We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cheap city hotel. Not a beach or resort spot. Watch out!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Smart

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oasis Smart
Ranked #45 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
new york, ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cheap city hotel. Not a beach or resort spot. Watch out!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Be careful. Cancun city is just a boring annoying place. This hotel is there. Nowhere near anything you picture when you think of the beach.

Far from the beach. Taxis.

Not a resort hotel - a cramped city hotel with small rooms etc. You would be happier at Best Western

Even the layout of the place is yucky. Low ceilings, bad circulation.

Staff is unfriendly and useless.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank extradrwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Oasis Smart, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for take the time to share your comments with Trip Advisor readers, the Smart hotel is indeed a business hotel although it have all the amenities and services of a beach resort, is important to mention as well that you have access to the beach club at the Oasis Palm resort which is gorgeous and is only 5 minutes away from the hotel, the bus which is comfortable and safe is just 1 Dollar and fun to ride. we are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations regarding the service, your comments are very important to us as they are the best way for us to improve and deliver better services for future guests.
We hope you can give us the chance to welcome you again in the future and improve your idea of our hotel.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    132
    48
    11
    29
See reviews for
78
169
34
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

It is low season, they are re"marketing" and renovating the property. Wish they had advised on their own website (and other on-line travel booking engines) that there would be construction and that the facilities mentioned on their website would be not available. The Sushi restaurant is gone, only one available restaurant. This gets boring after day 2. The swimup bar is gone with no bar pool service or music available.Under construction is the "White Terrace" and it looks like it will be a outdoor/bar cafe when done. The Spa is closed and empty and don't know whether it will be replaced. Half the hotel was no Oasis Oh and black and white. There was constant sawing and construction noise at the pool as it looks like there are revamping and putting in whirlpool tubs and permanent seating. Nice for the future but I didn't like the paint fumes or the sawing at the pool.
Checkin experience horrible. I did not choose all-inclusive, just european plan. Every Hotel I have ever checked into has required a credit card or at the very least a cash deposit, regardless of whether or not you are all inclusive or european plan. The first thing I did was hand over my credit card. Front desk explained they did not need it. I was very embarressed the next evening when they denied my service in the restaurant as I was now required to go to the front desk and give them a credit card or pay cash for my expenses. This is reported as a business hotel? Their billing system does not allow you to add a tip on your bill? Again how silly is this.

As it was low season there were very few guests and few staff. All the Bar and restaurant staff and managers old and new were very very nice but run off their feet covering the hotel. Service was very spotty. Food selection very limited and repetitive.

I was a full paying customer, they would have made more money off me if they were more attentive? Passing by the pool once an hour to ask if I needed a drink (which I am paying and tipping for ) is that too much to ask? Many of the nice staff were new and just need more training.

The rooms need an overhall. Clean but need updating.As mentioned in other reviews the rooms facing busy road and their new disco poll dancing coyote bar open to the wee hours need to be avoided, get a room facing the pool as it would be quieter except during the day as there would be noisy construction.

I hope once the renovations are completed the hotel will be fully staffed and trained and the new concept Oh! might fly? Just wish it would have been noted on website about hotel re-do

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BasilSnubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Oasis Smart, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest:

We appreciate the time you took to share your comments with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience we caused with all the renovations we are making on our facilities and restaurants, we made this to offer our guests a better experience. We are still making some changes and adding new activities and shows to expand the range of services.
We are glad you received a good service from our team, be assured that we will congratulate them for making your stay pleasant
We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back in the near future and improve your experience with our new concept.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I stayed for 2 weeks in Oasis Smart. It was awesome! Nice staff, good food, really clean, lovely swimming pool and the location was okay. I enjoyed my stay very much. Cancun itself is also really beautiful. Good restaurants, big shopping malls and of course, the beach is paradise. The nightlife is great. Especially the ladies nights. You can get free mix drinks.
For me it was also a safe place and like I said, I had the best time.

Really recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MissM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Smart, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Miss:

It gives us great pleasure to know that we were able to make your first visit so pleasant and that we met your expectations We are glad to know you enjoyed our dining options and facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you once again. Please feel free to contact us if you need assistance with anything to make your next stay a unique experience.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed over Chritmas and New year. This is a very strange hotel where you go down 5 steps to get into the lift to go up. On an evening you are not likely to see any body they all go out for meals, but in the morning coaches come in 2 or 3 at a time so the dining room is full of Mexicans sitting around after clearing all the food. The waiter would not even look at you they just ignore you. The food is very poor looks like it has been left from the meal before cold burgers and chips no alternative. Forget having paid for AI they do not use the remains of the pool bar, the snack bar is left lights on TV on but no staff. The drinks bar every thing is locked in cupboards below the shelf . We tried to ring our travel company but they would not allow calls to England our only way out was to pay 13500 pesos to change to Palm Beach which we would not do

Room Tip: get a room at the back of the hotel or you wont sleep for noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, Director General at Oasis Smart, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Derek:

Dear Guest:

We regret not having met your expectations, so we offer our sincere apologies and inform you that all views are taken into account in order to improve our services and meet the expectations of our guests more fully and effectively.

No more for now we welcome your feedback.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We had a great holiday staying at this hotel. The rooms were nice and clean and the pool area was fantastic, quiet most days, very relaxing. Very friendly, helpful staff, especially Oscar, Wilbert and Martin.
It is downtown cancun rather than the hotel zone (although this is only a short taxi or bus ride away) so you can experience Cancun away from all the tourists. great places to eat just over the road and also a shopping mall less than 10 minute walk away with shops and restaurants.
I would stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mex2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Smart, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear guest:

We greatly appreciate the special mention of those members of our team who helped make your stay more pleasant. We will surely congratulate them for their great job.
They work hard for our guests to remember their experience at our hotel with a huge smile.
We are delighted that you had a pleasant vacation overall.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

This was sold as a tourist hotel and most definitely is not!!
The staff are never around and when you want a drink because you are all inclusive (waste of money) they don't speak English and are rude and ignorant! The food is absolutely discussing! Nothing for kids and nothing for kids to do either. The rooms are basic. Spent most of our holiday money eating out! Most of the time the majority of the people in the hotel are local businessmen. Will never recommend this or any other oasis resort to anyone nor will I be coming back!! Staff just do not want to help and if you ask them for something it feels like it's a bother to them!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, Director General at Oasis Smart, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Alexandra:

It is unfortunate to have not met your expectations. Your comment has been taken into account and will be referred to the appropriate area taking the necessary steps to correct these inconsistencies in service and provide better care in the future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Definitely not a vacation/tourist hotel and should not be marketed as such! The food and drinks are scarce, and the service is horrible...worst I've ever experienced in my 6th visit to Cancun!! Will never ever come back to this nor any other Oasis resort!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MDP201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Smart, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us. We want to let you know that every day we are making changes and improvements to our hotels to provide our guests with excellent service. We look forward to see you again in our hotel to enhance your experience.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.2 mi away
LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun
1.8 mi away
One Cancun Centro
One Cancun Centro
#33 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
1.2 mi away
ibis Cancun Centro
ibis Cancun Centro
#71 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 stars 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fiesta Inn Cancun Las Americas
5.3 mi away
Aloft Cancun
Aloft Cancun
#58 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 691 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ambiance Suites
Ambiance Suites
#57 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Smart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Smart

Property: Oasis Smart
Address: Avenida Tulum Esq. Brisa s/n | Col. Centro, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Oasis America)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Cancun
#29 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oasis Smart 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Who says you can't be smart and beautiful? Not me! I mix business and pleasure in a most delightful way: a downtown location, an ultra-hip decor and an Executive Floor with great facilities plus a swimming pool, Spa, fitness center and Beach Club access at the Oasis Palm. I'll even throw in a complimentary Smart Car for your stay - how clever is that?" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Oasis Smart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis America Hotel Cancun
Oasis America Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing