We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“" Great time "”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Ranked #30 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Morris, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“" Great time "”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Overall experience was very good. Quieter and more laid back than the Royal,which is exactly what we were looking for. The staff there were very attentive and made us feel welcome and pampered. Special thanks to Clauia and Daniel at the Lobby bar for taking great care of us, and showing us a good time. Also thanks to the staff at the Marina Resteraunt for some excellent meals and great service. The room was always kept clean and tidy thanks to Francisca. We are both looking forward to returning again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Gerente at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're happy that we were able to provide you with a good experience and that the staff's personal touches enhanced your visit. Please stay in touch with us on Facebook for updated destination and resort information.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    986
    555
    176
    95
    99
See reviews for
778
538
46
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Richmond, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a delicious Itallian meal here. Our reservation had been misplaced but the restaurant manager, Seferino, made room for our group of eight! The staff served a wonderful meal.
The lobby bar has an uninviting set up as the chairs and couches are lined up like a stadium. This makes conversation difficult. The bartender and her helper were unfriendly and reluctant to serve people. Also the entertainment staff, Alex, got angry when we ordered drinks. The bar was two minutes away from opening, empty of other patrons, while the outside swim up bar had closed. He needed a bit more patience with tourists!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We take every comment seriously and your points are benefitial suggestions to improve the service quality to our valued guests like you.

We hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glover, Vermont, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 5 day stay at Sunset Lagoon. What a beautiful place with wonderful people! Yes, it is not a huge partying resort, but for us it was perfect because if we wanted to party with tons of people we could just take the boat taxi over to the other resorts. Our room was very clean and taken care of everyday by housekeeping. The staff was very professional and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We did attend their presentation and we did decline their offer (though it was tempting!) We DID NOT get treated any different than before. Everyone still greeted us with a smile and a hello and the service was still wonderful! A big shout out to Christian for great frozen margheritas and for just being awesome! The grounds of the resort were kept up very good as we would see them every morning, raking the sand, watering plants, etc. The food was good with a good variety, but I must say the wood burning oven pizza was amazing! All in all it was our first time to Cancun and we would def go again and stay here without a doubt! Thank you to all at Sunset Lagoon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.

Providing unmatched guest service is a hallmark of our property and we are especially pleased to read that you felt this commitment during your stay. It was my pleasure to share your positive experience with our team. They truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests like you, and we all look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

They are nothing but crook and greedy. Don't go to their Time share presentation 'cause if you don't purchase they will treat you like dirt. We attended a wedding here and some other family members were on a different hotel. 1 of the family members bunk with us and they charge us for additional $75 for 3 days as were told. Family members visited us to this establishment and they wanted to charge them for a visit. After a verbal argument with the front desk and told them that we will relay this type of behavior and their greediness they finally let them in. Inquired the bill the night before and they were charging that extra person for 7 days total. Of course, we have to wait for the Manager and was confirmed that it's only for $75. So, we went ahead and paid for it full since my son was checking out later since we have an early flight. Guess what? they were charging my son the day of the check out for the full amount again and luckily we left them the receipt the night before knowing they are greedy and a crook. The look of their faces priceless for being guilty of greed......

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with TripAdvisor followers.

It is very important for us our custumer´s feedback. We always strive to provide a great experience and we regret to learn you didn't get this from our resort. We have already sent your comments to appropriate channels in order to find a way to improve and make sure this will not happen again.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and suggest you try a spa treatment which are focused on reestablishing wellness through a combination of traditional and regional techniques that reconnect the body, mind, and spirit with nature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bronx, ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The first day the air conditioning didn't work, and it was so uncomfortable in the room. But they finally fixed it. (after we complained several times) The weather could have been better, but no the hotel's fault obviously. But the weather impacted water activities which was a bummer. The food was ok for the most part but we were looking for authentic cuisine not a hotel catering to tourists with "Italian and Asian nights'. The staff was very friendly, especially the entertainment staff, especially Alex and Liz.
Armando, who set up out timeshare presentation was very well informed and he was very nice.
We went to Chicen Itza for our excursion and even though we got a 'good deal' for our day, once we arrived and saw the actual entrance fee was about $5. We felt a little ripped off. But for non locals who don't know there way around I guess it's worth it. But my suggestion is rent a car, get directions and go on your own.
Our spa treatments were awesome, Carmen and Peti did an absolute wonderful job, and I applaud them. Wendy from the Pergola restaurant was always very friendly with a huge smile.
Outside the guys who set up the volleyball games were great. I don't remember their names but one also acts as the DJ for the pop star dance party. and the other one dresses up in a orange wig and dress. Those two guys were hilarious.
The only thing I would ask is they clean their hot tubs, ours was so dirty we couldn't use it and it wasn't working properly and they said they'd fix it and never did. But other than that, it was an overall pleasant stay. The staff is very warm and welcoming and I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alejandra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed the opportunity to experience the Ya’ax Ché Spa services which concentrate on balancing therapies.

We regret any inconvenience you may have had during your stay. We have reviewed each issue in order to take immedate actions and prevent a recurrence in the future.

We truly appreciate your insight and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were there for 4 days and the most professional, genuine and nicest employees were Claudia and Daniel from the lobby bar. It's our personal opinion. If you have a chance, stop by for a drink. Start with a cucaracha!!!
Ps. Everyone in the hotel was professional and nice too, don't get us wrong.

Room Tip: Ask for a nice view, we didn't... :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Gerente at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments which have been shared with Claudia and Daniel, and we thank you on their behalf.

We look forward to welcoming you back and have the opportunity to pamper you with our service and creating another experience to remember.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just spent 8 days at Sunset Lagoon and 1 day at Laguna Spa &Golf Resort in Jan. Both were very nice. Weather could have been warmer. Next time we will come will be in Feb or Mar.We found everyone very helpfull and friendly. David from the entertaiment dept was very pleasant,both him and his Chicken friend.The fella with the kayaks was very helpfull with my husband learning how to operate the catamaran's.Room was a studio on the ground floor street side . Clean ,spacious room houskeeping was great.Mini bar was missed the first day and when we asked it was stocked the second day. The only thing missing was the creamer for the coffee, but the nice gentleman that waited on us at dinner gave us some creamers for the next day. Food was good,pizza's was great. Drinks and entertainment was enjoyable.Miguel from the timeshare took us around, showed us everything . When it rained he got us an umberellla. If we didn"t have him I don"t think we would have bought at this time.He was very helpfull, anything we were concerned about he was on top of it . Made sure our trip was unforgetable.We want to thank everyone from the time we were picked up at the airport to the porters at the door when we arrived,handling our luggage the front desk people,waiters and waitress ,cooks spa(Paula great massage)housekeeping,bar tenders and anyone I have missed Will return again

Room Tip: We had a studio 208A if patio door closed didn"t hear traffic No A/C noise or problems Hot wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We want to thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff service. It is so rewarding to know that you were able to enjoy your stay due to the quality of our service and cleanliness of our installations.

Providing unmatched guest service is a hallmark of our property and we are especially pleased to read that you felt this commitment during your stay.

It was our pleasure to share your positive experience with our team. They truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests like you, and we all look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
4.7 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
2.3 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
1.8 mi away
Sunset Royal Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Cancun Bay Resort
Cancun Bay Resort
#41 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club

Property: Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 5.8 | Zona Hotelena, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel & Marina)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#36 Family Hotel in Cancun
#47 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel And Marina
Sunset Lagoon Hotel Marina
Sunset Lagoon Cancun
Cancun Sunset Lagoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing