We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family trip during spring break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni Cancun Resort & Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Omni Cancun Resort & Villas
Ranked #39 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family trip during spring break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We enjoyed the Omni very much. We booked through interval international, trading our own timeshare week at another resort in Florida. We booked two rooms, but since we couldn't get them both on the same floor, we were offered a very nice, pool/beach view suite for us and our kids. Was it noisy at night? Were there college kids everywhere? Yes and yes. But it was Spring Break and we knew that when we booked! When we couldn't beat the noise, we joined it. Karaoke by the pool was funny (drunk people sound stupid) and we used the mayhem as an opportunity to teach our kids how foolish young (and old) people look and act when they drink without restraint. The property is older, but well maintained and the staff seem to always be cleaning. The buffets were good and fresh (and we are neither food snobs nor food slobs) and the drinks were well prepared. The staff, from the front desk and bellmen to the waiters and cleaning ladies, were so nice on a consistent basis. After day one, the servers knew our preferences and had drinks ready almost before we were seated. We would return to the Omni without reservation. It was a blast.

Room Tip: If you can't handle noise at night, don't travel during USA Spring Break, and don't be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joneses4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,080
    1,686
    577
    247
    177
See reviews for
1,936
2,025
112
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

The whole staff was amazing. From the waiters, house keeping, front desk, front door, activity directors, servers, gift shop workers, they were all the most friendly and accommodating people. We really felt that their only concern was for us to enjoy ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 214donaldc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Everything was great, the room, the service, the pools. The food was OK. The drunken kids at all hours were disturbing, to say the least: It is 1:00pm and spring breakers are drunk in the children's pool, some were so drunk that they had to be escorted to there chairs by security.
Families with toddlers and drunken spring breakers just don't go together.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silk454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Like other reviewers, I was disappointed in the spring breakers taking over the hotel. We chose this hotel based on the fact that they did not host spring breakers and clearly they are a spring break hotel.

The property is beautiful, the staff pleasant, and the beach is lovely. However, due to the spring breakers, we were unable to experience the entire resort. For example, the pool, the hot tubs by the pool, the lobby bar, and the beach bar with the hot tub were overtaken by loud, sloppy, drunk spring breakers. Therefore, making it inaccessible to other guests. In addition, I found the public restrooms on the property consistently dirty even though the staff was always cleaning them.

I hope the Omni reconsiders catering to the spring breakers. The hotel is a nice hotel and all of the staff were wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heath721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We have been staying at the Omni Cancun and are part of the Vacation Club, and were floored to see what has become within the last year.

Turns out there is new hotel management, and a lot of things have changed. This place used to be incredible... solid if unspectacular food, good management, impeccable service staff and everyone from the housekeepers to the security staff made this place hum like a well oiled machine. On top of it all, there was an awesome, laid back, ultra relaxing ambiance.

When we checked in in March, we were immediately greeted by a group of 30 spring breakers queuing to check in at the main desk and screaming at the top of their lungs. And it only got worse. Talking to old friend wait staff, turns out this is the first year that spring breakers have been openly accommodated, and the cracks in the armor are starting to show. As these loud, obnoxious college kids ordered massive amounts of drinks in really bad Spanish (puedo get 14 shots de tequila and 14 cervezas, por favor), you could see the bartenders get more and more tired. Harder work and less in tips doesn't make for a pleasant working environment.

The food quality has generally gotten worse in the last year or so as well. I'm not going to lie to you and tell you the theme dinners at La Paloma used to be Easter Brunch at the Langham (look it up), but you could usually find a few things that were good along the line. This time, we had to order from our waiter more often than not, since the selection was decreased and the "meh" quality was increased. Combined with the fact that our old friend spring breakers were screaming at the top of their lungs and pushing people out of the way so they could get to the salad bar first, this wasn't the best experience I've ever had.

To make a long story short, you always get a 5 star experience with the service at the Omni. Just amazing, impeccable service. But, points are removed for the new hotel policies and poor food quality. IF we come back next year, we'll have to come back at a different time unless things change. It wasn't what we've become accustomed to, and at points was bordering on unbearable.

P.S. Internet here is absolutely pathetic. Might have been due to the insanely full resort, and each person with multiple devices, but they really need to work on that.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PeaceSignMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Went there recently with my husband and our two young children. We had a beautiful ocean view room, but we had no idea it would be SO LOUD staying in that room. The evening's entertainment was right under us, and it was impossible to get any sleep before 10pm because it was so incredibly loud. I stay at a lot of Omni hotels, and other Omnis offer ear plugs....I think that would be a good idea for this place. The view was beautiful though...great view of the ocean and some of the hotel's pools. The kids loved the pool area and the beach. It was nice that the lifeguards on duty do take their jobs seriously since the water was pretty choppy during our stay. The wait staff is hit or miss...service is good but the degree of friendliness just depends on the personality of the server. We made sure to tip $2 at each meal though, and the servers remember and if we got the same server on a repeat visit to a restaurant, we always got good service. Drinks were very watered down, but we found when we asked for an extra shot of vodka or rum, the bartenders were very obliging. Ate at Deva our last night...the appetizers and soup were fantastic. The main dishes were okay, but not great. Not very flavorful. The fried ice cream was delicious! The women working the front desk were all very friendly..one of the men I had to converse with was not. He was a jerk. Having different places to eat was definitely a perk. The kids loved being able to choose their own foods at the buffet. we primarily ate at La Paloma for breakfast and dinner and tried Viva Mexico, Trattoria and Pina Colada for lunch. We had no issues with the buffet...there's not a whole lot of variety but it suited us fine. Husband and kids liked the burgers from Viva Mexico and I liked the tacos. Pina Colada was excellent...great seafood. We kept going back for the Yucatan-style ceviche - delicious! Trattoria was the most disappointing of our lunch time endeavors. Pizza was boring and the burrito was bland. I do have a high level in their Select Guest program (Black level), and on our first night, we received a bottle of wine and a cheese plate, which was very generous of the hotel to offer, and we really appreciated it. However, after that first night, there was no other "VIP-like" treatment from the hotel staff. Overall, I'm not sure we would come back to this particular property because of the noise, and the hotel service was just average...we did encounter a couple of issues during our stay, but no one went "above and beyond" to help us. But, the kids had a blast and knew no differently.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Sophia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clinton,maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Overall we had a poor experience with our stay at the Omni all inclusive resort. My understanding through researching resorts was that the Omni was not a big "spring break" destination , I was disappointed to find the place mobbed with loud ,rude ,drunk teens. They ran in-policed up and down the halls, knocked on doors in the middle of the night, screaming and yelling from their balconies ...even saw a couple jump from their balcony onto the roof and run down the roofline! The lobby bar was a constant roar of kids in the evening. We were hardly able to once get a spot in the beach side hot tub swim up bar. The resort stopped serving some top label alcohols like Jack Daniels because the kids were drinking them under. A five dollar charge was added for any room service order...half way through our stay.And the food overall , was so-so at best..... while the drinks anywhere on the resort were very poor.I tried to speak with a manager three times and was told she was busy. The staff was very helpful and nice, however I felt the pushing they do to get you to sit through a presentation for timeshares and the excursion sales push was too much. The property and beach was beautiful .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vwaudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.6 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
0.1 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
1.7 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
0.6 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#21 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Cancun Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Cancun Resort & Villas

Property: Omni Cancun Resort & Villas
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 16.5 | Hotel Zone Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cancun
#23 Family Hotel in Cancun
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#31 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Cancun Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Omni Resort and Villas is located on the beautiful and highly coveted white sandy beaches of Cancun's exceedingly popular hotel zone. The hotel provides panoramic vistas of both the rolling waves of the turquoise Caribbean Sea and the tranquil waters of the Nichupte Lagoon. The All Inclusive OMNI Cancun Resort & Villas offers a variety of restaurant and bars, from an Steak House "La Vista", Mediterranean Cuisine at "Da Vinci", Sushi Bar and Viva Mex for the best Mexican antojitos. All day Buffet style at La Paloma and 24 hrs Room Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Vacatia, Agoda, Jetsetter, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Omni Cancun Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Cancun Hotel And Villas
Omni Cancun Hotel Villas
Omni Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing