We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone is Friendly & Go Out of Their Way To Please”
Review of Cancun Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cancun Bay Resort
Ranked #40 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2013

If you are looking for a great beach and crystal clear water, none of the resorts in this area have it. However their pools are very clean and children kept out of the adult pools.
If you are looking for a very friendly staff with great service, good food and drinks, mainicured landscaping, clean rooms, this is your place.

They turn their hot water off at night, so 5AM showers do not have hot water, but later times, the water was always hot.

Our room (a junior suite) did show wear, but was very clean and spacious.
We did not look for a fitness center or use room service. Our room was on the ground floor and faced the ocean & pool bar. The servers always brought our drinks and food to our patio when we requested and sometimes when not requested.

This was our second time in Cancun. To stay at our previous resort or at one that has a higher rating would have cost us an additional $1000 for the two weeks that we stayed. We are glad we stayed at Cancun Bay Resort and would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are not pleased with your room or anything for that matter, request a change and they will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorfolkVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 1,310 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed at the resort for five days in the beginning of December and had a wonder vacation. We were originally hesitant about the hotel based on previous Trip Advisor reviews. Granted it is not a new opulent hi rise, but it is a very clean, cozy and unbelievely friendly place -- perfect for our min-vacation. The breakfast and dinner buffets served in the dining room offered good food quality and variety. Lunch was a lighter fare served pool side. We recommend the all inclusive option. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. Activities were on-going by the beach pool all afternoon. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would like to give a shout out to Celso, our waiter, Roberto, at the Customer Service desk, and Marco at the front desk. Thanks for marking our stay special. The Cancun Bay Resort is a great place at a value price and we look forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: Rooms near the road and around the lobby can be noisy. However, rooms close to the lobby have wifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Princmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Would like to say Merry Christmas to all at Cancun Bay Resort! We stayed at the resort for our 22nd Anniversary with a group of 10 people from Ohio and had an absolutely fantastic time!!! The staff was wonderful! WE miss you all!! Ready to come back! We spent a lot of time with Eric, our activity director, Ivan, Rafael, Lizett, and Elda who we loved dearly but also extend a thank you to all the staff in addition to those stated. They all provided outstanding service! The food was wonderful, special attention from the chef was greatly appreciated! I can go on and on! The rooms are in need of updating which is in working process. We loved the swim up bar/pool, and our long walks on the beach at night. Highly recommended! What we loved the most is that you felt like family. Everyone knew your name and sometimes we would pick up nicknames like Sharon Stone, Shawn Connery lol! Again Merry Christmas! Many
in Ohio loves You all!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Had an amazing week at the resort! I really enjoyed the staff. We were treated like they really wanted us to stay longer. During the short week we met personally with the Chef, Hotel Manager, Bar Manager, and other professionals. One on one service from all staff was a nice surprise.
The food was great as well. Many dishes had a local flare to them which offered a taste of the area while not throwing our American bellies into a spiral.
One area that can be improved on is the flooring. Many areas had slight elevation changes and low steps that can make it easy to trip. Also the pool deck and hallways can be slippery with wet feet. The rooms were clean all be it old. Could use some updating there also but we were not in the room much since the resort had us busy at the pool and pool bar.
Thank you to Erik the Activity Director, Rafael in the restaurant for your attitude and smile, Elda at the pool bar, Ivan at the lobby bar, and Lizet the Banquet and Bar Manager. Lizet went above and beyond.

Room Tip: The bottom floor made easy access to the pool and restaurant. There are no elevators but the top flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Perfect vacation! every person working there does everything they can to make you happy and feel at home. I would definitely recommend the all inclusive package, where you get free drinks all day from either the bar by the pool or the one in the lobby area, unlimited nachos, wings, hot dogs, burgers and fries by the pool. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the restaurant. And everyone waits on you hand and foot so if is a truely amazing stay in paradise! Ivan the bar tender is amazing and a blast to hangout with at the swim up bar. Celso and Rafael always make sure you are hydrated, full and happy anywhere you are in the building, and all the servers by a few days into your stay will know what you drink and bring it too you. Pablo the security guard was also great! Me was very friendly and knew all of our names. All of this was possible due to the fact that it was a smaller hotel, but they didn't lack anything for hospitality!

The only thing was the rooms could Have be updated a little. The bathrooms were nice, however we has the family suite, and as are used to having a little kitchenette.. There was a counter with a sink and a table but nothing else, also the twin beds weren't that comfortable, very thin foam "mattress"

Make sure you book excursions when you are there! We did the xplor which was amazing and a must if you want to zip line, see caves and ride atvs. We also took a catamaran over to isla mujeres, which is a little island that look about 45 minutes to get too.

And lastly if you plan on shopping I hope you don't mind haggling! Because that is all the tourist stores are in cancun...

Overall a perfect stay at the perfect place in paradise and I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silyak6220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Wow..the room has 7 beds with 2 bedrooms ,ocean view for the 3 of us so we had fun sleeping on each one . The decor is good. The food is so tasty..so delicious and the soups are incredible. The restaurant staff , Celso is highly appreciated..so attentive and kind and so with Rafael . Marco ,front desk was very helpful. The location is convenient to public bus , boat tours , Catholic Church . The pool is clean and the beach is quiet. There's pool activities and for those who wants to relax ..this is the place. No night time parties and food is served only till 10 pm.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank 1activemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My week at Cancun Bay Resort proved what I've been missing! I traveled with a large group and the food/beverage manager Lizet and staff were more than accommodating. Lizet ran a very tight ship and sincerely cared about the needs of the guests; the dining staff was very attentive. Chef created a variety of choices from the buffet: authentic Mexican or with a twist; all excellent! Rafael couldn't stop smiling and genuinely seems to love his job; nothing he couldn't do. Alan was always present with drinks. Ivan was awesome behind the bar and rocked us with his Scooby Doo! Housekeeping maintained clean, comfortable rooms daily (BYO washcloth & hair dryer.) And Erik...super entertainment director helped make this the trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
5.4 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#49 of 177 in Cancun
2,212 reviews
1 mi away
Casa Maya Cancun
Casa Maya Cancun
#61 of 177 in Cancun
1,467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
#102 of 177 in Cancun
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
#101 of 177 in Cancun
927 reviews
3.3 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#71 of 177 in Cancun
5,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cancun Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cancun Bay Resort

Address: Boulevard KukulKan Km 3.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Qbay Cancun)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $125 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cancun Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL INCLUSIVE beachfront hotel. Cancun Bay Resort is located at kilometer 3.5 from Cancun Hotel Zone on Linda Beach, is within 5 minutes to downtown with endless entertainment options to get fun as a Shopping Malls, specialty Restaurants, Night Clubs and just 25 minutes from Cancun International Airport. The hotel has a recent renovation that offers a new minimalist image, with 132 rooms with a fresh and fun deco, with the All-Inclusive program our guests will be able to enjoy our two bars and our wide gastronomic variety in our main restaurant "El Faisan" (air-conditioned), our snack bar "La Pina Colada", our "Sushi Bar" or "La Trattoria" or booking a romantic candlelight dinner (extra charge). Among our facilities and services we have two swimming pools; one of them recently renovated with a top-of-the-line coating and avant-garde lighting, the second with a spectacular view of the caribbean sea with wading pool and jacuzzi for adults only; massage area (with extra charge), wireless internet in common areas free of charge, ping pong table, pool table, reading area, free parking, ATM (dollars), concierge desk and new ballroom with 183m2 with capability up to 200 people and split into three break outs (extra charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cancun Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qbay Cancun Hotel And Suites
Qbay Cancun Hotel Cancun
Hotel Verano Beat Cancun
Verano Beat Club
Club Verano Beat Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing