We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, relaxing vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Ranked #30 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing vacation in a smaller resort and it doesn't bother you not to be right on the ocean this is a great place to go. This was our first vacation in the Cancun area (we are usually down on the Mayan riviera). We took our 4 kids with us (ages 10 yrs to 3yrs) and were pleasantly surprised. We were not looking to enjoy the night life and partying that can be found in Cancun and this resort was the perfect family oasis. We spent most of our time beside the pool (it has a little slide too) which was perfect for our girls (the weather prevented us from going on the only excursion we had planned). The most fantastic part of the vacation was the service we were provided. I only wish we could remember the names of all the people who made us feel so welcome. The ones who stood out in particular were David (entertainment), Karim (kids club) and Rudy (buffet). They took special care to make sure our kids had a spectacular time, therefore ensuring that we (the parents) had a good time as well. Thanks David for planning activities that the kids could participate in and enjoy as much as the adults. Karim, my 3yr old doesn't give hugs and kisses to just anyone. You sure made an impression. Thank you for looking after our younger ones. Rudy, my kids won't soon forget the cloth napkin rabbits you made. Thank you to everyone who made our vacation at Sunset Lagoon a great one.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esemdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,087)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,107 - 1,113 of 2,088 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place is great it's in a good location, has speed boat transportation to the other sister hotels for the purpose of going to the beach, and has free sailing boats which is the best thing about this hotel. We learned how to sail.

Aurora the concierge director makes everything better, just with her presence. She really understands hospitality, and what people are looking for when they are on vacation. She made our week with her suggestions for dinner & other activities. She is honestly an amazing, knowledgeable person, and a great asset to the hotel.

Ivan the water sports director is awesome as well!! He is the one that taught us how to sail, in about 15 minutes! We can't say thank you enough!!:) He was also the one that contributed to our week there!!

The rest of the staff is horrible!! The front desk told us the internet is $7 per hour when it was only $34 for the week for 5 devices.. how incompetent!!! The activities lady barely spoke any English.... and did not explain the pricing well at all! She only knew how to say " No" And " I am sorry, no" There were a million hidden fees with her!!! A trip to Isla Mujers that was $ 40 per person ended up being over $50 when she added some $7 tax per person, and some INSANE exchange rate!! I ended up buying the tickets on the street for less, with a normal exchange rate!

The restaurant staff is even worse!!! Rudy the manager of the restaurant is the rudest person I have ever met. I don't understand why someone like him would even work in hospitality...He will never go above and beyond for any customer... For some reason they were always out of mint, and getting a mojito in mexico at his restaurant was impossible.. I am not sure why he was always so busy cleaning up the dishes off the table instead of watching the stock of his items. We asked him to open some coconuts for us.. and that was the biggest deal for him... It took like 45 minutes to get a knife apparently... and he said no about 7 times we had to beg. While the manager on duty at night did it for us right away. Again I don't understand if you don't like people, why would you work in hospitality???...

Again the front desk staff is so eager to say no.... I have never seen anything like this in a Mexican resort before. They barely got me a map of Cancun!!

The rooms are pretty good.. though the furniture needs some updating....

The food used to be much better.... now it is mediocre at best...

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor with lagoon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anirolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at the Sunset Lagoon in October 2012. The suite was very nice, as was the rest of the property. We truly enjoyed our bartender, Christian and the other staff throughout the week. Our only complaint is that there is not food available 24/7. They close down the food too early at night. After being out and about and getting back to the resort after 10, you are without food :(

We also visited the sister resort, Royal Sunset. We loved going there and laying out on the beach. Only complaint there was slow drink/food service on the beach and that they frowned upon you if you tried to get your own drink up at the pool bar.

Would I go back? Maybe!

Room Tip: We had the 2 bedroom suite. It was very roomy and clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittney V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed 5 days. Rooms very clean, food very good(we had all inclusive),all the people from front desk to maids were very friendly and accommodating. We had to relaxing massage, body scrub, facial and hot stone massage. This was a highlight of the stay. Very relaxing atmosphere which is what we wanted. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to water with own private beach and lounge chairs with a cabana.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet45631023510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We've been members for over 18 years and like going to Cancun in winter. Last time we went (2 years ago), they said they were remodeling the Lagoon... So we requested a remodeled room. The reply email said we would get one. Upon arrival, we were put in a room with heavy smoke odor (they do allow smoking in their rooms) and NOTHING IN THE ROOM HAS CHANGED FROM THE FIRST TIME WE WENT!!! We got a room change, but the second room was exactly the same orange pattern on cushions (I think the cushions are the same ones that were in the rooms in 95').

It seems like their idea of remodeling is painting the lobby, and outside of hotel white. What really irks us is over the years, Sunset has opened the "Fisherman's Village", the "Hacienda", "Tres Rios" and done nothing with the Lagoon.

Also, in any hotel in US (even Motel 6, 8 etc) there is free wifi in the rooms. At sunset, they charge $7/hr for a connection in the room! They do have free wifi area, but it's in the main lobby, so all through the day and evening you have 4 to 10 people trying to connect. There are only 6 seats on the sofas, so some stand and mill around. The lobby has people coming, going and the noise level makes it hard to hear or do anything on the internet. I think the least they could do is make a separate area or room (there is a separate room next to lobby that is occasionally used by the restaurant that could be converted to internet use with room for everyone.)

Finally, they have four people manning their "consigliere" desk. When we had questions about a restaurant list for cancun, nothing.... A way to find out what was playing at local theaters (and where they were etc), we were told to go to the theater's website (the one they finally wrote out so we could enter it correctly was a spanish site w/o translation). When we wanted information about the "wet and wild waterpark" it was vague and their main thrust was, "Go to an Update Presentation and we'll get you free tickets." ARGH!

Their whole purpose is to funnel you into a "update" presentation. Tours are given for sitting through the "update." They say it's 90 mn, but never is. This year we decided not to do the "update" it always is longer, irritating and the "salesperson" is usually ticked off if you don't upgrade.

They have a VIP service (one person) separate from the "consigliere salespeople" who was 10x more helpful!

Room Tip: Lagoon side rooms have nice view. Ours on street side was noisy from traffic and constant hum of AC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott59W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

First time stayed here, smaller private hotel away from hustle and bustle. Located on the lagoon side of strip. Very pretty, have hardly left hotel! Yes we are still here! Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Service is great, these people work, work, work! Food is good there is something for everyone! Have been to Spa twice, small and nice! Went to sister restaurants no problem getting reservations, food very good! Will come again!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

We thank you for your kind comments.

Alongside sparkling Nichupté lagoon’s winding canals and surrounding mangroves lies Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, which distinguishes itself by providing all the services of a larger resort with the intimacy of a small hotel.

We truly appreciate that you have so graciously allowed us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience and we all look forward to hosting you again in the hopefully near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent Christmas week at the Sunset Lagoon, and were surprised at how comparatively cheap it was for Cancun. It became clear why as the week progressed. We booked all-inclusive but found the food in the buffet restaurant very disappointing. The Italian and Marina restaurants were better quality but still below what we were expecting. On three separate occasions there was no red wine available, and I wasn't prepared to pay for a 'premium' bottle.
The evening entertainment was very limited, with absolutely nothing happening on a Saturday night. The local nightlife is a 15 minute bus ride, but we tended to spend the evenings sitting on the balcony overlooking the lagoon with drinks from the bar.
The hotel was built in the mid 1980's and our room (516) looked like it had never been refurbished. After speaking to other timeshare guests, it seems their rooms were far superior. Fortunately, after reading previous reviews, we flatly refused to attend the timeshare presentation, and were subsequently left alone.
This was our third all-inclusive in Mexico and by far the worst. It is well worth paying the extra to ensure a quality experience.

Room Tip: If you suffer from mosquitos, avoid a room overlooking the lagoon, although the alternative is on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We strive to ensure all of our guests have a relaxed stay in a comfortable environment, we regret to hear that we did not fulfill your expectations.

We take every comment seriously and your points are benefitial suggestions to improve the service quality to our valued guests, please rest assured they have been taken into consideration.

Please give us the opportunity to welcome you back on you next visit to Cancun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
0.4 mi away
Casa Maya Cancun
Casa Maya Cancun
#63 of 177 in Cancun
1,393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Real Inn Cancun
Real Inn Cancun
#69 of 177 in Cancun
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
1.2 mi away
Ocean Spa Hotel
Ocean Spa Hotel
#53 of 177 in Cancun
2,795 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 5.8 | Zona Hotelena, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel & Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#36 Family Hotel in Cancun
#46 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $136 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Groupon, Agoda, Orbitz, Prestigia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel And Marina
Sunset Lagoon Hotel Marina
Sunset Lagoon Cancun
Cancun Sunset Lagoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing