We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thankful we were at Omni for Thanksgiving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni Cancun Resort & Villas
Ranked #38 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful week at the Omni. We had two executive suite rooms, both with lovely views and sitting areas the rooms were large and very quite and beautiful maintained. The resort is on the smaller side compared to some mega resorts and we loved it. Always got into a restaurant right away. No long lines ever and the staff bends over backwards to help you and give you excellent service. Spoiled us silly! The beach is beyond perfect with a life guard right there. Plenty of pools or jacuzzis to get away from others.

The only con is there isn't much nightlife at resort. My husband and I liked that but my 19 year old son would have enjoyed something to do in the evening closer to us.

Room Tip: Executive suites are much larger with a sitting area so nice for groups. If you book two rooms the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baseballgoonies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rub_Gar2013, General Manager at Omni Cancun Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

We want to thank you for having stayed at our Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas and for posting your wonderful comments on this important social media.

Indeed, our mission at the Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas is to meet and exceed our guests expectations, and we are happy to have achieved our goals with you during your visit.

From every member of our team, we look forward to having you with us again in the near future.

Cordially yours,
Dinorah Soto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,327 - 3,333 of 6,152 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed at the Omni last week for 7 nights. We were extremely impressed and loved the hotel. Would recommend it to any other couple or family.

Location: very close to the airport - 15 mins. There's a restaurant, convenience store and Avis opposite the hotel. We went up to the area with Coco Bongo, Hooters etc one day but with the heat it was too far to walk for us - we walked halfway then got the bus. Buses are very frequent.

Rooms: excellent. Comfortable beds, good A/C, very clean, minibar and coffee restocked daily and towels changed twice a day if you want. We got two double beds instead of one king, and a corner view instead of lagoon view, but we didn't bother complaining. It was quite nice to see both lagoon and ocean even if the view was mainly of the Oasis Hotel!

Pool area: always lots of sunbeds, nice pools and jacuzzi. Great drinks service.

Beach: beautiful, clean, again plenty of sunbeds and shade.

Food: the dinner buffet was average, but we only ate there two nights. We went to Da Vinci twice (highly recommended - order the chocolate piano), Deva (Indonesian on the beach - again very nice, great menu and cocktails), Viva Mexico (this is only open until 8pm but one night we just wanted something informal), and ordered room service once as this is included.

Breakfast was fantastic, and not just for the mimosas! We went to La Paloma twice and then Pina Colada the rest of the time. We liked that the buffet had A/C but you can't beat having breakfast on the beach. You can order omelettes, burritos, eggs etc off the menu and everything was delicious. One of the waiters, Adan, was great - I never had an empty mimosa glass!

For lunch we alternated between Pina Colada and Viva Mexico. Moises at Viva Mexico was the first member of staff we met and made us feel very welcome each time we went back.

Drinks: one of the highlights of our holiday was Kuku's Bar and Francisco who works there. So friendly and was always giving us different drinks to try. We usually went there around 4pm - it was quite busy but we could normally get a seat. Really nice place to be when the sun goes down.

In the evenings we usually got drinks from the lobby bar and then took them to our balcony or to the pool area/beach.

Water - we were probably over cautious and drank bottled water with straws, but as the tap water is purified I'm sure it would have been fine. You can get bottles at all of the bars and in the minibar.

Staff: as I've mentioned, everyone we encountered was incredibly friendly, much more so than anywhere else I've visited. Hardworking too, there were always people around cleaning etc. We tipped small amounts regularly but I'm sure the service would have been great even if we hadn't.

A few tips... I'd recommend signing up to Omni's Select Guest programme before you get there. It's easy to do on their website and meant we got free in-room wifi (which was really fast), and could get coffee, paper and pastries brought to our room each morning.

Also, we booked Da Vinci and Deva before we travelled. We probably didn't need to but might be a good idea in peak season. The concierge was really helpful.

Apart from staying around the hotel, we had a day at Ik Kil cenote and Chichen Itza (I'd recommend booking with Via Tours - well organised, excellent guide and included lunch), and a day visiting Coba and Tulum. We hired a car from the Avis across the road from the hotel - good service, no problems with the car and driving around was easy. Dolphinaris near the airport was great too if you want to swim with dolphins - cheap but the photos were reasonably expensive.

Thanks Omni for a brilliant week!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rub_Gar2013, General Manager at Omni Cancun Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

We want to thank you for having stayed at our Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas and for posting your wonderful comments on this important social media.

At the same time, we would like to tell you that we appreciate very much the kind comments you expressed regarding the service delivered by Adan, Moises and Francisco. We are truly fortunate to have such talented and professional personnel. Indeed, they pride themselves on delivering warm, genuine, Mexican hospitality to create unique and memorable experiences in each interaction with our guests.

Certainly, our mission at the Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas is to meet and exceed our guests expectations, and we are happy to have achieved our goals with you during your visit.

From every member of our team, we look forward to having you with us again in the near future.

Cordially yours,

Dinorah Soto
Managing Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Overall, very courteous staff. Ocean view room was a great way to wake up in the morning. Maid service was excellent and consistent. Beautiful beach area but could not go in the water the entire week due to rough surf. Check in and out was fast.

Beware that cots are extra cost. Buffet was average. Entertainment staff could be more enthusiastic but Zumba instructor was great!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilovetravel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rub_Gar2013, General Manager at Omni Cancun Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

We want to thank you for having stayed at our Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas and for posting your wonderful comments on this important social media.

Indeed, our mission at the Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas is to meet and exceed our guests expectations, and we are happy to have achieved our goals with you during your visit.

From every member of our team, we look forward to having you with us again in the near future.

Cordially yours,
Dinorah Soto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

All employees are so kind and friendly, instalations are always clean and all food have good taste. I have to recommend the sushi bar there are many kinds of amazing sushi, you can found everything around the hotel... Farmacy, banks, grocery store and is not so far from the airport, I hope come back soon

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arlyne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rub_Gar2013, General Manager at Omni Cancun Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

We want to thank you for having stayed at our Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas and for posting your wonderful comments on this important social media.

Indeed, our mission at the Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas is to meet and exceed our guests expectations, and we are happy to have achieved our goals with you during your visit.

From every member of our team, we look forward to having you with us again in the near future.

Cordially yours,
Dinorah Soto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Had a great time!

Staff were really friendly and helpful, and being all inclusive they didn't expect anything in return, just genuinely helpful! (I did tip regardless; I work in the industry so I know it's appreciated)

Heard horror stories about the water and food. I was cautious at first but by the 3rd day I was drinking the water from the hotel as well as eating everything (including sushi). And was completely fine. (they did have bottled water available everywhere as well)

Pools were great, bars were great, hot tub was a bit on the cool side but it being 85 degrees outside I couldn't imagine it being any warmer.

All around great trip. I honestly didn't want to leave the resort (I'm under 30) it was such an enjoyable experience.

It's perfect for all ages: pool side Dj's, evening entertainment, ton of restaurants on the resort, safe, fun, even had a lifeguard on duty.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cvj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rub_Gar2013, General Manager at Omni Cancun Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

We want to thank you for having stayed at our Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas and for posting your wonderful comments on this important social media.

Indeed, our mission at the Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas is to meet and exceed our guests expectations, and we are happy to have achieved our goals with you during your visit.

From every member of our team, we look forward to having you with us again in the near future.

Cordially yours,
Dinorah Soto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is an average hotel and family friendly, however I found the management rude, and not ready to professionally work with the customer if necessary with a slight extra effort. For example, when we reserved this hotel through Costco travel, we spoke to the travel agent about having a microwave in the room (due to an infant) and he mentioned that the concierge at the desk will attend to this as Omni has vacation club rooms, and they will manage, and so we thought that is good. However, when we asked for one, if it is possible to get us one the next day, we were asked to speak with the manager, and the manager kept us waiting !! Next, he flatly refuses to even attempt to do anything about this...a response like 'you can't have a microwave'...may be it was a language thing, but with other choices like JW Marriot, and others right around the corridor, this kind of behavior does not work. When I discussed with him if he could try from a vacation room, he just did not pay attention. I think the workers and waiters are great but the management needs to be either trained or changed. Overall food was OK, bakery was horrible.

Room Tip: The bare minimum is an ocean view room, anything less is not worth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VIKAS B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rub_Gar2013, General Manager at Omni Cancun Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

We want to thank you for having stayed at our Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas and for posting your valuable comments on this important social media.

Our mission at the Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas is to meet and exceed our guests expectations, and we feel disappointed to have failed some of our usual standards with you.

In an effort to look for your satisfaction, we will contact you shortly to further discuss such important issues.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back as one of our very esteemed guests.

Cordially yours,
Dinorah Soto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Better than my expectations! Read numerous reviews before booking at the Omni and was not disappointed.The staff were always friendly and willing to help. Food was very good, though it did get a bit tired on the fourth day. Drinks were wonderful. Only real complaint is the pools & jaquzzi bars closed way too early. These closed from 6pm to 8pm, so you either had to stay in the lobby bar which closed at 1am or go out. Overall though, we would come back in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddeuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rub_Gar2013, General Manager at Omni Cancun Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

We want to thank you for having stayed at our Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas and for posting your wonderful comments on this important social media.

Indeed, our mission at the Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas is to meet and exceed our guests expectations, and we are happy to have achieved our goals with you during your visit.

From every member of our team, we look forward to having you with us again in the near future.

Cordially yours,
Dinorah Soto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#45 of 177 in Cancun
2,106 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
0.8 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
1.7 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Cancun Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Cancun Resort & Villas

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 16.5 | Hotel Zone Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cancun
#23 Family Hotel in Cancun
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#30 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $180 - $702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Cancun Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Omni Resort and Villas is located on the beautiful and highly coveted white sandy beaches of Cancun's exceedingly popular hotel zone. The hotel provides panoramic vistas of both the rolling waves of the turquoise Caribbean Sea and the tranquil waters of the Nichupte Lagoon. The All Inclusive OMNI Cancun Resort & Villas offers a variety of restaurant and bars, from an Steak House "La Vista", Mediterranean Cuisine at "Da Vinci", Sushi Bar and Viva Mex for the best Mexican antojitos. All day Buffet style at La Paloma and 24 hrs Room Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Cancun Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Cancun Hotel And Villas
Omni Cancun Hotel Villas
Omni Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing