We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Solaris Cancun
Ranked #42 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Mankato, Minnesota
1 review
“Great relaxing time”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We came home from 10 days staying at the GR Caribe by Solaris. It was our 8th year and each year everything meets our expectations. From our personal representative George to the cleaning people, every one goes out of their way to make sure our visit is comfortable.
The entertainment committee, wait staff, bus boys, etc. cannot say enough good about the smiles, good customer service.
The only reason I gave them 4 stars is we visited a higher end motel on the strip and was newer and everything a little more top rate, but the price was much more also.
Already looking forward to next year's visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emily6743286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
It is always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their stay, especially when it is their eight time ! Thank you for pointing out how great our staff is, specially George, we'll make sure to let him know about your comments.
We look forward to having you here next year !

Best regards,
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,110
    1,388
    607
    202
    190
See reviews for
2,131
1,315
34
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lee, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Overall my stay was great at the hotel. I was visiting with my gf and compared to the others no one bothered us with the time share, we didn't even get approached. The hotel is a little bit old but the rooms are large and clean. We actually got the ocean front view room but originally booked the lagoon view. In my opinion both of them are nice because you have the water on both sides. On one side you get the sunset and the other one you get the sunrise. The food was ok nothing crazy but wasn't expecting much from an all inclusive hotel. The food in Cancun is always lacking comparing to the all inclusive resorts in DR or Jamaica. The drinks are good. You can ask for Bacardi, Smirnoff or Jose Cuervo if you don't their local liquor. The beach was amazing and they have waiters that can bring you drinks while you tan all day. If you want to chill by the pool the entertainment team does the best job to make it fun. At night they have a show in which they take part in and it is by far the best shows i have seen at these resorts. The team is great! Manuel, Victoria, Fernanda, Julio, and Nestor. Nestor and Julio take great care of you if you want to go out to the clubs at night. It's a bit pricey but the drinks are included. You must visit Coco Bongo! Overall all the employees were always extra nice and sweet and were always ready to help you have a great time. I also noticed they have a great kids pool where you can leave your kids for couple of hours during the day and enjoy some time off. I would go back to the hotel because of the employees not so much because of the hotel itself. The location of the hotel is about 15 min away from the center of Cancun but you can grab a bus that runs 24/7 and costs 1$ and is safe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liliya Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solaris H, Social Media Manager at Royal Solaris Cancun, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your review regarding your stay in our Hotel. Thank you for pointing out how great our staff is, specially: Manuel, Victoria, Fernanda, Julio, and Nestor. We are improving our services in the variety and quality of the menus.

We are looking forward to see you soon

Best regards.
Hoteles Solaris de México
^T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Solaris for 3 nights. It was ok, but certainly not as nice of a room as I was expecting for the price. I was also frustrated that I requested a room on a higher floor but when we arrived, they had us on first floor, right above the pool and all the noise associated with it. The front desk clerk was unsympathetic and swore they did not have another option, but when I asked to speak to the manager, they miraculously discovered a room on the 7th floor. The view from that room was amazing! The food was pretty average, with the serving sizes extremely small at the Marco Polo restaurant. The best food we had was actually at the buffet, where there was a wide selection, but again, enough to sustain you but not gourmet by any stretch. The drinks were plentiful, but with pretty minimal alcohol content. The service at the restaurants was very good. The beach and pool area is beautiful. Next time, I would likely not choose an all inclusive.

Room Tip: Absolutely request (demand) a higher floor on the ocean view side, if you want a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wkendwarrior61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I have to agree with previous comment "To sell time share the pressure is on and very irritating" The comments they make "We need your money" I the response is I do not have cash. "You have a credit; don't you?" It is my dicision how I spend my money not there's. I come on vacation and not be haresed to buy time share.
Other then that the resort is accommodating, staff is very helpful and the premises are very clean. The beach is great if is a good weather. Food is mediocre, drinks are very sweet and none brand names.


Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Must admit we were a little bit disheartened once my group and myself checked in. Once we arrived to the room, our spirits picked up a bit - as although the furnishings were old, it was still a very large room and you could tell that the staff put the effort in to make it clean and neat. I was travelling with my partner and another couple and we are all in our early twenties - we could see that this hotel really wasn't ideal for us, but more for families! Every night they had some sort of entertainment on, which really got the crowd going and it does get busy! The cocktails were super strong (which is great) and the shots were yummy! However the food was not the best at either of the hotel restaurants, so we resorted to eating out a bit. It was a 10 minute drive to the downtown area of Cancun which is where all the clubs are, and ideally our group would have preferred to be closer to this. Apart from that, the staff were super friendly and lovely! The beach outside was amazing, and it was so good to sit with a cocktail and tan on the beach bed. We probably wouldn't stay here again next time we come, as we are looking for somewhere closer to the clubs - but I would say it's good for families.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chenoalee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We had a lot of fun don't get me wrong. The resort itself is pretty old and could use some updating but it was all we needed. The pool area is great, I loved the fact that there was a separate pool specifically for volleyball. The swim up bar is great but closes way to early considering it is the only outside bar. When hanging in the pool area we would have to send someone inside to get drinks. The restaurants were okay, Marco Polo was by far the best but dress code is a little crazy for a resort. The two buffets were not that great but were what I expected. The staff was great, all the bartenders were cool and the front desk help is very good. We had a little conflict with a member of our group and they definitly handled it professionally. All in all it was a good trip.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank amaral_kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I thought those years of heavy time share pressure were gone. It's alive and thriving at the solaris. There are two other Solaris resorts within walking distance but no privileges exit to even try their pool. Two bars without brand names only locally made alcohol. No Baileys, Captain Morgan, Kailua, Jim Beam.
Buffet staff is super but food is repetitious. States 3 dining areas but one was closed most evenings because it was either too windy or too chilly. That dining area could have weather shades installed to enable regular use. Also the resort charges you a daily fee for wi-fi access where most places allow unlimited use in their lobby areas.
While the staff is excellent, the hotel shouldn't allow associates to pass themselves off as guides, when their true job is taking up precious vacation time trying to sell you on their idea of an opportunity to buy up into the "Solaris club". Thanks but not returning.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Non-workers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
7.8 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#41 of 175 in Cancun
664 reviews
13.0 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.1 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 175 in Cancun
3,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
GR Solaris Cancun
GR Solaris Cancun
#33 of 175 in Cancun
4,581 reviews
6.5 mi away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#78 of 175 in Cancun
2,871 reviews
6.5 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#49 of 175 in Cancun
3,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Solaris Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Solaris Cancun

Property: Royal Solaris Cancun
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan No. 64 Km 19.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#37 Family Hotel in Cancun
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Solaris Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel's VIKS Club offers a 6,324-square-foot recreation area for children. Supervised activities include video games, arts and crafts, and painting lessons. The mini water park features The Arch, a themed aquatic area with elephants, gorillas, zebras, rhinoceroses, hippopotamuses, giraffes, and a children's pool and three waterslides. The club is open morning until early evening in the winter, and morning until evening in the summer.Daily adult activities include pool aerobics, bingo, contests, fashion shows, cooking lessons, and athletic competitions. Nightly entertainment shows such as Mexican night and Latino night are produced by the resort's activities/entertainment staff in an air-conditioned theater. After-dark activities also include complimentary one-way transportation to the nightlife area of Cancún.A 300-square-meter health-and-beauty spa features separate steam rooms for men and women. Spa services include massage, body wraps and scrubs, hydrotherapy, and facials. Waxing and hair/nail care are provided by the beauty salon. Open-air massage and hair braiding are offered as well. (Surcharge for all spa treatments, beauty services, and hair braiding.)An air-conditioned, fitness center with mirrored walls contains cardio and weight machines as well as free weights. Within the resort are jewelry, clothing and gift/sundries shops. The resort purifies its water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Solaris Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Solaris Cancun Hotel Cancun
Royal Solaris Caribe
Solaris Resort Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing