuzzi, mini bar they didn't leave enough water and stocked with cheap beer and soft drinks, also the hindge was falling off the door and the balcony bar was hanging off the hindge (very dangerous)

Lobby- Very nice and the drinks here seemed better but still didn't feel drunk on any of their drinks

Food- Was nice, plenty of food for everyone, Italian restaurant wasn't very nice the spag bol tasted like a school dinner, also had lasagne the first time we eat their which was ok. My boyfriend had the pizza which he said it was like cardboard covered in cheese.
Mexican was nice the steak was very tender. French = AMAZING

Entertainment- Nothing for adults, a bar that resembles england pubs which you do not want to be in when you pay so much to come to mexico! And an empty disco with cheesey music. They had a fire show on the beach on thursday but that finished at 10 and the bar closes so we had to all back in and drink inside! They have shows on which we didn't go see but heard they were good. they are advertised on the left handside of reception.

The staff are worked so hard that no wonder some of them are miserable as they don't get paid as much so its good to tip them but some of the staff then treat you very nice after which isnt on! They should be nice all the time!

We also left a bottle of champagne open with only one glass drunk out of it and the maids took it but left 2 EMPTY bottles of red wine on our table?! We complained after speaking to the supervisor who was not helpful at all but eventually got a call back from someone that spoke english!! And had a replacement bottle of champagne! (cheap champagne that is)
Also we ordered breakfast for the room in the morning as we had an early excursion booked and guess what?? That didn't turn up either!

We met some friends there that ended up staying in the moon palace for the last 3 nights and we saw them at the air port at the end of the trip, they said it would have cost £3,200 for 2 weeks which included the excursions on the resort, great food and proper drinks!! All you needed to pay was a 11% tax fee towards the excursions and everything is on resort, dolphins ect! BOOK THERE INSTEAD! We ended up eating out and drinking out most nights as the poor quality at the hotel which cost us a fortune! we must have spent about £600 on excursions and got ripped off on a boat trip we spent $75 each on! The alchohol was worse than the hotel and the food just as bad, anything extra like renting buggies to go down town which they take you to was an extra £25! And the wine with the meal was extra! RIP OFF!
Basically everyone rips you off and no one speaks english!!
Oh big up to Ismail at the adult pool he was lovely!

Just to add no one tells you nothing! I read nearly all of the reviews on this place and if it wasn't for them I wouldn't know there was an upstairs room for superior guests to book your breakfast so you don't need to ring up every morning! Also didn't know where everything was we just had to meet people and they would tell us! So all they try to do is rip you off so you don't use any of the nicer stuff there to save money! That or they can't be bothered! Oh and don't waste your time ringing room service or house keeping as they never answer or don't speak english, basically just want to get rid of you!

As we was leaving it took me alot to not slap the manager who was just standing there smiling at me! Upset that this is the only vacation we can afford to have in a long time and I couldn't wait to get home by the end of it.

If you had a great time here fair enough but I think paying £2800 to stay in this place is disgraceful WILL NOT BE RETURNING

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here upgrade at least! And bring an extra 2K for spending money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaki J, Guest Relations Manager at Crown Paradise Club Cancun, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Abbie D,

I very much appreciate the time you have taken to review us on TripAdvisor. I would like to apologize on the behalf of Crown Paradise Cancun that our services and attention did not fulfill your expectations during your recent stay with us. I would have loved for you to experience the true spirit of our hotel while making fantastic vacation memories and It saddens me that you were unsatisfied with so many aspects of our hotel as our staff goes out of their way to ensure our guests have a memorable vacation experience with us and that you were unsatisfied in so many areas. The majority of our staff are bilingual, as we have a very high number of international guests, however, English is not their first language. The language barrier and cultural differences may have appeared as unfriendly/unhelpful but we pride ourselves on having the best/friendliest staff in Cancun……as so many former have posted comments about here on Tripadvisor. I am also surprised that you did not enjoy the cruise as this is a hit with everyone and have never received a negative comment about it.

You can be assured that your constructive criticism will be taken into consideration as it will, no doubt, help us to intensify our efforts and improve our services for our guests. Your comments have been passed on to the management teams of the departments of the hotel that are involved.

I would like to invite you back to try us again in the future, we would love to have the opportunity to change your mind. Please contact me directly if you would like to make vacation arrangements with us in the future; I would like to have the opportunity to show you the true spirit of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Jaki Jamieson
Social Media Coordinator
jjamieson@crownparadise.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
7.4 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#43 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.9 mi away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
0.6 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#49 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,237 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
6.1 mi away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#75 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Paradise Club Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Paradise Club Cancun

Property: Crown Paradise Club Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan 18.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#48 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crown Paradise Club Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 617
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Crown Paradise Club experience extraordinary vacations in the best all inclusive hotel in Cancun; with areas designed for children of all ages, theme restaurants, activities and entertainment created for each member of your family, where you will experience moments with them that you will treasure forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Paradise Club Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Paradise Club Cancun Hotel Cancun
Crown Paradise Cancun
Cancun Paradise Club
Crown Paradise Club Cancun Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing