We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Cancun Resort & Villas
Ranked #38 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good value, very nice stay”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed here with a friend for 7 nights in June-July. Overall, the experience was very positive and we enjoyed a week of relaxation with no hassles for a good value. Mexican workers in all hotel areas most be credited in the first place for our happy week at the Omni. Mexican people are warm and will go out of their way to help visitors. God bless the Mayas! If we had any complaints about people, it was about other guests. How insensible some of them were towards a mother turtle trying to lay and nest her eggs at night in the sand, amid dozens of tourists and flash lights. The poor creature was striving and pushing, obviously nervous and uncomfortable. What should have been a private act in the darkness of night became a tourist attraction! I just hope those people didn't take her eggs with them as a souvenir.

Our room was 1719, on the fourth floor with a view to the lagoon. It was updated, clean and comfortable. Rooms on this side are quiet, have a wonderful view from the balcony, and are the less expensive. There was no noise from the loud music in the pools. We enjoyed the balcony for reading, chatting and drinking.

We had the best meals at the main buffet (La Paloma), especially the steak on chef's day (thursday). Fish, poultry and meat had perfect texture and were tasteful. We used our three available reservations for dinner (we got these for staying 7 nights) at the Da Vinci. The food was disappointing (we had better fish and steaks at the buffet), but this restaurant was quiet and nice for a formal dinner. For breakfast we alternated between the buffet (best selection) and the beach restaurant (not so busy, best location).

The hotel has relatively few shaded chairs both in the pools and on the beach, so you better go early. The beach is beautiful with white sands, the sea is blue green but really strong. We ventured in the waves just a few minutes. Most people rather swim in the pools.

We bought a day tour to Chichen-Itza at the hotel's tour desk. We choose the basic tour (includes transportation, tickets, guide and a delicious Mexican lunch after visiting the Park) for $78 per head. I strongly recommend this tour: the Maya "pyramids" are a wonder, the guide was bilingual, courteous and helpful, the bus picked us exactly at 7:15 as promised (we had 45 minutes to have a hearty breakfast before that), and we were back at the hotel about 7pm. This tour business (I think its name is ADO) was completely professional.

If I ever go back to Cancun (this type of vacation is not my favorite) I will definitively stay at the Omni again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view to the lagoon are more quiet and less expensive, but be sure you get floor 17 (act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gundisalvus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,194
    1,741
    588
    259
    185
See reviews for
2,020
2,087
113
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas is one of the best family resorts in Mexico.
My kids are now grown but my wife and I go to the Omni every year. 30 years to be exact.
The service is excellent. Rooms are wonderful with ocean views and the food is fantastic!
If you and your family want the best in Cancun, go to the Omni. We have never had a better time in any other place.

Room Tip: We always have chosen the 6th floor. Quieter then lower floors. Great view of the ocean and pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed in Cancun @ Omni Resort and Villas July 2nd-9th. We stayed with a 11 yr old in Villa that we booked through Costco Vacation. We stayed in 3 Bedroom Villa because we wanted 2nd bedroom since it was our "familymoon".

Neither of us have stayed all-inclusive and we were very happy with level of service that is offered for this resort. The main thing that sticks out in my mind is how clean the facilities were. The staff was very friendly.

The one thing that we thought would be an improvement would be more activites for tween aged kids. My son is 11 and he thought the Kids Club was too young for him which didnt leave my wife and I alot of time we could spend alone. I would recommend that resort offer maybe in pool activities similar to pool on upper level directed for tween aged kids to hang out and play games.

The other issue was with Viva Mexico resturant near bottom pool. My wife had noticed that worker had handled raw meat and proceded to handle food without washing; he had only wiped his hands with paper towel.

Overall for first experience at all-inclusive we loved staff and level of service that we were given. Rooms we all cleaned very well by maid service. For being new all-inclusive it seems resort is really putting forth effort towards bettering itself.

Resort gets very quiet after 10pm; if you are looking for alot of night activities this would not be your resort.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa so I am not sure how other rooms are, but if you can get in Villa you will not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T3978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have been to a half dozen different all-inclusive resorts in Mexico, this is my second time at the Omni Cancun and I was not disappointed. The resort isn't a huge sprawling place like some of others, the size of the place is just about right. The food is 3 stars by American standards and 4 stars for a Mexican resort. The great thing about the food at Omni Cancun is that you are not forced to eat buffet food, there are several options and some of them are sit down made-to-order meals. Our favorite was the Pina Coloda beach front restaurant for breakfast and lunch.

The staff is well trained and the hotel is clean. I did travel with my kids, this isn't the best resort for kids as there are a few areas off limits to them but my kids still enjoyed the trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have been a member on the Omni Cancun Hotel for 10 years or so. I loved it because I could come down there, sit on the beach and be served everything I needed without having to move. Exactly what a vacation is suppose to be about. But the resort has gone through changes over the past 2 years and now pushes an all-inclusive agenda. Because of this, I found customer service to have disappeared. What do you expect with an all-inclusive package. The tips are already included in the package, so there is no reason for the employees to be nice or go out of their way. If you are interested in an all-inclusive resort, and everything that goes with one, then the place is beautiful. If you are looking for a resort with customer service and relaxation, then unfortunately this is not the place for you anymore. After years of enjoyment and great memories, I hate to say it, but I will not come back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edgar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Just returned tonight(07/08/12) and wanted to post an excellent review of Omni Cancun. It was our first time to Mexico( we have traveled throughout the Craibbean extensively) and although apprehensive we were very surprised. Found Omni Cancun on Expedia and the place is terrific. Very clean and the staff is everywhere picking up, trimming grass, hedges etc and always attentive to guests. Service was terrifc. Food was above grade for what we typically expect from an All-inclusive. Each night had a theme and the food was very good and with 3 teens all enjoyed. The beach is tremendous and one of the nicest we have seen very close to Aruba's powder soft beaches No rocks in ocean and temps were perfect. We used USA Transfer to and from the airport to the hotel and for 65 US Roundtrip for a private van it was a bargain. They were on time and efficient.
The resort is very pretty. Restaurants include a large mexican hut that served tacos, burgers, dogs, fajitas which was right off the pool and easy access when in bathing suit. They have a large thatched hut serving sushi every day but Fridays and they are actually handrolling sushi and frying tempura right in front of you. Not used to having some of the sushi having cream cheese(yes cream cresse!) but fresh and whatever you wanted they had. Of course each has a bar attached to it.
DaVincis requires reservation be made at the front desk and pants are a must. Although most of the resort is handicapped accessible, DaVinci is not. Italian food with very nice decor.
Everything else is causal attire.
Pineapples at the beach serves breakfast buffet, lunch and dinner they change the atmosphere to Indonesian. It is very good and make a reservation for 2 nights at least because it is that good. Veal, seafood, etc beautifully decorated and served. Get the appetizer sampler platter-it is terrific.
LaPaloma is the main buffet restaurant for all three meals but it always has something different on the menu so not the typical slop you might expect. The juices are all fresh squeezed and the service is just tremendous.
Poolside you can order mini pizzas, wings, etc along with a self serve ice cream machine.
There are 2 main pools with one pool having a kids pool separate but within 10 feet of it. Spotless clean and maintained. There is also a hot tub that holds about 20 people right there as well.
On the beach there is usually plenty of cover form the sun which can get quite hot. Getting a towel on the lounge chairs early is not a bad idea. The sand is powder, clean and they rake the seaweed each morning.
The rooms are tyipcal hotel type. Get ocean view although you are in the room very little. Very clean and we had a repair issue with the shower and they were there in 10 minutes fixing it.
Overall it exceeded our expectations and would return in a minute

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ClarkeFamilyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparta new jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I love to read trip advisor reviews and often wonder if i stayed at the same place after reading other people's reviews. this was my first trip to mexico and the omni. Since i can really only find one negative thing, i'll list it first.

- the hotel lobby by the bar is extremely hot. so trying to enjoy a late drink or just sitting in the lounge area is almost impossible. i've heard from others that its been this way for a few years.

here are the positives

+ staff - i have never seen people go out of their way this much and it starts from the moment you get there. you always get a good morning and how are you. i want to especially note the service we received at pina colada's (restaurant) from Lizet & Enrique. KuKu's bartender Wilberth. Waitress Yesenia from the pool area. Not only do they go out of their way, but remember your name and what your drinking.

+ cleanliness - found the hotel and room to be neat and clean. you constantly see workers cleaning, brushing sand, emptying ash trays.

+ food - buffet like any other buffet you go to is ok. you wont starve and can always find something to eat. highly recommend da vinci's italian restaurant. food was good and i left stuffed every time. during the day you have plenty of options and each is very good. viva mexico (taco's etc), the sushi bar and the pool bar. highly recommend a basket of onion rings. food was always always hot. food was also good at pina colada's. mini bar in room stocked daily.

+ drinks - plenty of. they'll make anything you like.

+ beach and pool - beach is spotless and you can always get a chair or lounge. water was crystal clear n hardly any seaweed. the vendors really didnt bother you too much. got a pair of sunglasses for $10. Three pools. one of which is for kiddies. clean and plenty of space to move around.

+ entertainment - staff is great. had alot of fun with them by the pool. they do trivia and lots of other fun games. special shout out to pitbull.

+ spa & gym - is outside the building and down a couple of flights of stairs. spa looked nice. used the gym on a couple of occasions. although the gym was almost empty, there is too much equipment in the small space they have.

You have to realize that many of the workers at the hotel do not make alot of money. they appreciate the tips and are very grateful. Also want to mention that we received extra towels from house keeping towards evening. they would knock on your door and ask if you needed anything. I booked the trip through costco and also received $100 room credit. would highly recommend the omni and look forward to going back next year.

Room Tip: definitely upgrade and get the ocean view. its worth it.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank steveb00th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
2.6 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
0.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
0.8 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
4.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Cancun Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Cancun Resort & Villas

Property: Omni Cancun Resort & Villas
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 16.5 | Hotel Zone Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cancun
#23 Family Hotel in Cancun
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#30 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Cancun Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Omni Resort and Villas is located on the beautiful and highly coveted white sandy beaches of Cancun's exceedingly popular hotel zone. The hotel provides panoramic vistas of both the rolling waves of the turquoise Caribbean Sea and the tranquil waters of the Nichupte Lagoon. The All Inclusive OMNI Cancun Resort & Villas offers a variety of restaurant and bars, from an Steak House "La Vista", Mediterranean Cuisine at "Da Vinci", Sushi Bar and Viva Mex for the best Mexican antojitos. All day Buffet style at La Paloma and 24 hrs Room Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Cancun Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Cancun Hotel And Villas
Omni Cancun Hotel Villas
Omni Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing