We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“can't wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Ranked #29 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“can't wait to go back”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had a wonderful experience in this resort and decided to extend our stay from 5 to 8 days. The staff were all friendly and very accommodating. Our bellboy Fabian, Jorge from concierge, Orlando from reception were always willing to assist. The entertainment was good specially CriSal Rodriguez as well as Alejandro and Elie's dance troupe; they are all fun to watch. Our day won't be complete without hanging out by the bar at the lobby and drinking pina colada, michillada, or specialty drink of the day served by Amadeo and Sevideo while watching the show. And how can I forget the varieties of tequila drinks prepared by Raul by the pool with the rest of other guests while cheering shot.. shot.. shot.. Food are prepared very well to our liking; specially the fajitas and tacos served fresh on corn and flour tortillas; my son Carl loved it. Kudos to the excellent service by hostess Eunice and waiters Rudy, Sergio, Luis and others (i forgot their names). Had so much fun touring Tres Rios (awesome place) with Chad and Sunset Royal where we travel either by boat or shuttle bus. After a hectic day, it's so nice to rest and snooze in a clean room on fresh sheets..thanks to our camarista - Alejandra. The most exciting experience were the yacht trip with our friend Luis C. and Excaret tour courtesy of Brandon. We had the best seafood lunch overlooking the beach! Thank you all for the souvenirs, new friends and awesome experience. Can't wait to go back with the whole family!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jforonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    959
    537
    173
    92
    97
See reviews for
753
519
46
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had a wonderful time during our stay in Mexico! The room was amazing - huge rooms, nice beds, Jacuzzi tubs. The staff was very accommodating and did everything to make our stay the nicest....from putting a chair in the shower so my husband could shower safely (he's an amputee), to Fabian, who was always ready to get us a cab, to the absolutely wonderful staff in the restaurant! Eunice and Rudy always had a table ready for us close to the buffet, so we didn't have to walk far, and the servers (Luis, Sergio, Miguel, Gonzalo, Francisco) kept us well fed and not wanting for anything! The dance troupe was amazing and we had a great time watching them. I can't say enough about the personal service we got from Gaston - he took us on the tour of the resorts, and went 'above and beyond' in his service and care. We can't wait to come back and see everyone and we're already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mingo Junction, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is paradise! beautiful weather , beautiful scenery the whole enchilada! My first morning there I slipped and fell on the marble floors in our room so things didn't start out too good. But once I recovered from my fall we went out by pool and the fun began!! They have the most wonderful people working there! We drank margaritas by the pool served to us by 3 awesome guys! Raul, Amadeo and Sevideo. Then there was the 2 wonderful resturants there. The Vela which is a fancy place here you will find Henry and Alex! They were very kind and sweet and very excellent service as well! Just outside by the pool is another little resturant filled with wonderful people as well!Like our 2 little hostessesEunice and Janet always with a smile greeting us and welcomming us in! There were several awesome waiters in there as well but unfortunately I can't remember their names. In the morning there was always a lady in there that would cook us fajita type tacos on fresh home made corn and flour tortillas! And last but certainly not least was the guys that entertained us and educated us on water sports! Ivan Garcia was definately an important factor in a sucessful trip! He showed us how to work the catamaran and spent time with us. We really enjoyed ourselves with Ivan then there was Daniel the life guard and David who were always finding things for us to do if we started to look bored! They had a wonderful dance troop there that would put on a show several times a week! They were awesome! From the bellboy{Fabian } to the maid Camarista and Orlando at the front desk who was always there to assist us ,all these people are what made our trip so fabulous! Anybody can have a beautiful resort in a beautiful place but without having people such as these to work for them and run their resorts they have nothing! Truely all the good memories that we bring home with us were all from the sweet welcoming remarkable people who took care of us and welcomed us like family!

Room Tip: They have lovely marle floors and walkways at this resort. But they are very dangerous! Lay towels d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I went to this hotel in Oct with my mexican gf as we live in Mexico.The staff were very attentive and very friendly which always helps make a good vacation.We did have to do the timeshare presentation as we paid the reduced rate ,so be prepared for 3 or 4 hrs not 90mins .The only thing I didnt like about this hotel is it doesnt have a beach( I know, its on the lagoon side) but we took the free shuttle bus everyday to Sunset Royal which has a beautiful beach my gf loved it and you can take the bus to the other hotels and try out the food etc.

Room Tip: Lagoon side is probably the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilCumming_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Sunset Marina distinguishes itself by providing all the services of a large resort with the intimacy of a small hotel and, as you mention, this captivating resort also offers access to its affiliated resorts’ beaches and facilities with complimentary shuttle service throughout the day.

Thank you for your comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Lots to do here and everyone is friendly and accommodating. The rooms are comfortable but the air conditioning is set too low for my taste, but that is easily fixed. Alexander's troup of dancers performed on Friday night and they were a lot of fun to watch! Lots of energy and it is easy to see they enjoyed performing for us tourists!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhamblen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sunset Marina for your vacation in Cancun.

We very much appreciate your kind words. We are thankful to have such a great team working with us who understand the importance of service.

Please allow us the opportunity to host you again on your next visit to Cancun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The resort staff was very attentive and respectful and fun! They really made my trip well worth the thousands of miles to this beautiful destination a real blast! The room was a one bed room that had lots of space and the kept the room clean and restocked the refrigerator every day that I was there. I did have the all inclusive plan so I saved a ton money and time trying find something to eat.
The Bell Hop(person) took very good care of my bags and gave me good directions around town.THANKS! JOSE LUIS Thank You.. David of the activities department and Ivan the DJ.. Good Job.The wait staff for all your hard work you all do each day!! Thanks Alexjandro for putting together excellent night entertainment shows for the guest. This was a vacation exchange that went very well. I would recommend this resort to other time share owners. There was no presentations to deal with!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your great review on your recent stay at Sunset Marina.

We are delighted that we were able to make your stay a memorable experience and look forward to your next visit, hopefully soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

These guys were awesome!!!! This place might be a lil old but the service and attention to a guest is awesome!! Juan the concierge could not have been nicer!! Sevedio and Gerardo were absolutely the best!! Love them! Would come back every week if I could!!! Kudos!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wolverine031001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy that the staff's personal touches enhanced your visit.

We want our guests to be met with a well-trained staff that puts guest comfort and satisfaction before everything else and we take pride in our hotel, our service and specially all our loyal guests.

We all hope to see you back soon. Please remember to follow us on facebook for updated information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
4.7 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
2.1 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
1.2 mi away
Ocean Spa Hotel
Ocean Spa Hotel
#59 of 182 in Cancun
2,486 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunset Royal Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club

Property: Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 5.8 | Zona Hotelena, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel & Marina)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#36 Family Hotel in Cancun
#47 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel And Marina
Sunset Lagoon Hotel Marina
Sunset Lagoon Cancun
Cancun Sunset Lagoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing