We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel - you get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Ranked #74 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I stayed here last Summer. On arrival we were asked whether we wanted to upgrade to a room with an ocean view. Though we declined as it was quite expensive, we were upgraded for free anyway.

The room itself wasn't particularly fancy but it was clean. I would definitely recommend having an ocean view otherwise you'll have the view of the main road and the restaurants opposite.

We were a group of young girls and I found that there were a lot of Mexican families and older couples staying at the hotel who weren't particularly friendly and spent most of their holiday staring at us.

The hotel itself never seemed particularly busy so there was a rush to save sun beds with towels early in the morning. I preferred the pool next to the beach rather than the one near reception as it tended to be quieter.

The food at the hotel was horrible!!! Some days I wasn't even able to recognise what it was. We weren't told this by the staff but there was an a la carte restaurant next the beach which you could eat in every night instead of the buffet. Though the food there still wasn't great, it was better than the buffet.

We had friends staying at the hotel down the road and when they called the hotel and asked for us, the hotel said that there were no English people staying at the hotel and when they came to see us they were told they couldn't come in and the hotel didn't pass on any of their messages to us.

The hotel is a short bus/taxi ride away from the clubs and restaurants. The bus stop is right outside the hotel which made travelling easy. Taxis were quite expensive but the bus was really cheap and came frequently.

Overall, the hotel wasn't great but it was cheap and clean and I still had an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carmen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Gerente at Flamingo Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

Dear Carmen K:

Wowooww¡¡¡ It is a relly nice review. For Flamingo Cancun Resort.

Our perfect location, service and accomodations gives you all added value

Hope you share with all your relatives and friends your experience

Look forward to have you back again soon

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,967)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

391 - 397 of 2,967 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

For 104$ per night and all-inclusive the stay was ok. The food is ok, but not if you you stay there more than 3-4 nights. It is always the same food. The rooms are a little bit run down, but clean. The pool should be cleaned more often. The all-inclusive does not include premium alcohol.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vtm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Gerente at Flamingo Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

Estimated Vtm R:

Thank you so much for your visit in Flamingo Cancun Resort.

We are doing a lot of changes in service, accomodations and facilities.

Look forward to have you back again soon

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

My bf and I stayed at the Flamingo for 8 days. It was the worst hotel I've ever been to.
The only good thing about it was the beach. The white sand and clear aqua blue ocean is beautiful and nice.

We had a standard room and I requested it to be on the 3rd or 4th floor, which we were granted. I was really happy I asked for that because we discovered that the first floor is actually not on ground level, it is in the basement. The room we got was not the rooms which were shown in pictures on the hotel website. The floors were always damp and slimy feeling, the ceiling in the bathroom dripped, and the bottom of the toilet would always leak leaving a nasty little puddle of water around the toilet. However, the shower is nice and has great water pressure.

The bed is uncomfortable and the sheets were never changed once out of our whole 8 days. House keeping came twice out of our whole 8 days as well.

We tried to hook up to the wifi multiple times, which was advertised as "free wifi" throughout the hotel on their website and other booking websites. It took us to a page where you had to enter your credit card number and name and pay for the wifi. We asked front desk about the free wifi and they told us you have to pay 7$ a night for wifi, and that there is not even free wifi in the lobby.

The food at the buffet was fair, they used recycled food from the previous nights/days often, with little different variety of options to choose from from day to day.

The absolute worst part about the hotel is definitely the staff. There were maybe 3 staff members that were really nice and worked hard. I wish we remembered their names so I could praise them to their manager. All of the other staff was so rude, we could not even believe it. We got dirty looks multiple times from a couple of the workers at the bar. The swim up bar had constant orders, and had two workers that worked the majority of the time. The male worker was ALWAYS working and trying to go fast and taking and making literally ALL of the orders. There was a female worker who every time we went there was standing there in the corner looking up at the sky, she wouldn't even make eye contact with us. She was seriously standing there ignoring everyone while her coworker busted his butt picking up all of her slack. She gave me a dirty look when I brought our dirty cups from our table and the beach back to the bar. I guess I should have left them on the beach so her coworker could go search for them and bring them back himself. Another day the same thing happened, this time she was fanning her face with her fan. I went up to her and asked her for a cup of water. She gave me a dirty look and just stood there for a moment, so I repeated myself, and then she repeated it back to me, and I said "yes, a cup of water please" to which i was surprised she actually gave me a cup of water, of course she wasn't happy that she had to move a foot to the water machine though.

Another disappointment would be the alcoholic drinks. The bar tender in the lobby is really friendly and funny, but the quality of alcohol used is very poor. I asked if they could use the Smirnoff and I was told it is only for show. He gave me a shot of their vodka they use and it tasted watered down and was just downright disgusting. They only serve their drinks out of small plastic cups, and don't have straws. I only had 3 drinks the whole time I was there.

Also, our room did not have a mini fridge, so they did not give us any water bottles. I'm not sure if other rooms got them. We had to buy big bottles of water at the hotel store to bring to our room if we wanted a drink because the bars close at 11 and we shouldn't drink the tap water. I was awestruck that we had to pay for our water when we paid for all inclusive.

Another thing that is totally unprofessional and sketchy is that they do not have a valid phone number anywhere to be found. We accidentally left our underwater camera we bought in the hotel room when checking out yesterday. We don't expect that they would have kept it for us, but we wanted to call to take our chances anyways. All of the numbers listed on their website either do not work, or say that they have been changed. The machine says for a charge of 2$ we could be redirected to the new number, which did not work either. We have searched for over an hour online and can not find a number or any contact information anywhere.

We picked this hotel because it was the cheapest, and you definitely get what you pay for. I would definitely pay 500$ more for a nicer hotel/staff and food. I wish we listened to other reviews.

Room Tip: Get a room at a different hotel. If you must stay at the Flamingo, ask for a room on the 3rd or 4th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Gerente at Flamingo Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

Dear Samantha R:

Thank you so much for your review. In Flamingo Cancun Resort we have different options for everyone.

In 6th floor we have wi-fi and fridge, service, allocation and accomodations are our best.

Hope you reconsider coming back to see all improvements we´ve done

Look forward to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just graduated from college when we stayed at Flamingo. The resort is in the middle of everything on the strip and easily accessible to anything we wanted to do. It was a fair price on our budget and we had no complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shaylanchrismac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Overall the hotel is decent, the staff was courteous. The young lady in the Kids Club was amazing with children, and the bartenders poolside were very attentive. I always saw people cleaning, but on the other hand my room was filthy under the bed, and there was a hair on a supposedly clean bed when we went to go lay down on the first night. The food poolside was always the same but the ladies providing the service were great. The restaurant buffet was decent, nothing to go crazy about. I also depend on Wifi to be able to take a vacation and work at night, but there was not one day in all the days I stayed there where I could reliably access the internet. It was insanely frustrating, and when they connected me to tech support they said they didn't support that hotel! When I asked to talk to the manager he said it was my computer and not their networks - very, very frustrating! The little details are what make the difference, and for this reason it is not great, just OK. I would not come back here, I rather take my chances at another hotel in Cancun.

Room Tip: The 6th floor which is the luxury floor is NOT luxurious, don't spend any extra on it, it is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank desireewilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

This is a 3star resort, our 2nd time here. Been to cancun several times. After experiencing other hotels, I remembered quick why this one was cheaper. It's good for a cheap get away, but we won't be returning. The beach is beautiful, great location for that! No bar or beach service though. :( I knew that going back, but really missed it after the first day. The food lacks variety.. I like more choices. We also were hounded daily to listen to their timeshare or VIP room meeting sales pitch.. I gave in on day 3.. Worse 90 minutes ever! They start out friendly, and turn aggressive quickly. No way was I giving in, I'm a cancun lover & know the great prices I get on my own. Will not return, two stays was def enough.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sun&FunLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Overall, I thought the Flamingo was very good and well worth what we paid. The people are very nice and the rooms were very comfortable and clean. The only thing I would say is the AC was not good. (At least for me) But, I am used to a very cold climate. I noticed that the top floor rooms had good AC. So, if you stay in the more expensive rooms, that wouldn't be a problem. The first thing we did was to go to a local store and purchases a large fan. The food was very good, and the waiters were polite and accommodating. We really enjoyed our stay. But, next time we will book during the winter months. :)

Room Tip: Top floors have good AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
5.1 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#43 of 177 in Cancun
725 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Royal Cancun
Park Royal Cancun
#58 of 177 in Cancun
4,494 reviews
5.0 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#26 of 177 in Cancun
3,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#75 of 177 in Cancun
2,951 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#47 of 177 in Cancun
3,522 reviews
3.7 mi away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Cancun Resort

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 11, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $90 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Cancun Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“We get to know you” A great destiny in the mexican caribbean, “Cancun.” Only 20 minutes away from downtown and from the Cancun International Airport, and close to all the incredible attractions offered by this remarkable paradise. If you are looking for location, quality service, and an excellent all inclusive program. Flamingo Cancun Hotel is “The place”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Flamingo Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Cancun Hotel Cancun
Flamingo Resort Cancun
Cancun Flamingo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing