We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view. Let down by the staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Ranked #72 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at this hotel around 2pm, to be told check in wasn't until 3, but they would try to get it ready quickly and get in touch. Waited until nearly 4 before being able to go to the room. We booked an all inclusive beach front room. Which had an amazing view, the room was fairly large with a nice bathroom, but could have done with a good clean, there was mould on the walls and dirt in the bathroom. The food from the buffet lacked in flavour, was repetitive and not worth the money! The burgers at the pool side bar were ok. The staff I found to be terrible! The bar staff were rude and I spent over an hour waiting to be served a not great cocktail! The restaurant staff weren't much better. The housekeepers came to our room every day before 9am even after putting the do not disturb sign they still burst in! Also they carelessly threw away my sun cream and some of my other products despite not being empty! Nice pool areas and a nice beach but was otherwise fairly shabby and I would not go back!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Linzi432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,003)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

447 - 453 of 3,003 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

The resort was small and cozy which was exactly what I was looking for.

I would have liked if they had music at night in the lobby bar and by the pool (later in the day)

Great access to the beach. Wish I would have know about the quiet pool when I first arrived as there were quite a few kids at the resort and this would have been a nice place to be when needing a little time away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinnesotaTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were there for 30 days.We had a streetview room and after 2 days there was construction across the street during the night (11 pm to 6 am). After 3 nights without sleeping we asked to move to another room, they said roughly we had for what we paid for and we will keep our room;that's all. Very kind the signor at front desk. At the beach, there is not enough chairs. We saw people taking chairs when other were gone for a drink. We saw fights and wars every mornings. Food was OK. Staff was great.

Room Tip: Good service from staff,exept from front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cruiseLavalqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

First of all we chose to stay at the flamingo because it said No Spring Breakers ALLOWED. what a lie. As we were checking in there were drunk kids everywhere. The swimming pool area was full of them, Not good. As we were checking in we asked about this, they said to us well we don't turn anyone down from staying here. First sign this is not going to be good. Then we checked in our room. Yuck not like the pictures and NO AIR CONDITIONING! We went down to the front desk for 3 days 3 or more times a day asking them to move us. No help from them. They just act like they don't understand you or again they lie. They said each time someone is working on it and should be ready in an hour. Nope. The food was gross with not very much selection. Do yourself a favor and go to the Rui or any other resort. Never going back!! TERRIBLE

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matnjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed during the end of Feb. first of March 2014. The hotel is quietly remodeling the rooms. We had a great time the beach is actually very big across there front. We did stay in the newer part. The rooms on the inside are being remodeled a little at time. We were told that they are being expanded to make them larger. It is an older hotel one of the first ones to be built. To us it is more of a family smaller resort. The only thing for us is main buffet restaurant does not always have the biggest selection could be better. The other one has steak, chicken ,shrimp ect. which was our choice. We are going back with our grand daughter and her friend in July. To us and the way were treated is one of the best . Were looking forward to going back and the help there was very polite some of the best I seen. This will be our third trip since Sept. 2013 for us it is always about the BEACH!!! If you can't have a good time here you were not meant to travel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TERRY-GIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Hello all,

this is just a warning that the bad comments of this hotel should be taken into account.
We stayed there for 2 nights, and after leaving hotel we noticed some USD were missing, additionally a golden bracelet worth a couple hundred USD also.
We reported them but of course nothing was found, although it is possible to check the registry of cards that entered the room.

Avoid this hotel at all cost!!! I did not believe other bad comments, learned the lesson on my own dime. No solution to the robbery was given...instead only lies and a lot of time lost on the phone.

Nice vacations to all....somewhere else!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank flymexico2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had an awful experience. After the 2nd day of our 7 day stay the air conditioning stopped working. We talked to the front desk every morning and 3 times a day until the last day of our stay. They kept promising it will be fixed that day. The last time I asked I was told to "sleep by the pool" How rude! Not only was it not safe, but is was spring break!!! Not exactly the quietest time in a Cancun hotel. We had to sleep with the sliding glass door open - also not safe. The food was atrocious! We ended up eating made to order omelets and fruit every morning and lame hamburgers by the pool each afternoon. Tried the special restaurant twice and I have never had such bad food or service. It is the first vacation I have ever lost weight! The spa was a joke. All of the equipment was broken. On a positive note, I do have to say the wait staff was great and the hotel was kept clean despite it's tired state. The view from our room, the beach, and location were bar none.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pillfiller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.3 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#46 of 177 in Cancun
2,129 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Dos Playas Beach House
1.3 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#68 of 177 in Cancun
5,087 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
#106 of 177 in Cancun
909 reviews
2.4 mi away
Casa Maya Cancun
Casa Maya Cancun
#62 of 177 in Cancun
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Cancun Resort

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 11, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $87 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Cancun Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“We get to know you” A great destiny in the mexican caribbean, “Cancun.” Only 20 minutes away from downtown and from the Cancun International Airport, and close to all the incredible attractions offered by this remarkable paradise. If you are looking for location, quality service, and an excellent all inclusive program. Flamingo Cancun Hotel is “The place”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Flamingo Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Cancun Hotel Cancun
Flamingo Resort Cancun
Cancun Flamingo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing