We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HAD A GREAT TIME!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Solaris Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Solaris Cancun
Ranked #33 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“HAD A GREAT TIME!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

My Husband and I just returned home from a 1 week stay at Royal Solaris....We had a fantastic time!! The entertainment staff were wonderful!! Fernanda, Hana, and Manuel were our favorite!! The nightly shows were so great!! The drinks were ok....The food in the buffet for lunch and dinner were not the best....The breakfast buffet was good....Fresh omelets and waffles or pancakes were very good....The service was phenomenal!! We never had any problems if we needed anything....The floors of the hotel when wet are VERY slippery, I fell getting out of the elevator our first night, luckily I didn't break anything, but I could have....=( There are ALOT of steps to get from either the lobby or the ground floor to the pool area....Marco Polo was the BEST dinners we had....Rosa Arias went above and beyond for my husband and I....Thank you Rosa....Upon arrival to our room, we had the bed decorated for our anniversary....I felt we were treated so wonderfully and the little extras we got made our trip so much more special...We had a romantic dinner for 2 on the beach which was fantastic!! The views are breathtaking and the water of the ocean is beautiful....The weather was so-so...It rained more than we would have liked but it gave us some shade from the sun....It was also very hot!! The lobby area needs to be a lot cooler and the rooms always felt wet.....The bathroom area was small but manageable and the shower was the worst....The bed was on the hard side as well...However, we both slept like babies...But a vacation is what you make of it....We had a great time!!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor facing the ocean and it was fine....Some rooms are bigger than the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crzem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are happy to know you had a fantastic time with us !
Thank you for pointing out how great our staff is specially: Fernanda, Hanna, Rosa and Manuel. We are glad you enjoyed our shows and that your anniversary was as you expected. We hope to see you back in a near future !

Best regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,925
    1,265
    528
    182
    162
See reviews for
1,863
1,217
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tualatin, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

It's hard to have a bad time in Cancun when the beaches are beautiful and the sun is shining. I have been 5 years now and stayed at a different all-inclusive each time. This one fell to the bottom of the list, unfortunately, because the hotel needs repairs and the food was pretty bad. It didn't ruin our experience at all but when choosing a hotel, these things are good to know.

I can easily run 7 days drinking and eating the same thing day after day. However, the food just was pretty tasteless and there were not a whole lot of choices.

The hotel is starting to look a bit warn. The rooms are fine, no bugs or anything gross but just not in top condition. Each floor has room for a fantastic lobby area and doors to an outdoor patio but they locked the sliding doors so you couldn't get out there and the furnishing were really bare in the lobby.

The positives though, great staff, perfect location for the hotel zone, close to other attractions and very affordable. If you're looking for a cheap getaway or are not staying super long, this would be a good place. The beaches were beautiful, we spent a lot of time under the palapas out there. The lobby was fun and got pretty rowdy after 9pm.

To be very honest though, I wouldn't recommend it to a friend, I would suggest spending a little more to try someplace else.

Room Tip: Only 2 floors in this hotel have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank osuaphi8256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are sorry about the disconfort experienced during your stay with us. We are improving our services in the variety and quality of the menus.

We hope to get the chance to see you again in a near future, so you can experience our improvements.

Best regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights in late April and we were happy with our stay. The rooms yes are a bit outdated, but our room was always clean, we were on the 5th floor and had a good ocean view. There are two options for dinner, the one restaurant has a different theme dinner each evening, and we liked that, we also enjoyed the Mexican station food. There was a lot of entertainment and we went over to the Lagoon and took the kayaks out. If you only like 5 star resorts and 5 star restaurants this place may not be for you, but if you want a resort in a good location with beautiful beaches, a great pool area, good service on the beach and off and affordable then try this place, we liked Cancun, took one day trip to Tulum. We purchased a Groupon Deal and found the entire trip to be relaxing and at a great price. I read many reviews before booking this resort so I was not disappointed at all, actually the food was much better than I thought it would be.

Room Tip: Try to get something as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank InlovewithMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We are glad you were happy during your stay ! thank you for your comments they are very important to us.
We hope to see you again in a near future !

Best regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Royal Solaris had the worst buffet food I've ever had in Cancun. My fiancée was sick for a week after we came home. Most of the staff was friendly but one of them helped themselves to all the cash ($325) that we neglected to lock in the safe before we went to the pool on our last day. That was our mistake but they acted like we were the criminals when we reported it and searched through everything in our room. Not even so much as an apology was offered.
Men are not allowed in Marco Polo in shorts but women can wear shorts and flip flops and children are permitted to run around playing with toys annoying everyone while their parents were oblivious. It was awful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calicat09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We are sorry about the inconvenieces encountered during your stay with us. We proceeded to make a deep investigation and we cannot asseverate that our staff was involved, as we mentioned in the last email we sent you. Thank you for letting us know your opinion about our resort. We apologize again for the disconfort this may have caused you.

Sincerely,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ensenada, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We made a reservation for a full week, there was nothing in the minibar fridge, the hotel in general is in really bad shape, the fountains broken, kneaded a full paint job, the curtains from the room broken, there waa no lock for the safe,food and drinks were not that good at all, decided to leave the next day and made a reservation on another hotel thats when the problems started, i'll get back to that in a bit, there were some good things from the hotel, quick check in, and they let you use the Resort even if your room check in is afther 3pm.
The problems.startet at night when we decided to change to another hotel. Decided to leave before the check out (11am) at night there was just only a cleark and sayed nothibg he could do, whent early morning afther breadfeast 8am, ad the check out desk, they told me there was nothing i could do, just stay for the rest of my week, they wanted me to pay for the full time even if I did not used the
other days, even thay i called the resort phone line to makenthe reservation, they told me i had used a company called BestDay,
Reaulted to make it the worst day of or stay, there was no one not even a single person to help us in the reaort, beside a couple of persons, that give me the PROFECO (counsumer agancy, like BBB,) This agency and SECTUR (Turism secretary) protect mexican and any other counsumer that used a hotel or what ever, consumer law is cristal clear, you only pay for the used nights, we had allready stated to pay the night used, but no penalty or anithing beside that.
By the time i got a hold of the people that helped they offered upgrades to try calm us down and not leave, but since they were really, bad with us decided to leave, we ended leaving at allmost 3pm. Cause they made us call the BestDay phone line and waited more than an hour and there was not even a bit nothing they could do.
I would like to thank the PROFECO agency, and Sectur from Cancun they are really help full, and even before the the bestday or solaris people made anthing they helped us get out that horrible hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bomerang22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We offer an apology for the disconfort experienced during your stay with us. As you know we talked with the agency and we did not charge you for the penalty fee and also we offered you different options in our sister resorts. Once again we apologize for not fulfilling your expectations.

Sincerely,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We arrived the 5/18 for a 7 night stay. Been here before, 5 years ago. Last time we stayed on the Villas side, (GR Solaris), this time the Royal Solaris (hotel). Since we were here last some changes have been made, they have separated the two resorts. Gr Solaris can use all amenities, Royal Solaris can not go to the Gr side. The staff was always great!! The one good thing about the stay, the waiters, bartenders, housekeeping, & entertainment staff all were working for us. Rooms were hotel style, small fridge, coffee pot, and TV. Bathroom small, no tub, but that was ok. Always seemed damp in the room, must be from water chilled ac instead of dehumidifying like what we are used too. For our room the ac ran all the time, if it got too cold, manually had to turn off and on. The other room we had worked fine. Faced the lagoon which was ok. Ocean views are saved for "Owners". The nightly shows were good, actually better than 5 years ago. Biggest disappointment was the food! Hotel side limited to three restaurants: the big buffet which was open for breakfast & dinner. Breakfast has a good variety and was generally good. Dinner was very disappointing, usually about the same as lunch, just on a bigger scale. Lunch at the Rosemarinas, was downright poor! The snack bar by the pool wasn't good either, hamburgers didn't look like burgers, the hot dogs were good, fries good, but the rest of the selection was awful. Went to the Marco Polo twice, service was great. Over dressed food and very little...presentation was what they were going for. But for an all inclusive place, at this restaurant I always felt the pressure to leave a big tip. After a four course meal there, we always went to the buffet afterwards to finally get full. The last time we were at the Solaris', we went to all the restaurants and the food was good everywhere, even the buffet. That was the reason for going back. Learned our lesson. The pool was good and the beach was clean and the water was great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dog29blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you came back and gave us the opportunity to serve you again. Thank you for pointing out how great our staff is. We are improving our services in the variety and quality of the menus.

We are looking forward to see you soon so you can experience our improvements !

Best regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was my first time in Cancun and the family decided to try out Royal Solaris Cancun (RSC).
When we arrived at the lobby we were greeted with some drinks for the whole family. It was quite hot so it was nice to have. We waited for our room for quite a while. Maybe 30-45 mins. The staff was nice and helpful.

HOTEL ROOM: The room that we got was a 2-queen bed with a balcony and could see the beach from it. The bathrooms was a little small from what i'm accustomed to. The room had marble flooring with a few chairs inside. I didn't like the bed-sheets very much, they felt very cheap like at a low cost motel.

ROOM SERVICE: I was able to get room service and get some food to my room but needed at least an hour to get my food. If you're planning to get room service, make sure you order in advance for the 1 hour wait time.

FOOD: The food at the all you can eat breakfast and lunch was so-so only. There were lots of selections but I didn't fancy it much. But I did like the chicken wings that they served at the cooking station on the left of the main pool. You can also get your drinks from either side of the pool. The restaurants were a little better. We were able to try all the restaurants for each night we stayed. The best I would say were the Steakhouse and The Seafood place (don't remember the names). Just remember to reserve either the day before or early morning.
Drinks are free, just tip!!! The drinks are not bad. I would just go to any of the bars and get a shot or a beer or a mixed drink and you are set for the day.

POOLS: There are multiple pools. There's one for kids in the front of RSC and in the back for the main pool. There were too many people in the pool so it gets very crowded and the pool gets hot. It's gross to me when the water is too hot; meaning too many people have been in the pool and people keep urinating in the pool (I just went on the beach). The beach on the other hand is much better. It looks great and the water feels great. The only two drawbacks are: The beach DOES NOT have fine white sandy beaches. It is very very pebbly with lots of tiny rocks (some sharp ones) and the waves can get intense. I would not recommend the beach if you are not a strong swimmer. There are no life-guards so it is at your own risk. They also have hammocks close by the stairs as you go down the beach to chill and relax. I fell asleep on one of them and it was quite nice.

OVERALL: A good C- average score. Need improvement with the rooms and needs better food. The crowded pools need to improve as well. They need to make a bigger main pool.
Staff is great though and the drinks are good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Lery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. Your comments are very important to us. We are improving our services in the variety and quality of the menus. We hope to see you again so you can experience our improvements.

Best regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
8.2 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#41 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.1 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#23 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,008 reviews
0.4 mi away
GR Solaris Cancun
GR Solaris Cancun
#32 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#77 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,693 reviews
4.5 mi away
Park Royal Cancun
Park Royal Cancun
#61 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,946 reviews
6.5 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#49 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Solaris Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Solaris Cancun

Property: Royal Solaris Cancun
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan No. 64 Km 19.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#37 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Solaris Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel's VIKS Club offers a 6,324-square-foot recreation area for children. Supervised activities include video games, arts and crafts, and painting lessons. The mini water park features The Arch, a themed aquatic area with elephants, gorillas, zebras, rhinoceroses, hippopotamuses, giraffes, and a children's pool and three waterslides. The club is open morning until early evening in the winter, and morning until evening in the summer.Daily adult activities include pool aerobics, bingo, contests, fashion shows, cooking lessons, and athletic competitions. Nightly entertainment shows such as Mexican night and Latino night are produced by the resort's activities/entertainment staff in an air-conditioned theater. After-dark activities also include complimentary one-way transportation to the nightlife area of Cancún.A 300-square-meter health-and-beauty spa features separate steam rooms for men and women. Spa services include massage, body wraps and scrubs, hydrotherapy, and facials. Waxing and hair/nail care are provided by the beauty salon. Open-air massage and hair braiding are offered as well. (Surcharge for all spa treatments, beauty services, and hair braiding.)An air-conditioned, fitness center with mirrored walls contains cardio and weight machines as well as free weights. Within the resort are jewelry, clothing and gift/sundries shops. The resort purifies its water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Solaris Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Solaris Cancun Hotel Cancun
Royal Solaris Caribe
Solaris Resort Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing