We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Casa Maya Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Maya Cancun
Ranked #62 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Stayed in 1 bedroom for a week. Older hotel, but very nice and roomy. Full kitchen fully stocked. I did not feel that the air conditioner was at its best and could have been colder. Waiters were all very friendly and nice. Outside pool area with kid pool was our favorite place. Nice beach area also. Ate breakfast and dinner once and both were reasonably priced and well worth it. Bellboys were also very helpful and friendly. Also the front desk staff helpful and friendly. Maid service daily and they were also nice and friendly. They offered very reasonable priced wireless service, but you had to go to lobby to use it.

Room Tip: Booked on skyauction.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janmar32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

616 - 622 of 1,406 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2011

The hotel is a little out of the way, but it probably has one of the best beaches, apart from the regular jetski traffic close to the shore and part of the sea is cordoned off to prevent them coming in too close.

The staff were all extriemly friendly had helpful which made you feel very welcome. Particularly all the staff in the breakfast room, who were amazing, they even provide at the table service even though it is a a buffet. The Breakfast food was also very good.

The old rooms are quite tired, with terrible wind noise and water through the windows, when it rains. The new rooms are very nice but not such good value. I understand that the people owning the timeshares are a bit anoyed that this upgrade is not available for them.

Beware the time share presentation, they do not easily give up when you say no, and the whole presentation takes a very long time.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kebab65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

This is an older resort with choices for upgraded side or less expensive side that hasn't been refurbished. We were very pleased with the spacious rooms and large awesome balcony with great views!
Very friendly hotel staff that help with anything. We are looking forward to staying there again on our next return.
If you are looking for the latest in furnishings then ask to stay on the upgraded side. We were very content with the older side because we do not stay in our room very much. We love spend time under the umbrellas, walk or travel the yucatan.
I don't think you will be disappointed with your stay.

Room Tip: They have choices for upgraded or larger suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NC2CUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

To start off, I do have to say that we got a really good walk-in rate on our suite so the price-value ratio was outstanding. Had I paid the full price (about twice the amount) I would have expected more.

The room (ambassador suite) was spacious, while beds and furniture seemed to be a bit dated. Everything a bit musty but thats more because they keep the rooms closed and frightfully cold (folks from the US seem to love it that way, so its not Casa Maya's fault). A bit of airing and everything was fine.

Beach was great. They had quite an animation program going. The poor guy in the frog suit must have been dying in it (at 100 degrees in the shade...).

Service fine, but nothing special. Typical Mexico.

The breakfast buffet was rather expensive ($15) but very generous with lots of live cooking and great juices.

We took the romantic Lover's Cruise (we had just got engaged) and had the most amazing night out. Don't miss it. Really special.

The place seems to be changing clientele to more Mexican oriented. No plastic chairs and tables on the beach yet but definitely coming.

The clientele is not spring break, more around 30-50 years old, a lot of kids.

I would say that if you get a good deal, go for it, but not if you're paying the "normal" rates of 220 dollars a night (ambassador suite).

We weren't pestered by any time-sharing personnel.

Room Tip: When in Mexico, always ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottraban74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

My wife first went to Casa Maya in 1985 so when we were looking for somewhere to stay in Cancun we decided to go back there - that was in 2003 - and we have been there very year since, always in August (wife is a teacher).

We have been through one hurricane near-miss there (evening spent singing karaoke in the extended happy hour bar), made a lot of friends, and have bought into the Elite-level timeshare. We have also taken several friends and family (from UK, USA and Mexico) and all have enjoyed their time there.

Sure, it isn't the newest hotel in the town, the fabric of the buildings is tired, it only got wifi two years ago, the pools are old-fashioned and the entertainment is pretty limited.
BUT it isn't full of rowdy youths (it's more of a family hotel), it isn't dominated by foreigners (most of the guests are Mexican, at least in August), the beer is cold and you don't end up paying for poor quality food on an all-inclusive package.
The entertainment team arrange party nights out every night, and when the weather is good, there's a dinner buffet/party on the beach with a show on Monday nights for 100 pesos.
The staff with one exception are friendly, courteous and efficient. The exception is fron desk, where the manager is rude and the other staff are inattentive - probably because they make nothing on tips, unlike the maids, waiters and barstaff.

Being an old hotel, the suites are enormous, unlike the rabbit hutches you get further down the strip. The ordinary "hotel rooms" however are less good, and are not recommended.
Food is OK, but nothing special: different selection every night. We normally either eat in our room or go out to a restaurant in town. Breakfasts are pretty good though.
The timeshare presentation is professionally done - in other words it is pretty high-pressure, but once you make it clear that you do NOT want to buy, they do give up. Normally we stay for two weeks. In 2010 we stayed for three weeks. We will be back again in August 2011 for two weeks, and unless the new management screw things up we will continue to be back.

Room Tip: Family hotel, not for the party scene
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

I must admit I went down to Mexico with reservations about Casa Maya after reading all the reviews, but upon arrival was greeted with a friendly face and great hospitality. We originally had a two bedroom with a great view of the ocean and we chose to take the timeshare tour. When we toured the new elite suites I was very impressed and after a few hours of negotiating decided to buy. The old suites are definitely dated but are immaculate as is the whole resort. The beds are hard in the old but plush and comfortable in the new suites. Our view could not be beat from the pool to the ocean to the bay we had beautiful views. The service was very good maybe a little slow at times but extremely friendly. I got to talking with a cancun veteran who has been going for years and he was telling me how the main hotel zone has some rough waters and serious undertoe. he said that this hotel has the best beach on the strip and there is not much about the beach I could complain about. The staff tries to keep things going with activities around the pool all day. The entertainment at night is as dated as the resort. Nice guy but I could get that at a chinese restaraunt. Location is nice because you are out of the main zone but are a 10 dollar cab ride from all the action both hotel zone and downtown cancun. The only reason I didn't give the hotel an excellent review is because it is dated, however they are working to bring it up to par witht the rest

Room Tip: room 2522 was my room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mikemac550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

We arrived at the hotel late on a Saturday night and were told to wait. We waited for about 15 minutes and then we asked to be shown to our room because we were tired.

We were very pleasantly surprised that we were given an upgraded room with an ocean view at no extra cost. Because of some of the reviews on this site I was afraid that we would be inundated with time share promo requests, but we only received one phone call which we politely declined.

The resort itself is dated and needs an upgrade. It is kept very clean and has great service. They rake the beach everyday! It is at the far end of the hotel zone and is very quiet. It was a fantastic week and I would go back to the Casa Maya in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank copycatreading1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
5.0 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#46 of 177 in Cancun
2,130 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
2.3 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#68 of 177 in Cancun
5,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Real Inn Cancun
Real Inn Cancun
#69 of 177 in Cancun
526 reviews
3.0 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#43 of 177 in Cancun
748 reviews
2.5 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Maya Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Maya Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 5.5 | Zona Hotelera Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $109 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Maya Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splitty, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Maya Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Maya Cancun Hotel Cancun
Casa Maya Hotel Cancun
Hotel Casa Maya Cancun
Cancun Casa Maya
Imperial Fiesta Club Hotel Casa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing