We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9,940)
Filter reviews
9,940 results
Traveler rating
4,214
3,151
1,360
654
561
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,214
3,151
1,360
654
561
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wayne's boots adult pool los gallos kids paradise la piazza mechanical bull trafalgar bar french restaurant main pool new tower covered pool steak bunk beds zip line games room family resort chicken wings
Filter
Updating list...
4,312 - 4,317 of 9,940 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed her 17 oct to 31 oct. There was a bit of work taking place when we stayed which while a little annoying it didn't distract from having a good time. The staff are fab. We upgraded to crown club in the honeymoon suite. The room and view was brill. Location was great. If you want to go into town a bus stops right outside, its not like the uk they run 24hrs and are constant. We never waited more than 1 min!. Beach was lovely. The sea was calm when we arrived but the currents got a lot stronger when the storm "sandy" hit the USA. It might surprise some moaners but this is nature and not the fault of the hotel!

You can order room service as part of the all inclusive. The lady who kept our room tidy (2627) was lovely. She would leave extra towels often made into shapes such as a bird and an elephant!

I would stay again.

Room Tip: If you don't have children upgrade to crown club, honeymoon suite. You have a view over the beach and pool plus exclusive use of the crown club
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marciclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaki J, Guest Relations Manager at Crown Paradise Club Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Dear Marciclay ,

On behalf of Crown Paradise Cancun, I thank you for taking the time in providing feedback of Crown Paradise Cancun. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We strive to provide a memorable vacation experience for all of our guests and we like to consider family vacations our specialty! Thank you very much for commenting on the quality of our staff. We take great pride in providing our guests with a memorable vacation experience; our friendly staff goes out of their way to ensure that our guests are satisfied and I will be sure to pass on your lovely compliments to the employee who made your room extra comfortable/cozy. She will be pleased to know that she helped make your vacation special.

It was our pleasure to help you make lasting vacation memories and we look forward to your return in the future.

Best wishes.

Jaki Jamieson
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I used to stay here as crew with mytravel from 2004-06.It was good then but not now.My husbands 1st time to Cancun was very disappointing to say the least.Big mistake as hotel is very run down,tacky,dirty and falling to bits as there are areas cordoned off all over the hotel.Only good thing is the service from SOME staff.Tried many times to reserve restaurants but gave up then when we did get through were told they were full but where clearly not.Noisy beyond believe as lobby is open and noise echoes to every room.Food always cold same awful choice in buffet daily.Italian awful,Mexican even worse,fish was ok but a few days later came down with stomach bug and after speaking to other guest i wasnt alone in suffering.Room above had a feng shui fetish as furniture was continuously being moved even at all hours and was very very noisy.It stopped after calling reception but started again with a vengeance.If you have kids and are on a budget then it may be ok for you but a couple looking for a quiet trip then frankly forget it big time.We spent a fortune eating out as food was so bad and its something we did not contemplate especially you book an all inclusive hotel.So take my advice and book some other hotel.We departed at just the right time as thanksgiving weekend was due and it was full of noisy americans giving it high fives and AWESOME OTT!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel or if you have to stay here avoid 1308
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bevfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaki J, Guest Relations Manager at Crown Paradise Club Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Bevfly ,

On behalf of Crown Paradise I would like to offer you my apologies. You very clearly did not have the vacation experience we would have wanted for you and your family. We take great pride in giving the best possible service to our hotel guests and providing memorable vacation experiences. It is with regret that I read your review here on Tripadvisor that is not in line with the true spirit and values of our hotel.

Our customer feedback is very important to us. Your comments have been forwarded to the departments responsible and corrective measures and evaluation are being taken. Thank you for your commenting. Your feedback helps us improve our service.

We would like to invite you back again in the future to try us again. We would like the opportunity to for you to have a memorable vacation experience with us and to show you the real heart and spirit of our hotel. It would be our pleasure for you to experience the positive changes that your comments have initiated in our hotel. Please send me an email if you would consider returning in the future so I may assist you in making your arrangements.

Jaki Jamieson
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed at the crown from the 6th-20th nov 2012 with our two children age 8 and 2. When we arrived at the hotel and was given the keys to our room we found we were on the fourth floor which with two young children was way to high for my liking, we went to ask for a lower room and got told there would be none available until the next morning however after the lady went into the back room she came back and a new room was made available for us this time on the second floor, still high but much better so we settled for that one. The buffet reasteraunt was catered mainly for Americans and being from England do not eat many of the things that were on offer although the pancakes were to die for and the children loved the burgers hotdogs and fries so we made the best of the situation it was many of the same foods every night for the whole two weeks so maybe a bit more variety would be better. We visited the Italian reasteraunt which was fantastic from the minute we walked in the door to the minute we left we were very impressed we also visited Wayne's boots which was nice but could have been better. I think what makes the crown so good is the staff who are all absolutely fantastic and always so happy to help and the entertainment staff deserve the most praise from 8am to midnight they gave adults and children something to do be it the pool games the shows the Zumba the kids club they were brilliant. The only negative I would give is about the standard of the rooms. We stayed in a standard room which comprised of two double beds a nice sized bathroom with bath and shower a tv and plenty of space for clothes the only downside was the fact there was no fridge I really hoped there would be a fridge but they are only available in the upgraded rooms. The rooms could do with updating and modernising and the locks on the balcony door needs to be made childproof as my two year old managed to unlock and open the door by herself. I would definatley visit this hotel again and would recommend it all in all a brilliant time was had.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrsclinton85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had so many issues at this hotel that I don't even know where to begin...the hotel was literally falling apart.
One morning when we went down to the pool they had have of the area blocked off because the cement supports for the pagodas were actually crumbling...chunks of cement had fallen off everywhere! Many of the lounge chairs were broken, the mini golf course had chunks broken out of it all over the place, the bathtub in out room was all cracked and chunks were missing from the surround (so was the bathroom counter), the glass rail on our balcony was loose, the light on our balcony was missing, our maid service box was broken, our air conditioning didn't work. We even went for two days with no hot water and when we called the front desk to fix it we were blamed for it.
The service (or lack of) was awful as well. Twice we had to call on the head chef because the cook running the snack shack at the pool was beyond rude and wouldn't serve us, especially to the children.
Trying to make reservations at the restaurants was a complete hassle. It took me 45 minutes just to make one dinner reservation. And the other time we tried to reserve tables the reservation was "lost" when we showed up to eat.
The restaurant called "Wayne's Boot" was a nightmare. They were the ones who lost our reservation. The servers were rude, the food was like chewing on an old boot and came out cold. And it took an hour and a half to even get our food.
The main buffet was also not that great. There wasn't a huge selection of foods to begin with, nor did it vary much from day to day. Many of the foods, especially potatoes and veggies were only half cooked. I felt bad for the kids because the only kid friendly food for them were half cooked hot dogs, burgers, fries and disgusting chicken nuggets. Who wants to eat the same thing for their entire trip???
The main bar was in the lobby and it was so noisy that you could hear it crystal clear in your room no matter where in the hotel you were. Good ;luck getting kids to be before midnight or even later with the music that loud!
For a kid friendly resort I also expected a lot more for the kids to do. Most of the activities by the pool were for adults. The only thing they could do was go to the Kids Club, but parents weren't allowed to stay with them. Nor could parents leave the resort while the kids played.
Everything seemed to shut down at 5pm except the bars. So again, he kids have nothing to do! Not all of the evening shows in the theater were even for kids, as promised on the hotel's website.
The beach, the pool area, and the halls could have also been a lot cleaner. There was a lot of garbage and dirty dishes in the hallways, same with the pool area. The side tables & chairs at the the pool were not cleaned near as often as they should have been. And the beach was full of garbage and other debris.
The maid service also wasn't that great. Our maid, even after being tipped wouldn't give extra towels and she would throw many of our things in a heap on the floor in the corner. We never did get clean glasses to drink out of.
The beds in the rooms were rock hard that in the morning we were all stiff and sore from sleeping on them.
Room service was terrible as well. They were often late, resulting in cold food and half of what we ordered was missing.
I would never stay here again, nor would I recommend this place to anyone. After talking to many other hotel guests during our stay, this also seems to be the general thought on this hotel. It was very much a waste of time & money.

Room Tip: Don't waste your time staying in this hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Carrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaki J, Guest Relations Manager at Crown Paradise Club Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear Carrie G,

I would like to first thank you for taking the time to give us your review of your stay here with us at Crown Paradise. Our management staff evaluates all of the comments we receive very carefully and takes them into account when considering making changes in the hotel. Our goal is to ensure all guests have a wonderful stay

I would also like to take this time to apologize that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay. We are a family hotel and we do have many activities for children, teens and families to experience. For young children as an example, we have during the day numerous activities. Sand Castle building, Balloon Twisting, Painting contest, Face Painting, Bingo, Treasure Hunts,, Chocolate Party, Scuba Search, Mexican Games, Sports (soccer, hockey, volleyball), etc… in the evening we have: Mini Discos, Camping night, Pijama Parties, Arts/Crafts, Cinemas, Piratas, Fantasy night, Mexican Fiesta night, etc….. it is unfortunate that your children were not able to enjoy the many activies we provide and so many of the children have had the pleasure to enjoy. And yes you are correct, we do provide care for the children of our guests and the parents must remain on the property. We provide this service so the parents can relax by the pools, take advantage of our many wonderful spa services, have a romantic/quiet, child free meal, etc….

In situations when our guests have any special comments, requests such as the location of the room not being to their liking, the hardness of the beds, etc…. we strongly encourage guests to contact our Guests Services Mgr, this always give us an opportunity to offer options to ensure a memorable vacation stay: A room change would have been provided if possible, extra padding would have been provided for your comfort, etc…

Regarding the ¨parts of the property were blocked off because cement supports were actually crumbling¨. Unfortunately, you may not have been aware that this section of the hotel is under renovations and was closed off. We are currently removing/re-installing all the metal fixtures and we are nearly completed in the process.

I was also surprised to hear you were unable to find food options that your children could enjoy as we have a wide variety of options for both adults and children. The Palapas offers different menus daily for breakfast, lunch & dinner (fresh fruits, veggies, salads, soups, sandwiches, yogurts, chicken wings, fried chicken, all varieties of potatoes, muffins, eggs, pancakes, sausages/bacon, tacos, quesadillas, desserts, etc………….. Also stations that offer: Italian, Mexican, Juice Bar, Oriental, Delicatessen, Fresh Salad/Fruit & soup bar, etc… and this is not including our restaurants: Steak House, Oriental, French, Seafood, Mexican….and we also have a few Snack Bars & 24/7 Room Service.

I understand that the unfulfilled expectations may prevent you from visiting us in the future. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and change the poor perception you have of our hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of assistance.

Sincerely,
Jaki Jamieson
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We are a couple 32 and 40 years old and stayed 7/11-21/11/2012. Being Brits we love our value for money and really wanted to write a review to kinda level out the field with the other countries that visit.
This is our first trip to Mexico as we normally go to Turkey, so i appreciated the reviews on here as doing your research really does help!!

Flights
From (Thomas Cook) Gatwick is pretty much 12 hours there and 9 hours back. Make sure you take plenty of magazines as the films arent always good ones (and i will watch pretty much anything) Grab some water from Duty free as drinks on the flight are £1.60 for 500ml or £1.70 for a can of coke. Once off the plane and onto the coach the Crown Paradise is the first stop and takes about 20 mins yay!!!
The hotel is about 10 mins from the centre of town which is easily accessible by bus or taxi and is set back a little from the road, on one side is the lagoon and the other the sea.

Checking In
Yes this part is pretty slow and the staff arent that cheery but i didnt care. I was there! They explained a few bits and bobs and sent the bell boy off to your room with your bags and they are quick at this. TIP: whilst at reception change some of your 100 peso notes to 20 notes for tipping, this way you can tip staff as you go without leaving them all your holiday money!

Rooms
We had a standard room in block 1 and 7th Floor..above the late night snack bar to be exact. But we have no complaints over the noise from here or the lobby bar, never stopped me from having a kip!!
Rooms are spacious and have a great view of the pool and sea unless you face the hurricane battered hotel next door, we saw the hotel that people are moaning about and i find it really intriguing, would love to know the story behind it. Unless you are planning on spending your holiday in your room there isnt really cause to complain!
Our maid was lovely but hit and miss sometimes as some days she would turn up before 9am and other days we would come back at 4pm and she still hadnt been, if she misses you she will call you to see if she is still able to call though.
There are always fresh towels and free coconut lotion and honey shampoo!
Room service is a little slow, but its all inclusive (and how many other hotels have room service for free) and its a big hotel so dont expect Ritz standards, when you do order room service make sure you order 4 bottles of water each time as this is the only time you would get water unless you refill bottles at the buffet on the way through. If you hang your breakfast door order on the hotel door before 3am you can order breakfast in bed and have it on the balcony..lush! (eggs, waffles, french toast, list goes on!!)
There are lots of channels of you fancy some TV, our favourite was Somos Warner playing Friends/Big Bang Theory/Two and a half men and AXN which played all the NCSI, and CSI series with criminal minds too!!
We did have some ants but they are teeny tiny ones and certainly dont bite or bother you.
Hairdryer in the bathroom wasnt the best but it saved me luggage weight!!!!

Tipping
We changed 100 pesos to 20 peso notes (about £1) so these were ideal for tipping room service and the waiters at the a la cartes when visited, we tipped the bar staff a 50 peso note once in a while which kept the drinks coming. The USA guests seemed to tip at every drink but its not expected so dont feel you have to, they know that the UK guest tend to tip at the end and not at every beer.
We didnt tip the buffet staff simply because we didnt use them, we got our own drinks etc and used the adult section.

Foooooooooooooood!
You can eat 24 hrs a day in this place! There is so much variety you shouldnt get bored unless you have a bit of everything everyday. Someone on here said there isnt much english food....Hellllooooo, youre in Mexico!!
Main Buffet
Good choice with lots of little stations serving different things at different times. Mexican station, smoothie station, italian station, salads and fruit, bread, puddings, ice creams i could be here all day! Recommend the mollettes in a morning (french breach topped with refried beans and cheese!) The omelettes are amazing and the delicatessen does a great sandwich at lunch!

Snack Bar at Main Pool
Great burgers like Mcdonalds, hot dogs, fries and nachos and whatever else you can find was yummy here

Sushi Bar
Only open from 12-4 but well worth it, lots of good sushi and sashimi with chow mein and spring rolls, could easily get fat here!!

Midway snack bar
in the lobby open from 10pm till 6am for midnight munchies, burgers, fries, hotdogs, nachos...drunk food!!

Waynes Boots
Ate here twice, its not bad, steak is fatty but good and cooked to your liking (maybe a little underdone) Its a little cool in this restaurant and its a little rushed but fine.

Sans Souci
French restaurant was stunning, felt like a proper meal out that you would have paid good money for. Recommend the duck and the steak with the house red wine! Nom Nom! Dont forget a collared shirt and smart jeans or trousers with shoes/boots for the men.

Fishermans
Was being refurbished when we arrived but got in on the 2nd week and it was worth it, on par with the French restaurant, good fresh seafood! Recommend the blackened fish and the seafood Gratin.

Italian
Good but not great, but edible and the warm foccacia bread was lovely.

Mexican
Not bad but quite loud in here, reasonable choice and quality, cocktail orders in here come in a bucket!!

You do have to ring a book a restaurant using the room phone but you can always turn up on a whim and they will fit you in if they can. The lady on the phone may answer the phone in Spanish but speaks very good English!!

There is unlimited coca cola, diet coke, sprite, fanta, water, juice, ice tea, milkshake, milk and water on tap at the buffet. We filled empty water bottles for the beach with juice to save our lazy legs but there is a beach bar but it does get busy.

Drinks............!!
Ok, the bar staff know their stuff, BIG TIME! We hung out mainly at the lobby bar where the legend that is Edgar and Melchor looked after us from 10am till 5pm then Miguel, Antonio and Gabriel till closing time. Whatever it is you drink they will mix it from Mojitos to cocktails to a mexican version of a bloody mary done with beer!! They are busy so be patient, good cocktails take time as they are made from scratch, no pre mixed poop here, and the drinks are LARGE measures!! No Gin though!! Dont drink the sparkling wine unless you have an aversion to paint stripper!! The yanks brought there own thermal cups which the staff didnt mind filling but i found it a little rude and lazy!
Recommend, Supermans, scooby doo, Miguels head basher, Golden Breeze, crown moijtos, the very cold beers and have a Miami Vice!!
A good night was had by many in this bar and its where we met most of our new friends!! :)
There are other bars too, one by the main pool, beach and one on the adult pool on the first floor which a haven away from kids!!

Beach!!
The sand is white the sea is warm and blue, but beware of the under currents, they wont take you out to sea but will drag you down the strip and deposit you down at the next hotel!! We loved it! The sea had some big waves and it always proved fruitful for a laugh, people getting wiped out that were sat at the edge or myself who almost lost my bottoms!! There are lifeguards but im not sure how involved they get! The sea is shallow once youre past the little breaking ledge, watch out for shells and bits of coral!

Didnt use the Lagoon where the pedalos/kayaks were but it would have been nice if it was nearer the hotel.

Main Pool
Didnt dip in this one so couldnt say, big hit with families and its where the entertainment is,

Adult Pool
Haven from kids with good bar staff, main pool very cool and hot tubs at either side...hot!! This area gets the most sun all day! Only downside is there is no food here...but walk you lazy buggers! lol

Donkey
During your stay at the hotel there will be a cute donkey in the foyer guarded by men who will charge $35 for a picture with it. When asked if we could take a picture we were informed that it wasnt a donkey it was a business!!!

Stuff to do
Trips in Mexico are expensive, we are so used to Turkey this came as a bit of a shocker!! Average price of a trip is around £50 per person and thats for a bog standard boat trip, bit disappointing but nevermind! One thing that is well worth the money is the TC Bar crawl, its about £60 which gets you into 3 clubs and then COCO BONGOS which is awesome, expect a late night though as shows finish at 3am and it closes at 6am.
Carlos and Charlies is also awesome and if you fancy a night out you can get a band for about £22 for a 3 hour open bar and join in the dancing with the staff!!
Check out the Surfin Burrito for lovely cheap food across the road from Senor frogs!!

Watch out for expensive places to eat if you eat out, something that looks good normally has a 15% service charge attached!!

Buses
Yeeeeeehahhhhhh!!!! 8.5 pesos (40p) gets you everywhere, travelling on the buses is a little like Alton Towers but if you tell the driver where you want to be he will stop for you. just hold on tight, more you scream the faster they go (only kidding)
Dont be afraid of using these, they run every minute every day!!

El Rey
Cross the road outside the hotel and walk towards the town for about 3 mins, you will find El Rey ruins on the left hand side, its 42 pesos to get in (£2.10) and its a small ruins and is a little like Tulum, however the most interesting things here are the wild IGUANAS!! Take some bread and fruit from the buffet and take this across and watch them come out of their holes to say hello. Its quite daunting as some are huge but they don't want to eat you they want the bread!! However if one starts to nod, start walking...cos you've annoyed it!! Its brilliant here and well worth more than one visit!!

I will mention how good our rep was (Laura Savage) she was knowledgeable and very caring and always had time for everyone no matter how busy she was, all our trips were booked through Laura and she did everything she could to make sure you were happy. Especially drawing maps!! :)

Room Tip: We had a standard room without a fridge.. and it did us fine! Unless you plan on spending the entire holiday in your room i wouldnt bother!! Theres an ice bucket if you want a cold drink!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Dee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews