We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Maya Cancun
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Oasis Palm(Cancun)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Oasis Palm(Cancun)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Dos Playas Beach House(Cancun)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,511)
Filter reviews
1,511 results
Traveler rating
430
629
254
99
99
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
430
629
254
99
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel zonerecommend casamurphy bedgreat beachone bedroom unitliving roomfull kitchenthrough rcibreakfast buffettimeshare pitchan older hoteloutdoor restaurantconvenience storebit datedbus stoptennis courtscleaned daily
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
456 - 461 of 1,511 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This was our first visit to Cancun so we have nothing else to compare it to. We chose Casa Maya because of it's location and price.

Unlike many others, upon arrival we were not turned over to a private "concierge" or time share salesman. Maybe arriving at night is the key! We reserved a king room with a bed for our teenage daughter and that's what we got! Our king bed was in a room all by itself and our daughter had a large Murphy bed in the living room. Our view was spectacular!

It was a late arrival so we chose the Caribbean dinner buffet at the hotel for dinner and it was good. It was our first meal in Mexico so we sampled a bit of everything to be able to make comparisons. After eating at many different locations during our vacation, we found the buffets here at Casa Maya to be up to par with some of the best rated restaurants and buffets. The breakfast buffet is unbeatable and it came free with our room!

The entire staff is super friendly and helpful. They don't have anywhere to exchange money but there is an ATM in the second building which came in handy. The front desk is also happy to give change for larger pesos if you need bus money or just to have smaller tip money. We went on excursions that left out of other hotels and none of them compared to the friendliness of Casa Maya. Most others were a bit snooty and asked for a room number before answering any questions - we found that odd!

As others have stated, there's nothing fancy about Casa Maya. What makes it "fancy" is the staff. The decor is what I would call subtle, everything fits together, it all matches and is comfortable and it belongs in a hotel. It's not fancy, glittery or glitzy. It's a well maintained, clean hotel perfect for families.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wdmslp, Public Relations Manager at Casa Maya Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear guest

We appreciate your visit to Casa Maya. We are pleased that your visit has been pleasant. Also that you have liked our facilities and our beach, which is one of the most beautiful beaches in Cancun; as well as the excellent service from the hotel staff. We hope you visit us again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We just returned from a fantastic 2 week vacation at Casa Maya. We have been owners at Casa Maya for 20 years and upgraded to Elite status last year. Loved our concierge Geraldine. We have never been disappointed with any of our stays. Always have had great accommodations. Love the property and location..The resort is so clean and the staff so accommodating. We have known many of them for years including Jose, Juan, Umberto, Carolos, & Jorges. We have met so many friends like us who come back every year. Casa Maya does not have the "glitz & glamour" feel, instead it has the friendly, relaxing welcome home vibe. Best cultural experience & hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wdmslp, Public Relations Manager at Casa Maya Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear guest

We appreciate your visit to Casa Maya. We are pleased that your visit has been pleasant. Also that you have liked our facilities and our beach, which is one of the most beautiful beaches in Cancun; as well as the excellent service from the hotel staff. We hope you visit us again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We are Worldmark owners and traded credits to get into Casa Maya through Interval International.
Upon check in, we were taken to the bar by our personal concierge Miguel, who's main goal is to get you signed up for the time share presentation. He was so nice, but we had talked before hand and agreed we have done so many that this vacation was ALL about relaxation. We told him we would call back with our schedule (because we had heard flat out saying no could get you a crummy room). He gave us free drinks from the bar and gave us lots of good information on resturaunts.
We booked a studio, which had just a microwave, small fridge, small tube tv and two full beds. Since we traded through Interval, I thought maybe our room location would stink. We were in the second building on the seventh (of eight) floors with a North facing window! It was the perfect location!! We watched the sunrise over the beach from our window.
We pushed the two full beds together, and the cleaner made it that way for the rest of the week. The bathroom is old tile and pretty dark. The rooms are nothing fantastic, but we didn't spend much time there anyway...so who cares? The beds are very firm, but we like firm so it was ok. You can ask for an egg carton pad to help, but if you don't like hard beds...maybe don't stay here.
OK...the BEACH!! This is why we booked Casa Maya. It was SO beautiful, and white beautiful sand. There are plenty of loungers and umbrellas for shade. The sand bar goes out a ways for fun swimming. The beach was perfect. It wasn't overcrowded like other beaches we saw. it really is the highlight of this resort.
We didn't go to the pool area much since the beach was so amazing. There are two pools in the main area, and there is another quieter pool behind building two. There is also a quiet hammock area back there that became my husbands favorite relaxing spot. There are two hot tubs that were plenty hot too.
The breakfast buffet was great. There is a taco bar, an omelet bar, waffles, pancakes, french toast, fruit, Mexican pastries, tons of juice options and so much more. We never had the lunch buffet. We had dinner a couple nights, we were underwhelmed by the dinner buffet. The best dinner buffet we had was the Caribbean buffet. There were some fantastic meat options that night that were so flavorful!

The pizza oven at the outdoor restaurant is a must try. It is a cheaper option for dinner and is quality pizza. The snack bar outside has some good, inexpensive lunch options as well.
We walked towards the hotel zone to a super market, it was probably a half hour to get there. We got water and some food to put in our little fridge. We were able to catch a cab back for $5. I didn't want to go all the way downtown to Walmart.
The resort has some fun activities throughout the day with the entertainment staff with some great prizes!
Pros-
Best beach around
Breakfast Buffet
Pizza Oven Pizza
Fast Elevators

Cons-
For some people...hard mattress
Sales pressure
Older rooms

If I go to Cancun again, I will definitely stay at Casa Maya again. The beach makes up for the lack luster rooms.

Room Tip: The very end of building two has the best views. The higher the room the better.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2bike1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wdmslp, Public Relations Manager at Casa Maya Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear guest

We appreciate your visit to Casa Maya. We are pleased that your visit has been pleasant. Also that you have liked our facilities and our beach, which is one of the most beautiful beaches in Cancun; as well as the excellent service from the hotel staff. We hope you visit us again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The best things about Casa Maya are:

A great beach, with a gradual slope for entering the water. The beach is cleaned and raked each morning of seaweed and trash.
Plenty of grass huts for shade at the beach.
Activities during the day such as dart throwing contests, water exercises, ping pong tables, bingo, beach volleyball and soccer games for little kids.
The pool is clean, but the two small hot tubs are barely warm.
Playground equipment for little kids.
Ramps next to most stairs for those needing it.
Rooms are cleaned everyday with fresh towels.
Beautiful tennis courts, but you’ll need to remember to bring your own tennis rackets.
The staff is friendly, especially the beach/pool entertainment staff.
Jet skis rental is fun, but pricey at $55 for 30 minutes.
The pizza oven is very good and reasonably priced ($155 pesos for a large).
Two restaurants are within walking distance.

Things that can use some improvement:
The furniture is old, but in decent shape.
Fix the broken tennis hoop at the pool.
TV's only received 3 or 4 channels in English. Some TV's are old, non-Hi Definition sets.
Kitchen dishes and glassware is spartan (six settings), which means you’ll be running the dishwasher every day.
Ask for a room that faces North towards the water. Our room faced West towards the ferry boat docks and city. If you need to face West, ask for a room on the highest levels for a better view.
Rent tennis equipment or charge to use the courts, and provide tennis racquets.
Fix the wireless internet. It's great that it's free, but it's so slow that it's useless. If you need to use the internet for business, you’ll be very frustrated.

Restaurants:
Two restaurants are nearby and are very good (forgot the names, but next door is Italian, and across the street is Mexican). At the Mexican restaurant, one of the employees was feeding an alligator which was fun to watch (see the pictures).
At the shopping Center La Isla, there are plenty of restaurants. At the Thai restaurant, I recommend splitting dinners to make it reasonably priced.
At Italianos (spelling?), the waiter added in his 20% tip and didn’t say that he added it in and the receipt didn't say the tip was already added in, and I almost tipped him again. I thought that was dishonest, and glad I caught that one.

Advice for those considering Casa Maya:

During check-in, you’re handed off to your personal “Concierge”, who’s main interest (in my opinion) is to sign you up for a time share presentation. To get a good room, I suggest you say you’ll attend the meeting, but then cancel after your in your room. Rumor has it that if you decline their time share pitch, you’ll be offered a crummy room.
Pre-arrange transportation from the airport. We didn’t, and paid whopping $68 + tip for a taxi to Casa Maya The return trip was only about $35 + tip.
Happy hour is from 2 to 3 pm at the beach bar. 2 for 1 drinks!
The Super Maya store at Casa Maya is reasonable for smaller items, but go to the Wal-Mart for your bigger food purchases. Take the bus there for $1, and take a cab back for $10 + tip.
Set your towels on the beach / pool chairs by 7:30 am for the best seats. Don’t loose your towel, or it’s a $50 fee.
We had some fraudulent charges added to our room, which were later removed at my insistence. I don’t think this is a big problem at Casa Maya, and it can happen at any resort. Someone probably overhead me at the bar when I gave the bartender my room number for my order.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces North towards the water. Our room faced West towards the ferry boat docks and city. If you need to face West, ask for a room on the highest levels for a better view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelBuddy536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wdmslp, Public Relations Manager at Casa Maya Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear guest

We appreciate your visit to Casa Maya. We are really concerned that your stay was not satisfactory. Your case will be reviewed with the directors of each corresponding area to assess the situation and avoid this to happen again. We hope that these measures may give us a new opportunity to enhance your experience in the future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Came for spring break with boyfriend and three girlfriends... Was pleased by the relaxed atmosphere and happy hour specials. Buffet on site is decent, but especially the breakfast! Loved the quesadilla station. Beach and pool were gorgeous. It was frustrating that the pool/hottub were only open until 10p. That's entirely too early. Additionally, the two times we tried to use the hot tub, it was luke warm.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cfish2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews