We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful honeymoon location and a great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni Cancun Resort & Villas
Ranked #39 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We went here for our honeymoon and it was absolutely stunning and a wonderful experience. We would go back anytime.

We loved the hotel, the staff, the service, and the facilities. The multiple pools (four!) were wonderful and the ocean access was great.

The all-inclusive nature made it easy to not worry about money and the food was really quite good. The booze was also pretty good - especially for being included - and you could get solid brands by request and at no additional cost. The service and servers were incredible and attentive.

We were on a fixed budget and there were no hidden costs - a real bargain, considering how much food and booze we ate and drank everyday. We got our trip on Jetsetter for $215 per night, and I'm sure that we would have incurred that in the retail cost of food and drink every single day.

This is not a "party hotel" but there are people having a good time, and this is exactly what we wanted.

We recommend it wholeheartedly and hope to go back.

With all that being said, here's some things that I wish we knew and may be of use to future travelers:

1. Currency - we weren't sure what the currency situation would be and it turns out that you can use US dollars everywhere. We never needed Mexican Pesos. It's helpful to bring a lot of singles and fives for tips - there's lots of occasion to tip and it's very hard to get change for USD. And you should tip for the service at the Omni.

2. Airport Transportation - The email address for the shuttle on Jetsetter's website didn't work. That didn't matter, though, there are lots of shuttle operations in the airport. We didn't make advance arrangements and took a shared shuttle from the hotel to the Omni and it included a private van back to the airport for about $45 USD.

3. Everyone in Cancun is trying to sell you something - we got the shuttle price mentioned above because the shuttle operator bumped us over to someone selling "membership" packages to a resort (read: timeshare). This was ok, but be prepared to say "no" a lot. It was clearly a coordinated effort between the shuttle operator and the timeshare salesman.

4. Everyone in Cancun is trying to sell you something - The guy at the airport mentioned above got us to go to the sales presentation at the other resort. It took us about 3 hours of saying "no" but we walked away from it with discounted airport transportation, free spa services, and then two tour packages - we did Chichén Itzá and the Jungle Tour. Total we figure that we got services valued at about $600, which was awesome. What was not so awesome was the hard sell and, oh my god, it was the hardest sell of my entire life. Not for the faint of heart or easily susceptible. In the end, it was worth our time commitment to us to get the tour packages for free.

5. All prices are negotiable - especially with independent vendors. When buying souvenirs, no price is fixed. We found that everyone wants you to buy something and everyone will make a deal. My wife was offered a ring for $200 and by the time that she was done, the vendor came down to $50. And this was a typical experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank natelarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,000 - 4,006 of 6,210 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2012

My first impression was not the greatest a over sized cucarcha (Roach) and some very small looking beds and found out I cant eat at every restaurant. At Da Vinci & La Deva you can only eat here if you stay 3-4 nights and get 1 a la carte dinner if you stay 5-6 nights and get two a la carte dinners . . I decided to save some money and went with the lagoon view, We've had ocean views before and notice we`re never in our rooms .The lagoon view is a open bay view . The food. Breakfast is great a great selection off sweet breads and fresh cut fruit and much more our kids loved the french toast , Lunch was not bad but we had a hard time finding something we liked. Dinner on the other had was dreadful all five nights . I must say one person who deserve special mention is Federico at La Paloma he is a six star waiter.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms seem not to be well insulated are room was on what they considered the 15 floor but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank basulto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Repetition tells the truth when visiting a vacation property; this May 12th-17th 2012 stay marks my 10th visit to Cancun and 9th to the Omni there. I stayed at the resort recently in January 2012 for 16-days and couldn't stop thinking about it. The ocean waters were treacherous as usual and a lot of fun if one dares handle them - be very careful of rip tides and mean linear waves in fast recurrence. Do not swim into open waters unless feeling lucky. Flags on the beach will indicate green for calm, yellow for intermediate, and red for we told you so.

The new pool side taco hut is a glorified American children's styled menu of hamburgers, hot dogs, and tacos, in a sort of self-service fare. The other standard restaurants were flavorful as usual - I had no complaints with the buffet-styled theme nights at dinner, the buffet styled breakfast at La Paloma, and lunch at beach side Pina-Colada (you may have breakfast there also).

In the evening, the lobby was full of mostly couples in their best wares; however, no problem if shorts and T-shirt is your cup O' tea. The live band as a father-son twosome on guitar with a keyboard backing them up - they blend in perfectly with their surroundings and played at the location for years. The do not drown out conversation in the least. Some people stay away from sugar, but here is what I order: a mango margarita - squeeze and add one lime, then I add one white sugar, one raw sugar, squeeze one more lime over sugar and add - perfecto. Ask the waitress for the sugars and limes on the side and they will stack them for you.

I usually stay in room 1846, which has great positioning for photography. This time, 1845 was the room. The housekeeper cleaned the room properly and everything was on point. I have a Sleep Number King I10 bed at home, and really can't complain about the bed there. It's firm and you can ask for an array of pillow styles, including body pillows. A digital combo safe is in the room - I've not had any trouble with the contents.

Off the resort, Plaza Kukulkan and La Isla aim at high fashion. Plaza Los Americas is a very large indoor/outdoor mall that sells to both locals and travelers; it is worth checking out. Across from Plaza Los Americas is where locals come to relax after work. Several bars like Wings Army serves all kinds of world beers (they were out of many, but had plenty of different Mexican beer). Guanato's has a live band usually, big beverages, and food if you get there early enough, they stay open late. I usually get there close to mid-night and stay a few hours - no problems over many visits.

Ultimately, the Omni is a long standing resort in Cancun, they know hospitality. Mexican marble everywhere (careful in dress shoes - it can be slippery with humidity and swimmers tracking through) The staff works literally non-stop to keep it clean. The three pools are fine, activities at tier one. I can go anywhere, but choose the Omni Cancun... a lot, often for duration.

Room Tip: I feel rooms 20 and above overshoot a nice view of the property. Rooms below 16 in the middle secti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjbk, Director of Sales at Omni Cancun Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Dear Repeat Omni Cancun Guest,

"Gracias" for your kind comments on your most recent stay at our Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas. It is wonderful to hear that your past experience with us was just as good as your previous visits. We appreciate your feedback and insight, which only helps us to continue to enhance our offerings and make sure that we deliver genuine, warm hospitality to all our guests.
There are many places to stay while visiting Cancun and we trust that we have gained your confidence that the Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas will always be "su casa" for future trips to paradise. We look forward to weclome you back home again soon.

Warmest regards,
Scott Balesteri
Director of Sales & Marketing
Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We've stayed at this hotel at least a dozen times. The staff is so friendly and accommodating. The rooms and the hotel are clean and safe. There are a few choices when it comes to dining and each one has it's own benefits, we loved eating at Kukus off the beach diring the day. There are also a few bars. One inside, a pool swim up bar and the one worth mentioning is the jacuzzi bar right on the beach!!! We love Cancun and especially the Omni!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olympia623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This review is very hard for me to write. We have been owners at the Omni for at least 7 years and have been going once or twice a year for 9 years. We have always loved the Omni. We renewed our membership last December 1st -- one month before the Omni made the switch to the All-inclusive format. Had we known (and they didn't tell us, of course), we would not have renewed. We have never been fans of the all-inclusive option at the Omni. Breakfasts and lunches have always been excellent and that has not changed. However, dinners have been sub-par and, sadly, that has not changed either.

For members, we do have the option of not going all-inclusive. All inclusive for members costs $80 per person (off-season) and we are not big drinkers. However, we can no longer just sign for meals and drinks. One must get vouchers at the lobby before eating or drinking. One guest actually told us that they were refused service at Kukus bar as they were not all-inclusive. At the end of our stay we did speak to the assistant to the manager and he did say that waiters can get the vouchers and we would not have to go to the lobby. We were not informed of this during our week. Due to the inconvenience, we did decide to go all-inclusive.

Food: As I have said, breakfasts and lunches are very good. However, the food is one price per restaurant not ala carte. Pina Colada has good lunches. However, if you were not all-inclusive, the price would be $25. That would not be bad if you wanted a full meal -- appetizers to desserts. However, sometimes we just wanted an appetizer -- they had a very good seafood cocktail Vera Cruz style. It was large and sometimes that would be all I wanted or maybe just a hamburger -- $25 for that?

Dinners were very problemmatic. La Deva which was Pina Colada at night and an Indonesian or Thai restaurant was not very good. We had two dinners there. I had the Pad Thai one night and that was good. My husband did not like his dinner. The second night we went there, we both did not like our meals. John had short ribs. The portion was so small and half fatty, we had to go to La Trattoria (the pool bar dressed up for dinner) for pizza so he wouldn't be hungry. We did not eat at DaVinci's this trip but in the past, we have found it to be only average. La Paloma, the main dining room, is strictly buffet style. Each night there is a different theme. The only night we found the food to be good was the barbecue night.

Entertainment: The Omni is trying to have nightly entertainment, however, we found it to be pretty lame.

We spoke to many owners at the beach (which by the way, is beautiful) and did not find one owner who was happy with the change. Most felt food has gotten worse and that corners were being cut.

Service: This is one area that remains excellent. The help is curteous and most anxious to please. Three people who deserve special mention are: Monica, the concierge; Enrique, waiter at Pina Colada, and Consuela, waiter at the beach.

At this time, we are not sure that we will ever go back to the Omni. We might just trade our weeks.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MommaMarps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjbk, Director of Sales at Omni Cancun Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear Omni Cancun Vacation Club Member,
On behalf of all the Associates at the Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas and the Omni Cancun Vacation Club, we wish to extend to you are most sincere apologies for not having met your expectations during your most recent visit with us.
We understand your frustration over the transitions we have made to a complete all inclusive operation, and take all comments received through this forum as well as other channels to evaluate our operation and make the necessary adjustments to provide the best overall experience to all of our guests.
Please rest assured that your valued comments have been shared with our Hotel Division and with our Vacation Club as we continue to enhance the services offered in the best possible manner, working diligently to accomplish our goals for the benefit of our clients.
We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back home again to the resort.
Sincerely,
Scott Balesteri
Director of Sales & Marketing
Omni Cancun Hotel & Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed here for my friends wedding. The food was awful and guest services was a crap shoot to get a nice person.. My friend accidentally broke a statue that was randomly in one of the suites and they charged her $1800 and made her pay or they said they would kick us all out. Bride Groom and wedding party. The "entertainment" staff was amazing!! As were the servers out by the pool! We loved them! But I will not be using the Omni for my next trip to Cancun.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChristinaCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

My family (2 boys 11,15), just returned from the Omni Cancun and had a great experience. I was concerned about the food quality after reading other reviews, but we were pleasantly surprised with how great the food was. Da VInci's was amazing. The only limitation is lack of wine choices. We loved the choices at the buffet and the new taco shack. The 3 bedroom villa is the way to go for a family- very spacious, right by the pool and no elevators to wait for. We also did 2 excursions at Aquaworld which is a 15-20min walk. We really enjoyed the "Jungle Tour" and felt it was a well run operation. The water aerobics was a lot of fun, try it out.

Room Tip: Do the 3 bedroom villa if traveling with your family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank drroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#46 of 176 in Cancun
2,141 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
0.8 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 176 in Cancun
4,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
4.9 mi away
Occidental Costa Cancun
Occidental Costa Cancun
#47 of 176 in Cancun
5,768 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Cancun Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Cancun Resort & Villas

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 16.5 | Hotel Zone Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cancun
#19 Family Hotel in Cancun
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#31 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $234 - $777 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Cancun Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Omni Resort and Villas is located on the beautiful and highly coveted white sandy beaches of Cancun's exceedingly popular hotel zone. The hotel provides panoramic vistas of both the rolling waves of the turquoise Caribbean Sea and the tranquil waters of the Nichupte Lagoon. The All Inclusive OMNI Cancun Resort & Villas offers a variety of restaurant and bars, from an Steak House "La Vista", Mediterranean Cuisine at "Da Vinci", Sushi Bar and Viva Mex for the best Mexican antojitos. All day Buffet style at La Paloma and 24 hrs Room Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Omni Cancun Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Cancun Hotel And Villas
Omni Cancun Hotel Villas
Omni Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing