We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel great location for coco bongo club!”
Review of Krystal Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Krystal Cancun
Ranked #69 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
england
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“nice hotel great location for coco bongo club!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and i stayed here for one night when visiting the coco bongo club. It was in a great location only 5 minutes walk to the club. The club room which we stayed in was lovely with a great view from the balcony an the afternoon tea and wine was great.Pools were nice and lovely beach

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stacego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Wow!!! nice one...

We are really glad to see you liked the hotel and the views from the club.

As you mentioned we have the best location in Cancun. Jst right were all the highspots are.

Hopefully we can serve you one more time.

Sincerely,

Lvpaguilar@krystal-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,644
    1,535
    844
    423
    384
See reviews for
1,339
1,873
142
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waller
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This resort was great!! I've been to Cancun 4 x's before and I would rank this place at the top of my best visit. The resort is right next to all the parties but still right on the beach. We relaxed during the day and partied all night. The service was excellent!! Julio & Alejandro (the door guys) was great to us. The only thing I wish was the hotel gave us more info about the restaurants on site.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xavia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Gracias for this great review from krystal cancun.

I will see this post with the staff you mentioned. Gracias for your feedback.

Actually we are designing a program inhouse we we are going to display all the information from the hotel in a more interactive way fro the guests.

You will see this changes in a few days!

See you soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Good points:

Location
Pool

Bad points:

We booked through ebookers and tried to take advantage of their 20% off all food and drinks offer.
We had to battle every day with the staff for them to take off the discount. Most of the staff didn't understand us and the others weren't aware this offer even existed. A simple wristband or card could fix this problem immediately but front desk told us they had no such thing.

We were also given complimentary x2 $25 credit to use in the spa... Cheapest treatment was way over $100 - no thanks. No wonder it was always dead in there.

Service - Staff are generally quite rude / unfriendly. No conversation with any of them not even a hello when walking past. They seemed more interested in the corporate events / cheesy weddings they were holding.

Hotel -

Pool area is nice to be fair, everywhere else seems very dated. No aircon throughout the hotel so very hot and uncomfortable. No entertainment in the evenings and no outside seating areas so be prepared to sit on a sunbed to enjoy a drink outside.

Room -

Room was large, no balcony, very very dated felt like I'd gone back in time! It was pretty filthy. Broken tiles in bathroom and exposed wiring in the bedroom.

Wifi was free in all areas including the room. You just have to keep signing in every 10 minutes.

Food:

Can't really comment as we refused to give the hotel anymore of our money although we did give in one day and ordered a portion of fries. They arrived stone cold - and of course there was a battle with getting the 20% discount.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess1990smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
thank you for sharing thise feedbacks with us.

I sent you an inbox in order to follow up into the themes you menitoned so i can correct them immediately.

I want to apologize in advance for the bad lapse of service you experienced.

Sincerely,

Lvpaguilar@krystal-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Our stay hére was brilliant. Staff were helpful especially the Events organiser Mauricio. Always looked After the hotel people And the best places to go to i.e clubs bars etc. Food was Also better then expected. Must see!

Room Tip: Océan view new tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rishi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you very much for posting this review.

I am very glad to see Mauricio keeps doing a good job. i will let him know about your mention.

If there is anything i may do for you please let me know.

Sincerely,

Lvpaguilar@krystal-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We booked our trip to Cancun for the Krystal hotel through a deal we found on Living Social. We got as 6 night package for around $1100, which we thought was very reasonable. We were wrong.

We arrived on June 20th for the beginning of our vacation and we immediately noticed the lack of air conditioning and the dated condition of the building on our arrival. Krystal has done very little to refresh or renovate their amenities in some time, it would seem. As for the air conditioning issue, this came from them leaving the front sliding glass doors open at all times. Every day. Though it didn't feel like the air conditioning was on in any part of the building outside of the room anyways, so that doesn't matter a whole lot, I guess.

If you expect to eat in comfort, you're best off ordering room service, but that's hit or miss too. More on that in a bit.

Speaking of air conditioning, however...

Ours smelled like human feces randomly more than once at random parts of the day. We were not sure of the cause of this issue, but it very likely isn't good for your health. This is likely a mold issue.

The conditions of the rooms are dated and sorely in need of renovation and repair.

The sink was cracked (and not in an artistic way) and the caulk was blackening in multiple areas, the shower only has a half-glass door that makes preventing water from getting on the floor during a shower almost impossible. There is also no ventilation in the bathroom, meaning the mirror fogs up and it becomes humid enough for mold to begin settling in, which is clearly a problem at Krystal, especially under the sink vanity.

The toilet worked and never clogged. I guess that's a plus.

The room itself is entirely tiled. No carpet to speak of. This makes the floor hard and cold to walk across at all times. The choice to opt out of carpet is very likely one made to prevent two things. Bed bugs and mold. Be sure to bring your slippers or your feet will hate you.

The beds are quite possible the most uncomfortable rocks we have ever slept on. Talk about stiff. You'll be lucky to get a few hours sleep on these. Also don't look at the mattresses under the sheets, it's best you leave that best to your imagination. It's not a pretty sight. I understand this is a hotel, but the beds are disgusting. That being said; they were at least bed bug free despite the reports we'd heard to the contrary, but it was definitely the first thing we checked for.

The rest of the room was in good condition, despite the difficult to latch sliding glass door. You had to really muscle it to get it to lock.

The room was probably the best thing about the hotel, to be honest.

The food ranges from edible to downright horrible and hot to cold and not by design.

The restaurants on-site are some of the worst we've ever eaten at. Chalk it up to high standards here in America if you want, but it was just bad. The beer tastes as if it is watered down. The food is bland in flavor with almost no seasoning and it takes forever to get to your table. This was at both Aquamarina and Las Velas. They have a sushi bar, but multiple times we observed them leaving the door to the refrigerated sea food open and unattended at the counter. We didn't eat there and we would highly recommend you not risk it, either.

One of us got sick from the food while we were there for several days of our trip, as well. Symptoms pointed to food poisoning. We couldn't narrow down whether it was from one of these restaurants or the barbeque event they had that Friday, but it was a terrible ordeal nonetheless. We were even considering having them call the hotel doctor (which costs around $70 USD, by the way.)

Room service was hit and miss. Once we received hot food in good time and that was it. The other times it was either luke warm or nearly cold. The food is also hit and miss. Very little of what they serve is exactly what you'd expect and is just as bland as the other food.

Stay away from the buffet food if you can. Most of it will make you sick given the opportunity. A lot of what they serve at these buffets is not fit for foreigner consumption.

El Mortero is good, but is off-site and requires a reservation. The service and food there is all good and it is highly recommended you get the majority of your meals there if you can make it so and are on an all inclusive. It says they require a dress code on the sheet in your room, but it is no enforced in any way whatsoever thankfully. (Honestly, who wears slacks on a beach vacation?) Don't worry about it. The drinks there are far and above better than what the hotel offers by the way. Same drinks are better tasting and less "watered down" as well. This is what pretty much convinced us they were doing something shady with the drinks at the hotel itself.

The staff is very polite and try very hard to be helpful, but they are slow, even when they aren't busy.

The grounds are okay, but the public bathrooms have a smell so potent you'll want to get out of them as soon as possible. They are filthy and you'll be tempted to skip washing your hands just to get out of them anyways. Probably best to carry hand sanitizer.

The pools and beach are all very nice and well-kept and at various points in the day you can see staff members checking the water and cleaning the pool. Wouldn't recommend laying on the beach beds they have though. They don't ever seem to get cleaned and God only knows what people do on them during the day and night.

The hotel is situated in the Cancun party-zone. Keep that in-mind when you book. It is literally right down the road from Coco Bongo. Depending on the type of vacationer you are, this can be both good and bad.

If you like it, you're going to have a great time being part of the party

If you want something relaxing, you're constantly going to hear club music until 5 am. Coco Bongo is loud and the lights they use will shine directly into your room if you're angled towards the club in any way.

We made the second mistake. Anyone trying to relax should look further down the beach towards the airport for somewhere more accommodating and higher quality.

Krystal Cancun is probably the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Bar none. Motel 6 in America is higher standard than this. I'm not even kidding.

If you like to party and spend most of your time AWAY from the hotel, you will enjoy it. If not, then stay away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewin us.

I am sorry if we were not the hotel you were expecting. i will check some points you mentioned.

However if found your review not accurate neither fair.

We are an excellent hotel. We have the best Budget in Cancun. More than 9,000 guests per month for over 30 years.

Sincerely,

Lvpaguilar@krystal-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed at Krystal Cancun a month ago and I have to say that my expectations were exceeded! The staff was super friendly, the premises impeccable, very modern and relaxing. Definitely high recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gale N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Gracias for this awesome review.

I am glad to see you liked the hotel and services.

Hope... we can welcome you back very soon!

Hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We went to Cancun for our late honeymoon. The hotel is fairly old but still in decent shape. We spent our first two nights in a room that was so below the standards of any hotel in the US. After expressing our displeasure multiple times, we were moved to one of the "new"rooms. While it was a vast improvement, it still was not the greatest. The air conditioning did not work well at all, and the "all-inclusive" meals were bland at best. Not bad but I am certain there are better places in Cancun.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I am deeply sorry for this problems you had during your stay.

thnk you for let me know about this ones. Please send me your travel dates so i can correct this issues immediately.

As well please let me know what food was bad for you or what kind of food you want to find.

Sincerely,

Lvpaguilar@krystal-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
0.1 mi away
Aloft Cancun
Aloft Cancun
#64 of 175 in Cancun
934 reviews
4.6 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
0.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
1.3 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#74 of 175 in Cancun
2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krystal Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krystal Cancun

Property: Krystal Cancun
Address: Paseo Kukulcan km 9, lotes 9 y 9A, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Krystal Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Krystal Cancun offers the best of both worlds. It is in the prime area of Punta Cancun - the heart of the activities and entertainment district of Cancun - yet once you step through our doors, leave the hustle and bustle of the world behind as you relax on our stretch of white sand beach, take a dip in our hotel's panoramic pool, or enjoy a massage at the spa or even better, abandon yourself in our beach bali beds. Everything you could need or want is at your fingertips and our goal is to ensure your ultimate relaxation. Our resort's stunning rooms and suites have been designed for every kind of traveler in mind, from our family rooms, which provides more space, to our ocean view guest rooms, to our suites - including the master and presidential suites which have their own private pools! We'll tantalize your palate with a wide range of cuisines in our three restaurants, cool your thirst at our three bars, ease your wallet with our affordable all-inclusive plan, and even handle all of the details for your meeting, conference, wedding, or group event. When it's time to get away from it all, come to Cancun and let us pamper you at the Krystal Cancun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Krystal Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krystal Cancun Hotel Cancun
Nh Hotels Cancun
Nh Krystal Cancun Hotel
Krystal Hotel Cancun
Nh Krystal Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing