We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Ranked #73 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Palm Springs, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel!!!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed in Room 518 from May 22-30, 2013. Queen size ocean view room and it was wonderful. I loved the room and the staff. All of the staff were pretty nice and I didnt have a problem speaking to anyone in English. It helps to know a few words in Spanish...it can go along way!! My wi fi worked great actually. Its 15.00 USD per 24 hours of use...a bit expensive...but if you dont use the internet that much, it works out and saves money. I loved sitting my my balcony every morning on my laptop. One tip is when trying to use the wireless...go through Google Chrome to connect. Internet Explorer would not work. The pool bar does close at 6pm, but that was ok with me. Theres a decent store across the street to buy everything you need. I would however avoid the Flamingo Mall...alot of vendors in there just hawking there goods. Isla Mall was much nicer and not much a walk at all. Had breakfast at the hotel one morning at it was pretty decent. Didnt do the all inclusive route since there are too many places you can walk to and eat. I dont see why alot of people are complaining about this hotel. Its very inexpensive and right on the beach and as the saying goes "you get what you pay for". I got a decent room and great service. That all I needed. I will return to this hotel again next year!!

Room Tip: An oceanview room is a must. So very relaxing !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EFORSELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    1,009
    631
    306
    318
See reviews for
638
1,031
111
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The hotel is very average, meals are so basic and boring, the room is clean but to frills, theres no vending machines, not a lot of ice. There are NO planned activites as they say on the web site. Theres is NO snorkeling, NO kayaking, NO non motorized sports of any kind. The website is very misleading. Try saving some extra money to upgrade to a better hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peatoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

if you are looking for an excellent beach, nice pool, good wholesome food and a quiet environment, this is the place for you at a very reasonable rate. Most of the guests are families from Mexico although there are some young foreigners also. The hotel has six floors and does not have the massive installations the bigger chains have, but if you want beach, sun, sea and quiet, this is the place. Absolutely essential to have a room that looks onto the sea even if you pay a small upgrade. You can sit out on your balcony at night or at sunrise and admire the exquisite turquioise blue Caribbean. You are so close to the sea that the waves will lull you to sleep at nighttime. I found the laundry service excellent - just two hours and your clothes are back cleaner than ever!
The staff at both restaurants very helpful and friendly and the food wholesome and abundant.

Room Tip: You must get a room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 239JohnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was our first trip to MX, and makes us never want to return to Cancun. We were fully away that at the rates we were receiving, that this was a more 'economical' stay, which we were prepared for and ok with the fewer offerings, and standard amenities. However... The manager I rude and pompous, service incredibly slow, and restaurant one can be served at always booked privately and could never use. The food was not terrible, but all tasted the same. After second day we traveled off property for our meals. Also... Be sure you speak Spanish, because very few spoke English, only one front desk staff. Our group will never be returning, which is sad given its great location to everything.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessieJFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts, United States
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

A great hotel at a great price. One of my favorite things about this hotel is that it isn't so big that there are thousands of people wherever you go. It sits on the best stretch of beach in Cancun, has a nice pool, awesome local cuisine, and there is such a cool vibe when staying there. The people who work there are great!

They were renovating the dining area when I was there which kinda stunk, but I can only imagine how nice it will be when it's done, it will probably be gorgeous!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyside, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel is about 15 minutes from the airport and right in the heart of the Hotel Zone. Make sure you take a van from Cancun Airport since it's only $15/pp. Overall, I'm not a fan of the Hotel Zone as it's really commercial. The hotel is across the street from Margaritaville and Outback Steakhouse. The bus stop is right in front of the hotel which makes it easy access to get to other parts of the Hotel Zone (Coco Bongo, Daddy's O's, etc). The pool isn't so great at the hotel and there is no hotel bar really. One upside to the hotel is that it has great beach access. Don't pay extra for the Wi-Fi b/c you just won't get it. There is also no free internet use in the lobby. Don't take cabs anywhere as they are expensive. The R1/R2 bus runs every 5 minutes so take that to get around. Check out the ME hotel next door as that pool and bar is AMAZING. I didn't try the restaurant here so I'm not sure how it is. The room we stayed in had an ocean view which was nice. Overall, a budget hotel with a great location. I definitely recommend staying at Playa Del Carmen over Cancun though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamSho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Terrible service, housekeeping, activities, and bell men with the exception of 2 employees. The food was extremely disappointing (breakfast was a glorified continental breakfast). We did not do the all in-inclusive with drinks and we bought a few there. They were overpriced from an understocked bar. When there was a show on the Friday night, we were not informed so we missed it. Do not waste your money on the WiFi because you will end up on the phone with another company for hours ultimately with still no WiFi access. If you book transportation to and from the airport, expect to try to locate a person that doesn't exist the day after you get there to set up your return. This is when they will point you in the direction of the tours and timeshares. Pics show a pool table that doesn't exist in this hotel. This is so not a resort and can't even be compared to Holiday Inn. I could go on and on. Only positive was the location.

Room Tip: Good luck!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krissy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
5.1 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#41 of 175 in Cancun
664 reviews
8.1 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.5 mi away
Park Royal Cancun
Park Royal Cancun
#61 of 175 in Cancun
4,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 175 in Cancun
3,135 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#50 of 175 in Cancun
3,362 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#78 of 175 in Cancun
2,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Cancun Resort

Property: Flamingo Cancun Resort
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 11, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Cancun Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“We get to know you” A great destiny in the mexican caribbean, “Cancun.” Only 20 minutes away from downtown and from the Cancun International Airport, and close to all the incredible attractions offered by this remarkable paradise. If you are looking for location, quality service, and an excellent all inclusive program. Flamingo Cancun Hotel is “The place”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Flamingo Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Cancun Hotel Cancun
Flamingo Resort Cancun
Cancun Flamingo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing