We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time to "SUNSET-LAGOON"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Ranked #31 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our stay at Sunset-Lagoon was very enjoyable. Minor problems with the room were quickly dealt with by maint staff. Overall the food was very good. Easy access to town, activities etc.
The Resort grounds are very well maintained and the facilities are great. The most outstanding feature of the "Sunset-Lagoon" is the staff. They are the most accommodating, friendly, knowledgeable individuals we have encountered in our many years of vacationing... From the moment we arrived we were treated "like family" and made to feel most welcome, by all staff.
Our special thanks to Jose' Luis and the reception group, Armando and the folks at the Concierge desk, Rudy, Henry and the food services group, the massage girls, activities desk
and the "Snorkeling Boat" .... what a hoot!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoyerJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

What a lovely review, we are thrilled to hear you had such a great time during your first visit to our resort. We will be more than happy to share your comments with our staff which we are very proud of, all of the people mentioned will also be receiving a special mention during our monthly celebration of quality. We do hope to see you back very soon and suggest you follow us on Facebook for updated destination and resort information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,071)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,088 - 1,094 of 2,072 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Had great overall time there. Brought friends with us that have never been before. We were not a demanding group. For three days the AC ran non stop on high in our room. The controls were broken and could not be turned down. Called maintenance 3 times with the last from my wife...NOT GOOD. Instead of replacing the broken thermistat they went to the roof and turned the unit off. Said they would repair it in a few minutes... Two days later it was working.. I've always known a Mexican minute means an hour but come on.
Weve been members of Sunset Group for a few years with this the only problem weve had.
Bartenders, and conceirge are good. When your outside, make sure to find Ivan Garcia, he's the best you'll find in Mexico...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walleyefever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for the lovely review, we are happy to hear you had an overall good vacation experience. We apologize for the time it took to fix the malfunction reported and can assure you that Mexican Minute and all, we do have guidelines for responding to these types of reports. We are happy to hear you are a repeat guest and look forward to hosting you soon. Please stay updated with resort and destination information by following us on Facebook and ask about our Marina promotions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our second trip to the Lagoon. Previously our room was below par but this time we had a 2 floor 1 bedroom apartment. which was actually too much for our needs . Considering that we were part of an all inclusive stay, the kitchenette was a little overkill. Two problems with the unit were the second floor bathroom which required navigating a circular staircase which could be slippery or treacherous for us aarp'ers. The other problem was the accoustics of the stone walls. Our upstairs bedroom connected to a lock off which was occupied by a loud group who always seemed to come and continue their parting at midnight. However if we slept in the downstairs all was fine. The food and service were consistently outstanding especially in la vela restaurant where Henry and Sergio were constant delights. One additional suggestion; even though this an all inclusive it does't hurt to leave a small token tip of 2 per to 4 pesos per sitting. It shows your appreciation and guarantees a smile every time you enter, and warm handshakes at the end of your visit.

Room Tip: Shorefront units have no elevators. Circular stairs to second floor tricky to climb especially with...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

We appreciate comments from guests and even more so when the guest is a repeat visitor.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. There is no better way for us to improve than through the communication with our valued guests, and we truly appreciate your observations.
We greatly appreciate that you have chosen our resort once again as your holiday destination and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My friend and I just returned from a week in Cancun, MX. We stayed at the Sunset Lagoon and Marina in a studio apartment. The room was not luxurious, but it was comfortable, clean, and quaint. If we needed anything, all we had to do was ask Irma! The resort is on the lagoon side which is quieter and more relaxing. A person can easily take the free shuttle or boat to the larger property on the ocean side and enjoy that facility as well. The employees work hard to make the stay pleasant and memorable. We met a young man named Gustavo who was so sweet about taking care of anything we needed, pool towels, chairs wiped off, sand raked. Special thanks to Carlos, the desk manager, and Fabian, the door man, for all of their help and wonderful services. We LOVED going to the Marina Grill for dinner. Lazaro and Hector take excellent care of their customers. We enjoyed a welcome drink, fresh salad, rolls, fantastic grilled vegetables and meats, delicious dessert all served with the personal attention given in a fine restaurant. All at a very, very reasonable price. Even if a person is not staying at the Sunset Lagoon, they should eat at this grill! We were never bothered by anyone trying to upgrade a timeshare. We were invited but simply didn't go since I am already an owner. Don't be afraid to leave the resort and take the bus anywhere on the hotel zone. The fare is only 8.5 pesos, less than a dollar. It's very safe and you can hop on and off any time you want. We rode the bus from one end to the other so we could see where everything was. I will return to Sunset Lagoon, and when I do, I know I will be greeted with a smile by my new friends.

Room Tip: Room 108 is on the Lagoon side and close to the pool. There are no elevators so if stairs are a pro...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaF1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is a great location. It is close to the action yet far enough away to be secluded. The manager Carlos Ortega and his staff do their best to make you feel at home and safe. You have to visit because 200 characters will not describe.

Room Tip: If you can go for the Presidential Suite.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Sunset Marina distinguishes itself by providing all the services of a large resort with the intimacy of a small hotel. Located in the heart of Cancún’s hotel zone, it’s the ideal location for a Cancún vacation.

We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had 6 days of awesome stay at Sunset Lagoon, from employee, food and the service, we felt VIP , we are comming back soon with family and friends. We have no complaints and the employee they are all ver courteous and very accomodating to their guest. Thank you so much and see you soon

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBA1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for your review and for choosing Sunset Marina for your first stay in Cancun.

It is good to know that we got all aspects of your stay right and that you enjoyed everything from the staff, food and and above all the service. We do take great pride in our team.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your second visit to Cancun and please stay in touch with us via facebook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at Sunset Lagoon for a long weekend to do some scuba diving. We have stayed at Sunset's Tres Rios in the past, and didn't expect the Lagoon to compare well. We were surprised. The room accommodations were spacious, clean and comfortable. The food was similar in quality to Tres Rios... I think they have the same master chief. The grounds were well-kept. The marina looks spectacular at night. And, best of all, our dive shops was just a short walk up the street (saved taxi fare). Oh, and the staff at the Lagoon are friendly, helpful and hospitable, as always.

Room Tip: Only some rooms have "lagoon view" and ground floor access to the water front.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FinnRuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
2.1 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
0.4 mi away
Casa Maya Cancun
Casa Maya Cancun
#60 of 176 in Cancun
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Real Inn Cancun
Real Inn Cancun
#67 of 176 in Cancun
514 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ocean Spa Hotel
Ocean Spa Hotel
#55 of 176 in Cancun
2,747 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunset Royal Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 5.8 | Zona Hotelena, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel & Marina)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#36 Family Hotel in Cancun
#46 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $134 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel And Marina
Sunset Lagoon Hotel Marina
Sunset Lagoon Cancun
Cancun Sunset Lagoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing