We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Partying”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Oasis Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Oasis Cancun
Ranked #88 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for Partying”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just got back from Grand Oasis Cancun. It pretty much fit my expectations after reading the reviews here. We were going there to for a party atmosphere not a relaxing high quality vacation, so it was great for us. But if you're looking for a high quality food and service and a quite place, definitely go somewhere else.

The last couple of days of our stay coincided with the beginning of spring break, so the partying got even better, and the service got a little worse.

The Good:
- Great place for partying since it's famous for it, lots of young people, loud music playing at one of the pools, so the party atmosphere is great. It's a big hotel, so lots of people to meet and party with.
- Big hotel = lots of options. There are many quite areas if you want to relax away from the noise. Also lots of food options. It's generally a beautiful hotel.

The Average:
- Food quality was OK. Even at the Grand Oasis-only restaurants, it was not as good as you'd expect from a 4.5 star hotel
- General service: they were nice, but not 4.5 star nice. It was hit and miss with service quality at the bars and restaurants. They were nice, but sometimes took too long to service even when it wasn't busy

The Bad:
- The room service was very hard to get a hold of at busy times, which is when you usually need it the most! (we would come back from the club at 3-4am with no food options open at the hotel, and we could not get a hold of room service!) and they also started asking for a charge after the spring break crowd came in even for us Grand Oasis people
- Some random annoyances like you having to personally go and find the mini-bar people and ask them to fill it up. Couldn't do it on the phone, and they normally wouldn't do it as part of general cleaning of the rooms. The bath tubs were a bit rusted and didn’t look good/clean. Towels sometimes didn't get changed and we had to call for it (they'd change it quickly tho after we called). Sometimes didn't have clean beach towels available. Very hard to find beach beds (we didn't care, we'd lay on the beach towels). Stuff like that. But nothing major.

Conclusion:
If you are looking for a party atmosphere and are willing to sacrifice a bit on the quality of food and service (and sleep sometimes!) definitely recommend this hotel. If not, then try other places.

Other Recommendations:
- Definitely get the Grand Oasis if you can. Even though you're staying at the same rooms as the normal Oasis (unless you're in the pyramid), the access to the Grand bars and restaurants are worth it.
- The building on the left side of the hotel close to the beach is the best for partying since it's right by the party pool, and it's always happening there (and noisy).
- Don't be too picky in general! This is Mexico, and the quality of everything is generally a bit lower than where you live most likely. People living there seem to be relaxed there and having a good time regardless of some of the hard things in their lives... great attitude to follow! "Don't worry! Be Happy" ;)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Living-For-Fun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,746
    1,767
    1,196
    652
    1,018
See reviews for
1,834
1,957
132
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,042)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

When we booked Oasis Cancun, even though we made it through the hotel web page, and after speaking by phone with them, nobody advised to us that this was not a hotel for a family.

At the moment of arrival, a crowded lobby with drank people everywhere received us. We wondered if sleeping would be possible, but the receptionist said that the room was well located and far from the young (and not so young) people enjoying themselves. To be honest, she offered at this moment to change our accommodations to the Oasis Viva, but we decided to give an opportunity to this hotel since we were tired and wanted to start our vacations. Even more, we were anxious about the swimming pool and other pictures we had seen in the internet. Bad decision.

I´ll try to summarize our terrible week at this hotel through the following bullet points:

- No available chairs in the swimming pool. Never. You had to wake up at 6 am and run to the swimming pool in order to get one.
- Towels for swimming pool / beach: They usually run out of towels, they usually said: "no more towels; come back in 20 minutes"
- No available chairs nor umbrellas in the beach, similar to the swimming pool, always busy. Conclusion: we discovered a public beach 2 km far away from the hotel, which was cleaner and quieter than the hotel.
- To reserve one of the 2 "exclusive" restaurants (the Italian one and the Mexican one) you cannot book them by phone, you must make lose around 30 minutes of you leisure time to be attended, and from 7 to 9 am only. Even more, you only can make a reservation for the following day, and not for future days, so if you want to use the 2 reservations, you must lose this time twice.
- Bad attention at restaurants. Every time we call waitress / waiters for something, they showed upset, and...Forget spoons, they served the coffee but the spoons were usually missing, we asked for a spoon, and when it arrived, the coffee was cold.
- One night we arrived late from a trip, and decided to have dinner at a restaurant. We entered at 10.15 pm and the restaurant closed at 10.30 pm. Well, at 10.25 the started to take the food and the dishes out, so all people had to run to the food and put it into their plates if they wanted to keep eating. It was an embarrassing situation, i.e. my wife ate her dessert with her hands, because all the dishes had been retired.
- Swimming pool in the afternoon / evening: all people drunk, dancing and making a lot of noise.

Conclusion: Just take this if you are single, want to have some fun and you are not worried about the service and quality of food. If you are a family and want to rest, forget it.

Room Tip: Ask for the hotel target, for example if you are a family, do not forget to ask for the type of peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fernando M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our flight was delayed 16 hours and we were put up at the Grand Oasis, any resort that can take on an extra 100 + last minute is more than likely not a nice resort!! I would not ever stay here with a family, we were traveling with a 22 month old in a stroller, there was no proper set up for those with strollers (or those in wheel chairs). We had to carry our son up and down sets of stairs in his stroller, just to get into the lobby. The staff was not friendly, nor helpful. When we finally made it into our room we were disguisted, cleanliness is not of great value to the staff. The sheets were stained, the floor dirty. The rooms may have been nice 30 + years ago. We actually slept in our clothes, and I was careful to not let our son touch much of anything. I seen a door in the room, wondering what was behind it, I opened it and actually walked into someone else's room to 2 people in bed. Surprised and shocked we attempted to get through to the front desk and get someone up to our room with no success, my husband had to go back down to the front desk, we finally got someone up to our room. The people in the next room at this point had locked the deadbolt on there side of the room, we had no way of locking the door from our side and no sense of security. To put our minds at ease the hotel staff so nicely put 4 screws into the door frame so whomever was in the other room would not be able to enter our room, needless to say we hardly slept. After a sleepless night I showered with my son, a few minutes in my son found a big clump of hair, grossed out I immediately got him out and that was the end of that. The 10 hours spent at the resort was 10 hours too long!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chill163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Good: the price you pay. We bought a package on Expedia w/hotel and air and the price was too good to be true. 7 days/6 nights in Cancun for $1000/person! Why not. Beach and pool were nice and the flexibility to come and go to the different restaurants.

The Bad: Don't expect 4-5 star service or accommodations, again you pay for what you get. No beach chairs. The buffet was sub par, cold and same food, the "Asian" and "Italian" restaurants was really bad. I had one bite of their "pad thai" and pasta - both were basically speghetti drowning in oil.

The Ugly: No standard of hygene. We witnessed staff put food out on the buffet with their bare hands; refill bottles of wine with other bottles of wine, questionable rotation/food temperature of food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Spent 2 weeks at Grand Oasis in early February... Oasis Cancun and Grand Oasis are sold as two different hotels, but in fact they are one and the same. If you select the Grand, what you get is a room with more equipment and a different color bracelet... But you'll share the alleys, beach and most of the restaurants with the Oasis Cancun.
That being said, the Grand Oasis is good value for the money. However, after having read some of the reviews posted on this site, I was a bit disappointed with the level of cuisine. Some people said the restaurants at the Grand are similar to that of a 4.5 star hotel. Not true. The main buffets (shared with Oasis Cancun) offer decent food and a good selection, but IMO, they are squarely in the 3 star category. I've been to 4 star hotels in Cuba where the buffets were better... As for the Market Place buffet - reserved for Grand Oasis guests - it is only a small notch above the two main buffets. Regarding the much lauded Italian restaurant (Dos Lunas), it too was somewhat of a disappointment. The only place where the food truly deserved a 4 star ranking is the VIP Lounge, in the Pyramid building. The VIP is more like a catering service than a buffet, and the food there was excellent.
So much for the bad part. The Grand Oasis/Oasis Cancun is a huge property, the lawns are well maintained and there are always people milling about. The beach is simply amazing, with powder-white sand, turquoise waters and a good surf, just to keep it interesting... The staff is friendly and helpful, although some of them can't speak English at all, which could be an issue for some people. I speak a bit of Spanish, so that didn't bother me.
With Grand Oasis, you get a lot of entertainment included in the price. While I was there, the main reception building hosted an impressive show (think Cirque du Soleil) about every other night, complete with loud music, dancing lights and elaborate costumes. There is also a concert hall (called Kinky) near the main building, where they have cabaret shows about twice a week. Guests from Oasis Cancun have to pay extra.
So all in all, very good value for the price. If you plan on staying at the Grand, please read the "Guest beware" section below. You'll be glad you did.
GUEST BEWARE
When you check in at the reception desk for Grand Oasis, one of the employees will try to enrol you in a "sales presentation" for other Oasis hotels. That person will tell you that next time, you can come back and save money by buying directly with them. Just be aware that what they are trying to sell you is a 49,000$ membership, spread out over 20 years. I listened to their sales pitch for 2 hours, as I was promised about 40 $US for doing so - and it was a cloudy day anyway - but at the end, they got very aggressive with me. I had to get up and leave, or they just wouldn't let me go. To be fair, they did give me the 500 pesos they had promised, but they looked extremely frustrated… So just be informed that you can go, listen to their sales pitch and take the 500 pesos, but at least you'll know what you are getting into!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tropical_Journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Positive - No question, this is a beautiful spot! Close to the airport. Very clean resort. The beach is stunning! The food is excellent, with a broad selection. Our favourite was the Italian restaurant, where they served great pasta dishes and brick oven pizza. The 'Birdmen' show in the atrium was like no other show we've ever seen at a resort. The entertainers were incredible. It was like being at a 'mini' cirque du soleil show. We were a group of 14, so we had our own little party all week, which made it 'extra' fun.
The negative - Check in was extremely slow. Several of us were not registered for some reason, therefore it took extra time for the staff to sort out rooms. Our room, (which had 2 very comfortable double beds) was unremarkable. We weren't there to spend time in the room, so we weren't too concerned about the size or dated decor. HOWEVER......We had no hot water for the first 2 days, as well as a toilet that would not flush and ran constantly. Much of the first two days of our vacation was spent trying to rectify the room problems. The staff at the hotel, did not seem overly concerned and basically told us to 'live with it'. Thankfully, the toilet did get kinda fixed, and we had hot water by the third day. We had to turn the water off on the toilet at night time, so we didn't have to listen to the water running all night, but at least it would flush.
There are lineups for 'everything'....food, drinks, bathrooms..etc. but that's what you get at large resorts. Some grumpy staff, but who can blame them? The lack of Beach/poolside chairs is another issue. Thankfully we had an early-riser in our group (6am), that would save some chairs every day, or we would have been SOL.
Overall - If the rooms were updated and in good repair, this resort would have received a better rating from me. We still had a wonderful time and enjoyed the sunshine and the company of our friends. If we were to return, we would definitely upgrade to an Ocean view room.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for my birthday in january and almost immediately regretted the decision upon walking into the lobby. The first word that came to our minds (and stuck all weekend) was jersey shore the entire resort is filled with jersey shore type wanna bees. Everyone is 25 and under. The rooms are small and offer no luxuries (I'm assuming they know their clientel). The resort itself is beautiful but marred by the crowds of drunken young adults. Defininitely not a place to go if you have small children they would be exposed to way too much innapropriate behaviour. I love to party and hang out and would never complain that a resort is too noisy -however the level of drunkenness is just scary. Young girls falling down everywhere. Vomiting in the pool..
The service is non existent. The worst offender was the front desk manager she was useless. She would literally have about 7 people waiting and keep telling all of them that she was serving the other client. Lol! She would do nothing except tell us "hold on" even the staff realised she was useless. We ended up just upgrading to the sens and running for our lives! Oh! The food was even worse (they don't even have guac!!)
The onlt time the resort was enjoyable was during the day when the snookies and vinnies were all sleeping.
Oh! And on the waiters shirts it says
" oasis loves box. Are you ready?" No idea what that means but its now a classic line in our household.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SinoeD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
6.3 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#44 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
11.0 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
4.6 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#49 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Oasis Sens
Grand Oasis Sens
#81 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,702 reviews
4.7 mi away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#77 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,736 reviews
13.2 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Oasis Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Oasis Cancun

Property: Grand Oasis Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 16.5 | Lotes 45-47, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#53 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#55 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#64 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Oasis Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 613
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
They don't call me The Entertainer for nothing: I'm the Grandmaster of fun, hosting live concerts, festivals and shows, even themed parties - plus everyday surprises like dancers in the lobby, and comedy skits by the longest pool in Cancun. I'm a Little more exlusive than my sister resort, Oasis Cancun, with extra amenities to make you feel special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Oasis Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Oasis Hotel Cancun
Grand Oasis Cancun Mexico
Oasis Cancun
Cancun Oasis
Oasis Grand Cancun
Grand Oasis Cancun Reviews
Grand Oasis Resort Cancun
Grand Oasis Cancun Hotel
Oasis Hotel Cancun Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing