We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Service by Rogelio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
Ranked #31 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at Sunset Lagoon Resort & Marina for about a week. The beach is much better at Sunset Royal since it's on the sea side, but the service was absolutely fabulous at the Lagoon. Especially our bartender Rogelio on the pool bar, he was awesome, great service in and out of the pool bar. Sweet & humble attitude, he brought great conversations on the table & he made our stay very comfortable, drinks and food were very tasty as well. High five to all the staff!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagDubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Gerente at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sunset Lagoon. Comments like yours, that specifically state what made your stay so memorable and the mentioning of Rogelio, who made every effort to ensure that your stay was as memorable as it can be, are always welcome with great enthusiasm.

Please stay in touch with us on Facebook/Twitter so we can offer you the best for your return and the latest on Cancún information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,070)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,124 - 1,130 of 2,070 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

We enjoyed a great 2 weeks at Sunset Lagoon Resort from 8th-22nd September 2012.The staff could not have made us more welcome.Rogelio at the pool bar was exceptional taking care of all our needs every day in and around the pool.Christian in the lobby bar also did a wonderful job of looking after us sometimes keeping him up until the small hours while we enjoyed the music, dancing and drinking!Most evenings we had dinner in the Italian restarant with fantastic waiter service from both Sergio and Henry.The food was excellent and we were made so welcome. And finally David in Activities...what can one say...we are waiting to see him in Britains got talent!Larry wanted to keep his blond wig. We will definatley be back.
Sun beds need attention and sunbed cushions would be a positive. Larry and Sharon Lee.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the lagoon-beautiful.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larrylee1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Gerente at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

We want to express our appreciation for your review which helps all Trip Advisor followers make the right decision when it comes to choosing the resort for their vacation experience.
We are sharing your kind compliments with our staff and we thank you on their behalf.

We hope to have the opportunity to pamper you again on your next visit to Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

we had 2 weeks there from sept 8th. The rooms were very spacious,we had a 2 bedroom apartment with a large balcony however this overlooked the very busy main road to Cancun Town.The rooms were very clean and were cleaned every day of our stay. The fridge was restocked every day with water,cans of pop and Cerona lager( which is okay if you like lager !!).Our holiday was made more enjoyable by the presence of the pool barman. ROGELIO is the kindest freindliest guy and makes the most wonderful cocktails, even making us local mexican ones for us to try. nothing was too much for him, he worked the pool bar but also took orders and served the snacks daily. He is a very hard worker and everybody missed him when he had his days off.We will definately stay freinds and in contact. Christain (the evening bartender was also a very nice guy and was always smiling and helpful. The entertainment team gave us some memorable moments. David and Ivan were always smiling,and are two funny guys. Although all the entertainment that was advertised everyday didnt always take place we took part in the ones that did and we brought a few prizes home with us and I now know some mexican numbers (from playing bingo).the downside to the holiday was that we were disturbed daily by reps trying to sell time share apartments in the resort. They walked by the pool everyday and every morning you could find them using most of the tables in the dining room with their potential clients. The food was very much the same everyday. The best evening was the outside dining evening for the mexican celebration day.The inside bar had the same singers on every evening and the volume was the same whether there were 4 people or 40 in the bar !! We used the watersports,kayaking and jet skis and took a couple of trips. The Isla Mujeres trip was a great day out,the boat crew were so funny although you do not get a long time to snorkel. We also went to Xel Ha water park and visited the m exican ruins at Tulum ( kids found this boring). The worst thing of all was when my daughter had money stolen from her room,however the hotel management dealt with this very professionally.

Room Tip: room 210 very spacious but overlooks very noisy and busy main road
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rona e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Gerente at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thanks for the great review following your recent stay with us.

We are very pleased you had such an enjoyable vacation here at Sunset Lagoon. Comments like yours, that specifically state what made your stay so memorable and the mentioning of staff members who made every effort to ensure that your stay was as memorable as it can be are always welcome with great enthusiasm by the entire team.

We are glad that your stay was not tarnished by the incident that your daughter experienced and that we were able to deal with it properly.

We hope you had a good trip back home and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at Sunset Lagoon for one week. It is a very beautiful resort. We had a two bedroom. It was so spacious. The cleaning service did a wonderful job. The lobby staff was very friendly and helpful. They spoke English and they were so kind. The food was very good and the server staff very prompt. There were so many activities to do. We went on a bike tour, we kayaked, swam in the pools. They had great evening shows too. We especially enjoyed the Urban Show. We enjoyed the fact that we had access to the Royal Sunset with the beach too. Simply wonderful!

Room Tip: We had 4 adults and it was worth it to us to have the 2 bedroom that could have 8 people. It gave u...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethlynnpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Gerente at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for your kind review.

In the heart of Cancun’s hotel zone, Sunset Lagoon is in an ideal place for a convenient vacation, distinguished by providing the services of a larger resort with the familiarity of a smaller hotel, as you were able to experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future and hope you will have the opportunity to enjoy another memorable vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Rogelio gave us a great experience in the pool bar in the Sunset Lagoon... He was really helpful and gave us different drinks with exotic flavors to try and taste. Despite the hot weather, he kept on working hard with a smile for everybody, giving to all of us whetever we requested.

If someone goes to the hotel, you must try Rogelio´s drinks!!!

For other hand, the restaurants,are not as good as the bar, but you can enjoy some meals!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Gerente at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

How wonderful to read your comment about your stay with us. We take great pride on ensuring that is how our guests feel and it is a great pleasure to read that we succeeded. We have passed your kind words to Rogelio who appreciates our guests taking the time to write on this forum.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

There were good and bad things about this resort. I'm not sure if the people who give it 5/5 were staying in the same resort as me. I will start with the positives and then go onto the negatives.
- Pool Bartender made our holiday, he was there everyday with a huge smile on his face making us what ever we wanted.
-Rooms are very nice, we had a jacuzzi in our master bedroom
-Rooms were very clean and the fridge was stocked daily
-Pool was really nice, you can swim up to the bar :)
- Entertainment staff are friendly

Now for the negative
- The food is pretty much exactly the same every day! A few differences from time to time but very very standard. - I ate rice and some vedge for the whole 2 weeks i was there. For lunch if you like Pasta then it will be great for you as that is what is served EVERY day.
- During breakfast the amout of reps showing people round and trying to sell timeshares is crazy! I would say for every 1 family actually staying there having their breakfast there would be 5 families being shown around. - Too much!!
- Watch out for the entertainment guys, every day they try to sell you tickets to the clubs in Cancun, luckily we didn't go but a few couples did and they didn't enjoy it - Too over crowded and you pay alot for the all inclusive ticket and they got the the bar twice all night.
- Shows are not great, the dancers are not in time and drop there props.
- My final negative about this holiday is that we were robbed by the maid. I do have to say though that this was dealt with very professionally by the secruity staff, but it did involve a trip to the Mexican police (not something you really want to do on holiday) we did get reimbursed for our losses and they did do extra to make our stay more plesent. But then for the week following they never send any more maids to our room so i had to keep calling and asking for the maid service.
- My Bf got a terrible ear infection while we were there - All the staff told us to get the onsite doctor ($80USD) as it was more expensive elsewere, we decided to try our luck and went into Cancun and got a doctor for $50 pasos!! Got exactly what we needed so watch out for the on site doctor if you need one.


So as you can see good points and bad points - I don't think i would stay there again.
For me the best part of the hotel is the Pool Bartender Rogelio! He really is the best thing the hotel has going for it. And not to forget Christian who is the evening bar tender, he is also very friendly and great at what he does.

Room Tip: There were good and bad things about this resort. I'm not sure if the people who give it 5/5 wer...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caitlin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Gerente at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay with us. We are really pleased to read you enjoyed your room, the swim up bar and the service offered by our staff.

We appreciate all feedback as a powerful tool to assist us in our continuous improvements and for that we are truly thankful. We regret hearing about the incidents you report, we do take the safety of our guests and their valuables very seriously and are happy to hear you felt they were handled professionally. In general in house doctor visits could be pricier than normal; we do wish to provide you with all options however are happy to know your visit downtown was fast and easy.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I am quick to post this review..I just flew in from Cancun TODAY.I stayed at The Sunset Lagoon resort...It is one of the worst places that I have ever stayed at.As soon as I arrived last Sunday,the first thing they did was try to make you go on a sales tour where they want you to buy timeshares in the place.It will absolutely be the worst 3hrs. of your life.Me and my girlfriend paid alot for the flight to cancun and to stay at the "SO CALLED" all inclusive resort..We were told and promised before we arrived about what was included in the all inclusive..We got completely ripped off. They also told us that we would be able to use the sister resort a couple miles down the road which actually has a beach.The lagoon side blows.Not if you want to get into the ocean.Either way we couldnt use the sister resort.And when you do,they charge it to your room.Food,drinks,etc...Other than the 2 bartenders,the staff was very rude and pushy,especially after myself and my girlfriend didnt take there timeshare tour.We were told not to by several guest that unfortunately took the tour..It was 3 salesman per couple.REALLY ..!..Oh,and the buffett is small and had 85% of the same food all week...The food isnt good...If your going to go to Cancun,stay away from the lagoon side,the beach side is very nice..They have alot of good resorts,dont waster your time on this one....PLEASE.....read other reviews,that will tell you the truth about this place.....I posted this so that knowone else makes the same mistake that we did....The pictures online and on there site look good...Must have been a trick camera....

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank antneerara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Gerente at Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Carmen2 de octubre de 2012 12:29
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We appreciate all feedback since it provides us with an opportunity for improvement. We regret hearing Sunset Lagoon did not meet up to your expectations however we do appreciate your lovely comments about our staff.
We do hope you will provide us the opportunity to restore your confidence in our resort and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
2.1 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
0.4 mi away
Casa Maya Cancun
Casa Maya Cancun
#61 of 176 in Cancun
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Real Inn Cancun
Real Inn Cancun
#67 of 176 in Cancun
514 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ocean Spa Hotel
Ocean Spa Hotel
#55 of 176 in Cancun
2,743 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunset Royal Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 5.8 | Zona Hotelena, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel & Marina)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#36 Family Hotel in Cancun
#46 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $137 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Lagoon Resort Hotel And Marina
Sunset Lagoon Hotel Marina
Sunset Lagoon Cancun
Cancun Sunset Lagoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing