We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Oasis Cancun
Nearby Hotels
$337
$330
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$800
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun(Cancun)
$465
$365
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$503
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$626
$506
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Le Blanc Spa Resort(Cancun)
$803
$676
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Cancun(Cancun)
$315
$224
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$404
$292
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Moon Palace Cancun(Cancun)
$604
$538
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (11,216)
Filter reviews
11,216 results
Traveler rating
2,720
3,006
2,177
1,272
2,041
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,720
3,006
2,177
1,272
2,041
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoyote locomaria bonitayounger crowdparty atmospherecoco bongoshowscareyescircusblastcarlos
Filter
Updating list...
4,553 - 4,558 of 11,216 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2012

we are seasoned travellors and not hard to please so we tried to keep an open mind after reading some bad reviews, but thr reality was worse than I could have imagined. Hotel disgustingly dirty, elevators quit working cause drunks pissed on open motors, 100 degree heat and bellboys loaded with luggage had to use stairs, we're given rooms that had not been cleaned which required multiple trips back to the desk, water from taps rusty and smelly, food was terrible. Asked to be moved to the Grand Oasis because we got tired on the smell of vomit in hallways and gathering areas. The Grand was only marginally better. It,s true what you read about it being a party house for college students on winter or spring break. NOT recommended for any other people or groups.

DO RECOMMEND the Mayan Temple tour combined with visit to local restaurant for lunch, tour also included visit to Mayan village, and at the end of the day, a dip in a privately owned freshwater cenote. This tour was worth every penny. When we visited, you were still able to climb the temple stirs (if you dared to)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Greyscale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karend68, Social Media Manager at Grand Oasis Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Dear Greyscale, Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback and will use this information to make improvements at our hotel. We have recently been under new management and there are many plans for improvements within the year. I hope that you will come back to Cancun and experience its many wonders! Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance at info@oasishotels.com. We hope to see you again in Cancun! Warm regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Traveled Feb. 23-28. This was our first time in Cancun and 2nd all-inclusive vacation. We found that you could make this resort a very good time if you work at it a little. Here are our tips:

The "Grand" (or black bracelet) is a must, so that you have full restaurant options. We enjoyed the Brazilian steakhouse, the Spanish tapas, Cocoa over the beach for seafood lunch (loved the fish ceviche and not the shrimp cocktail), and the sushi bar for a later night snack (but we made sure to order only cooked fish). Dos Lunas was also o.k., the spinach stuffed chicken was great!

We were not impressed with the buffet, or the bartenders, and did not find any traditional Mexican food to enjoy (except some guacamole from room service). We found the bartenders best at serving beer, or simple mixed drinks like a whiskey and coke. The margaritas we had were not good, nor the martinis, or other "tropical" drinks we expected to have. Dos Equis is the only beer, other than Sol cans in the mini bar.

Their were mostly only hamburgers and popcorn carts for snacks, and dinner didn't start until 6:30. We were very disappointed with the limited restaurant and bar hours. There were several times I wanted a snack or a drink and nothing close by was "open". swim up bars close WAY too early.

The grounds were beautiful and kept up very well. Our room was clean, and bathroom felt nice. We were in the main building. Not fancy, but quite acceptable.

The beach was very beautiful and large with plenty of lounge chairs and beds if you get to the beach between 7-9am. Be careful because people will steal your towels or move them. The water was rough, but we enjoyed swimming in the waves and floating in the surf!

Entertainment was good, if you can find the schedule, which was not easy for us. The latin/caribbean show in the up&down disco was Awesome, like a front row on Dancing with the Stars! The fire show in the main lobby was also pretty cool. We missed the foam party in the disco, but heard it smelled of puke and urine. Coyote Loco had a GREAT band for 70's and 80's covers, then switched to DJ playing pop and dance hits. There is a table for guests to dance on and girls dancing on the bar (for tips).

Our travel company was Olympus tours, and they really try to sell you excursions, you can get the same trips by the pool for the same prices. I pre-booked an excursion for "10% off" when we bought through Cheap Caribbean, and it was not discounted but the same price. Wait until you get there and then choose the best excursions for you when you know what you want.

Service was not great. You could get what you needed, but the resort staff was not going out of their way to help you.

Most people at this resort were in their late teens or early twenties it seemed, with some families, and some couples. Lots of singles, packs of guys. Not uncommon to see someone passed out or puking. But we loved the beach, enjoyed the entertainment, found some really good food, and took fun excursions to go zip-lining, see Mayan ruins, and swim in cenotes. it's a big resort with lots of choices if you take the time to explore.

Room Tip: Main building was nice. Party buildings were building1 & 2 - we avoided that whole area.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasonDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karend68, Manager at Grand Oasis Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Hola! Thanks so much for taking the time for a review on TripAdvisor! The input we get from our guests is a great tool for us to see how we can make sure our guests enjoy their experience at the Grand Oasis Cancun! We hope to see you again in Cancun…warm regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Our goal for this trip was to relax and unwind and we certainly accomplished that. I had never stayed at an all-inclusive resort and was very impressed with the ease of walking into restaurants and getting drinks anywhere we happened to be. We enjoyed all the different types of restaurants, especially the Brazilian. The International Buffet was wonderful for breakfast and we had lunch at the seafood, sushi, and Mediterranean restaurants, which were all very good.They all had a lot of good, healthy choices and we never felt like we overate.The waitstaff was incredibly helpful and friendly. They appeared at the table as soon as we had an empty plate or glass and asked what else they could get for us, as they removed the used items.

We never had a problem finding seats at the pool or the beach and even though my daughter wanted as much sun as possible and I wanted to limit my time in the sun, we were able to find seats next to each other, where we both could accommodate our needs. Entertainers came around the pool frequently and were fun to watch. There was a "swim-up" bar but the waitresses came around often enough. One afternoon,they brought out a huge tray of cups of cut-up fruit. The area of the pool where we sat, was quiet and we found that the same people chose to sit there each day so we could smile and wave and the atmosphere was very pleasant.

Our room was in the #3 building and we found it very convenient to everything that we wanted to do. It was quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLLovedCancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I was just at the oasis from Feb 23-29. The weather was AMAZING, the ocean was great. I really enjoyed the beach and the pool. The grounds keepers are great - its beautiful!
Ok here I go- the front desk people "seem" very helpful and knowleadgable- NOPE not at all.
We had a room on the 6th floor of the 2626-S ..... well I could hear everymove the people next door made- I mean EVERY MOVE!! UGGG
There are 11 dining options- OH wait nope only if you have a black band- My husband and I asked to up grade rooms or even just pay the difference so we could use all the resturants. Nope they wouldnbt let us- We would walk past these resturants and they were were tables and tables that werent being used!
The resturants that we could go to were HORRIBLE- cold,old, .. just not good.
The one place that was great was the Italian resturant- great food, lunch or dinner. You do have to go into the Grand oasis to make reservations the day before. Would have been nice if someone would have told us that..
The last thing is - we went while it was spring break ( this is out fault Not the resorts) LORDY LORDY dont go unless you want to see EVERYTHING. I must say the American spring breakers were very polite... not so much from a different country....

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vacationlover1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karend68, Social Media Manager at Grand Oasis Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Dear Vacationlover, Thanks for taking the time to post a review! I apologize for any inconvenice you expereinced during your stay at Oasis Cancun and hope you consider visiting one of our other properties in Cancun! Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at info@oasishotels.com if we can be of any assistance. Warm regards from Cancun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

My wife and I stay four times a year at this resort.As you can imagine we normally enjoy our stays.Our most recent stay,jan.25-jan.31,not so much.The food at ibezza the buffet restaurant was not good.The dinner sit down restaurants had a very limited menue and each required reservations.The rooms were not renovated just freshly painted.Not saying we won't return,just not sure.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capt484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews