We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to be” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temptation Cancun Resort.

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Temptation Cancun Resort.
Ranked #3 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Cancun
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2009

My wife and I went here for our honeymoon and couldnt have been more impressed. The resort was everything that is was described as and more.

The staff was very friendly and would help you in any way possible.

The entertainment cast was the best I have seen at any resort that I have been to. The games had an adult tone but you didnt have to do anything that you didnt want to do and they were a blast to watch.

There are also many games that arent adult orientated that you should join in on if you have the chance. Water volleyball, volleyball, horseshoes, ping pong...

The resort itself has a number of restaurants that you can eat at. The buffet was nice, nothing special but just good. The italian restaurant was great, we ate their twice and enjoyed our meal both times. The chinese restaurant was also very good. The wait staff there was beyond what we expected and we certainly enjoyed that. The lunch time snack grill was also very good. I think we ate there all 7 days and I had something different each time.

You must go on the booze cruise on Friday night with Sergio. It was a blast. About 90 minutes of cruising then they drop you off at Carlos and Charlies with a full dinner buffet.

I see a few reviews about swingers. We were never approached and didnt really see any of that going on. This resort is just basically an adult spring break.

If you want a quieter room. Ask for one overlooking the quiet pool. The loudest rooms are the ones overlooking Patty O's bar.

Great value for the price paid.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barich16cmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,829
    1,414
    514
    290
    261
See reviews for
52
2,277
186
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (966)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hawkeyefans
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2009

We stayed April 14th - 19th, 2009. We booked "Best Day" shuttle service and the trip to and from the resort was fine- no problems. We were at the resort within 1 hr. from touching ground. Avoid everyone in the airport and head directly outside and find your transportation. All shuttle/taxi services are right outside the door. Car rentals I am not for sure.

Arrival @ Temptation check-in fast. After a quick "no thank you" for the breakfast tour we were off to the room (room #1201). Room was gorgeous- Temptation suite with hot tub and large balcony right on the beach facing the ocean 2nd floor. Only 12 rooms are this close to the ocean and what a fabulous view. This was an upgraded suite from the pool view suites and over twice the size. We opted for the "Drops of Love" package (Very romantic) and received the upgraded room for free. Room was very clean and beautifully decorated. The was a slight musty/moldy smell upon arrival. We simply hung dryer sheets on the AC vents and a few around the room. Never noticed the smell again. Bed was a little firmer then I'm used to but very comfortable. Lots of pillows, a couch, changing/makeup/closet room with a bench and 8 ft. long mirror, very large bathroom w/ large jacuzzi tub and rain shower head, large entry room and living room area, 42" LCD TV facing the bed. AC worked great and came with a remote. Large windows and double sliding door to balcony w/ comfortable furniture. Actually slept on balcony one night. Again incredible view! Bonus- unlimited water, stocked frig, a dozen roses, champagne, chocolate and petite fours daily!

Food- Buffet- average at best! Breakfast the best at buffet. Ala Cart Restaurants- Outstanding especially the Italian Restaurant order the beef fillet! 24 hr. food service at Paty 'O's was great for that 2:00 a.m. burger. Probably not the best burger in the world but after about 2 gallons of beer they were awesome.

Drinks were good - WooHoo and Drunken Monkey's for the women and just beer for me. The beer (XX) was fair. Seemed to take a heck of a lot needed for me to get drunk. Rainbow shots were very taste but not much alcohol as part of the shot is OJ. But very very good. Yes, they have Captain Morgan at all the bars except pool bars.

Entertainment: Sexy pool- FUN but you must place towels or something on them early in the morning (before 8:30 a.m.) to get a lounge chair. Sports pool- wife and I played volleyball and always somebody to play with. Ping Pong and Bags. The bars and theme nights were a riot. We never left the resort. Get involved!

The beach: I was surprised after reading some reviews I didn't expect much. Sure there was some seaweed but they worked hard to keep clean as possible. Large beach with soft sand. plenty of lounge chairs on the beach.

Staff: Very friendly and helpful lots of smiles! Juvo was awesome!

Massage was fair.

NO BUGS or very few. We saw a few ants outside and once in the sports bar.

Swingers- probably a few but wife and I never bothered. Very nice and friendly people.

We did tip staff often. Did we get special treatment for tips? I'd say no, so if your budget is tight really no need to tip.

Tips- Bring a travel mugs i.e. "Big Bubba" mugs (Wal-Mart) $5.00, 52 oz. Dryer sheets for mold smell place on AC, around the room and drawers, bring sunscreen very expensive in store, bring your own towel to identify easily when reserving lounge chairs, alarm clock, etc...

Any questions please feel free to email me.

Great Trip and would highly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank hawkeyefans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2009

We read a lot of reviews before coming and they made me a little iffy about the resort but decided to see for ourselves. Turned out the resort was great! Just make sure you ask for a room in a quiet area and bring a big cup so you don't have to go get a new beverage every 5 minutes. Definitely make reservations for the restaurants, they are well worth it. DON'T go to the "Welcome Breakfast" it's [--]. Finding a lounge chair is sometimes difficult....as long as you are out there by 9am then you shouldn't have a problem finding a good spot.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kprangley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2009

My partner and I stayed April 4 to April 11, 2009 with Conquest Vacations. Whew! We dodged the bullet on that one because Conquest shut down on April 15, 2009.

We must say that we went in with no expectations and we truly enjoyed ourselves. Being a same sex couple, we never felt out of place. Other vacationeers and staff were very nice towards us. We would definitely stay here again if the price is right.

One thing to be aware of. When you check-in, before the bellboy takes your luggage to your room, you are taken over to a desk where the timeshare people appear to be legitimate hotel staff. They wear Temptation Resort polo shirts with Temptation Resort ID tags. However, these people are all involved with the timeshare scam. You sit down with them and they tell you a bit about the hotel facilities but then comes the "kicker". You are invited for a "free breakfast" plus a tour of the facilities. Don't do it unless you want to waste 3 hours of your vacation time being hounded by tricksters trying to sell you timeshares. The atmosphere is like the New York Stock Exchange, prices go up and down. And the tricksters are very aggressive and do not take no for an answer. So what I am saying,is do not get tricked into going to these free breakfast/ hotel tours. Just simply meet with your tour representative for an orientation.

That being said, we did enjoy are week long vacation at the Temptation Resort.

Rooms: we loved our room. Beds were comfortable, good shower, plenty of storage and flat screen T.V. A/C worked good. We stayed at the quiet area of the resort..

Food: For a 4star resort, the food were actually quite good. We ate breakfast at the buffet, we ate lunch at margarita's grill ( a la carte ). For dinner, we ate a la carte every night. The Seafood, Asian, Italian and the Asian were excellent restaurants.

Staff: very friendly and they worked very hard.

Pools: We lounged at the quiet, relaxing pool as the sexy pool was way too loud and crowded. One thing that the resort needs to do is to invest in more lounge chairs as we had to reserve our chairs by 7am everyday.

Well, like we said eariler, we would stay here again if the price is right. Plus the Adults Only feature appealed to us.

Two Bears from Toronto Canada
Al and Erick

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Al and Erick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2009

We were are at Temptation for the first time the last week of March. My wife and I, along with my sister and brother-in-law had an awesome time. We met so many great people all there for a great time. Some go to further extremes than others, but they put absolutely no pressure on you to do anything you feel uncomfortable with. The staff was great! The food was above average and thank God for the 24hr Hamburgers at the main bar, Brilliant!! The grounds and room were nice, besides, the last thing your going to want to do is hang out in your room all day. The atmosphere was killer, really no reason to leave at night to go out. We stayed 5 days and never went outside the resort for nightlife, you just don't have to.
The beer drinking contest at the pool was great, and this particular week it was won by an American, yes I was Mr. Alcohalic this week and Mr. Tempation. I would like to say hi to all the cool people we met, Big Poppy and his wife from Boston, Ms. Texas and her Hubby, Stifflers mom from France and her husband, and my Car girl and all her friends from Michigan.
All in all I can't wait to go back next March and Nice Shoes!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IndianaStiffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2009

Read most of the reviews and most seem fairly accurate except for those which say this was the worst trip of their lives blah blah blah. I went with 20 friends and we all had a good experience.
The only difference between the more balanced reviews are the ratings which vary between 3-4

Good
Clean rooms and establishment
Friendly staff arrange fun games
Restaurants are great and 1 restaurant is open from 10-4 so u can escape mediocre buffet. Restaurants at night are great
Good for sports if you have a big group. Vball, Water Vball, Waterpolo
Very easy to get drinks and they are ok. Not great but nowhere as bad as others make them out to be
Arrange trips to bars every night for those interested
No real need to tip. If u want bring some 1s but tipping appears to make no difference in service. Staff was great either way
Good gym w/ cardio and weights. Open all hrs

Bad
Buffet is average at very best but see above for restaurants which are far better
Forget sports unless you have a big group. Most ppl just interested in pool lounging
Forget getting a chair by pool unless up by 8
Internet is 5 for 1/2 hr
My room was fine but some of my friends rooms had the dreaded "window to the bathroom". Cant figure out why anyone would design this intentionally. Maybe Mexicans enjoy watching ppl take a dump from bed? Minor complaint though
Have to reserve restaurants. Otherwise they tell u they are busy while 1/2 tables are empty, Not an issue as long as u book ahead from 10-12

Depends
There are lots of older ppl here letting it all "hang out". Dont come here if you are below 30 looking for a "spring break" experience or lots of hot young college babes. (Maybe during spring break but not at other times) You will be sore ly disappointed.
It is a "swinging" environment for more mature ppl (30-50) This may disturb you or you may welcome it. I just found it amusing
The games that the staff organize are sexual in nature. e.g. Grab a partner and simulate as many sex positions in 45 sec. This place is not for prudes. Otherwise the games are hilarious I thought

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank darrenjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lnasing Mi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2009

We loved it here this was our 4th trip to Temptations/ Blue Bay, People are real friendly and the service has always been great.
We enjoyed the pool entertainment, we didn't venture out the clubs at night, but did visit the markets downtown and found great deals.
I was reading some of the reviews and had to post one of my own. We have never seen bugs or mold in the rooms, we have always enjoyed the food and entertainment. We also see a lot of the same people there from year to year.
We actaully go In December every year for my birthday, to get away from the cold and enjoy drinking, eating and the sun

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NancyAnne48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
17.4 mi away
Desire Riviera Maya Resort
Desire Riviera Maya Resort
#2 of 32 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
3.0 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,572 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,572 reviews
6.6 mi away
Grand Oasis Sens
Grand Oasis Sens
#78 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,597 reviews
5.0 mi away
Grand Oasis Cancun
Grand Oasis Cancun
#88 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temptation Cancun Resort.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temptation Cancun Resort.

Property: Temptation Cancun Resort.
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 3.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Temptation Resort Spa Cancun)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Temptation Cancun Resort. 4.5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 384-room Temptation Resort Spa welcomes singles and couples to a hip and sexy take on the all-inclusive holiday. The topless optional, over-21 atmosphere gets you invigorated and refreshed. Amenities include three swimming pools each with a different theme (action packed, relaxation and sports), Jacuzzis, beach, five restaurants, six bars, fitness center, spa, beauty salon, nightly entertainment, room service, 24-hour meal service and daily activity programs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Temptation Cancun Resort. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temptation Hotel Cancun
Temptation Resort Cancun
Blue Bay Mexico
Temptations Cancun
Blue Bay Resort Cancun
Temptation Resort Spa Cancun
Blue Bay Cancun Mexico
Temptations Resort Cancun
Blue Bay Getaway Spa Cancun
Temptation Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing