We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,778)
Filter reviews
5,778 results
Traveler rating
2,031
1,765
981
497
504
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,031
1,765
981
497
504
Show reviews that mention
All reviews el mortero tower b new tower all inclusive package coco bongo club room sushi bar night life all inclusive plan mariachi band beautiful beach during spring break hotel zone fish tacos beach bar flea market senor frogs
Filter
Updating list...
1,678 - 1,683 of 5,778 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Located in the heart of Cancun hotel area, near everything. I was impressed with the staff in this hotel. There were things that need to be worked on, but for the price of this hotel it was great. One of the highlights was a server named Adam in the outside buffet restaurant outstanding! He was up and above what you would expect from a servicer, made our day every time he waited on us. The last day he came with drinks and chips before we even asked.
The rooms were comfortable but the ocean view was unbelievable, that's what a vacation is all about!. Room always clean, mini bar filled everyday.
The one thing that needs worked was the internet but if you moved out in hallway or to lobby no problem.
The bus line is right in front of hotel and easy to get around the area. If you take the R2 bus it will take you in to market 28 flea market which is one of the larger flea markets in area and you can walk over to Wal mart. It cost 1.00 great bargain and you can see so much. If you choose you can take the R1 bus in to the main ADO bus center and take the ADO bus into Tulum for around 12.00 You do need to buy tickets to secure a seat. The entire trip to Tulum was under 50.00 for two people and a great trip. Just ask hotel, they will try and talk you into taking there excursion which will cost you 130.00 or more. Just insist you want to take the bus and they will give you the instructions its so much nicer because you can go at your own pace and eat where you want.
The food at the hotel is good, but not over the top by any means. The Mexican restaurant that is with the all-inclusive is really great and the service will make you want to go back but you are only allowed once for every three days you stay.
The snack bar in the far corner of the beach area is a hidden gem! Great service and great food. The pool side service down at the bar is great and service will make you wonder how they stay so positive. I would go back to this hotel but you just have to keep in mind its not the price you will pay for a ritz carton but you will leave feeling like it was a wonderful trip.
Also please remember they are servers not servants I know its a all inclusive but leaving them a few dollars it will be appreciated.

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean front it has a wonderful view, and the higher the quitter.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pansey43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Gracias for taking the time to write down a review from us.

Reagrding the theme of the food you mentioend is somethuing i have to see directly with the executive chef. We need to improve better our services in this matter.

Hopefully you want to come back to Cancun and decide to stay once agian with us.

Sincerely,

Lvpaguilar@krystal-hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We chose not to do the heavy handed time share presentation so we got to stay in the "old" part of the hotel. There wasn't even a fridge in the first room let alone a full bar fridge as advertised. The Elevator was about 3x3 which was hard with all the luggage! We were promised a quiet room and it was... until 9 PM when the clubs on the strip started up. I tried to call the front desk and couldn't get through. We talked to them next morning and were moved to a much quieter room, but the fridge was not working, and there was rust everywhere and broken and missing wall tiles in the bathroom. I was wondering who was going to sneak out of the walls. I bought my own water on day 2 after being told not to brush my teeth with tap water. On day 3 we were finally given water for our bar fridge that doesn't work. I have never been so thirsty in an all inclusive. I really don't drink, but just to get a soda or water you have to stand in line at the bar and were often skipped over or ignored even when there was no other customers. I finally got smart and went out into the rain to the out door bars were there was hardly any guests to get a drink. The front desk and concierge staff were really nice and helpful as was the Italian restaurant and the maid service, but the rest of the staff had not been taught to smile or "work" the crowd in order to make people feel comfortable waiting. The food at the primary restaurant was decent but not flavorful. The Mexican Restaurant Il Morte Hacienda was AMAZING. I got the stomach bug after a trip to the mall and it lasted the last 4 days there. AlI could eat was plain toast and ginger ale and the dinner restaurants were not able to get me plain bread. The said they had no access to the breakfast food. I was given foccia and something with a really fragrant seed. Seriously. No plain bread? they wouldn't / couldn't toast it on the nights we found plain buns. So I went to bed hungry as well as sick 2 nights. All in all, I would rate Krystal as a 2 star= equal to an econo- lodge with a few bonuses. It was advertised as 4 star... maybe if you had timeshare and liked bland food.

Room Tip: Ocean rooms are much quieter and if you are in the "travel agent" wing try to get the first floor as the elevator was dirty and small. Lots of AC noise, but it hid hall noise so that was good.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janv1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Please let me know your travel dates so i can follow up into these themes immediately.

Gracias.

Lvpaguilar@krystal-hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I've read reviews for this resort daily since we booked in November. I was a little apprehensive as a few really negative reviews were cast right before we arrived (lots of leaks, bad service, food.... the usual complaints .) I honestly have to scratch my head and wonder if we stayed in the same place? This resort was amazing from our perspective. I'm a frequent Caribbean traveller (Cuba, Dominican, and Jamaica) and this was the best of many resorts we have been to.

Accommodations
I had requested a king bed on a higher floor for fear of excess noise, which seemed to be a common complaint. Upon arrival, we were given the option to upgrade to an ocean view for a much better price than my agent could have given us back home. We took it, and omg it was incredible! The king bed looked out to the water, breathtaking views, very romantic, fell asleep to waves every night. (EXCEPT Tuesday nights, apparently the club next door rages on the beach with Rihanna playing on repeat until 4:30-am just shut your patio door). Wifi worked all the time no problems! Not a single complaint other than the low water pressure when you flush, but it's a minuscule problem.

I have a feeling opinions may differ here depending on where you were placed, but I feel like we hit the jackpot. I heard a few complaints from other guests, but we didn't encounter any issues.

Food

We took advantage of the room service a lot. This is where I feel you are definitely getting your money's worth with the all inclusive plan. Along with the sushi, -I'm an addict and it was so good and so fresh, I ate a ton lol.
Great food and drinks, we did the buffet one night, the a la cart twice, beach bar a few days for fish tacos and the smaller breakfast buffet every morning. All very good, lots of variety, the complainers should probably go stay at the ritz down the street for 3x the price - we were humbled by Cuba a few too many times, so we loved the food here!

Service
Very ignorant to get angry about language barriers with staff in THEIR country. This drives me nuts! Learn a few key Spanish words you plan to use a lot, or use google translate on the hotel's free wifi. I only speak English and I didn't have any problems, and I didn't have to use translation.

The girls (and men) running the beach/pool food and drink delivery were awesome! You're treated like royalty (another huge perk to the all inclusive plan). I threw them a big tip every day because they work HARD on the hot beach with huge trays full of food and drinks.

Bell boys were awesome and so welcoming, front desk was great and helpful. I didn't catch the gentleman's name, but on our last night, we decided to order room service and pack. Our food came and he was so friendly and funny, and very dedicated to his work. An hour later,we were chilling on our balcony in the hot evening and he brings up a bottle of champagne and a piece of cake! It was so sweet and a great way to close out our stay.

Beach and pools

The resort feels very open and airy (compared to a few other resorts we noticed on our beach walks which seemed cramped) yet, everything is so close. You can hop in the pool, then be on the beach. Beautiful beach, get down early to reserve your spot (this is the name of the game at any hotel, get over it) water is rough on some days,but if you head to the left by the Hyatt, much calmer. I loved the huge waves on certain days, so much fun! Note: I train and certify lifeguards in Canada and run an aquatic facility. The guards here and state of the pools were top notch in my opinion!

Pools were the same with the towel situation, go early to get a spot, doesn't fill as quickly as beach though. I can't understand why people complained they were so cold, I guess being from northern Ontario we're ok with it? Since we were roasting in the sun, it was SO refreshing to jump in to cool down.

Location is perfect, very central to the clubs and dining. I can't say that this resort is geared towards younger crowds, but you'll have to pick your times to go. With the price, it's in the line of student budgets, pay more and go somewhere else if this might bother you. I'm 28 for the record and not a heavy partier and wasn't bothered by other people's actions in the very least. It's no where near Fort Lauderdale spring break, just a few groups of kids drinking having a good time. Not even near rowdy. I did notice by the end of our stay the younger crowds were starting to arrive, but again, it's that time of year and you are in Cancun!

This is the only resort my boyfriend and I ever said we would be back to and it is for good reason. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Try to upgrade with the front desk for an ocean view, and older tower if you are worried about noise
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank traveldiva1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Best location in Cancun! Literally 2-3 min walking from everything. Since its so close to the main strip, I felt safe walking at any time and saved at least 20$ a day on the cab rides. At the same time, its around the corner from the main strip so u can't hear the noise. I loved the beautiful beach setting and free lounge beds. As a frequent traveler to Cancun, I've been to other more expensive hotels and they don't have beach facilities as nice as Krystal. It also has a nice modern lobby and I liked having an option of all inclusive or european. Loved having a sushi bar right inside the hotel! No reservations needed and u don't have to go outside. I had their sushi and it was better then in specialty restaurants at other hotels. The staff was welcoming and accommodating with my requests, especially the reception desk guys. I lost my phone charger and they let me use their personal charger like every day! Thank you! I want to mention Edgar who is very good. This was my second stay in this hotel (and my 7 or 8 trip to Cancun) and I will definitely want to come here again! One of the best values in my opinion. I like good service and this hotel fits the bill.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kate r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I got a "decent" deal on livingsocial and decided to give them a chance despite all the warnings I had read here. Krystal is definitely a good spot for those who want to enjoy the nightlife, it is walking distance from all the main clubs, and really, if you're very young and don't care where you sleep, this is the place for you. However, we were traveling with a 4 yr old, we checked in late and tired, the moment I walked into the hotel I had the feeling it was not going to be good. Check-in was fast but then they took us to our room (right next to the lobby) and it was probably the worse room they had in the hotel - old, stained sheets, dirty bathroom sink. My husband requested a change but they said they only had one-bed rooms available. We took it, went there and it was similarly old but a little bit cleaner. This room had a door that connects next door and you can really hear everything...our neighbors were playing music all night until 4:00 am and then again at 7:30. The following day my husband requested another change but after chasing after the management we finally got a more decent room at about 3:00 PM. The room was clean in general but the furniture, bathroom and closet were really old and malfunctioning.

Food is just OK, there are two breakfast buffets - they have the same food but one is noisier and busier. Their fruit juice has a distinctively bad flavor we couldn't identify...my guess is that they water it down and then add some kind of sweetener (which is not natural sugar for sure). Coffee? If you're a coffee drinker, bring your own: theirs tastes like brewed peanuts. We didn't try the Italian restaurant, just the Mexican restaurant included in the all-inclusive plan and it is OK, they have a variety of options and good service.
Service by the pool is really slow and you do have to wake up early to get a shady spot. I need to add here that last year we were spoiled at a Villa group resort in Nuevo Vallarta where nothing of this happened.

In general, you should know that the place is very very old - you will always see someone trying to fix something and the poor employees cannot keep up with all those things that need to be fixed - big and small.
Bottom line: if you're trying to relax, eat good food, and have a personal attention, this is not the place for you. If you just want to party, drink, and have a place to spend the night, this is probably it.

Room Tip: I really don't know if they have good rooms available here. We talked to other guests and everyone had something to complain about.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svalle24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews