We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE of time share reps”
Review of Casa Maya Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Maya Cancun
Ranked #61 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We arrived in Cancun on a rainy day. We had arranged for transport to the hotel. When we got there the porters immediately took the bags and put them with several others and then we were met by what we thought was a hotel rep but soon found out she was the time share rep. She told us to check in which we did but we were not given a room number nor a key but told to go sit and they would give it to us soon. The rep showed up and offered to buy us a drink. Once seated and drinks served she began her time share pitch. Offered us $100 discount on food and drinks and a 50% reduction on tours. Once we agreed to attend the presentation then we got our key and room number. We did attend the presentation, felt very pressured by the rep and the sales person. We were shown the new upgraded rooms which are beautiful but there are not enough to meet the future demands, they assured us that was not the case but we can't see how it could not be.
The room we did stay in was in need of major upgrading. Old appliances, very few dishes (had to go buy a wine glass). It also had a musty smell.
The staff are very nice. The tour agent could be more helpful, he had a very sour attitude.
We do not recommend this place.
The area is very expensive re restaurants and no shopping stores. We had to take buses and taxis to get anywhere or do anything.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanteloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

673 - 679 of 1,472 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2011

Buy the title we are virgins to Cancun but my wife and I have traveled the globe and after 21 years in the military and moving 26 times in those years we have seen a few different locations.
Honestly we were mainly on a fact finding trip and some serious beach and ocean time.
Casa Maya was just what we needed. Close to a bus line that could ultimatly take you any where in Mexico. As we did, Playa del Carma was only 1hr and 80 pes away from cancun.
Casa Maya is a older setup with proxy to sell fancy updated suites, that by the way are really nice, but not for this traveler. We like to exchange our time share in Beaver creek, CO
We did not do any excursions that would include a theme park or ride, only did trips that would make us decide on a place to visit next year.
You do have to take the ferry to Isla Mujeres and ride the golf carts around town and visit the small taco stands and seafood places, did notice that you could stay on a beach for 300pes ea and get al the drink and two meals and a beach chair for a day.
Next year it will be Playa Del Carmen and travel the lower part of Rievera Maya

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traestreeservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

I stayed with my family for two weeks, (15-30 Jan) the weather wasnt very good, too much wind and many days without sun.
The hotel is very very clean, the beds are like rocks but the beach is the best in cancun.
We return the day before the shark attacks so we feel safe in the sea.
One of the pools have hot water what is wonderful. We have only one bedroom but the unit is very large and very confortable. If you want to cook you have all you need (less an oven)
but you can cook most meals. The pizza night is good and cheap.
Internet wifi isnt free but is not expensive. We went to the timeshare presentation and they give us US$ 150 that we can use to buy food in the restaurants in place or in the little shop they have there.
I will come again , it is a pretty resort to stay

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiriamBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

I have to say i was a little concerned after reading some of the bad reviews....BUT i am writing this to say That Casa Maya is a Great hotel..Its not the prettiest hotel but it was perfect for us.. Very Clean great beach great sevice What more could you ask for... I would go back and I would be proud to recommend CASA MAYA to my friends and Family.....

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giamora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Casa Maya is one of the oldest hotels in the Hotel Zone, but with an updated paint job could compete with the newest. We liked that it wasn't in the middle of the night life/shopping, but is close to either of those areas in Cancun or the Hotel Zone (bus stop is right next to the hotel--ferry less than a mile). Our suite was HUGE! There were only 2 of us, but even 6 wouldn't be crowded. The extra bed is a Murphy bed, so you'd still have the sofa if you had the bed open. Everyone has a private patio that faces the ocean. The pirate boats stopped in front (well, the back of Casa Maya) every night and put on a little show. It has a very nice beach with a great area to swim. The pool area is friendly with lots of activities if you want to participate, but private areas as well--and you can always just go down on the sand. Most resort pools play Bingo, and Casa Maya is no exception, but you play "Mexican Lottery," a traditional game that helps you learn Spanish as well. The WiFi isn't free, but it's cheap ($1.50 per hour). We were GENTLY approached to go to their timeshare presentation and after declining, we weren't bothered again. And they claim only to market to their guests, not people from the outside. Makes sense.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bluefrog49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Stayed for one week with my husband and in-laws in mid-January. My husband and I had our own studio room with lockable access to a suite which was occupied by my in-laws. My in-laws have been coming here for several years and they love it. This year we were able to accompany them.

Found the room to be clean and comfortable. Shower had good water pressure – no hot water in the mornings. Although that was okay with me – I always took my shower in the afternoon after hanging out on the beach all day. The bed was not super soft but I did not expect it to be like my ultra comfy bed at home. Had absolutely no problems sleeping. Amazing ocean view from the balcony on the 4th floor. Can’t say enough about the view so I’ll include pictures!

The grounds and beach are nicely maintained. Staff are very good. The servers and maids are friendly and helpful. Juan is a great server – he serves drinks by the pool and at the beach. Always smiling and very friendly. We booked our two excursions with Miguel who works in the same area where you get your beach towels. Both trips were fantastic. I’ll write separate reviews on those. The wait staff in the breakfast area are also very friendly and helpful. Our only issue was with the lady who gives you the internet pass-codes. Not exactly friendly or helpful – maybe she was having a bad day…

We had the breakfast buffet every morning which was very nice. I had the freshly made omelettes every morning accompanied by fresh fruit. The sausages, bacon, cinnamon bread, and fresh waffles were also good. Many other choices available. Fresh juices were great. The breakfast buffet was not cheap but my in-laws were members and they received a discount which made it more reasonable.

Drinks in the hotel were fairly pricey. A medium daiquiri was about $8. They were good but we ended up stocking a cooler and taking that with us most days. A lot cheaper to fill a cooler with beer, water, juice, etc. We did not eat at the hotel for lunch or dinner so cannot comment on the menus.

We ate out nearly every night (cooking and eating in the room only one night). We chose the downtown area for most of our meals. We received good to great food and great service everywhere we went. We ate near the hotel zone/strip one night out of the seven – at Calypso’s. Felippe is great. Will write a separate review on that. Went on the lobster dinner cruise one night as well. YUM. Will write another separate review on that.

This hotel is actually in a fantastic location. It’s away from the main hotel/strip area so it’s a quieter area – actually conveniently located between the main strip and downtown. Buses either way were a breeze. Cabs were also reasonable. The lagoon area is across the street from the hotel. We spent one morning walking along the water’s edge (lagoon side) and just looked at all the different types of fish.

Another good thing about the location here – the beach has very calm waters. Very beautiful calm waters. We heard the waves and water were a lot rougher on some of the other beaches. The sand was also very soft and surprisingly cool. Beautiful beach!

Overall we had a fantastic time and we would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank alexandria77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

We were worried by the many negative comments we read prior to our visit. Clearly they were much to do about nothing. We had a fabulous stay. Staff was friendly and accomodating. Not a place for college kids looking to party. Much better suited for family stays as well as older adult get-a-ways. The ammenities were outstanding. Free shuttle to and from airport. Other than the weather not bad at all.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David3731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
5 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#49 of 177 in Cancun
2,219 reviews
2.3 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#71 of 177 in Cancun
5,274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Real Inn Cancun
Real Inn Cancun
#77 of 177 in Cancun
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
2.5 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
1.7 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Maya Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Maya Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 5.5 | Zona Hotelera Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $124 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Maya Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Maya Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Maya Cancun Hotel Cancun
Casa Maya Hotel Cancun
Hotel Casa Maya Cancun
Cancun Casa Maya
Imperial Fiesta Club Hotel Casa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing