We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Grand Oasis Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Oasis Cancun
Ranked #91 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Firstly, if you scroll down to Sunch72's review, you may see that some people have had a negative experience with this hotel (mellow-dramatic or not).

I would like to say that this was the first hotel I stayed in and it was fantastic. I absolutely don't agree with everyone looking for tips. That's a lie.

The staff that I met (and I met a lot) were excellent. They were very helpful, particularly the people who cleaned he rooms. Maybe people should actually 'engage' with the staff i.e. talk to them and not just look at them as someone who cleans your room or cooks the food...

The restaurants were great and varied. I tended to stick to the buffet type restaurants but the made to order (or a la carte if you will) were also good.

The grounds (pool etc) are staggeringly beautiful. You must get an ocean view because the view is phenomenal. The beach is also fantastic and one of the biggest on the strip.

I went all inclusive and I can tell you that it is good value for money, particularly if you look at other hotels like the Krystal Cancun, where you have to pay an arm and a leg for mediocre food on top of the price of the room. The little bars here are fantastic. I was constantly having a laugh with the bar guys and they would serve me up such dangerous cocktails. It was really quite fun.

The gym is pretty good. There is not that much equipment but hey, not that many people go to the gym on holiday! They did serve fruit juice and fresh fruit for people in the gym as well.

I don't think this is a family hotel though to be honest. There was a lot of partying (which was what I was there for) however this seemed to be concentrated on the left side of the resort (where the nightclub is).

Also, if you are going to go all inclusive, it's best to go with Grand Oasis and not Oasis palm or any of the others. In the other hotels you get wristbands which allow you access to some places in the Grand Oasis (because the Grand Oasis has more restaurants and bars than the partner hotels) but it is pretty limited in terms of the bars and restaurants you can go. If you get all inclusive at the Grand Oasis, you get access to everything in the resort including the VIP which is nice.

The only negatives i can think of were: Sky high prices for internet.
Also the palapas on the beach are $25 a day, which is ridiculous because other resorts offer them for free.

All in all though, I had a fantastic time at this hotel and met some great people who worked there. I would certainly go back again.

Room Tip: Definitely ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisU421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you for taking the time to share your experience, this helps us know our areas of opportunity so we can provide better services to all of our guests.

We would like to let you know we are very committed with our guests, and the staff is dedicated to understand, reach and satisfy all of your needs.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you again once again in the future.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,633 - 2,639 of 7,173 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a lot of good times there. It is a great hotel with an incredible staff; they did everything to create a great experience for us.
The team in the front desk really helped us to solve even the minor of our problems.
The hotel has a complete plan for entertainment that was impressive.
The room was perfect with a beautiful view of the ocean and great space.
The best part was the possibility stay in a swimming pool with cocktails and snacks just in front all that blue sea.

Room Tip: try to get a room with view to the swimming pools on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenataTolaini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you for taking the time to share your experience, this helps us know our areas of opportunity so we can provide better services to all of our guests.

We would like to let you know we are very committed with our guests, and the staff is dedicated to understand, reach and satisfy all of your needs.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you again once again in the future.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I read previous posts. It is a beautiful piece of property, the pool is great, the views looking towards the gulf beautiful, and tranquil. The staff is trained to do the best they can do or is told to do. The front desk people have gone to employee training to learn...the customer is not always right... so stick it to them. Never say; I will help you!

We had been to visit the Oasis Grand Palm last year and wanted to experience the larger hotel. It is true the weather last week had a tremendous amount of rain...coming through the roof, windows, and ceilings, everywhere. We had water dripping from a light fixture. The staff was so busy trying to get rid of the inches of water in the rooms, they had no time for other things like servicing the guests needs.

Our objections:
--Room service food is free...but delivery costs about $12
---The gym opens whenever the employees choose to arrive an hour or so past posted times.
---Better pay and rent a lock for the safe at $7/day or lose something of value. (some people complaining of lost (stolen) items .
---The Beach Club charges $15 per day for a cabana, but if you sit in the lounge chairs as well "within the roped off area" , plan on them also demanding $15 per day "cash" cannot charge to room.
-- Get a pool towel early or you may not get one, they run out.
--- $20 per day for wi-fi. (Go across the street to the Blue Gecko" it is free.)
---lug your own luggage to the room if you don't want to sit there. It will not be left if you aren't in the room.
---Want a steak pay an additional $25-35 each in the dining restaurant Lobster dinner advertised for about $45.
--- Need to book dinner reservations, must go early in morning! The restaurants are not booked to full table capacity on purpose...it keeps costs down.
---Just pay the host or hostess a few $$$ and you will find a seat available. Make sure to go at the beginning of a seating at 6:00 or 7:45. We were able to do this at the one decent place to eat dinner, the rodessio.
---Buffet with so many nationalities to cater to, I think they do the best to please most. Like Golden Corral The breakfasts are the best meal of the day. Go to the Market Place.
---Pay for extras like soda and water by giving the room maids a few extra $$$.
---Bribe...I mean also tip the bartenders at the pools to get quality not watered down drinks of generic quality. Same goes for the V.I.P. Bar
---Entertainment other than show in pyramid atrium, looks and is staged for a school talent show.
--I don't oppose helping the less fortunate, but you're expected to give $1 to a fund at check-out to help the poorer people of Cancun. It is part of the check-out.

We got a pass to check out the Grand Viva downtown tourist area. Forget it you will only have more disappointment. The Grand Oasis will make you are staying at the best Oasis property.

I feel that the hotel once a prime place to be, is in BIG $$$ TROUBLE . Probably an enormous overhead and mortgage, High employee numbers (even though paid minimally). The buildings are of poor acoustic architecture, The echo of guests opening and closing doors are amplified immensely. The drunks coming it at 2am want you to know they had a fantastic time. Hooting and hollering, all hours of the night.

Hello to the tourists from Iowa, we met dozens of people from your lovely home state. The Oasis must have really performed a marketing blitz with fantastic rates or are they pitching their "vacation club". If not keep clear of the salesmen trying to get to show you a package.

The Mexican tourism has taken such a hit by the "fear factor" of border towns that they cannot charge as much as in years' past. We felt safe in the hotel zone.

Finally, If you're looking for a truly "all-inclusive" you will have to pay higher prices. Pay for the quality you're are expecting to get. First trip to Cancun, the place will amaze you! Trips later will show its economic decline. Bring a bank envelope full of dollar bills it helps.

Next year we are going to St. Thomas, to keep our "American" neighbor's economy strong.

Room Tip: Unless you really want to overlook the water, don't pay the extra $$$ save it for excursions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LydiaCapeCoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you for taking the time to share your experience, this helps us know our areas of opportunity so we can provide better services to all of our guests.

We would like to let you know we are very committed with our guests, and the staff is dedicated to understand, reach and satisfy all of your needs.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you again once again in the future.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

we arrived, one of the hottest days, they lied to us because they overbooked said all the AIR was out and they needed to switch us to another hotel!!! BULL CRAP, we talked to 4 different people who were staying there and the air was fine!! We didnt take NO for an answer, MY sister has been 9 times, and this time she says is the worst!!! THEY USED TO PROVIDED EXCELLENT SERVICE, AND YOU DIDNT HAVE TO WASTE EVERY MORNING OF YOUR VACATION TIME MAKING A RESERVATION FOR DINNER, when in fact the place was NEVER packed.. OH YEAH the reservation people get a kick back if you offer them a tip, then they have room to booked you in. CRAP CRAP CRAP.. EVERYONE WANTS A TIP THERE, AND THEY HOLD OUT FOR THOSE THAT WILL TIP TO GET A SPOT.. we paid over 2k to stay, isnt that enough!! THEY TOOK FOREVER TO CLEAN OUR ROOMS... the food SUCKS..... watered down drinks, and they take forever to get your something...... THERE IS NO PLACE FOR ADULTS TO RELAX AT NIGHT, ALLTHE CLUBS PLAYED LOUD, MORE THAN NEEDED MUSIC. AND IT WAS MORE FOR THE SPRING BREAK CROWD. ...... I was disappointed to say the least! I will NEVER go back to this resort. TO LIE TO US IS ONE THING, BUT TO PROVIDED THE OTEHR CRAP IS JUST CRAP..... I will not EVER refer this hotel to anyone... i will tell them to stay away....

Room Tip: do NOTstay in any of them, they all had, DRUNK, SPRING BREAK KIDS, there was NO PLACE THAT GAVE THE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunch72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you for taking the time to share your experience, this helps us know our areas of opportunity so we can provide better services to all of our guests.

We would like to let you know we are very committed with our guests, and the staff is dedicated to understand, reach and satisfy all of your needs.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you again once again in the future.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Staff sucked...rooms sucked....Check in sucked......The fact that one of our rooms flooded and the staff did not care sucked........The fact you had to make reservations at the restaurants even though they were not busy sucked.....fact that we booked a ocean front room and got a partial view room sucked.......Lets face it if it was not for the land it was on this hotel sucked... DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL!!!!!!!!You will be very disappointed. Picture booking a 5 star hotel and find out you are staying in a motel 6.

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you for taking the time to share your experience, this helps us know our areas of opportunity so we can provide better services to all of our guests.

We would like to let you know we are very committed with our guests, and the staff is dedicated to understand, reach and satisfy all of your needs.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you again once again in the future.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was our fourth stay at this hotel. The grounds are beautiful and right on the aqua blue ocean. The staff was very courteous, friendly and handled all our needs precisely. Check-in was a breeze, our suite was superb, the food was very good with 19 restaurants and snack stations to choose from. You never go hungry. The VIP Lounge was awesome and the drinks were very good. No skimping on the liquor. We will always go back to the Grand Oasis!! We love this hotel. You can take the public bus to go anywhere for 8.5 pesos - much cheaper than a taxi.

A special thank you to Concierge Oliver for his superior service!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickie0327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you for taking the time to share your experience, this helps us know our areas of opportunity so we can provide better services to all of our guests.

We would like to let you know we are very committed with our guests, and the staff is dedicated to understand, reach and satisfy all of your needs.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you again once again in the future.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Like most of the other reviewers, I was constantly checking the reviews up until the day I left for Cancun, not entirely convinced about the legitimacy of this hotel. Having read some very disturbing horror stories, I lowered my expectations. Thankfully, my worries were put to rest upon arrival.
I travelled memorial day weekend 2013 in a group of four mid 20's guys. We had the Grand Oasis package through Cheapcarribean.com and had requested two rooms with two beds each. We were offered a single king bed, which was okay since it was quite a large bed. Besides we got a room in the main pyramid and everything seemed in order. Additionally, it was lagoon facing, so we got a great sunset view with a cool evening breeze.
Check-in was quick and painless (was expecting to stand in line for a few hours). Yes, there is no AC in the lobby but there is also a rainforest in there that I'm sure wouldn't survive in an AC environment. Not a big deal at all as many people have complained. Hotel grounds are well maintained and quite picturesque.
The "wild" pool was quite happening throughout the weekend with a big party loving crowd. We hung out there all afternoon most days. The pool can get a little dirty with all the people drinking and throwing stuff around in it all day. But then, I was really not planning on drinking that, so it was all good.
Yes drinks are a little watered down and not top shelf, but if you are looking to have a good time the drinks will get you there. Plus there is unlimited Sol beer all over the place if you don't fancy the mixed drinks. I'm not sure why everyone was complaining of having only two beers in the fridge? All you have to do is step outside and there is unlimited beer all over the resort!! As far as water, we planned to get a big crate of water per recommendations we read. But we had the black bracelet and would go to the VIP lounge and get as many bottles of water as we wanted. Problem solved.
Food was definitely amazing! Market place should be your go to destination for all food requirements. Amazing spread with all kinds of food imaginable, and a vast array of delectable tropical fruits. We had reservations to several of the restaurants, but nothing stood out as spectacular. Besides, sit down dinner is at least and hour or so long. So if you want quick meals....market place. Plus the views from there are amazing. We went to Cocoa for lunch one day w/o reservations and enjoyed some good seafood...and their chicken was surprisingly delicious. We snacked at the Chicken shack on the beach which was quite good too.
Overall the food was really good, with no complaints whatsoever..
The VIP lounge had good drinks at night and was a good place to hang out before heading out of the resort. Most of the staff was very friendly and helpful. We did not have any bad experiences service wise.
I would definitely want to go back to Cancun and stay at Grand Oasis.

Room Tip: Lagoon facing rooms have a great sunset view (in case you don't want to splurge on ocean view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D_Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you for taking the time to share your experience, this helps us know our areas of opportunity so we can provide better services to all of our guests.

We would like to let you know we are very committed with our guests, and the staff is dedicated to understand, reach and satisfy all of your needs.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you again once again in the future.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
6.3 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#43 of 177 in Cancun
725 reviews
4.7 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#47 of 177 in Cancun
3,522 reviews
4.7 mi away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#75 of 177 in Cancun
2,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Oasis Sens
Grand Oasis Sens
#85 of 177 in Cancun
5,120 reviews
2.1 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#26 of 177 in Cancun
3,207 reviews
0.7 mi away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Oasis Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Oasis Cancun

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 16.5 | Lotes 45-47, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#54 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#54 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#65 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $185 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Oasis Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 613
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
They don't call me The Entertainer for nothing: I'm the Grandmaster of fun, hosting live concerts, festivals and shows, even themed parties - plus everyday surprises like dancers in the lobby, and comedy skits by the longest pool in Cancun. I'm a Little more exlusive than my sister resort, Oasis Cancun, with extra amenities to make you feel special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Oasis Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Oasis Hotel Cancun
Grand Oasis Cancun Mexico
Oasis Cancun
Cancun Oasis
Oasis Grand Cancun
Grand Oasis Cancun Reviews
Grand Oasis Resort Cancun
Grand Oasis Cancun Hotel
Oasis Hotel Cancun Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing