We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“My sumer vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Cancun Resort & Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Omni Cancun Resort & Villas
Ranked #41 of 180 Hotels in Cancun
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My sumer vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Was my 1st time in cancun, honesly my expectations was more as we get I think the best on this hotel is the great staff, great servive for Carmen our housekeeper always keep clean, on time and give us whoever need in the room 1718 kudos for CARMEN. Adriana the lobby bartender always with a Smile e have a beautiful nights in the lobby with her. Maldonado lifeguard save mi life many many thanks to him. And my rock star the best of this hotel the reason I will back to omni cancum the chef of piña colada, and brefrast on la vista chef Carlos Hurtado great food with him, nice good bye lunch, if you go to this hotel have to meet chef Carlos.
The hotel was okay, think needs some room renovation and give chef Carlos restaurant La Paloma to management. Nice location, easy transportation, nice outside acomodations on the beach. Congrats to all staff members.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,817
    1,563
    540
    231
    158
See reviews for
1,768
1,847
102
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,098)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

My family & I stayed here for a week in August 2014. The hotel is ok. When we first walked in, the lobby did not smell the best, I kind of didn't like the lobby smell, it smelled almost like moldy smell. But the staff at this OMNI is wonderful. Iris from the front desk was wonderful and very helpful. All the servers at the LaPaloma restaurant is great. Luis the DJ/Entertainer was wonderful and kept the atmosphere during the day great; his games were great and he was a great host/dj. The foods are good. The beach front resto was great too. We paid extra for a room upgrade and we got to the suite with the beach & pool views, thank you Iris! The swimming pools are great, but the deepest was only 4 FT. My kids (6 & 2) both enjoyed the pools very much. The doormen were wonderful and always greeted us with smiles and kindness whenever we passed by. I forgot the name of the one particular doorman, he was tall & cute and was really nice to my family! The bathroom of this hotel was ok, it was big but the bathtub/Jacuzzi needed a bit more cleaning. It sucks that for the LaVista (or DaVinci), we weren't able to dine there because kids are not allowed. Please change that policy. Not all kids are bad, don't punish the good kids!!! Also, we were told that for either DaVinci or LaVista, we can dine there for free as part of the inclusive deal and that for the lobster nite, we can just pay extra. However, when we tried to book a reservation, we were told that there is a fee of $30 per person (adult) and $15 per kid. The pools bars are great! I love their strawberry margarita. The staff at the beach front resto was all nice, but it was too hot there and it's not because of the resto, it's because it's just too hot in MX!

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade since they offer it for a fee. We had a room that was close to the elevator and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Everything in the hotel is great except WIFI service. In today's age, without WIFI is like living in dinosaur age. I have to walk to lobby every time to check emails via my IPAD, very inconvenience. In addition, the free computer/printer room is so not comfortable, referring the Air Condition.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Chiliu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This hotel is old and unkept. The ceiling was leaking right above the dinner table at the buffet. There were leakage in the ceiling in hallways as well. The rooms weren't cleaned properly. House keeping was still cleaning rooms in the late afternoon, evening. Breakfast was almost exactly the same every morning. Food at the buffet wasn't good. The Devinci restaurant was good but you can only dine there a few times based on how long you are staying and there are no kids allowed. The free wifi never worked. This hotel is no higher than a 2 star. The only good thing about this resort is the beach. I would never come stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrandMrsTraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Omni may not be the biggest resort. However, it had everything we were looking for in a Caribbean Cancun Resort. We arrived at 6:00 AM to the resort. Our check in time was at 3:00 PM. Wilbert (Willie) secured our luggage, and directed us to the front desk to proceed with the check in process. We were then given our hand tags and our towel cards to start enjoying our all inclusive amenities throughout the resort until a room becomes available. We had breakfast at La Paloma in-resort buffet. We decided to hang on the beach under a Tiki umbrella. Fernando at the KuKu's Bar did not wait till our drink cups were empty to have some other speciality drink ready for us. The water was turquoise, white sand beach with a life guard on duty. Before you know it Willie came looking for us to let us know that our room was ready. We were stunned by the view from our room. Room was very clean, and cozy. The resort is very kids friendly. They had a kids club where you can leave your kids amused all day in indoor and outdoor activities with kids their age. The highlight of our trip comes at the Piña Colada restaurant where the head waiter Alex made sure that you were 120% satisfied. Mussels, Calamari, Ceviche, and Fajitas hit the spot at lunch. Piña Colada turns into an Indonesian restaurant at night and the name changed to deva. Very appetizing seafood dinner plates were served. We loved the Tuna Wontons as an appetizer. The seafood soup was delicious. The salmon and grilled shrimp plates were very satisfying. Great portions, taste, and appearance. PS if you decide to have dinner at Deva, you need to make a reservation ahead of time, as restaurant was always over booked. We usually made reservation first thing in the morning to secure our dinner at Deva. My son had an accident in the hotel room. He fell and was bleeding from his head. The concierge dispatched the security personnel to perform first aid. They stopped the bleeding, and gave him all the 1st aid necessary. Better yet, whenever we met them at the lobby, they always came to check on our son. We felt home, cozy, and would love to go there again. We had an ocean view room with a nice spacious balcony. What else do you want from a vacation?

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gendy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Rooms needs some updateding,but this property has a great beach front. The food at the Da Vinci restaurant was delicious, and the customer service was awesome, very friendly. One of the kids in our group did not get his prize at a pool activity and they started giving him the run around and when we went to management about it, they took care of it right away and went above and beyond in customer service. I was very impressed, no wonder they get the JD Powers Award for best customer service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KGoede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed for a week, and I would say it was a decent stay. This hotel has nice beach front, you can't beat that, and it's in the hotel zone, so easy transportation anywhere (bus stop is in front of the hotel, $9.5 peso/ride).

The room was dated, the property is 25 years old after all. We stayed at 2 different rooms, the room at 19th floor had too much water pressure, and room at 17th had no water pressure...we had laugh about this. Higher floor is definitely better, much less foot traffic. Central A/C, big plus for my wife. Shampoo and Conditioner were bad enough we went to Walmart and bought some. WiFi was very slow, but we were there to enjoy the view, so it didn't bother us too much (except when wife tries to update status, lol). Here is an interesting fact, there are 2 different groups of people cleaning the rooms, one group restock the mini bar, the other group clean the room. We were trying to get more towels (since there were only 2 towels start with), and I was leaving tip and note on the mini bar hoping the cleaning crew would see it and get extra towels for me but never did...then at third day we stayed at room long enough we realized the first group of people was taking the money and note, so the next group never knew our request! We left tip on the bed and had our extra towels after that.

The food here for the most part is nothing special. The buffet is just okay (items you would find at local hometown buffet with bit more Mexican dishes), and the La Vista restaurant (cost like $28 USD pp extra) was decent (much better presentation and had nice view outside, but very average ingredients, service was good but very rushed, felt like they were trying to kick us out). The one exception was the Da Vinci restaurant, excellent food and service, all thank our server Juan Carlo. This restaurant had dress code but it was a good thing, we ate here twice, wish we could do this every night, but number of visits were limited. Sushi Bar and Viva Mexico were decent too, but very limited operating hours. Member to TIP!!! Because we were Asian American, on day one the locals assumed we were from Asia and didn't think we would tip, so the service we received were average at best. I made a point to let them know I was tipping and service changed dramatically everyday after that. They were giving me more alcohol in the drinks too, my wife actually asked the bartender to tone it down.

We had a lot of activities, that's part of reason why we didn't care about the room or food too much. The last tip here is when book activities, compare between all the travel agencies!!! All these agencies are just middlemen. The BDTravel is with Costco Travel, so Costco members could ask for 10% discount (he wanted proof, because that's his margin), but even so you still need to compare, because we had one time even the discounted price was higher than agency next door (most time Costco Travel discount had the best price). Also, use credit card is better than paying cash (if you can). Credit card without foreign transaction fee like Capital One cards will use real time exchange rate, which was 1 USD to 13.13 peso when we visited, and at best the local stores will let you use dollar at exchange rate of 12.5.

Finally, big thanks to the security at Omni Cancun. My wife lost her cell phone at the beach and they actually found it, it was a very good day for her. Oh, all the photos...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.6 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
0.1 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
4.6 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
1.7 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
4.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Cancun Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Cancun Resort & Villas

Property: Omni Cancun Resort & Villas
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 16.5 | Hotel Zone Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cancun
#23 Family Hotel in Cancun
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#32 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Cancun Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Omni Resort and Villas is located on the beautiful and highly coveted white sandy beaches of Cancun's exceedingly popular hotel zone. The hotel provides panoramic vistas of both the rolling waves of the turquoise Caribbean Sea and the tranquil waters of the Nichupte Lagoon. The All Inclusive OMNI Cancun Resort & Villas offers a variety of restaurant and bars, from an Steak House "La Vista", Mediterranean Cuisine at "Da Vinci", Sushi Bar and Viva Mex for the best Mexican antojitos. All day Buffet style at La Paloma and 24 hrs Room Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Cancun Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Cancun Hotel And Villas
Omni Cancun Hotel Villas
Omni Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing