We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Cancun
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,593)
Filter reviews
1,593 results
Traveler rating
1,087
271
141
45
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,087
271
141
45
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews diamond club rooftop pool martini bar hunter steakhouse gourmet marche travel smart fitness team aqua fit chef raul jade restaurant sports bar diamond pool ocean view butler service guest services beach staff a la carte restaurants
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 1,593 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

7 people, 2 rooms. Biggest issue here is dinner reservations. Because we booked on expedia, we were contacted by Abril, the rep that handles those clients. She supposedly booked our reservations, however 2 meals out of 5 the reservations were messed up. For other people, I heard when they made reservations they were told 45 min. Its a smaller sized hotel with a lot of places to choose from so there has go to be way to make this work for people. The next issue was the food. It really wasn't good.. There was always a lot to choose from, esp at the buffet, but really it was all average tasting at best. The steak place was the most enjoyable so we went there again the last night. We were never told that on christmas eve the menu was the same for everyone. The food that night was horrible- we all left starving.. When we asked the waiter why we didnt get "the cleansing palette course" He said we weren't supposed to- meanwhile, all the other tables did.The italian and asian places really weren't anything to speak of. The mexican place was probably the next best to the steak. The ice cream/coffee place is a great concept however the ice cream wasn't creamy (kinda gritty?) the coffee drinks were great. They also close by 10pm.. too early. However, I have to say, there inset enough night life here. Maybe bc it is small but after dinner and the entertainment, the place dies down and is kind of boring for our 18-23 year olds we were with. (senor frogs, carlos and charlies is a 10min walk, so we did that one night) The entertainment was ok. Not sure if it would have been better if the weather permitted the shows to be outside instead of a cramped area inside. The beach and ocean at this hotel is amazing . Perfect sand and waves..BUT.. if it is busy, getting chairs especially for s large group is a pain. We rented a cabana for 2 of the days. It was discounted w the coupon book we got a check in, Cabanas are nice, perfect location to beach and pool and you still get your all inclusive- really wasn't a need to pay extra for more in the cabana. Issue w cabanas is they need to put a reserved sign on the cabana. Both days random hotel guests were in our cabana when we arrived at 10am to use it. More frustrating was that WE PAID for ours, but if cabanas were going unused for that day, anyone would just go in and set up camp and still get served by the service crew out there. Really unfair. The Dj, pool exercise classes and staff were really a lot of fun and kept the group going ...
SOOO.. as far as the diamond club....guys, I know some bigger resorts do this- but your resort is too small to specialize like this. Is it really lucrative? We read prior that the rooftop bar (which is so cool and beautiful) was only for diamond club guests. Well, guess that was reevaluated bc now everyone is allowed to goober the age of 18, just diamond club drinks for free. So, one night we decided to go up and figured we would pay for a drink or 2 and the rooftop bar was closed because it was a Monday? That brings me to the lack of nightlife we felt there. Christmas eve was a fortune at this hotel we literally paid 3x the amount for this once night (x2 rooms) so note : nothing special happened on this night except the dinner was horrible) check out your individual daily rates when booking. Ok, so next is something I was very nervous about and that is what I have read on so many reviews. They try to get you to do a time share by going to meeting. We were w our kids and their friends and our time was valuable, we did NOT want to go. It mat be worth it to someone to go for free massage or cabana or whatever else they were offering, but not to us. They need to ask ONCE.. stop pushing. If someone wants to do this, and its work 90min-2hrs of their time then they will do it.. The vibe when you walk in is nice, the hotel is very modern and pretty. Dont ruin it the first 10 min w this hard sell. Its annoying and cheapens the reputation you're going for. Rooms were great, yes your clothes feel a little musty, but nothing terrible.Go in and out of your patio door fast to minimize that. Rooms were very pretty and modern. room service ordering from TV kinda cool. Room service was the same quality as the rest of the food. I reccomend the cheeseburger, the pizza is really NOT good. The staff is amazing that is one thing that I can say. They are all so friendly and willing and wanting to help w a smile. Bring some 10's 5's and ones because these people work hard. All in all, pretty hotel , great beach...work on the nightlife, FOOD, and come up w a good dinner reservations system...Oh, and ditch the diamond club concept here.

Room tip: Definitely go for the ocean view- very worth it!
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AELRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeCastroRCUN, Manager at Royalton Suites Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear AELRN
Feedback is essential to continue improving our services and offer the best attention to our guests. We appreciate the comments and all the points you consider be boosted to offer a unique experience, al the recommendations, and positive mentions that were shared with all the departments involved. Once again thank for your visit to Royalton Suites Cancun and hoping to receive you once again in the future.
Luxury Regards
Jorge Castro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I arrived for 7 nights at the beginning of January.

The hotel reception is very modern, fresh and to a high standard. The check in desk was a bit slow and whenever I've been to cancun before I've been greeted with a welcome drink but not on this occasion.

The rooms are lovely, one of the best I've stayed in and we had a lagoon view which isn't as pretty as sea view but you do get a lovely sunset. I asked about a room with a sea view and i was told i could have one for an extra $600 for 7 nights but i thought this trip had already cost enough so dedided to decline.

This hotel has a fairly small pool but it had a great bar with great service and it's literally on the beach which is where we parked ourselves most days.

The beach was beautifully kept, no rubbish, minimal sea weed but it was rather choppy so take care if those red flags are out.

I was happy with the food, the hotel wasn't that busy so we were able to eat at jade, hunters and the sports bar and they're all pretty good. The ribeye was really good in hunters and the service from the waiters was fantastic.

Breakfast / Lunch / dinner in the main restaurant was fine, if you can't find something you like then it's perhaps you that's the problem not the restaurant.

The diamond club for me seemed abit of a shame, i never went for it and it seperates a lot of guests. We met a couple who lived local to us but they used a different pool and eat on 16th floor with the roof top pool.

I was really impressed with level 18 but they're definitely not using it to its potential, for me that should be the go to place in the hotel but i went up on two occassions and there were less that 30 people up there. They should definitely include drinks for the non diamond club members up there amd create a better amd busier atmosphere up there.

The location was perfect, 10 minute walk down to the hotel zone which is where coco bongos is and a fair few bars, shops and places to eat if you fancy a change.

The sales team in reception don't like taking no for an answer, ken almost seemed offended that i never wanted to turn up to a presentation and i didn't appreciate the call to the room by him to try and sell it again.

Apart from that, a wonderful stay and i would recommend it.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank kibble21305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeCastroRCUN, Manager at Royalton Suites Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear kibble21305
Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our Resort to other travelers on TripAdvisor. I’m sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate the kind comments and the valuable feedback received, rest assured this information will be shared to our staff to attend the points mentioned. We look forward to seeing you very soon at Royalton Suites Cancun.
Luxury Regards
Jorge Castro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from a week at the Royalton Suites Cancun. Elected to upgrade to Diamond Club (DC) at the time of booking which cost us ~$400 CAD extra for our family of four.

Primary reason for booking DC was the ability to make reservations at the restaurants which out butler ensured was done every evening. We also enjoyed the DC pool and beachside service as we could order lunch and drink from our beach/pool chairs. The DC pool is small and can get crowded during peak times, however given that we have small kids, the size of the pool was not much of an issue. Looks like they have added an additional row of beach chairs as we did not have any issues getting up to three chairs as late as 10:30am. Beach is well maintained. We would have enjoyed our time in the ocean more were it not for the strong waves and current which required a red flag to be posted on the beach for the entire week.

The other DC benefits we enjoyed were the hydrotherapy sessions at the spa, food and drinks at the rooftop (Level 18) restaurant and the separate check in. For the price paid, I found the DC benefits worthwhile. Not sure I would pay much more.

The restaurants overall were above average with the standouts being the steakhouse and Italian. The asian restaurant was below average especially when compared to the asian cuisine we are accustomed to in Toronto. Buffet was good, especially breakfast. Decent selection and tolerable wait times for the omelette stations.

The main draw at this resort for us was the close proximity of all the various facilities. The elevator wait times were acceptable. We had a lagoon view room which was more than adequate given that we spent minimal time in the room.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank sunsandlovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeCastroRCUN, Manager at Royalton Suites Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear susanandlovin
Thank you for your posting on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to read your comments regarding our staff program. We are glad to know that we were able to provide a relaxing holiday. Comments and feedback like yours constitute some good motivation for us to keep working to achieve our guests’ satisfaction. Hoping to welcome you once again at Royalton Suites Cancun.
Luxury regards
Jorge Castro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While I was very pleased with our choice and overall experience at the Resort, I felt there are few areas where you should improve to be considered a 5 star :
- Beach area: Every day was a battle to find a spot at the beach with chairs, this should be much smoother.
- A La Carte Restaurants: Overall the quality needs improvement. Italian: not great, you should consider bringing an Italian Chef or find more authentic dishes, food was lacking of flavour, sauces had too much butter, just as an example. Asian: Another place that needs refinement, for example you could consider a Japonese Stakehouse
- Buffet in the evening: It also lacked options, tried one day and we were very disappointed
- Night entertainment: We wished there were more options of shows or activities beyond 11pm.

We travel 3-4 times a year and have been to places that were simpler and had better A La Carte Restaurants that yours, have been to more sophisticated that were much better.

Having said that, breakfast buffet was excellent, Mexican was the best Restaurant and Steakhouse was very good.

Entertainment Team: Kudos to Them! Excellent and vibrant team, made our trip excellent!

Thank you.
Adriana

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Adriana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeCastroRCUN, Manager at Royalton Suites Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Adriana
Thank you for share your experience regarding your stay at our resort. Thank you for your kind recommendation and feedback for our facilities, entertainment activities, restaurants, and food. All the comments were delivered to the respective areas. We look forward to your next visit at Royalton Suites Cancun in the future.
Luxury Regards
Jorge Castro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Would definitely recommend! We went for a girl’s weekend, great value and exceptional staff and services! We had a blast, more adult resort which was perfect. Room service was amazing! Food was terrific, drinks were strong and abundant. Never had to wait for service especially at the pool. Would go back to this resort for sure

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank mollyquinn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeCastroRCUN, Manager at Royalton Suites Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Molly
It was a great pleasure to receive you at our Resort and you enjoyed an excellent stay. Thank you for the kind comments to our staff and also to our restaurants, food, facilities, and service. We are hoping to receive you at Royalton Suites Cancun in the near future.
Luxury Regards
Jorge Castro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews