We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flamingo Cancun Resort, meh.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Ranked #73 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Flamingo Cancun Resort, meh.”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Not a very nice resort, if it can even be called a resort. No hot water, rooms were unbearably cold and the heat didn't work. The rooms smelled musty all the time and the toilet barely flushed. Food was edible at best and was always cold. The beach was ok, difficult to walk around on as there is a large drop off that's difficult to get over right outside the resort and you can't swim on this part of the beach due to the undertow in that area. There weren't nearly enough beach chairs and the ones that were available you had to pay $25 a day to rent. At least the place was free from bugs and they did a job job keeping it clean. Most of the staff were nice and respectful, but they all wanted tips. Beware that it may be cheap but if your planning on spending time at your hotel then pick a different place and pay more.

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper then pay the extra $25 dollar a night to stay on the beach side. There'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elece27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    1,019
    639
    309
    319
See reviews for
651
1,044
113
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Strathroy, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

First of all I'd like to say that the beaches at this resort as beautiful! The sand is well groomed and the water is blue and very inviting!!! This hotel was nothing too fancy but was clean and the staff were very friendly. We arrived on February 27th and checked out March 3rd. We did have a couple rainy days but when the sun came out, it was warm and the breeze made it comfortable. In the evening a light sweater is suggested. The sunset and sunrise over the ocean is gorgeous. I highly recommend the junior suite. Totally worth the UPGRADE!!! The room is romantically decorated, perfect for couples and the fridge was stocked with beer, water and pop. The patio is semi private and overlooks the beach/ocean.We stayed in suite 105. The room service was awesome. They made up the room everyday with fresh towels and as much extra bottled water as we requested (since the tap water is not recommended) Only the juior suite comes with a in room safe and a bottle of complimentary wine and cheeses. I found the front desk people a bit slow and there was typically a line up. There are only two bars at this resort - the lobby bar and the pool bar. Neither of these bars open before 11am and close at midnight.The drinks were ok, nothing spectacular however the pool bar made one drink that we enjoyed..it was called the carribbean mayan VERY YUMMY! There are only two resturants on the resort as well. The beach restaurant is slightly better than the buffet but neither were anything special. The food was just ok. The food served was the same everyday and they do not serve bacon or sausage at Breakfast. The selection of food is very plain. If you plan on staying at this resort for more than a few days plan on eating at Margaritaville or another restaurant off of the resort. The main pool by the bar is ok but the adult pool by the ocean is alot quieter but there is no bar there. Overall the resort was ok for the money. It is a solid average 3 star resort - nice if your on a budget and looking to get away to a beautiful beach for a few days. If food is an important element for your vacation...be prepared to eat outside the resort. Tipping is also recommended for better service...staff like tips! Oh and if your looking for lil extra "treat"(s) check out the Flamingo mall across the street. The store vendors will "hook you up" ;) Overall it was a nice 4 day stay and I would recommend this resort to those looking for a trip on a budget :)

Room Tip: suites on the floor level 105-109 excellent view of the beach and ocean!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

At the Flamingo you get what you pay for. It is worth the money, just don't expect to much. The best part of the trip was the view from the ocean view rooms on the 5th floor, a room upgrade to ocean view is an absolute must! It is an aditional $25 a day per room (and a bribe doesn't get it any cheaper). FYI - the web site is very old and not accurate and not up to date on pictures and dates and times of events. The pool bar is small, but a fun place to hang out along with afternoon burgers and hot dogs. The quiet pool is amazing with its beautiful view of the best stretch of beach in Cancun (lots of shells). The hot tub was broken and they didn't seem to make any attempt to fix it. Breakfast buffet was wonderful with its cook to order omlets and fresh fruit. Evening buffet is small but good. The Albatros ala-carte restaurant is a must for Dinner, beautiful delicious food and if you tips $5 you can get a flaming coffee that is a wonderful show! The lobby bar is small but good drinks. The location of the hotel is perfect, walking distance of several malls, restaurants and we felt safe even walking the streets at night. All in all good value and good time, would stay again.

Room Tip: 5th floor ocean view - amazing! Sleep with the patio doors open and watch the sun rise every morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muchahappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I vacation a lot and we wanted a quiet, peaceful short getaway. The price for the all inclusive was great, but we paid for it in a lack of good food, poor accommodations and frustrating staff. There were only two restaurants so the choices were limited. We never even swam in the pool. We ordered a delux sweet and paid extra for wifi in our room. It did not work all week and they did not refund us or accommodate this. We also wanted a balcony, but did not get one and they did not move us. The room was okay, but bare. We had issues with the hot water as well. Overall we decided to make the vacation relaxing anyway so we spent as much time on the beach, was great and out of the hotel doing tours and getting dinner else where. The extra money we spent could have been dedicated to a more upscale all inclusive resort.

Room Tip: beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacationlady83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

OK, I don't normally go in for reviews because its all about individual choice, but i thought it might help on this occasion.I have just returned from a 3 week Holiday staying all inclusive at the above hotel. + points, It is in a fantastic location, most of the staff are fantastic and very helpful, its reasonably priced, its a small hotel in comparison and therefore you can always get a table or a drink with a long wait.
- points, on check in you will either be given the worst room in the complex so that you will want to upgrade, or you will be given a standard room hoping that you don't realise that your not in the room you've booked and paid for. ( its the way the reception staff make bonuses) The hotel is fairly nice but could do with an injection of cash, it needs some money spent on the rooms to bring up to date and it needs a new buffet menu, it gets a bit repetitive, and the albatross is not all that either, great location but views are blocked out by sun beds and palm trees.For the more mature traveler be aware of spring break season, this is where the youth descend on Cancun and try to drink as much as they can and can often be found late afternoon sunburnt and being unwell. The hotel is right on the sea front, however there are few places to enjoy a swim as the under current makes it hazardous and you get whistled at by life guards, also it can get quite windy along this bit so be prepared for a minor sand blast.

All in all this place is ok, but be aware of the points i make and it will help your holiday go better, I enjoyed my stay but would probably spend a bit more and go to a bigger place or not do all inclusive and eat out, but as i said before its all about individual choice. The Bar staff are really good people.....

Room Tip: If you do stay here then choose a delux ocean view on the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon3264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We just returned from a week-long stay at the Flamingo. We travelled to Cancun from Canada, and met my sister, her husband and their two young children who came from the U.S. at the hotel. Overall, the hotel met my expectations: It is a clean, basic hotel located on a beautiful beach.

However, we did have problems at check in and with our room, and it affected my first impressions of the hotel and had a negative effect on the first few days of our trip, so I have some tips to pass along to people considering this hotel or those who have already booked it so that they can avoid the problems that we experienced.

In short: Whip out your credit card and UPGRADE to an ocean view room ASAP, NO MATTER WHAT THEY PROMISE TO PROVIDE TO YOU “FOR FREE” and limit your interactions with the front desk.

My initial introduction to the hotel was very different from my sister’s, and it was because she did not have issues with her room. She was given an ocean view room at check in, and did not have to interact with the front desk again. When we checked in, our room was not ready. We were told that if we waited for three hours, we would be upgraded FOR FREE to a room with an ocean view. We were more than happy to wait because the ocean is beautiful. So after waiting the three hours, we were given a room with two double beds facing the noisy road. I went back to the front desk to tell them we did not get the ocean view we were promised, and they insisted it was an ocean view. I explained it was not, it faced the street, and it had double beds as opposed to the king bed that we booked. They said to come back in another hour and we would get another room; we returned in an hour, and were told no ocean view rooms were available. This went on all day. They then told us to come back in the morning, and that we would get an ocean view room then. The next morning, same story: sorry, no ocean view rooms are available, come back in an hour; which we did. Every time I returned, on the hour AS INSTRUCTED, Oscar, the man at the front desk, did not know who I was even though I spoke to him every day, on the hour, and I had to tell my story over again each time. His answer was always the same: “Sorry, we are fully booked, there are no ocean rooms available now can you please come back in an hour.” Finally, on day three, I said I needed a different room because the bus stop was outside of our window and it was noisy all night long and the buses start running at 6 a.m.. I pulled out my credit card, and suddenly, presto, an ocean view room was available. I told Oscar that had he told me on Day 1 that the only way we could get a better room was to upgrade and pay the extra $25 a day, we would have done this; that his promises of “we will get you an ocean view for free for your troubles” was misleading.

Once we paid for the upgrade and switched rooms, things were fine. Indeed, the rooms are very basic, but they are clean, and the hotel service staff work very hard to keep things tidy. The beds are OK, not great, but not the worst that I’ve slept on in Mexico or in the Dominican Republic.

The beach is pristine with lots of soft white sand, no rocks or seaweed. You do have to get up early to save a spot on the beach if you want to be under a hut, but overall it’s much less crowded than other resorts/hotels I have stayed in in Cancun and the Riviera Maya. The ocean is warm and beautiful, but the water is always moving swiftly and you cannot swim out too far. If you have little kids with you, as we did, you have to watch them carefully. Still, it’s a glorious beach.

The main pool is quite small and gets very noisy with people who want to be around the bar all day and eat the hamburgers and hotdogs that they have there at the snack bar. The adults-only pool is quieter, but it is heated by the sun, so if you get a few cool days like we did, the water is cold.

The gym, well, it will get you through the week, that is the best that I can say. There is an old treadmill that is very noisy, but it works. Only one of the five stationary bikes works, the elliptical machine is broken, and the weight system is in need of repair. There are some free weights. The gym is air conditioned, but not very well. My advice is get up early and run on the beach if you can; on days you cannot, the gym will do in a pinch.

The food is better than I expected after reading the reviews. Indeed, the buffet is small, but there are always lots of fresh fruit, fresh vegetables, cooked vegetables, and fish, chicken or beef options, and salads of all kinds. Breakfast you can get made-to-order omelets and there are always pancakes, pre-made toast, eggs, fruit, etc. You can walk in an request coffee throughout the day. There is only one non-buffet restaurant, and it’s decent, although the same menu every night so by the end of the week, you have sampled everything it has to offer. The wait staff at the restaurant and the buffet are incredible, a shout out to Lopez, our favorite waiter. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE be kind and tip the hard-working staff. So few people were tipping when we were there, it was very upsetting.

Overall, the hotel is basic, sandwiched between two much taller and fancier hotels. But, well, the beach is the same no matter what price you are paying for your room. So if you are in Cancun for the beach and the sun (although we had a lot of rain and cool weather) and fun, this hotel is fine.

Room Tip: UPGRADE to an ocean view room upon arrival, NO MATTER what they promise you if you "wait an hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RiverOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

In January-February, my husband and I spent 10 great days at the Flamingo Cancun Resort, just in front of one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. This family friendly hotel is not very big so you feel like a person and not just a number. Daily, we enjoyed the wonderful ocean view directly from our room and, on our balcony we had a great time watching the sun rise, the waves and people passing by, as well as, in the evening relaxing with a drink and a cigar! The spacious room was clean and efficient with a good shower and comfortable beds. The service staff in the restaurants was very friendly and always willing to bring what it was needed. Naturally, it helps if you make an effort to speak just a few words in Spanish, the staff will make a great effort communicate. The food is fresh and varied enough as to always find something tasty to eat. In their category, this hotel is a great value for what they offer. I would not only stay there again but certainly I recommend it to my family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
5.1 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#39 of 175 in Cancun
690 reviews
8.1 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.5 mi away
Park Royal Cancun
Park Royal Cancun
#60 of 175 in Cancun
4,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 175 in Cancun
3,157 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#76 of 175 in Cancun
2,902 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#49 of 175 in Cancun
3,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Cancun Resort

Property: Flamingo Cancun Resort
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 11, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Cancun Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“We get to know you” A great destiny in the mexican caribbean, “Cancun.” Only 20 minutes away from downtown and from the Cancun International Airport, and close to all the incredible attractions offered by this remarkable paradise. If you are looking for location, quality service, and an excellent all inclusive program. Flamingo Cancun Hotel is “The place”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Flamingo Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Cancun Hotel Cancun
Flamingo Resort Cancun
Cancun Flamingo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing