We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Fun”
Review of Grand Oasis Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Oasis Cancun
Ranked #91 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Etiwanda, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Fun”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I can only say "Ditto" on "Mroot78's" review. We must have gotten the same room, same view and same bathtub problem. My package included the black bracelet that we got from "CheapCarribean.com" . Silvia was also our favorite bartender and she knew how to kick butt to those youngsters who were trying to scam her into giving them a drink while they were underage. We also plan on returning to Grand Oasis Cancun as we enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: Rooms near the entrance side had the best view for sunsets from your balcony but if you have the sli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

6,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,862
    1,904
    1,289
    704
    1,085
See reviews for
1,984
2,087
144
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Overall I think the grand oasis was a very nice resort for the cost. Would highly recommend getting the black bracelet if you plan on drinking! Top shelf liquors were available with it. Really enjoyed the V.I.P. lounge. The bartenders were very friendly and was not stingy with the alcohol. Entertainment was great at the lounge. Had a few problems with our room and Robin worked with us to make us happy. We really appreciated all of his help! The view from the room were fantastic. Our only complaint was the bathtub in our room did not drain well at all, but we was not going to let something so petty spoil our trip. Our favorite bartender was Silvia!! Wow, she was wonderful. She is just an all around great person and really believe the the Grand Oasis is lucky to have such a kind, caring, compassionate person employed fot their organization! We enjoyed our stay at this resort so much that we plan on returning in the near future!

Room Tip: Stay at the Grand Oasis, main building. A little noisy, but it's vacation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have mixed feelings about this resort and almost gave 4 stars, but it's just not as good as some resorts. We visited at a good time of year, as there were no crowds and no lines except for checking in and checking out. Don't expect to check in before 3;00 if you arrive early. However, they did hold our bags securely and gave us our wristbands, enabling us to eat lunch while waiting to check in. Some of the bars and restaurants were closed because it's a low season, but there were plenty that were open. We ate at the Italian restaurant one night & were eaten up with mosquitoes. Lunch there was fine, however. The Mexican restaurant, Serape, was excellent, and we got great service. The Japanese restaurant has much more than sushi, so be sure to try it. Plan to take dressy clothing if you want to eat at Careyes. It was easy to make reservations at the non-buffet restaurants. The food at the buffets was very good, with lots of choices that changed daily. Market Place was the best buffet, open only for breakfast and dinner. Service there was always excellent. If you have a black wristband you can go into any of the restaurants and bars. Others are restricted from some of them unless you pay extra. The pool is in 3 sections. For mature folks like my group, we stayed away from the section where all the young party folks gathered. There is a $5/day fee to get a lock for your room safe. Wireless internet service is excellent in the rooms, but it is $5/hr. or $30 for 5 full days. Early check-out to settle your bill is available the night before leaving. I wouldn't recommend it, as you still have to wait in line the day you check out. I also paid for my room safe the night before I checked out, and they tried to charge me again at check out. Luckily I had my receipt that was stamped paid. The lobby with a rain forest in the main building is beautiful, and shows were held there almost every night at 8:00 PM. The show with the contortionist was well worth seeing and was our favorite. Other little skits were done throughout the day in various locations, some were hilarious. There's no schedule posted for this; you just have to be lucky with your timing to see one of them. As far as the rooms, they were spotless, the pillow top beds were comfortable, and the TVs worked fine. A/C was very good. There is a small refrigerator in each room; drinks and water were replaced daily as they were used. Minor things didn't work. I had one light that had a burned out bulb, and they did not replace it even though I requested it twice. Some of the drains are slow. The buttons on my phone to call the front desk or get messages didn't work, but dialing zero got me what I needed. These are minor inconveniences. The staff is continually cleaning everything, so it's a very clean resort, including the pool. Service at the bars was excellent, and they will make any drink requested, but you may have to tell them what goes into it. You may not get the right proportions, but they try their best. The swim-up pool bar was lots of fun and we met some nice folks there. My sisters and I did yoga several times. It's offered every morning. They also have tai chi and pilates, on alternating days if I remember correctly. Other activities include water aerobics and a few other things. They have a small gym, on a lower level near the beach, next to the seafood restaurant. Some of the cardio equipment did not work, but they also have dumbbells and a few weight machines. The resort has a long section of beach, the most beautiful I have ever seen. Gorgeous aqua color and big waves, nice sand, all very clean. All rooms have either a beach view (upgrade) or a lagoon view, and all have a balcony with chairs. All in all, I would give this resort 3 1/2 stars. Oh, if you want to do any tours, get on the bus for less than $1 USD and go into town to book your trips, as you will save money. Buses are clean and safe. You can also negotiate prices in town, both for trips and for merchandise. Though an all-inclusive resort is supposed to include tips, we tipped every place we went, all restaurants and bars, and a tip for the housekeeping service. Our standard tip was $1 USD or 10 pesos for each drink or meal. Everyone remembered us and gave us extra good service as a result.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Me and my friend went to Grand Oasis in the end of September the resort wasn't crowded at all, the food simply amazing, staff extremely friendly (even tho we purchase all inclusive trip we always left some tips to show our appreciation). Maybe the rooms would need a little upgrade but who cares if you going for vacation you're not planning to sit in the room all day. Overall we had very good experience and would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Grand oasis resort in cancun was a great place to celebrate my B-day!1 Enjoyed all the amenities,love the swimming pools, with fun wet bars!! many restaurants to choose from.Only one negative feature, the hotel charge $5 a day for safety box.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Check in:

Upon arrival I was impressed with the rain forest in the lobby very nice. Got into the line for Check in there were atleast 15 people working behind the counter yet we were ignored for about 20min. Finally we decided to walk up to the counter to ask for service which still took for ever. Finally an hour later we got into our room.

Room:

The room was nice with a Flat screen TV and a Big bathroom. Only one problem at times there was not any hot water to take a shower. Other than that it was good. One set of elevators.

Food:

The best restaurant by far was the Seafood place but we ate mostly at the Buffet. The chinese is not authentic at all and took a very long time to come out. The best breakfast is at the VIP Lounge it was the only place to get bacon the Buffet never had any. Overall I found all of the food just to be OK.

The beach and the pool were nice. This stretch of beach was pretty wavy which made it kind of fun.

TIP: Do NOT Lose the towel card that they give you or it is $15

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our first stay in October 2011 was for 7 days for our honeymoon. We had a beachfront room that ended up flooding and they showed us three other rooms, all flooded as well so we stayed put and got lots of extra towels.

This second trip, we went for 5 days from Sept 17-22nd. The food was MUCH better this time around, much better selection and the taste wasn't as bland as the first time. The mixed drinks at the pool were NOT as good however, and definitely not as strong. Our first time we stayed, the drinks were delicious but this time, even the flavor was watered down.

We stayed in a room in the main lobby with an ocean view, which was great. Definitely no reason to pay extra for an oceanfront room. It rained once during our stay and there was NO FLOODING in the room. During our first stay you could see the repair guys come around and just paint over the damage rather than actually repair it.

We did have a few things we did NOT like about our stay. There was a LOT more sales and hustle this time around. When we checked in, we were immediately given a speech about the "Oasis Plus" and how we would come down for breakfast the next morning. We agreed thinking it was a tour or something but it really was a 45 minute breakfast with a 45 minute sales pitch where we "just had to flash a visa card and get paid 1000 pesos". Sorry but for the cost of the resort we are NOT sitting through a sales presentation. We called to back out early the next morning and anytime we ran into the guy in the lobby he tried to "no pressure" convince us to come back down. It was really, really annoying ! On the beach last year there were no sales but this year, we couldn't sit by the beach for 5 minutes without someone interrupting to sell you jewelry or some other ware. Also very annoying !

They also have done something new with the resort. There are weird, improv style people who walk around the pool doing shows. Most were really annoying. I was laying out and two women came up, singing and spray-misting water. Then there were two guys dressed in silly swim caps carrying around paint brushes going around making funny faces at people in the pool. And some guys dressed up like Men in Black with squirt guns. The fake dolphin show was sort of cute but a little two long. And there was a golf cart with dancers that was kind of cool, but too loud and it drove around over and over and over. At 8pm the first night we were napping after our flight in when we were woken up by a LOUD show in the lobby with lights and music. Every night they do the same show .... LOUD. We were on the 4th floor and it shook our room.

I was also put off by the number of tip jars out since it was suppose to be all inclusive to include taxes AND gratuity.

Anyways.... I think they are trying too hard to be too many different things. Last year the party-kids took off on a party bus every night but with the Coyote club, the buffet was PACKED every night with annoying party kids. It would be nice to have a kids and adults only pool because we had to move pools a couple days to get away from splashing kids (last year we had pools almost all to ourselves).

This will most likely be our LAST stay at Grand Oasis Cancun. They cater too much to party people and sales hustles. The few things we enjoyed our first stay (a personal bell boy taking our luggage straight up to our rooms and cool towels and ice water served while your checking in) were all gone and replaced by pressure sales and strange, improv- style shows. It would have been a better use of money rather than pay those workers for silly improv shows to instead spend time keeping the poolside clean of empty cups and perhaps having more staff during the busy times at the resturaunts.

Room Tip: Avoid beach front rooms as they flood during rain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
11.0 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
6.3 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#41 of 175 in Cancun
664 reviews
4.7 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#50 of 175 in Cancun
3,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#78 of 175 in Cancun
2,871 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Oasis Sens
Grand Oasis Sens
#84 of 175 in Cancun
4,964 reviews
0.7 mi away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Grand Oasis Cancun

Property: Grand Oasis Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 16.5 | Lotes 45-47, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#54 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#55 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#65 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Oasis Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 613
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
They don't call me The Entertainer for nothing: I'm the Grandmaster of fun, hosting live concerts, festivals and shows, even themed parties - plus everyday surprises like dancers in the lobby, and comedy skits by the longest pool in Cancun. I'm a Little more exlusive than my sister resort, Oasis Cancun, with extra amenities to make you feel special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Oasis Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Oasis Hotel Cancun
Grand Oasis Cancun Mexico
Oasis Cancun
Cancun Oasis
Oasis Grand Cancun
Grand Oasis Cancun Reviews
Grand Oasis Resort Cancun
Grand Oasis Cancun Hotel
Oasis Hotel Cancun Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing