We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanna go back! :)”
Review of Grand Oasis Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Oasis Cancun
Ranked #92 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We booked Grand Oasis. Black wrist bands are the best, haha. We had a great time! Food was good/great! No long waits.Staff was friendly and very helpful! Pools and beach were beautiful! We upgraded to a suite, which was great also! Bed was sooo comfortable! Easy public transportation, nice shopping areas.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D0nna1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRGOC, Manager at Grand Oasis Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2011

It will be a pleasure for us to have you here back, thanks for your comments.
MANAGMENT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,320 - 3,326 of 7,351 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2011

Been to Cancun about a dozen times… This Hotel was the absolute worst! The All Inclusive is a JOKE… The service was horrible. The Bars are ridiculous, they close bars at random times, the pool Bartender wouldn’t serve me because I was not in the pool? I was standing right next to the bar, he said “this is a pool bar, I need to help pool customers first.” Funny thing though, there was no one waiting for a drink….The Outside Bar had a line like Great Adventure… One guy making drinks….I guess no waitress service…Not once did anyone come up to me and ask me if I wanted a drink. The food at the outside Bar… Well done Hamburgers and Fries… this too was like waiting for an amusement park ride.. One guy just way over cooking everything…. My kids did not like Burnt Hard Burgers. I asked the guy twice to take my burger off the grill earlier, but no can do… He was cooking 20-30 at a time. The Oasis, and Grand Oasis are on the same grounds, but if you pay for the Grand Oasis, you get a Black Bracelet, if you stay at the plain old Oasis, well then you’re a second class citizen, which we found out on the first day. Special Beach, Bars, Restaurants, and ammeneties for BLACK Bracelet wearers only… The rooms are so run down, and smell like mildew. They should take a bulldozer to this place and start over. You want a great hotel… Stay at the Cancun Palace, been there twice and planning on returning soon.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Flvrs31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRGOC, Manager at Grand Oasis Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2011

We thank you for your comments, your backfeed is very important to us, so we can improve our service, we apologize because your experience wasnt good, we will work harder to try to acomplish all guest expectations,
MANAGMENT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Me and two friends stayed here in late march for our spring break and are planning on returning next year. I originally booked when it was Be Live and was wondering if my reservation was even legit before we arrived. However, as soon as we got to the hotel the front desk staff had my reservation changed over to Oasis and even upgraded us to an Oceanfront Room at no charge!!! The room was good, but not awesome, however, the view made up for it. The restaurants are good especially the Italian restaurant, however, stay away from the buffet. As for the cleanliness it is outstanding. You can definitely tell they want the place to look nice. The service is also outstanding, they want you to have a terrific vacation and will make sure you come back. I can also tell you they take security very seriously! One night we were coming back from a night of clubbing and saw the doorman refuse entrance to a lady because she didn't have the right wristband. As for the bars, nothing can beat free. If you want a STRONG drink from a great bartender go to Jamie he will take care of you. This man would have another round of drinks ready for us before we finished the first. I can tell you I was extremely worried the hotel would not be great when I booked it but only did because of the price, however, I can't wait to go back.

Lastly the value is outstanding!! We booked 4 nights, 5 days for $460 for 3 people during Spring Break!!! $115 per person for 5 days, all food and drinks included is amazing!!!! Not to mention a free upgrade to an Ocean Front view!!! Stay here and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexmbrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

just returned from my vacation at Grand Oasis Cancun on May 1, 2011 and I would like you to know how dissatisfied I was with my stay at your hotel. I had two rooms booked for 5 people.

On Friday April 29th, my daughter became trapped in the bathroom at room 5345-the door would not open at all. After we called front desk to report the situation a maintenance man came to our door approximately 10 minutes after the initial call. He worked on the door for about 20 minutes without being able to move it at all. He called for assistance and 2 more maintenance men showed up to assist him. After 45 minutes they were finally able to let my daughter out of the bathroom. Needless to say she was not very happy after this. My husband went to the front desk to get the room changed and after 20 minutes talking to the front desk person they reluctantly moved our room to 5205. So, now we had to pack up and move everything wasting away a good part of our day.

On Saturday April 30th at approximately 9:00 pm, my daughter was going to bed for the night when she noticed a infestation of ants in her bed. After contacted front desk, a cleaning lady had come up to the room and did not understand what the problem was. My daughter and father in law whom was also staying in the hotel explained the problem. The cleaning lady striped the beds, sprayed the beds and floor with toxic bug spray and remade the beds. Leaving us to sleep in a room that smelled of very strong bug killer and beds that smelled of bug spray, too. Not once did anyone offer us any compensation for this. Just left us to sleep in this room that was infested with ants.

Also, every morning between 1:00am and 3:00am the noise in the hallways from other guest returning from a long night of drinking was out of control. We did goto the front desk on Friday, April 29th and complained about it and they assured us it would not happen again because they would place a security guard in the hallway. This did not happen, so the noise continued every morning between these hours. This is very unacceptable to me and most guest we spoke to that were also staying in the resort.

I would never attempt to stay at the Grand Oasis Cancun or any other Oasis Hotel after this horrible experience. I have traveled to Cancun over 10 times in the past 8 years and never experienced anything like this.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cowpigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRGOC, Manager at Grand Oasis Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2011

We would like to apologize because the inconvenience you had at our hotel, we work hard to try to acomplish the expectations of all our guest, we are deeply commited to provide the best services possible, to have happy costumers, we once again apologize. Greetings
DIRECCION

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Staff was courteous, the food was EXCELLENT, the room was nice and clean and weather was perfect !!!!
the city is great, loved the shopping area and the fancy malls.
If you are looking for Talavera pottery, that is the place.
A+ !!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miroanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Everything about the Grand oasis was nice. Very clean and friendly staff. I was very surprised! I have been to Mexico many times and it's always the communication with the staff that is the only problem. But if that the only problem I had I really didn't have any. Food was not great but good. The wait at the restaurants was usually only 15 mins or so. The buffets were always well stocked and hot. As far as the pools go beautiful. Very clean place!!

I would go back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbo9881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Beautiful setting. Very nice beach with wonderful vistas. Room was a little small and showed some signs of wear. Service everywhere was outstanding...the staff was very professional and took pride in their work. Can't say enough about bartenders Sylvia, Oswaldo & Rigoberto; or about our waiters Paulino & Nery - all were oustanding. The Careyes Restaurant was elegant and exceeded our expectations. Kudos also go to the Sarape Restaurant - we were led to believe it was a buffet, but it actually served fine Mexican fare. We had lunch at Cocoa on our last day, and we can't say enogh. The on-beach location, the fod and drinksagain, were outstanding. The buffets were also well-stocked with a variety of tasty offerings. One negative: sometimes (in the pool and late at nite at the discotheque) it was just too, damn loud! In that sense theywent way out of their way to appeast the teenagers and young adults. One tip: bring a stack of $1 bills - a small tip from tourists seems to greatly appreciated - and the workers remember you and provide even better service.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tro53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.5 mi away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#48 of 176 in Cancun
3,599 reviews
7.6 mi away
Grand Oasis Sens
Grand Oasis Sens
#85 of 176 in Cancun
5,261 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Pyramid at Grand Oasis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#73 of 176 in Cancun
2,993 reviews
2.3 mi away
Occidental Costa Cancun
Occidental Costa Cancun
#47 of 176 in Cancun
5,768 reviews
5.8 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 176 in Cancun
4,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Oasis Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Oasis Cancun

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 16.5 | Lotes 45-47, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#55 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#55 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#66 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $181 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Oasis Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 613
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
They don't call me The Entertainer for nothing: I'm the Grandmaster of fun, hosting live concerts, festivals and shows, even themed parties - plus everyday surprises like dancers in the lobby, and comedy skits by the longest pool in Cancun. I'm a Little more exlusive than my sister resort, Oasis Cancun, with extra amenities to make you feel special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Oasis Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Oasis Hotel Cancun
Grand Oasis Cancun Mexico
Oasis Cancun
Cancun Oasis
Oasis Grand Cancun
Grand Oasis Cancun Reviews
Grand Oasis Resort Cancun
Grand Oasis Cancun Hotel
Oasis Hotel Cancun Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing