We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Time In Cancun”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ocean Spa Hotel
Ranked #59 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First Time In Cancun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We didn't spend much time in the hotel because we took advantage of all the excursions Cancun had to offer. Since we didn't spend a lot of time in our room, I felt it was adequate enough for the price. It's not a fancy hotel but the staff were very kind and accommodating. Esteban went out of his way to make sure we had fun with the outdoor activities and also showed us the nightlife. The VIP treatment and hospitality was top notch and I can't thank him enough for making our first time experience one to remember.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Noelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    789
    451
    223
    270
See reviews for
856
859
71
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

The hotel was ok, we were given a room on the 3rd floor then told there was no elevator. After walking up 3 flights of stairs to get to our room we found the air conditioner didnt work, the door to the shower was off track and the view was of a portion of the pool not the ocean as advertised. We complained to the front desk and were given a room on the 1st floor the next day, now we have a view of bushes but atleast the air condition was working. The staff was very helpful and nice. The buffet at the hotel was not delicious the other sister hotels were much better and if you had all inclusive you could eat and drink there as well. I suggest spend a couple extra $$ and book with a different hotel.

Room Tip: Ask what floor you are getting and if the elevator works before you sign for the key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Ocean Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for your review.
We regret for not being able to fulfill your expectations. I am addressing each of your concerns with our team and I assure you we are working to make the necessary improvements.
We hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to provide you with a better vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Started off on the wrong foot as passport control at the airport was an hour+ to get though (in March). When we got through the barrage of people trying to sell you taxi rides and giving you false info (we followed the instructions to ignore them and walk outside). We found our pickup had either not come, or just left as we took so long to get through the airport security. So we had to pay, although I believe it wasn't very much anyway (by UK standards..). We did get a voucher from the hotel for a free taxi back to the airport after the holiday (which we would have had to pay for anyway), so that wasn't so bad..

We arrived at the hotel around 11pm, stood at reception while someone (manager?) apologised to someone (a guest?) on the phone for a few minutes while 2 other members of staff looked busy, only the guy on phone actually acknowledged we were standing there with a gesture (while still apologising on the phone).
One of the staff eventually greeted us and gave us a room. We had asked a few weeks earlier for a sea view room, the receptionist showed us the booking paper which made no mention of this (clearly this is something that happens a lot). Probably the fault of the agency who we booked it through, but never mind. He did say to see how the room is tonight and come back tomorrow if you're not happy. By morning we realised we could kind of see the sea, and the room was good enough, so we stayed there anyway.

Room was good, very clean at least. Air con did have a bit of a stale water smell, but didn't bother us. Was cleaned each day, sometimes it was cleaned before the towels were changed, seemed to be an ongoing issue with slow towel replacement/washing.

Food was fine, general 'safe' selection, worth queuing in the morning for the chef cooked food at the side. Drinks were fine too, might not be very very strong, but we were all inclusive so you can just order another anyway..

The dreaded and anticipated sales presentation. Same as all other reviews. High pressure, continued wash of numbers and what a great deal it is, as each reply decreases in cost until the 4th person you speak to finally gives up and allows you to leave. Best off just saying no each time and get it over with as politely as possible without ruining your holiday. Spent a good 2-3hrs, and we could have probably done it quicker if we weren't so polite.

The pool was quite quiet when we went, but during the afternoon it was really too hot to be in the direct sun, lack of chairs/beds in shade (probably to stop people staying in one place all day?).
We left towels on a bed while we moved to sit at the smaller (kids pool) for an hour. Came back and 1 towel was gone. Reception staff came and had a look, but that was it. No replacement towel and the 'towel hut' wouldn't give a new one. Thankfully we did find a towel later that day, no idea if it was ours or not, but we handed it in so we didnt have to pay the $50 fine.... (Terrible towels as well, FYI). Most morning there were no beach towels anyway, sometimes having to wait around until 11am-12pm until the clean ones were there. Pretty terrible for a hotel really....

Beach isn't great, lots of seaweed when we went, but the free shuttle bus to the other hotels (mainly the sunset royal) is where you go for the beach.

Sunset Royal beach is amazing. Just go there everyday if you want the white sands and blue/green crystal clear waters. Sea is much more 'rough' on that side of cancun, but there you go.

Apart from the reception staff and the sales/time-share staff - the rest of the staff were lovely, very friendly, wanted to help, valued there job and wanted to do a good job.

All in all a good place for a couple wanting to just relax. I mainly mention the negative points, but still a '4 out of 5' review. Might return if it's a good price and you can still access sunset royal beach, if not, wouldn't bother going.

Thank you to all the staff, I wrote these down from March.... Carlos, Josue, Gaby, Lourdes, Alexia, Blanka, Pascual. Many others as well. Thanks again!

Room Tip: We had a pool view/sea view room, so no traffic sound. Also were on the 3rd floor so had a better vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Damien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Freedom, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

The Hotel's reception is unfriendly and rude. The restaurant's supervisor Liset is very nice and courteous but Captain is mean. Bartender Santiago is very friendly. But you have to be careful they will find different way to over charge you. Pool has no activities like other hotel for kids or family and no music in the pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JiJi435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Ocean Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Guest:
We deeply regret we were unable to meet and exceed your expectations.
Feedback is very important for us since it enables us to make positive changes where needed. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in order to show you our improvements and provide you with a better vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Belize City, Belize
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

From looking at the pictures this hotel would look quite welcoming - that is until you actually stay in it...I was dissappointed first by how tiny the room was and even more so when I saw the tiny little bathroom...We came in one night to find a huge cockroach which we had to kill. The kids pool looked like it hadn't been cleaned for days. And beach (what beach???) there's a tiny lil area that they try to pass off as a beach....its smack in between two piers so boats on both sides. There was not much variety at all when it came to the food...they didn't even have a common thing as hotdogs - everytime my kids asked for this or pepperoni pizza they would say they are out and so we had to go to the XOXO store across the street where we found hot dogs and pepperoni pizzas. The staff especially those working the pool area where very unfriendly and were of no help....had to go order something to drink every single time as they didn't even bother to come around to us (like we were being ignored) This is one hotel that I will not be returning to anytime soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

This was the worse vacation we have ever been on!!! The staff needs to be educated on what customer service is, they were rude and unfriendly. The food was terrible most days the buffet had the same food for lunch as they did for diner or a revised version. The buffet was supposed to open at 6:30 am most days it wasn't open until 7.The so called Italian restaurant was a joke with only 2 items that even resembled Italian food. We got there on Saturday by 1:30 am Sunday morning our daughter was already vomiting with diarrhea. We had problems with the air conditioner in our room dripping foul smelling water when they came to fix it a bucket load of foul smelling water poured out onto the floor they wiped it up with towels and when we asked about cleaning it they said the smell would go away!! The towel shop ran out of beach towels, we had cockroaches in our room once they got them out they fumigated our room and we couldn't use our room for the rest of the day!!! Definitely don't go there for the beach there is none,no beautiful sand, no swimming,no waves, just seaweed! The spa was a joke it was staffed with 1 person the day we were supposed to get our massages at the same time we had to wait while 1 person at a time went. We had used our time share to exchange to go on this vacation which then requires a 90 minute time share meeting our meeting started at 8 am and never ended until 1:15 pm with never ending pressure to purchase a time share with them which we told them from the beginning we would not be purchasing a time share. The sales representative Chad was the nephew of the owner and even referred to the Ocean Spa Hotel as "the Cockroach Hotel "which his uncle also owns. This place is an absolute "Don't Stay" Sue Y

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueY122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Nasty food, not much variety, rude staff, not very accommodating, drinks are more aesthetically pleasing than they actually taste, rooms are despicable, asked for clean towels (since they don't give them to you everyday-you have to ask) I was given dirty towels with brown stains and told I shouldn't worry about the stains because they're clean. Transportation was terrible, we were left stranded after paying an all inclusive price of $169 for the XPlor excursion (a lot of fun) which is 2 hours away and we had to figure out a way to get back. Overall experience is terrible! Please don't stay here!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reedb6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.2 mi away
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
0.0 mi away
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
#93 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
#96 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa Maya Cancun
Casa Maya Cancun
#67 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
0.9 mi away
Real Inn Cancun
Real Inn Cancun
#60 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
5.2 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Spa Hotel

Property: Ocean Spa Hotel
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 3.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Spa Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Hotel is strategically located in the hotel zone of Cancun, between downtown and the shopping centers, restaurants and many area attractions. It offers excellent all inclusive service with a marvelous view of the Caribbean Sea and Isla Mujeres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Carrousel Cancun
Hotel Carrousel Cancun
Carrousel Cancun
Ocean Hotel Cancun Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing