We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Good/Location excellent”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Krystal Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Krystal Cancun
Ranked #70 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Good/Location excellent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel was part of an all inclusive package. Hotel is older needs a lot of updating, grounds etc are clean but needs to have an overall update. So do rooms. The staff was super friendly, cannot say enough, I traveled with 3 kids, they were super accommodating etc. Beach and pool are fantastic, the balcony missed some chairs and table we moved the ones from inside the room outside. Restaurant food was ok. the kids club especially Marisol was fantastic, she kept the kids entertained and they had a lot of fun. I loved the cabanas they had on the beach and pool area. Overall it was a good hotel would not go again because lots of spring/summer breakers lots of drinking etc. Great for a younger crowd not so much family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Muchas gracias for sharing your experience through tripadvisor.

I am very happy to see we are doing a good job in the hotel.

During March all the hotels un Cancun are booked by spring breakers. Let me assure you that this hotel is oriented for families.

Please feel free to contact me for any information.

Sincerely,

Lvpaaguilar@krystal-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,585
    1,496
    813
    411
    377
See reviews for
1,299
1,821
136
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Book an ocean view in the old tower and save yourself some money and stress. The only difference is that the TV is on the wall and there is an i-pod dock in the new tower and. We got an ocean view for US$20 extra per night. Always haggle for a better price because they will rip you off if you don't!) However, my friend who booked at the same time as us but checked in 2 days after us, got a FREE upgrade to the new tower by saying it was her birthday. (!)

The pool staff, beach staff, restaurant waiters, chambermaids and bus boys are all fantastic. Very friendly and always willing to help with a smile. (but remember to tip for EVERYTHING!)

However the reception staff are VERY rude and extremely passive aggressive in the way they talk to guests, as well as the girls working on the bar in the lobby area. They really could not be bothered to help guests, and always gave priority to those who spoke Spanish. SO RUDE! They could learn a thing or 2 about customer service from the others!

The rooms are very clean with shower caps, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, aspirin, plasters and large bottles of water provided daily. Would have been good to have clothes lines or hangers on the balcony for our wet swimsuits though.

The walls are PAPER THIN! We could hear EVERYTHING going on in the rooms next to us!!!!
The hotel is literally 2 mins from the main strip/clubs - Coco Bongo, Mandala, Daddy O's etc so if you wanna party then the location is perfect. If not, this is NOT the place for you as the bass from the beach bars and clubs rumble through the building until 7am EVERDAY!

The beach is very clean and the sea is beautiful. The pools and sunbeds are also very clean and never overcrowded.

We had all inclusive which was very good. Most of the alcohol was name brand i.e Smirnoff. Also the beach snacks were very fresh and delicious - burgers and fries, fish tacos, nachos, chicken wings. Breakfast was good. Freshly made smoothies, egg station, waffles, french toast, as well as Mexican selections. We usually had lunch on the beach or by the pool. Dinner was a varied selection of chicken, fish, meat, rice, salad and vegetables. Usual all inclusive stuff, but we did venture out of the hotel to Bubba Gump Shrimp for a change of scenery. (Ask at Reception for a discount voucher of $10 per person.)

I took pesos which I exchanged online in the UK before leaving. The exchange rates in Cancun are not too favourable as its a tourist resort and the rates appear to be set as they never changed in the 10 days we were there. Anyway, everything has 2 prices - US dollars or Mexican Pesos. I found that paying in pesos was slightly cheaper than dollars, especially for trips etc. Would highly recommend Xel-Ha and Tulum Ruins for a day trip - $100US (after serious haggling!)

Overall we had a nice stay at the NH Krystal in Cancun, but will be trying a different hotel next time as the Reception and Lobby Bar staff really put us off. Its a shame that their attitude only changed as we were leaving cause I said I was going to put a review up on the internet!

Room Tip: Request Ocean view in old tower but be prepared to pay. Don't bother with Krystal Club Upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonHols29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
thank you for submitting a review from us,

i am really sorry if we failed in our services during your stay.

Please allow me to follow up into these ones to correct them immediately.

Could you please let me know your travel dates?

Sincerely,

Lvpaguilar@krystal-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

What I loved about Krystal was the friendly staff who was in touch with us even before going there, welcoming us. When asked about our room, and telling them it was our honeymoon, we were upgraded to a huge room with two balconys to the pool area and the beach. We also got champagne and cake. Lovely gesture!
The room was clean but a bit worn down (this was the old wing). However, the location and view was spectacular. One week was totally ok to stay here.
We did go through the share-selling speech, which wasn't too great. Three salesmen went on and on long after we've said No Thank You. Don't participate in that one!

Room Tip: Absolutely ask for a room with a view over the ocean!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you reviewing this hotel.

i like to see that your stayed was good in Krystal Cancun.

We are working so much this year in order to maintain and renovate our hotel's rooms.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a great budget hotel for 1) people who need a place to shower and sleep with a beach that is a great jumping off point to see some Mayan ruins or 2) spring breakers. This hotel is located near the famed MTV Spring Break club, Coco Bongo and other such nightlife; perfect if you want to be able to stumble home. We did not eat here and did not participate in the all-inclusive.

If you're looking for more peaceful, upscale dining with less 18-year olds, try another hotel resort further south along the hotel zone strip.

Notes and Tips:
-The drinks cost about 90 pesos, some bars are better than others.
-There are no entertainment/activities after 10:30pm (the lobby bar shuts down and the band packs up).
-You cannot go on the beach after ~9pm.
-You should not put your feet in the pool that late either since it's been treated with chemicals. -There is no rush for the cabanas, umbrellas or pool deck chairs like at other resorts. We were always able to get 3 chairs together easily, at any time of day.
-The tap water is ok to drink; don't let the front desk scare you into drinking the $5 bottles of water.
-Get your towel card when you check in at the front desk. If you don't return it at check out--$20 charge.
-Payless car rental is available in the hotel lobby

Room Tip: Ocean view is totally worth it. Hate to say it. But the smells and the sounds of the waves, plus t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charity516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your time and preference.

After reading your review i will check some points you mentioned. As well there are some lines you menitoned that i found unaccurate regarding our schedules.

Anyway.. Please feel free to contact me for any assistance.

Sincerely,

Lvpaguilar@krystal-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I realize no one controls the weather, the hotel leaks like a siv and it was raining in the elevators! Moldy calk in sink, moldy bed skirt, Luke warm food at best. Good location though. No activities at all and the pools close at 7....need i say more?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xharleyhoneyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for writing down this review.

Could you please let me know your travel date so i can follow up into this theme directly.

Sincerely,

Lvpaguilar@krystal-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffside Park, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I ended up coming to this resort since the one I originally booked withy package was terrible!!!

This hotel is in a GREAT location. If you have come to party the clubs are on your doorstep at this hotel.

Rooms are very nice clean and upto date. Depending on your room location your can hear the thumping music from the club next door until about 5am which can be a lil bit of a negative espicially if your a light sleeper.

Hotel overall is a very clean facility. Since its rainy season at the moment (march-sept) when it rained it poured and the streets outside the hotel were flooded and also the hallways in the hotel had lots of water which the hotel staff were constantly working hard to clean.

The food at this hotel is ok like any other medioca all inc hotel mass production food gets boring and kind of repetitive after a while.

There are no activities in the hotel at night most people just hang out around the bar area in the lobby where there are 2 pool tables and a lot of couches for people to sit and relax on.

For those of you who are thinking whether you should bring dollars or pesos. I would say bring dollars and change them to pesos over there you seem to get a much better rate. Shop only with peso you really don't need to bring dollars out with you unless you are using them for tips or planning to change them to pesos.

Would def stay at this place again due to location and cleanliness of hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandiKandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for this comments in tripadvisor.

We like to read reviews like these ones. Apparently everything was ok during your stay. however the point of the variery you mentioned it is something we are working so much based in our guest's feedbacks.

Sincerely,

Lvpaguilar@krystal-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed at the Krystal 4-27-13 thru 5-4-13.Lets start by saying that the pick up from the airport was very good the driver was right on time,we arrived and when you walk into this resort you can smell the smell of cleaniness it was spotless.Check in with Gabriela was easy and she was very nice and helpful and she gave us a great ocean view room.We also did there 90 min. vacation resale with Mada and she was very nice also,no pressure at the end if you did not want to buy.The location was awesome you can walk to everything only went out one day.The food was good the mixed drinks not so good only if you went up to the bar then they would put some booze in them,and with the pool service you were better of going up there urself.All in all i would go back the resort itself was beautiful.

Room Tip: Be kind when you check in it goes along way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cat660turbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you writing down this review.

It feels very well when we read nice comments about our services. Gracias for your time for pointing thiese ones.

however i wikll check the topic you mentioned reagrding the standards in the cocktails. it is something that i will verify with the food and beverages manager.

Nos vemos pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
0.1 mi away
Aloft Cancun
Aloft Cancun
#68 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
4.6 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
1.3 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#75 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,762 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krystal Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krystal Cancun

Property: Krystal Cancun
Address: Paseo Kukulcan km 9, lotes 9 y 9A, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Krystal Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Krystal Cancun offers the best of both worlds. It is in the prime area of Punta Cancun - the heart of the activities and entertainment district of Cancun - yet once you step through our doors, leave the hustle and bustle of the world behind as you relax on our stretch of white sand beach, take a dip in our hotel's panoramic pool, or enjoy a massage at the spa or even better, abandon yourself in our beach bali beds. Everything you could need or want is at your fingertips and our goal is to ensure your ultimate relaxation. Our resort's stunning rooms and suites have been designed for every kind of traveler in mind, from our family rooms, which provides more space, to our ocean view guest rooms, to our suites - including the master and presidential suites which have their own private pools! We'll tantalize your palate with a wide range of cuisines in our three restaurants, cool your thirst at our three bars, ease your wallet with our affordable all-inclusive plan, and even handle all of the details for your meeting, conference, wedding, or group event. When it's time to get away from it all, come to Cancun and let us pamper you at the Krystal Cancun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Krystal Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krystal Cancun Hotel Cancun
Nh Hotels Cancun
Nh Krystal Cancun Hotel
Krystal Hotel Cancun
Nh Krystal Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing