We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay at Ocean Spa Hotel”
Review of Ocean Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Spa Hotel
Ranked #50 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed March 16, 2014

For the most part, our stay was wonderful and relaxing. The food was always tasty and delicious. The drinks were really good too- short wait on them most of the time. The beach is beautiful, the cabanas and chairs are very comfy. You will have a lot of vendors walking by trying to sell you all sorts of things. We had no interest in any of that, so that could be a bit annoying. The staff were mainly friendly and helpful. We did have one issue when we were leaving- we had been told and reassured that they would call a cab to us, no extra charges, etc. However, on the morning when we were leaving, fairly early, the man at the front desk tried to charge us $35 to place a call for a cab. We argued it, then finally said to put it on a charge card, and he suddenly said we didn't have to pay. Other than that, everyone else was beyond helpful and accommodating. We had a fantastic trip, and even met some new friends!

Room Tip: If you can get one the suites, do it. We got an unexpected upgrade to one, and it was fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmthackery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,953)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

824 - 830 of 2,953 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

My husband and I had a multiple all-inclusive package of the Sunset resorts but this is where we stayed for 7 days and 6 nights. This definitely wasn't the best of the 4 Sunset resorts but we thought that it definitely gave good value for what you paid for. We preferred to stay at the beach at the Sunset Royal (one of the sister resorts) but we went kayaking at the beach in front of this resort. There are docks right in front of the resort where we actually rode the boat to Isla Mujeres. There is bulletin board which posted the activities throughout the day. The buffet was okay. We usually ate at the buffets at the sister resorts when we had time. We liked the pizza from the poolside pizzeria and the drinks from the lobby bar. They had a Mexican, Asian and Italian restaurant that we weren't able to try as we didn't make reservations on time.

The room and pool were average. We only had the standard room though. We absolutely loved the massages from the hotel spa. Staff service was hit and miss, sometimes excellent and sometimes it was just below average. We didn't find the time share presentation bad at all as we were able to get an overview of what the other resorts had to offer and that knowledge made our trip great as we were able to plan our activities for the next days. We were able to book our activities right at the hotel which made our trip go smoothly. They even gave us the Isla Mujeres trip as a gift, so no complaints there.

Again, we're thankful to Sunset resorts for the wonderful time we had.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor overlooking the pool. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Addictedtotravel_411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The Ocean Spa Hotel was extremely nice on the inside including everything from the pool bar and the snack stand to each room layout and direct access to the beach. We went as a group of 14 college students and were very well accomodated by everyone there including Salvador, who helped with planning our trip. We had a great time every night as Ahmed brought us to the best nightclubs in Cancun and even provided transportation. He was really fun and friendly and made it really easy for us to get where we needed to go even though we were all visiting for the first time. The service and the cleaning staff, including Elsi and Maria Jose were great and we never had a problem with the room. The bartenders were also great; we never had a problem getting drinks even with such a large group.
Overall the 7 day trip was fantastic and we would definitely book again with Ocean Spa. The location, price, staff, and service were really unbeatable and we all thank everyone there for making our trip to Cancun amazing.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed for 5 days and 4 nights. The front lobby people were very rude and would not follow through on their said compensation. We kept asking to talk to the manager but the staff would tell us that they don't know where he is. If i wanted to give my customers the best service i would accomodate their request especially if they were promised a compensation! Was very dissapointed about this!
The servers were great and housekeeping was excellent but the room smelled like wet towels even after housekeeping came in.
Overall, we enjoyed our vacation but would not return to this hotel again!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julz0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We went to this with a family of 6 on a time share. First mistake. Be careful, we were ripped off by concierge for $ 90.00 and just watch everything keyed in. Not till we saw our credit card did we see this. If you didn't tip well and often you were not treated well. No one could change a $ 20.00 bill for us so we could tip and when we didn't have change we were yelled at by staff for not tipping. We have been to St. Maartin and Bahamas and they were amazing vacations. This just felt like we were paying everyone's salaries constantly and if you didn't watch out!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slfamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

. We sat through the Time Share presentation, turned it down but on reflection we bought a vacation plan which we found to be an outstanding value given the quality of the food, service and staffing. We visited the sister hotels for entertainment and dinners and got there with Ocean Spa's free bus that runs about every hour or so. I personally saw tourist make idiots of themselves and make demands on the patience of fellow guests and the staff. We only saw one staff behave poorly when a tourist did not understand a seating arrangement for a reservation only area of the dining.
With the three sister hotels being available with all their facilities with a short water taxi or bus ride, the value is unmistakable. The food is some of the best we have had in Mexico.

Room Tip: Tip everyone who serves you sincerely, generously, the Mexican economy does not allow the staff to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband, brother, sister-in-law and I just returned from the most wonderful week at the Ocean Spa Hotel! Achmed-entertainment, Jose-pool bar, Michel-beach bar, Dany-bartender, Pascual-waiter & Lilia Rosel-room were just a few of the outstanding workers at this resort to make the week unforgettable! Each one of these people knew us by name and our "likes" by the second or third day at this resort. The whole place was very clean, the food very good including all 3 of the specialty restaurants. Other than the terrible sales pressure and never ending sales people we needed to listen to about buying into the timeshare portion of this resort, this is one of best vacations! I recommend avoiding the sales pitch...not worth 3 hours of your time away from this resort.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gpn4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.2 mi away
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
0.8 mi away
Casa Maya Cancun
Casa Maya Cancun
#61 of 176 in Cancun
1,419 reviews
0 mi away
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
#100 of 176 in Cancun
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
2.2 mi away
LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun
5.2 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#46 of 176 in Cancun
2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Spa Hotel

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 3.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $156 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Hotel is strategically located in the hotel zone of Cancun, between downtown and the shopping centers, restaurants and many area attractions. It offers excellent all inclusive service with a marvelous view of the Caribbean Sea and Isla Mujeres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Carrousel Cancun
Hotel Carrousel Cancun
Carrousel Cancun
Ocean Hotel Cancun Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing