We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in the sun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Cancun Resort & Villas
Ranked #37 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun in the sun”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Omni is an amazing resort. It is my home away from home. The rooms are great and the food is great The entertainment staff are EXCELLENT. They are so much fun, considerate and make me want to hang out by the pool all day. Overall the experience was very enjoyable and I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,225
    1,755
    598
    262
    185
See reviews for
2,048
2,106
113
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Omni is soooo amazing! The rooms are so clean and comfortable. The staff is so attentive and giving. If you come here you MUST hang out by the activity pool! the entertainment staff us great! If you go to any of the clubs in the hotel zone gi with the hotel staff, Charlie and Antonio are hilarious and will make your experience sooo enjoyable they know everyone and are party animals! I 1000% recommend staying at the Omni!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigKeith11220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks all inclusive between September 9th and 20th, for our honeymoon. Upon arrival, within seconds of coming through the doors you are mugged by the hotels very own “Buy a Timeshare Team”. You are sat down, asked do you want a drink and for 30 minutes cross examined on everything from how was your flight, how long are you staying and what do you do as a job. We assume to understand if your salary can afford their timeshare option. After 30 minutes you are pencilled in for a morning grilling where they will no doubt flash their smiles and again, ram home the timeshare option. We cancelled this meeting by telling a member of the “team” and advised politely we had changed our mind. For the rest of our holiday we received snide looks from the team as we had no doubt cost someone their bonus. Other meetings of the team, who didn’t know of our “betrayal” was another opportunity to sell you something. Still giving us snide looks.

At check-in we stated this was our honeymoon, in the slim hope that, like other hotels we had heard and read from reviews, offer some little added bonus, we had congratulations but no offer. This isn’t a negative, just a disappointment.

Contacting Room Service was sometimes very hit and miss as the phone line would ring for up to 10 minutes. Generally the food was fine but the dishes, having been left outside the door in clear view, were not collected. We found out you had to ring them to collect the dishes.

For 2 weeks we had suffered rain nearly every day. Some monumental rain fell on some days and it was evident the hotel fixtures and fittings struggled as hotel staff used towels at some emergency doors that were leaking water, our bedroom balcony doors had water in the tracking where the doors slide.

Entertainment .. a polite term for this which made the classic Hi-De-Hi (about a holiday camp), look like a Las Vegas show. They are a nice bunch of people but had no variety when it rained. It was the same quizzes with the same questions daily. And days when they were out at the pools, we took refuge in their antics by going to the beach every day.

The beach or as we knew it, the red flag beach, was as beaches go, a beach. Nothing to type much about. It was always red flag which meant you couldn’t swim and honestly, you would be brave to attempt it. The bar service on the beach most days was good, the staff were very attentive.

The cabana’s were too close to the steps so privacy was out of the question. We never used them due to this.

Breakfast food was good. Theme nights were hit and miss. Sushi Bar, at the pool was very good. Pina Colada restaurant food wise was good apart from the local birds flying around and making eating food very unsettling. Appreciate this would be hard to stop, maybe a Mexican scarecrow is an idea? Staff in La Paloma were polite but sometimes eager to remove plates, most mornings for breakfast the queues for freshly prepared egg dishes took some time.

We felt the lager was very watered down. Cocktails were small measures. There was no menu for what beer was on offer, eventually asked for a Sol and got asked, “did I mean a local beer” so an attempt to drink tapped beer which was cheaper. The staff at the bar were very polite. The waiting staff were good although on one occasion, my wife asked for a soft drink and was laughed at. Not professional.

Considering the time of season we visited, I had expected the hotel to offer some form of indoor facilities such as a pool or sauna. This was not on offer. Overall the pools were fine. Building work was ongoing on what seemed to be larger of the pools which was disappointing but we can accept work has to be done and it makes sense out of season. But the tour operator could of made us aware, they didn’t.

Throughout the 2 weeks we were surrounded by annoying Americans who berated the hotel staff, trying to be amusing by renaming cocktails which confused the staff. No funny especially when they went on about it every day. Other nationalities were at the hotel but none stood out by certain Americans.

The lobby bar was uninviting due to the temperature, very cold. And eventually we spent some evenings in our room. The lobby also had a strange smell.

We had a glass broken due to an accident of leaving it outside, the glass was never replaced.
The bath was faulty as the plug wouldn’t keep the water in. We never reported the faulty bath but still not very professional. The room was well maintained, clean and air-conditioned. The room was spacious for 2 adults. In room facilities were fine, television has an option of a USB port but could not be used. This would be great if allowed as guests could watch their own entertainment and may aid families who can put some child related content as the channels offered we saw little of this as a choice. On rainy days this would be very welcomed.

The staff knock your room, late at night, to replace towels. Nice thought but 10pm for anyone is late. And one occasion she let herself in whilst we were watching television.

We did a day trip to Tulum which was enjoyablable. Booked through reps located in the hotel, plus a night at Coco Bongo. Coco Bongo was a let down, health and safety not top of their agenda as everyone is crammed into a small area.

When checking out, and asked, “did you have a nice time”, we said no. The staff made no attempt to apologise or showed interest.

It’s a budget hotel at best. Our 2 weeks there were just ok and the only saving grace was it was our honeymoon and we had each other. We would not recommend this hotel based on our experience. If the issues we encountered could be rectified, it could be much better.

Room Tip: Take pesos and keep some spare for the airport tax when leaving
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carty1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Staff is very friendly, accomodating and made the overall stay and experience very enjoyable. Food was excellent and hotel was kept exceptionally clean. The Sushi and Taco Bar were some of the best I have experienced!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Annonymous2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Spent a week at the beginning of October and was a bit fearful of the potential hurricanes and general storms as per the weather channel. Managed to dodge most of that and enjoyed a wonderful week. Went all inclusive and all the restaurants and bars were welcoming and of good quality. staff were accommodating and helpful. Needless to say the water is fabulous and we never got tiered of looking at the opalescent turquoise water. Don't expect to have real yoga or aqua aerobics, these are mainly for beginners or infirm, however, the gym is included in the all inclusive and has a good range of equipment.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Violet-grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciolumbus, OH
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at the Omni for one night but we could not stay longer due to moldy smell everywhere. It has limited dining options. Customer service is excellent and they are willing to accommodate their customers very well.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank telhosseiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I did an all inclusive and it was worth every penny. Very reasonable pricing and great staff. Food was decent. But overall the beach and pool and the constant checking with the staff made me fell very welcome.. I love it here and very close to down town

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy_ha85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
2.6 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
0.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
4.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.7 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#24 of 175 in Cancun
9,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Cancun Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Cancun Resort & Villas

Property: Omni Cancun Resort & Villas
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 16.5 | Hotel Zone Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cancun
#23 Family Hotel in Cancun
#30 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Cancun Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Omni Resort and Villas is located on the beautiful and highly coveted white sandy beaches of Cancun's exceedingly popular hotel zone. The hotel provides panoramic vistas of both the rolling waves of the turquoise Caribbean Sea and the tranquil waters of the Nichupte Lagoon. The All Inclusive OMNI Cancun Resort & Villas offers a variety of restaurant and bars, from an Steak House "La Vista", Mediterranean Cuisine at "Da Vinci", Sushi Bar and Viva Mex for the best Mexican antojitos. All day Buffet style at La Paloma and 24 hrs Room Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Omni Cancun Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Cancun Hotel And Villas
Omni Cancun Hotel Villas
Omni Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing