We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wifi not free, can't take girls back, full of old people, no dance floor, expensive bar :(”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Ranked #75 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wifi not free, can't take girls back, full of old people, no dance floor, expensive bar :(”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Seriously, not happy I can't even have a friend come visit my hotel without them paying some redicoulous amount of cash, the wifi was not free it was expensive,

the place doesn't understand any accent accept Mexican or American, the staff don't help.


Bar closes early with no dance floor

The place is garbage, stay at the grand oasis like my friends did!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Str8rippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    959
    617
    296
    304
See reviews for
586
979
108
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

my sister and I spent a week wanting to relax and have a good time. The resort needs improvement for sure. The location was fantastic in the hotel zone. Jimmy buffet and Bubba Gumps right across the st. We had issues with language, internet and one day we did not get towels. When we called they said they would send some to our room - new ended up using our poop towels and on our last day when I asked for 2 face cloths it was a major production and I just said "never mind"
Food was so so and the ala carte was quite a joke. The beach was beautiful and we always had a drink in our hand but I think Cancun is definitely for the younger crowd. If I ever do return to Cancun I won't be staying at the Flamingo.

Room Tip: definitely upgrade to an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I suppose my wife and I are easy to please. No problems with the property. I had read the luke warm reviews and tried the property anyway. Naysayers seem to post reviews and those who liked the property do not. We had a big problem with the over zealous sales people trying to push their VIP program. My wife was offended that the sellers did not take no for an answer. Other than that, the property was ideal for our needs. We were looking for a bedroom from which to travel each morning to our destination of the day.

The front desk was slow, but their team members were friendly and helpful in all respects. Check out was a three minute ( timed it) process. The Lomas reps were on duty as usual and were great guys, very helpful.

We were upgraded to an ocean view at arrival. The sound of the sea caressing the beach was very relaxing, On open veranda door allowed the sea breeze to circulate throught the room Yes, it was romantic, viva Mexico. We had no noise problems and there were very few spring breakers in sight.

Everyone on staff bent over backward to be friendly. Many "Holas" and not a single indifferent employee. Paula, our housekeeper, greeted us with a towel basket filled with flowers and helped make the stay great. I was very impressed by the staff members being glad to see us and pleased we were staying with them. Cleaning was an ongoing process, and the property was spotless.

Our room was bright and well appointed with a large bathtub/shower. King size bed and enough closet space, hair dryer, and plenty of toiletries.

The food was good, a bit expensive, but not overly so for the area. The wait staff was attentive and eager to please. We ate at the buffet and the ala cart restaurants and were pleased with both.

The location was perfect. The bus stop was right in front of the hotel. Take the R2 bus toward el centro, 65 cents US each way, and a thrilling ride is part of the fun. You can catch the ferry to Isla Mujeras at plau tortugas.Margaritaville (fantastic night life) and Bubba Gump's (quiet place to get a good meal) across the street along with a small shopping mall and pharmacia. a 24 hour "EXTRA" convenience store was a five minute walk down the street.

All in all, a great weekend. We would definitely stay with this property again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sbcSouthTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were at the Flamingo for the first week of March and YES, all of the reviews are right on the nose. Surprisingly no one mentioned the PUSHY V.I.P representatives who "greet" you at the door the moment you walk in. Beware of them and their offer. The front desk should be avoided at all costs. And YES you will have to pay for the Ocean front room, but LET ME TELL YOU, ITS SOOOO WORTH IT!!
The housekeeping and wait staff work their butts off trying to keep this place clean and functional. The food is average, but always hot and filling. Lots of spoiled Spring Breakers - so if you don't like teenagers you are staying in the wrong hotel! Hats off to Lopez, and thanks for the Irish Coffees.

Room Tip: Ocean front room or just go home......
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadaSunshineseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We spent 4 days there in March of 2013. I found it clean and simple. The bathroom had some missing towel racks and the second toilet paper holder was broken. It is NOT A FANCY PLACE! but the beds were comfy and we had an amazing view! Because there wasn't a safe in the room we never allowed housekeeping in so everyday we trade dirty towels and got extra water bottles and anything else we needed. The were always accommodating to us. We tried eating a la cart once and gave up! they only had hot dogs and hamburgers but were out of the hamburgers and the stuff near the food didn't speak english and were very disorganized. You can cross the street and get great food from Bubba Gump or Margaritaville. If the price was right again I would stay there... but only if I had ocean view... the bay view is street view... PS. do not get a massage! you will freeze outside!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mfreitas02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mt holly nc
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

no hot water , no wash cloths, food sucked. could not get shots cause a couple spring breakers got hurt getting too drunk so everyone was punished ( I am a mature adult) staff except for Jorge was not friendly never smile. No where to get a cup of coffee before 7am. No Pool table as picture shows. I would not call this a resort just a below avg hotel. hot tub broken. I would never stay there again spend a couple hundred more for a week and stay at a good place like the Oasis Sens.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karendMtHollyNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Northeast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Flamingo for a few days a couple of weeks ago. When we arrived home I found that one of my necklaces and a bracelet were missing. I had other jewelry with me but of course the most expensive was missing. They DO NOT have safe's in the rooms.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank muffinforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
5.1 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#44 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#50 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,146 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#77 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,033 reviews
5.0 mi away
Royal Solaris Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun
#35 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Royal Cancun
Park Royal Cancun
#61 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Cancun Resort

Property: Flamingo Cancun Resort
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 11, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Cancun Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“We get to know you” A great destiny in the mexican caribbean, “Cancun.” Only 20 minutes away from downtown and from the Cancun International Airport, and close to all the incredible attractions offered by this remarkable paradise. If you are looking for location, quality service, and an excellent all inclusive program. Flamingo Cancun Hotel is “The place”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flamingo Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Cancun Hotel Cancun
Flamingo Resort Cancun
Cancun Flamingo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing