We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Vacation”
Review of Grand Oasis Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Oasis Cancun
Ranked #87 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Oxnard, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Vacation”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I must admit I was a little skeptical about staying in this resort do to all the negative comments I read here, but now I'm glad I totally ignored them all. As soon as we arrived at the front desk we were treated like royalty. We were greeted by a very nice and professional young lady (which name I do not recall at this time) she immediately offered us some tropical drinks and some aromatic towels that felt delicious do to the heat. The best thing is that she upgraded us to a beach front suit without us asking her. After our check-in she called the bellboy and send our luggage to our room while we explored the Resort.

Later that night we had dinner at the Tatish restaurant and again we were treated like royalty by our personal waiter Luis. The food was so unbelievebly delicious that it was a sin not to go for a second plate. We like this place so much that we had dinner there our whole entire stay.

I totally recommed this resort whether you are an older person or a teenager. There's lots of things for everyone. You could relax in one of the hammics facing the beach, kick it at the Coyote loco night club where the atmosphere makes you forget all your troubles (if any) or simply enjoy a nice swim in one of the largest and most beautiful pools of Cancun.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hilda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,795
    1,827
    1,233
    666
    1,046
See reviews for
1,894
2,007
139
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,067)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The World
Level Contributor
173 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

My mum has not taken a vacation in years and so I decided to take her to Cancun because my job was offering a too-good-to-miss special at the Grand Oasis. I had two co-workers go before me and they both enjoyed their stay. Upon arrival in Cancun we were accosted by workers of the Yellow Transfers Taxi company. These swindlers were the reasons for the only sour notes to our trip. They recommended a "not another timeshare" presentation at the Beach Palace to us and we paid for a round trip fare but never got picked up on the day of our return. 
The Grand Oasis is a beautiful hotel. The lobby is a jungle with vines hanging from each floor and a forest on the bottom floor. It was unlike anything I have ever seen. We got the black bracelets which allowed us access to everything and this was great for me because I know what it's like to be second or third tier. My room was the only one available so we went to check it out while waiting for my mum's room. I was in room 5236 and the views from the room were amazing! My balcony looked down onto the patio of the VIP Lounge which consists of a island of sorts semi surrounded by a koi pond. The bathroom however left a lot more to be desired. The shower head was loose and so would not tilt, the water pressure was non existent compared to my mum's room shower and the general look of the bathroom was dour and un inviting. The only other negative was the lack of wifi Internet. It was available for $5 for 1 hour. $7 for 2-6 hours? and $10 for 24 hours. However when we had an issue with the Internet and went to the desk, we were told that the Internet was provided by a 3rd party and we would need to call them via the toll free number for assistance but using the phone in the room was going to cost us. Really!?!? 
My favourite restaurants on the resort were Sevilla - our server Carlos was amazing!!, Marketplace was pretty good, Careyes was a culinary voyage and VIP has simple but light and healthy food.    Because I was with mum I did not drink like I am capable of but simply sipped here and there. This trip's cocktail was the Bob Marley and the Sangria Carlos made for me in Sevilla. 
On the whole the Grand Oasis was great. My mum loved it and would not stop eating. I wish I had taken time to check out the gym and spa but I am sure... I am quite certain... I know I will  be visiting again in the very near future!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miicha04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

much ado about nothing grand. my friend is disabled [dosen't do stairs
well] so we got a room 1/2 mile from the grand oasis, when complained
about it and asked for disabled room it was ho hum. offered room on
first floor with view of bushes. room we got 1/2 mile room[only one available] view was empty swimming pool being fixed whole trip.
have stayed here three times in 20 years, this was worst. never again
going to stay at flamgio cancun resort, no problems there.

Room Tip: dont go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shayne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This resort is good place to stay where you get what you pay for. We got an all inclusive package, but something we didn't know about was wrist band colors. There's black which you have no restrictions on where you can eat, purple does have restrictions. So if possible, before you book ask to make sure you have no restrictions.
Employees were all very helpful for most part, and the lady who would clean our room did a great job too. I would tip her and leave a little thank you note. Bathrooms aren't the best, they could use a little work. We didn't loose anything from the room, but did get a lock to put our valuables away which was $5 dollars a day. The wireless wifi is not free anywhere you stay, at this resort its $10 a day or about $30-35 for 5 days. It worked okay, it would sometimes work a little slow.
Food was good for most part, they had a couple buffets that were open almost all day except when they would change from breakfast to lunch and lunch to dinner. They would close for an hour or so in-between. As regards to the sit down restaurants, only reservations you had to make were for dinner and you had to make them at the entrance at an office where it said "Oasis Luvs U". You have go early in the morning before 10am to make your reservation and the reservations are not for the same day unless they have a cancellation, so expect to be scheduled for the next day.
I could keep writing about this place.... lol... Hopefully this answers some questions you may have and if I can answer any others, send me a message and I'll try to answer it for you.
Good luck..

Room Tip: Ocean front view was great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CHRISTIAN V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethton, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I went there this past August with my wife and Mother in Law and her friend. We chose to do the all inclusive package which is dfinitely worth it. The restaurants were what I would call average at best. We eat at all of theme and they all just had bland food and you could tell the desserts were frozen. For a resort of this caliber I expected better food for sure. Also stay away from the guys selling things down by the Loco bar they are nothing but scam artists. My mother in law bought a necklace and earrings of a guy there for 200 dollars that was supposed to be handmade. We seen them downtown the next day at a aquarium for 29 dollars for the set. We went down to confront them but they were conveniently not there. The bad thing is the resort is affiliated with these sellers and they let them rip you the customer off. Very bad way to do business!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brett c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

It's a really big hotel complex, you need around 20 min to go from one end to another.

The hotel is old but renovated.

It is a really good deal for the money you spend there. Everything is included, drinks and food, which is of really good quality. The drinks were watered down though, and quite often it took a long time to get served.
There are many restaurants to choose from, so regarding food, no complain at all.

The beach is really nice, but swimming is not recommended due to the big waves, typical at the Riviera Maya.
We paid around $ 750 per person for a double room, for 14 nights. I think it is a really good price, given that it was high season. If you go there during low season, prices are as low as $30 per night per person.

The pool is really enjoyable and there are many pool bars to relax there.

The bathrooms are big and comfortable, they have big bathtubs but the plumbing is old and the water has a strange color (I'm afraid this is not because of the hotel, but because of the quality of Mexican water).

Overall it's a good choice, considering the price and the number of restaurants available.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Constantin-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Booked 7 months in advance two queen bed. Took forever to check in. There were lots of people behind the desk but only a couple actually working. Got to our room, it was a king not 2 queens as I requested. Dragged our luggage back to the lobby only to be told there were no more double beds until the following day. Had to go back to the lobby 3 times the following day just to change rooms.. Got to the new room and it's two double beds pushed together! The fur iture was horrible was supposed to be shabby sheik, just looked shabby! They advertised all kinds of restaurants or snack bars.. There were only a couple of restaurants and the snack bars were not open. Have been to Mexico a few times and will never go back to the grand oasis!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Dani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
6.3 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#42 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
11.0 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
4.6 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#49 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Oasis Sens
Grand Oasis Sens
#80 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,832 reviews
4.7 mi away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#75 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,797 reviews
13.2 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Oasis Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Oasis Cancun

Property: Grand Oasis Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 16.5 | Lotes 45-47, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#53 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#55 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#64 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Oasis Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 613
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
They don't call me The Entertainer for nothing: I'm the Grandmaster of fun, hosting live concerts, festivals and shows, even themed parties - plus everyday surprises like dancers in the lobby, and comedy skits by the longest pool in Cancun. I'm a Little more exlusive than my sister resort, Oasis Cancun, with extra amenities to make you feel special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Oasis Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Oasis Hotel Cancun
Grand Oasis Cancun Mexico
Oasis Cancun
Cancun Oasis
Oasis Grand Cancun
Grand Oasis Cancun Reviews
Grand Oasis Resort Cancun
Grand Oasis Cancun Hotel
Oasis Hotel Cancun Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing