We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican architecture provides a cozy setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Ranked #29 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mexican architecture provides a cozy setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

the all inclusive package made for a very easy relaxing time. The service at the buffet and other restaurants and at the concierge desk was prompt and pleasant. We received good value and advice for off site tours and enjoyed the ability to go to their other locations as part of the deal. On rainy days, we shopped and toured the Mayan museum and rolled over tour tickets to better days without any problems or penalty. There is US$ exchange to pesos at the front desk but you cannot get US$ back so bring small denominations. The local bus service is fast and inexpensive but check where to get off first.

Room Tip: lagoon side provides for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    961
    537
    174
    92
    97
See reviews for
755
520
46
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

The service was amazing. All the staff was very friendly and accommodating.
We had cloudy and rainy weather most of the week. But thanks to Elie, we were kept entertained. From bingo to cocktail lessons. Also the bartenders, Rudy, Fransico, Gerardo and Gonsalo (I know there where more but I don't know their names), made amazing drinks for me and our children. The boys couldn't wait to see the drinks of the day and to see if they could be made without alcohol for them.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We signed up for the all inclusive package and left with the feeling that we may have paid too much. The beach is 3 miles away, they don't have a gym and the food and beverages are very limited in choice and get to be boring. The staff however make up for it all - they are excellent. Arturo the concierge is a real treat to deal with and Gabriel and Fancisco are very helpful. For golfers there are very few options and we paid an exorbitant $199 per person for 18 holes at the Iberostar golf course. Its an all inclusive deal but the food and drinks were mediocre.
We were reasonably happy with the trip given that we had to get out of the snow and ice in NY but I'm definitely not going to stay at Sunset Marina Resort again.
One last word for HGVC members. This is way way below the standard any of the Hilton resorts and the booking process through RCI was a nightmare.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chaosinourmidst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Thank you for such amazing service Gerardo, your Pina Coladas and superior charm were appreciated when we stayed at the Sunset Marina Resort just this week January 2014. It was a great way to start the year!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Another week of fabulous family memories!! Arriving on Sunday, we missed the staffs little info spill and tour. Would have really helped. Only got info from time share desk and business office - not accurate at all!!! BUT... Staff was incredible!!! We were of course starving so headed to the buffet. Eunice greeted us, as she did everyday with a huge smile:). Tino became our daily waiter as he took so much interest in us and made sure we were well fed. Ricky helped, too!! Mother's wheelchair and pushers felt the ramps were a little steep - not to worry!! Elie, tino and others were always there to help!!! Elie was in the entertainment industry - and that he did!! From water aerobics and volleyball to bingo and jinga - he was so much fun inside or out!! Such a sweet, polite, friendly guy!!! Alex, Tess, Ulysses, Andi and Ricardo were amazing at the scuba shop!! Ullysses was the most attentive dive master we have ever had - without being overbearing!!! And Andi 's photography was beautiful!! Perfect dive experience!! Certainly can not leave out Leslie at the pool bar - yummy drinks served with a smile, Aldrin at the homemade sopa and taco bar - mmmmm mmmm mmm and Pilar who made sure our room was clean and comfortable -such a sweetheart!!! Our plan was to be at the sister resort on the beach most of the time!! We spent 1/2 day there. We loved the atmosphere, friendliness, and sense of family we felt at Sunset Marina. We miss you already!!! Hugs!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellb0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Review of Admiral Yacht Club at Sunset Marina (RCI exchange)
December 22-29, 2013

We arrived on a Sunday, Dec. 22 and the front desk wanted proof of our prepaid status which we had ready. All RCI exchanges are assigned to the road side of the resort, not the lagoon side (as we had read). I had emailed ahead of time asking for a lagoon side, if available, and the reply was that we would be accommodated. Luckily I printed that email or they would not have changed our assignment. They gave us a lovely 2 bedroom unit on the lagoon. We got our wrist bands, towel cards and room keys. They told us to come back to the lobby to arrange our tours and special meals. Our suitcases were delivered to our rooms promptly.

Our Rooms

The unit had two levels with a narrow, curvy stone staircase. The lower level is only one studio bedroom type area, living area and kitchen, but the area is quite large. There is no bathroom on that level. Upstairs is the one bathroom and the one separate bedroom. So the one bedroom unit would have slept 6 with one small bathroom. Because we had a 2 BR reserved, we also had the second part (lock off) upstairs which was another studio type unit, living, kitchen and second bath. So the 2 BR unit could have slept 6 in king beds and 4 on sleep sofas. As mentioned in previous reviews, the floors are glossy slick tile – you will want shoes/slippers with good traction. The upstairs part did have a separate entrance up a flight of stairs on the outside (covered but leaked every time it rained). They do have 1 bedroom and studio units all on one level, so make sure you contact them ahead of time if you have trouble with stairs.

The kitchen has a mini-fridge, microwave, 2 burners and enough utensils/dinnerware for one per person. The bathrooms have shower stalls with tall walls to climb over (mini tub) with no real water pressure or temperature control. The sewage smell in the unit and on the property is fairly constant, but the plumbing worked well all week. On the porch or balcony is a small hot tub that also worked nicely. The mini-fridge is stocked daily with a couple waters, sodas and beer. Each room gets one bag of chips and one bag of nuts.

We had rain every day while there. One night it was so hard and long that the ceiling leaked in the upstairs unit and flooded the floor. It was 3 a.m., so I grabbed towels and pots to stop the flow. In the morning I called maintenance and no one came. I then went outside and found someone with a walkie talkie and pulled them in to show them the damage and continued leaking. They radioed, but no one came. I ended up cleaning up the mess that even housekeeping ignored.

Some of the buildings have two levels and some have three or four levels. It looked like only the road side buildings had elevators. When it rained, those flooded and could not be used according to folks in those buildings. If you can’t take stairs, you would be stuck.

The grounds of the resort are maintained quite nicely. They clean, straighten, sweep, and polish all day. The pool is clean and well-maintained. This is not a large resort and you can easily walk everywhere. The only challenge is the uneven and slippery walkways outside and the slippery tile floors in the indoor (hallways, bar, buffet restaurant) areas. They need to replace those tiles. The public restrooms could use some work by the end of the day, but everything else is keep quite clean. Since it got dark so early, they needed more outside lighting along the paths through the property.

Activities
When we returned to the lobby to make reservations, we were told that we needed proof that we were supposed to have 4 hours of yacht time, and that the dinner reservation person had left. The copy of the paperwork for the all-inclusive did not mention the yacht; that was in the RCI paperwork on my phone. They said they would have to confirm with RCI that we had that benefit and to return the next day. Bottom line – make two copies of every piece of paperwork you get from RCI or from Sunset Resorts. Know your benefits. They will not tell you and you must ask for each and every thing you are supposed to get. Finally on Monday we did schedule our yacht time, our tour to Isla Mujeras, and got two specialty dinner reservations made. We chose not to use the spa as the credit was not worth it as the prices are much higher than what we pay at home.

The yacht time was amazing. It was the best part of the trip with just us and the captain and first mate. The yacht is about 50 feet with indoor and outdoor space and we chose to go in the morning (8-12). They took us around the lagoon, up part of the hotel zone and then out toward Isla Mujeras. We were led on a snorkel time there and saw lots of fish and coral. We were the only ones at that location near the lighthouse at the north shore, so we did not have to watch out for fins and other people. The water was calm and clear. Then we parked at the north beach and could swim or sun. We went down the Isla and saw lots of houses and boats and then back around to the Cancun hotel zone and back to the resort. We felt spoiled and enjoyed our morning! We tipped them both quite generously.

The trip to Isla Mujeras was different as it was a full day excursion (8:30-4). Since this is mostly a family and couples resort, that is what we had with about 50 of us from babies to seniors. We boarded a pontoon boat that took us under the bridge and out to the catamaran sailboat. The sailboat was nice and beverage service opened immediately as they got snorkel gear ready for those who wanted it, which was about half of us. We went to a different reef this time and the water was much rougher. With so many of us, we could not keep up with the guide very well. After that they took us to a restaurant/”beach club” where they contracted lunch for us. It was limited and not that great. We got back on the sailboat and went to the downtown area for two hours and as soon as we got there it poured. It rained the entire time, so we got soaked as they would not let anyone back on the boat. On the way back was the music and beverages like a “party boat” but this was just not a “party” crowd. The crew tried to get it started with some competitions. They had a photographer on board who showed us the photos taken throughout the trip and then wanted to sell us a CD of them. We declined. The tip jar was brought to each family and a general announcement was made that they get no pay – only our tips. They do work hard, but don’t lie to us. When we got back to the pier where the pontoon boat should have been, it was not there and the crew was done with us. They made us get off the sailboat and we had no idea what was happening or how were going to complete our tour. Fortunately the boat arrived shortly as it started pouring again. Most of the crew spoke English, they just did not communicate the end of the trip with us.

One day we took the water taxi/shuttle to the Sunset Royal which is the sister resort on the beach. The taxi drops you off across the street from the resort and then you can enter through the main lobby. They only have one small pool and there were no open seats around it. We walked down to the beach and found chairs, but could not use the nicer side with palapas as we were not owners. The surf is quite rough there. Unfortunately it poured after we got there and as guests, we had nowhere to go! The covered area near the pool was full, there is not much lounge space in the lobby, and we did not know where anything was. We went to look for the lunch buffet and it was not appealing. We ended up taking the water taxi back to our resort. We were glad we chose the Sunset Marina and not the Sunset Royal for our resort.
Food
There is only one buffet restaurant and it is open air but does have ceiling fans. We were there in December and at times it was quite warm. I can’t imagine what it would be like in July or August and with the mosquitos at that time of year. When it was windy and rainy one night, things blew off the table and some tables near the edges could not be used when it rained. Crows get inside and come right up to the tables and steal things. There is no way to close the place off to the elements or nature.

The buffet was wonderful for breakfast. They will make omelets and breakfast tacos, have lots of fruit and juices, pastries, plus lots of leftovers from dinner. The green juice is a nice treat. Service was spotty depending on who was working. Some servers were quite attentive and others ignored us until we called them over. We did leave a tip every meal, but that did not garner any additional attention.

The lunch and dinner buffets were disappointing. Some days the only things we liked were the rolls and fruit. As has been mentioned before, there are lots of recycled dishes from previous meals. They need to provide more options even for something like sandwiches. They did have a pasta station, but the sauces were not that great. The only good dinner buffet was the Christmas Eve dinner which featured more meats and traditional dishes. There is a small pizza/calzone place located behind the stage (no signs) but it is not open every day. It should be as it was great. We only got to eat there twice. The service and drinks there were good too.

We did try room service one day for lunch when the pizza place was closed. We had burgers that were well done and bland but the fries were great. They offer a variety of room service foods and beverages included in the AI plan, but that was the only time we tried it.

For the “specialty” dinners, they offer La Vela for Italian and it was a nice dinner. The menu offered a variety of options and the food and service was good. They made it sound like it was hard to get reservations and we could not get the time we wanted (got 15 minutes later, so no problem), but the restaurant was half full. We saw that every night we walked by – it never was full. In their information it says that long pants and closed toes shoes are required. Why? And why have the comment if you don’t enforce it. We did wear long pants, but I had nice sandals. Others were there in shorts.

The other reservation dinner was at the Marina Grill. It also is open air, but has no fans. That night was about 85 degrees but with no moving air. It was quite warm. My husband wanted his lobster dinner there (which had to be preordered with a specific ticket) and I had steak. The lobster dinner was a small tail which was bland and overcooked. My steak was well done even though I asked for medium rare. We did not complain as my husband was quite warm and uncomfortable there. The rest of the meal was average but the service was good. Again, half the tables were full that night and every time we went by. We wish we had done two dinners at La Vela.

Bottom line, they need to bring in a chef familiar with what Americans and Canadians like to eat. There were folks from all over the world, but offer things many cultures like to eat. All foods were labeled, but sometimes we still had no idea what it really was or how it was prepared.

Drinks
So, this is all-inclusive and the whole week we had to get our own drinks except at meals. No one came around to the pool or in the bar to take orders. Even when we gave a tip at the bar, it didn’t bring return service, so we quit tipping for drinks (no one seemed to tip here). They offer lots of mixed drink options and specials, but it is all watered down. Even after several “mixed” drinks, neither of us felt anything. The best tasting and strongest drinks were made at the buffet and pizza place. This is not a party resort and the plan was not to get inebriated, but we thought we might taste/feel the alcohol. Apparently they do hide some name/quality liquor under the counter that can be asked for specifically. The only beer on property is Modelo and Corona Extra – no light beers. Wine choices are quite limited as well.

Wireless Access
The best access is in the lobby on the password protected site. They do change it and will give you the new password at the desk. In your room and at some places on property you can access another unsecured network. It comes and goes, so beware. No network is available in the buffet restaurant or by the pool and that would be a nice place to have access.

Pool
The pool has two levels. It is NOT heated. The upper level has the swim up bar which opened around noon. The lower level has a permanent volleyball net, a slide from the top level, a water wall where you can sit and a basketball net at one end. There is one small pool on the other side of a bridge that crosses over the pool. It is quite shallow and looks like a kiddie pool but there is no signage for that. There is no adult pool or area. That makes it difficult for standing or swimming laps. The whirlpool is out past the stage right on the lagoon but it is not heated either. The location is hidden with no signs and does not make much sense. There is a towel hut for getting/exchanging that has limited hours. The pool closes at night and that is when they say they do the chemicals. It was very clean and well maintained.

Some of the pool loungers have pads on them right around the pool. The ones by the lagoon do not and many are in sorry shape. There are umbrellas around the pool and there are palapas (palm and cloth covered beds/chairs) by the lagoon area as well. The challenge is those areas flood when it rains and they have to take in all the cushions so they don’t get soggy and then it takes a while for things to dry out.

There is no fitness center on site.

Tipping
We know the all-inclusive said that tips are included, but we did tip. Based on reading we had done and recommendations, we left something in the room each day for housekeeping and we tipped at all meals. As mentioned, no drinks were brought to us, so we did not tip when we had to go get them. The specialty restaurant servers got more than the buffet. We saw plenty of people leaving no tip. Maybe they did it at the end, but I’m guessing they did not at all.

Return Transportation
Make sure you start trying to set this up several days ahead of time as the office is rarely open as stated. We arranged our time, but were not aware that others would be on our shuttle and they decided to run late. We ended up leaving about 20 minutes after our time, so allow extra in case. Checking in at the airport took much longer than it should have as the front desk would not let us print our boarding passes there. We allowed 3 ½ hours from hotel to plane departure and that worked out just right with time to eat a quick bite at the airport.

Would we go back again? Yes, but not if it required the All-inclusive plan. It was relaxing and we found lots of places to sit and read and enjoy the sun or quiet. That was the point of our trip. We had done the tourist stuff before and did not want to shop, so this resort suited us perfectly in that regard. With what we paid, we would have liked better food and drink options.

Room Tip: Ask for the lagoon side so you don't have road noise. This resort goes by a variety of names thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Technoteachertx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Just returned from our vacation and are amazed at how wonderful the staff are at this resort. Leslie was always there smiling and ready to bring our drinks from the barman Gerardo. Elie kept us happy with Bingo by the pool and a cerviche cooking lesson - poolside. It was fantastic. Our rooms were spotless and Francisco left us delightful towel sculptures everyday on our bed. Paty at the VIP services looked after our every need and always with a smile. Overall, a great vacation but the place is beginning to get a little run down. Need to reupholster and upgrade some things to give place a more up to date look. Also, too many sales people running around selling or upselling their timeshares. If not for the fantastic staff, I probably wouldn't return but they will bring me back!

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room facing the lagoon otherwise you face a very busy street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
4.7 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
2.3 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
1.8 mi away
Sunset Royal Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Cancun Bay Resort
Cancun Bay Resort
#41 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club

Property: Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 5.8 | Zona Hotelena, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel & Marina)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#36 Family Hotel in Cancun
#47 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel And Marina
Sunset Lagoon Hotel Marina
Sunset Lagoon Cancun
Cancun Sunset Lagoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing