We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful ocean, major up-keep required to the property”
Review of Krystal Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Krystal Cancun
Ranked #68 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I started traveling to Cancun since we were dating in the 90's. Our last trip to Cancun was in 2006 after the 2005 Hurricane (with our first baby). This was our first time back since then (2 kids later and our 9th trip to Cancun) To this date, it seems that they are still trying recuperate. This hotel has had many challenges especially since they had lost their beach to the Hurracane in 2005. Yes before this they did have a beautiful beach which only extended past the right of the pillars if you look at the hotel from the beach. We used to go swimming out there at night as well. IT WAS AN AMAZING PLACE!!! The bar below (going ou towards the beach) was always open during the day. Amazing drinks!!! You could order your drink and it would be served in a watermelon or a coconut depending on what drink your ordered. It was all so over the top tropical feel and location was amazing. This place was actually a 5 star resort at the time.

Anyway, the beach has now been fully restored and expanded along with now having an ocean barrier to keep the waves from coming in and protecting the resort from severe hurricane damage. This is a plus!! You can actually go into the ocean and keep walking in. The left side of the beach (newer side because this is the part that was never there before) is very child friendly. My two year old loved it. People go snorkling out there.

They have added a new jacuzzi overlooking the ocean and removed the white railing and put up glass railing. The restaurant by the pool is no longer La Rarotonga (yes very dissapointing to us as they had the most amazing seafood tacos ever) This has changed and it is now enclosed by glass (this was all open before.

The first night we were put in the old tower. NOT SO BUENO!!! At all. The room was facing the parking lot which really didn't matter. My ISSUE was the smell of the room. This room had not been remodeled at all. The mirrors were still the the same ones which would not be a big deal if they were in good condition. These had the black patches on. The window lock was broken. You could open the window which is okay if you don't have a two year old trying to open it. There was not safety anything in there. She could have actually climbed over and fallen. The bed was dirty and had hair on it like some had been on the bed with dirty feet and left hair after laying down. Was not a happy camper. The AC WAS STILL THE SAME UNIT FROM 30YRS AGO. The wall was stained from the AC.

They added a new building which only has ocean view rooms. We were moved to the new building the next day. This is great with the exception of the materials used. The doors are already breaking (cheap wood). We had a two bedroom suite the door in one room was splintered and a chunk of it about ready to fall off. This made it expand and hard to open. The other bedroom the wood was cracking from the top of the door all the way to where the key goes in. The shower design is not very well done. The water spills over onto the floor as the slope to the drain was not designed very well. (okay not taking out of my a**) just so happens you notice the Imperfections more when youi have architects and designers in the family. And working in a construction management firm teaches you a thing or two...needless to say I spent every day using up all the towels to dry the floor every time someone took a shower. There is only half a glass door to the shower on the side where the shower head comes down fromt he ceiling BUT unfortunately the water splashes to the bathroom door causing water to seep into the hall way as well and causing the door to be destroyed with so much water hitting it.

They are still working on restoring the resort and wish them the best of luck but for a visitor that has been there so many times it is very dissapointing. Okay before I forget the spa/gym have not been remodeled. The gym has the floor still lifting from the water seeping in. slimy water is bad. And when you hear a guest complain that the sauna is not hot enough that is a problem. It is also a health hazard to have it be cooler...

Room Tip: make sure you request to be put in the new building. If you are put in the old tower make sure your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Babybabbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Thank you for choosing Krystal Cancun. It was a pleasure having you with us during your recent visit to Cancun.

I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the lapse of service you experienced during your visit.

I've already contacted you and i want to thank you again for your different inputs you mentioned and for your loyalty with us.

You have my personal contact information and it would be a pleasure assisting to you at anytime...

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,045)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,792 - 1,798 of 5,045 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

Staff has some service issues. Some are friendly and helpful, some are not. Facilities are older and in some places quite tired. The staff that tries to sell a new version of timeshares as an investment are deceptive in many ways. There is quite a hard sell on the timeshare side and after laying out the concept some one else came in and picked up the descriptions as if they were embarrassed by the descriptions or did not want to be questioned about what they are really selling. As a crash pad its fine for doing outside activities for a few days. I wouldn't stay here for a whole week. For an all inclusive place the food is better than average.

Room Tip: rooms on the east side have a view of the gulf
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bcampbell65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris A, Manager at Krystal Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to detail your recent experience at The Krystal Cancun

We regret to learn this way regarding the issue you mentioned with the consistence of our staff.

Even though we continuously strive to offer exceptional levels of service, it appears we fell a little short on this occasion.

If I may be of the slightest assistance to you in any way, please do not hesitate to contact me at lvpaguilar@krystal-hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

When we arrive, The room had no A/C..When we complained, we were told there were no rooms available for the night to try the next day. The night was so uncomfortable. We came here to enjoy a stress free night but instead this night was the worst and it turn our vacation to unenjoyable event.

Room Tip: do not recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Anytha g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to detail your recent experience at The Krystal Cancun

We are deeply sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations during your recent visit to our hotel, all of which attributed to you feedback.

a few days ago i contacted you inbox and i haven't received any reply. This is because i want to give a proper follow up on this incident you mentioned cause we've had rooms availables these last weeks.

We would also like to thank you for your comments. Those ones help us out to improve our services.

Sincerely,

lvpaguilar@krystal-hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I could say many things about the property, but this time I would like to use some words to talk about a quartet of very friendly guys that play at the lobby and the terrace every night. They try very hard to make your stay very pleasant, they also are very friendly and they play with the hearth. It is fun to sit down and hear them having fun. Thanks

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony heading towards the sea. They have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Miguel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Thank you for sharing your special experience with us. It was an honor to be a part of this wonderful occasion and I will share your kind comments with the managers involved.
As any member of the staff, strive daily to exceed the expectations of our guests.

Hurry back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel the location is just perfect,good price, everything is close from night clubs to places to eat...... Beach is awsome!! Dont know someone here said they jad no beach its perfect my wife and i had a blast even with the rain and all had a blast gonna stay here again for sure....ONLY BAD THING WAS THE BUFFET FOR DINNER ITS EXPENSIVE AND NOT MUCH TO EAT.... AND DONT GET SCAMMED BY THE TIME SHARE LADY LOL THEY OFFER YOU A FREE BUFFET AND STUFF DONT DO IT!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robtj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

On behalf of the Management team at The Krystal Cancun, we would like to thank you for completing your review on Tripadvisor

Our hotel prides itself on providing five star service. And like in any company mistakes can happen. I will check personally this theme you mentioned regarding the sales staff..

By the other hand... Our prices on the restaurants in the hotel are below the average in the Hotel Zone.

We would welcome an opportunity to discuss these issues further with you and can be contacted at lvpaguilar@krystal-hotels.com

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I go to cancun quite often and this place wasnt bad! When we first checked in we noticed how beautiful it is. it's well done and very clean. what they dont tell you is they have 2 towers, one of which is upgraded. the other, looks like an old motel. I asked if i could pay to have our room upgraded but they said they didnt have any available. we were brought to our room and as we entered, it was already occupied by 4 young men there for spring break. we walked right in on them. they immediately gave us an upgrade to the new tower with no charge. our new room was beautiful with an ocean view and nice balcony. we had all inclusive. the food wasnt the best, but it wasnt the worst. there was always something to fill you up. the bar closes rather early, but thats the only complaint i have. its within walking distance to nightlife and everything else you need. the bars and clubs are literally outside your door. you could hear the noise from the hotel but once it the room, it was fine. All in all, i enjoyed it and would go back. the beach was beautiful and the staff was helpful.

Room Tip: reserve one in the renovated tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cassi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Muchas gracias for writing a review in tripadvisor.

I saw you liked the hotel and had a good time in Krystal Cancun. However i will check this two issues you mentioned during your check i and the food.

I am glad to see the first one was handled promptly. These last months we had a very high ocuppancy. Our 4 towers were fully booked some weeks.

Feel free to contact me... I really want to know more about the food problem in order to speak with the executive chef directly.

Sincerely,

lvpaguilar@krystal-hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

Regarding my stay and comment on last March, I want to write some more review. Previous stay, I wrote "half expectation" to share what I was facing at the time. I will not mention it again. My today objective is to give a sincere gratitude to manager ( Paris A.). After I informed and complained about service I got. I was immediately contact from manager. The thing I really appreciated that was " heart-concern". He called me 5pm. cause he thought I was sleeping ( it came from I couldn't sleep at night cause some people made loud noise all night long). Once I was contacted , I was moved to a new and upgrade room with drink complementary. Of course, I was very happy with a new room but above of all I love is " response with heart" . Calling me at 5 pm cause you knew I was sleeping ! Impress!! ... My husband needs me to make a review again to say all fact we got. This is a positive part I should mention it. I have to wait for 3 months after the first review about same hotel due to tripadvisor 's rule.

Thank you for giving my husband and I the good time in all 4 days left. Again really appreciate hotel's manger response.

Anyway, I still need to comment about front desk service. They are not friendly ( sometimes rude) in the rest of my 4 days. Housekeeper were perfect, they couldn't speak English but try to understand what I want. It's totally opposite by front desk who know English well but ignore to understand anything.

I had both bad time and good time. I can't compare them but I insist to go back to Krystal again cause I think most of people there want to keep and give all good thing.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hitz_tani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 1, 2012

Thank you again for giving us another opportunity to rate us and giving us a good feedback on tripadvisor.

We aware of the issues you mentioned and i can assured we are continously working to fullfill any guests needs. Your inputs are kindly welcome.

It's a very nice gesture of you this review. We can see you are really such a nice person.

It would be a pleasure assisting you at anytime.

lvpaguilar@krystal-hotels.com

Sincerely,

Paris Aguliar Ugarte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
0.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
4.6 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#46 of 177 in Cancun
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aloft Cancun
Aloft Cancun
#65 of 177 in Cancun
995 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
1.4 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#74 of 177 in Cancun
2,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krystal Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krystal Cancun

Address: Paseo Kukulcan km 9, lotes 9 y 9A, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $102 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Krystal Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Krystal Cancun offers the best of both worlds. It is in the prime area of Punta Cancun - the heart of the activities and entertainment district of Cancun - yet once you step through our doors, leave the hustle and bustle of the world behind as you relax on our stretch of white sand beach, take a dip in our hotel's panoramic pool, or enjoy a massage at the spa or even better, abandon yourself in our beach bali beds. Everything you could need or want is at your fingertips and our goal is to ensure your ultimate relaxation. Our resort's stunning rooms and suites have been designed for every kind of traveler in mind, from our family rooms, which provides more space, to our ocean view guest rooms, to our suites - including the master and presidential suites which have their own private pools! We'll tantalize your palate with a wide range of cuisines in our three restaurants, cool your thirst at our three bars, ease your wallet with our affordable all-inclusive plan, and even handle all of the details for your meeting, conference, wedding, or group event. When it's time to get away from it all, come to Cancun and let us pamper you at the Krystal Cancun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Krystal Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krystal Cancun Hotel Cancun
Nh Hotels Cancun
Nh Krystal Cancun Hotel
Krystal Hotel Cancun
Nh Krystal Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing