We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Solaris Cancun
Ranked #42 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have been here several times now. Had a great room with an ocean view. Food was OK but not the best this time. We would most certainly go back again. Solaris took us into town to Carlos & Charlie's and we had a good time. They plan different trips for their visitors which is very nice. Most of the staff was very nice and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view. Much better than seeing the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lamumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Thank you for taking your time in writing this review. We value your feedback about the food, we look froward to having you here again so you can experience our improvements.

Best regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,982)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,283 - 2,289 of 4,982 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

very well worth the price . clean and frriendly staff.we will go back and hopefully very soon. Juan was wonderful! remember, this is not an upscale place but it it still nice and very reasonable priced, as long as they don't increase their prices, we will always go back.

Room Tip: the beach view rooms are always better simply because of the view, however, the lagoon has beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gina72012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your review regarding your stay in our Hotel. Thank you for pointing out how great our staff is especially Juan.
We are looking forward to see you soon !
Best regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I cannot wait to go back! The staff are awesome...from the bartender Benjamin, Roberto the bar runner, Victoria the entertainer and our housekeeper alfredo. We couldn't have been treated better. The hotel was spotless, entertainment awesome.food was great and the staff went overboard to please!! Never been treated so great. Will return again...but not soon enough! I had originally hoped to explore but never wanted to leave the resort as we loved every minute of it! What a great anniversary present!!!
Debbie Hawk

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

We are so happy to read that you had such a pleasant experience with us.Thank you for pointing out how great our staff is specially: Benjamín, Roberto, Victoria and Alfredo. We appreciate you taking the time to write this review.
We look forward to having you here again !

Best regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

we had an amazing time at the Royal Solaris in Cancun!
the staff really are great a special shout out to Juan Luis in the buffet restaurant he really knows what customer service is about. I cant wait to go back!!

Room Tip: we had them give us a tour of the hotel and for our time they gave us $100 off our excursions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TerraBroatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Thank you for pointing out how great our staff is, specially Juan Luis. Thank you for taking your time writing your review.

We hope you come back soon !

Warm regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

It's just easier to talk of the pros and cons of this hotel.

Pros: Good food (but not amazing), friendly staff, good price

Negatives: rooms are honestly old and not that attractive. The "views" are poor as most of the higher rooms you can only see sky. The lack of a balcony is kind of a bummer if you get a room like that, so make sure you ask for a balcony/jacuzzi room. The jacuzzi room is actually great! The pool area is LOUD. We kind of hung out at the beach the whole time, so it's avoidable. They bring you the drinks to the beach.

Tips:
1. Get a jacuzzi room (or balcony at the minimum).
2. Do mexican night at Las Fuentes
3. Lounge at the beach for quiet time.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi room, jacuzzi room, jacuzzi room. At least a balcony room. Worth the upgrade and remember...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rambo54184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We just returned from a 4 night stay at this resort. We are 53 & 55 and my mother is 76. The hotel is NOT senior friendly at all. She was forced to walk down stairs to get to most areas at the hotel. There were a few steep ramps she could have used however; they were out of the way. There were numerous pools for the guests to use but only 1 pool had a set of stairs for access by a senior citizen. No railings either to hold on to to climb out of the pools anywhere. The access to most of the pools was right into 3 feet of water with no step down. No rails for safety. The pool area had no other options for seating except for the lounge style chairs that are not easy to get out of even for my husband and myself. I had to go around a take straight back chairs from the poolside activities desk in order for my mom and husband to sit comfortably near the pool. The pressure to take a tour and buy into their timeshare program was very strong and you were constantly dodging the sales staff. After a day of this we finally resorted to lying to the staff and telling them we had taken the tour to get them off our backs. Even at that we still had to engage them every few hours to tell our lie. It took some of the joy out of sitting and relaxing by having to look over your shoulder for sales staff and then telling them no thanks. The front desk is not consistent with pricing for shuttles to the airport - it ranged within an 6 dollar spread on an hourly/daily basis. Monday it was 12 dollars then it went to $15.50 then back down to $9.33 to $14.00. This was in one conversation. We eventually received $3 back upon complaining about the rates. It was explained that the exchange rate determined the rate ? The wait staff in the buffet areas were great! Helpful and polite. Food choices were available most times. Do not stay at this hotel if you have any difficulty climbing stairs and are not interested in buying in to their time share program. The evening shows were great.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the upper floors away from the lobby noise. Rooms above the 5th floor are the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We read all of the reviews before choosing Royal Solaris and it was exactly as expected. The staff and service was great, pool and beach were outstanding, food and rooms were average. We went with our young children and didn't want to spend a lot of money and got exactly what we wanted. You get a lot for an all- inclusive: great drinks, entertainment, AMAZING kids club, Marco Polo restaurant and wonderful service. You get what you pay for, but the views make it all worth it. They are currently renovating the rooms which will be a great improvement. The GR Solaris next door has nicer rooms but is quieter with a smaller pool. I would recommend this hotel to families who want to relax and not spend a fortune.

Room Tip: Wait until renovations are complete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine_M033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

It is always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. We are happy to read that you found our Kids Club amazing. We value your opinion as we are always looking for ways we can improve the guest experience.

Looking forward to see you soon and exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#26 of 177 in Cancun
3,249 reviews
0.4 mi away
GR Solaris Cancun
GR Solaris Cancun
#34 of 177 in Cancun
4,749 reviews
3.7 mi away
Occidental Tucancun
Occidental Tucancun
#41 of 177 in Cancun
5,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Occidental Costa Cancun
Occidental Costa Cancun
#47 of 177 in Cancun
5,693 reviews
6.5 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#48 of 177 in Cancun
3,565 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crown Paradise Club Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Solaris Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Solaris Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan No. 64 Km 19.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#37 Family Hotel in Cancun
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $172 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Solaris Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel's VIKS Club offers a 6,324-square-foot recreation area for children. Supervised activities include video games, arts and crafts, and painting lessons. The mini water park features The Arch, a themed aquatic area with elephants, gorillas, zebras, rhinoceroses, hippopotamuses, giraffes, and a children's pool and three waterslides. The club is open morning until early evening in the winter, and morning until evening in the summer.Daily adult activities include pool aerobics, bingo, contests, fashion shows, cooking lessons, and athletic competitions. Nightly entertainment shows such as Mexican night and Latino night are produced by the resort's activities/entertainment staff in an air-conditioned theater. After-dark activities also include complimentary one-way transportation to the nightlife area of Cancún.A 300-square-meter health-and-beauty spa features separate steam rooms for men and women. Spa services include massage, body wraps and scrubs, hydrotherapy, and facials. Waxing and hair/nail care are provided by the beauty salon. Open-air massage and hair braiding are offered as well. (Surcharge for all spa treatments, beauty services, and hair braiding.)An air-conditioned, fitness center with mirrored walls contains cardio and weight machines as well as free weights. Within the resort are jewelry, clothing and gift/sundries shops. The resort purifies its water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Otel, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Solaris Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Solaris Cancun Hotel Cancun
Royal Solaris Caribe
Solaris Resort Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing