We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading and a bit disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Temptation Cancun Resort
Ranked #3 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
ottawa, ontario
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Misleading and a bit disappointing”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We are a couple in our 60's, and were at Temptations from March 23-30. We thoroughly enjoyed the food, the service, and the drinks. I do wonder, though, why a Mexican resort wouldn't stock the bars with Mezcal.......it's somewhat akin to an Irish pub not carrying Guiness.
On the other hand, we were disappointed with the "adult" theme (or lack thereof) of the resort. When the "sexy pool" consists of perhaps 20% of the female guests going topless, it hardly seems to us to be the kind of "daring to be tempted" experience that we anticipated from the resort's advertising. We had expected a truly adventerous environment; what we saw was more reminiscent of a somewhat dull frat party. Are bare breasts really in the "nobody knows you, and nobody gives a [--]" category? (By the way, that's Temptations' wording, not mine....)
We found the entertainment to be mediocre at best. A Michael Jackson lip-synch? Really--they can't do better than that?
Perhaps the DJ's at Paddy-O's might notice that when they're running their club/trance/whatever tracks, they get a few people up on their feet. However, the night that the live band played, everybody was up-----gen-xers, boomers, the whole lot. And this was to a band that opened with CCR, did some Santana and Doors, and some great R&B. Maybe the "entertainment committee" needs to tailor the playlists to their audience.
SO----to sum it up, we found the resort itself to be top notch, at least as far the facilities went. However, we found the atmosphere and theme to be somewhat tame and a bit dull. So, unless Temptations decide to amp up its gig, I think it's back to Hedo and Desire for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ottawaskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,836
    1,416
    515
    290
    262
See reviews for
52
2,284
187
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (966)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brewer, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We went to Temptations for a week in March, not knowing what to expect after reading all the reviews. We are in our late 50's and weren't sure if this would be a place for us. I have to say,we did thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the staff are second to none, very attentive, we never had to wait for a drink or anything else for that matter. The Temptations resort can truly be anything you want it to be. If you want to party all the time, it is there, if you want a peaceful relaxing vacation that too is there. We went for a a quiet relaxing vacation and was very happy with this resort. We did upgrade to a ocean front with huge balcony and truly loved our room and view. It was extremely quiet, and then when we wanted to have entertainment we simply went over to that side of the resort. I did notice that there was some of every age group there.

Housekeeping kept our rooms stocked and clean, plus they left towel animals every day. I will say that is probably helps to tip the staff, they work very hard (any who does like tips)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Carroll B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I travelled with a group of three friends (aged 28) to Temptation Resort (March 18-25) and we had a fantastic time! The resort is non-stop fun. Lots of partying.
The food was excellent. We never had a bad meal. We only made it to the buffet for breakfast a few times, but it was solid. For lunch we frequented the Mexican restaurant which is located next to the buffet. The food there is great. We especially enjoyed the beef burrito and fajitas. For dinner, you can't go wrong anywhere. The italian restaurant & asian require reservations, but both are worth lining up for. The steakhouse and seafood restaurant have lots of dish options, although we preferred the seafood restaurant.
The staff, including bartenders, entertainment staff and maids are all fantastic. Very friendly.
The resort advertises they have 3 pools, but the sports pool is hardly ever used. The quiet pool is great for hangovers, but the sexy pool is where all the action is during the day. The entertainment staff do a great job of keeping people entertained.
Our favourite thing to do was talk to the other guests. Thanks to all of the repeat guests who showed us how things work around the resort. I met numerous people who I will stay in contact with for years to come. Big thanks to Sam from Manchester for all the help.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Went to Temptations for my Birthday in February 6-16
Had an awesome time there!

Keep in mind, this is an ADULTS resort and you do have to be OPEN MINDED to be there!
A lot of nudity all around, the games are adult like games, but a lot of fun! (don't play if you don't want to get naked lol) we had the premier membership privileges which helped us out a lot! otherwise you might have to wait at the bar to get a drink and wake up early to get a chair near the pool...
It's 90% couples, wouldn't really recommend to go as a single guy..
Highly recommend if you want something different and to be able to be YOUR SELF!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank babario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste Marie Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We just returned from Temptation (travelled March 14-21, 2013). Had a great time -enjoyed and laughed at the daily entertainment -specifically the other guests. Can tell you that the drinks are definitely not watered down. The first night, we were given a suite with two bathrooms and a living area which we did not book. We haven't ever had such a large wonderful room we thought, until the evening hours arrived. We overlooked the main Bar Paty O's which was open until 6 am with loud music, flashing lights and happy intoxicated guests. The music stopped at 2 however people enjoyed themselves hooting until 5:30 am. The next morning, we went to the front desk and said we could not handle the noise and requested another room. After looking at a few rooms, we received a much better room in the 1200 building (sooo much quieter). We spent much of our mornings and afternoons at the quiet pool and/or the beach by the quiet pool. We would check the activity board and go to the sexy pool to see some of the activities. They were hilarious watching. We never participated other than cheering the participants on. If you go there you need to be open minded and nonjudgemental!!! We met many people there that were from all over -New Brunswick, Edmonton, Nova Scotia, PEI, Colorado, Florida, Michigan......you name it, they were there. The restaurants were very good --had to ensure we ordered more than one entree to fill us up but the waiters had no issues with us doing so. They were so polite and catered to us without hesitation. My only minor complaint would be the temperture of the pools --a bit on the chilly side, however they were getting warmer as the week went on because the temperture overall of the days were getting warmer. I need to give extra Kudos to the bartenders at the bikini bar (especially Pablo). They were the BEST!! We brought our Bubbas to drink from during the day and it didn't matter if we ordered soft drinks or daiquiris, they filled them up with a smile. A few new drinks I enjoyed were the paralyzer and the mango tango however most often it was strawberry/banana daquiris. After spending the day in the sun, we enjoyed a nice meal (the carribean restaurant for surf and turf was our favourite), went to the entertainment activities, then went to Paty O's and partied there until whenever. Our room was always cleaned very well and the bed was amazingly comfortable. If you read anything negative, please ignore it because we had a great time!!!

Room Tip: We were in the 1200 building which was close to everything and quiet. The A/C was good, lots of hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank saultontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

been here when it was blue bay.coudnt fault it then. dissappointed with temptations! boring, boring, boring, more for young excitable people, who like to drink allday, like ibiza, hotel theme is more for younger guest, need a lot of money for clubbing every night out of hotel, does not cater now for everyone, entertainment needs looking at, food good ,allways something to eat, but boring, this is not the adult theme is was!!! ie ;swingers etc ,etc, wont be going back, sorry temptations you have changed ,and not for the better. cancun is trying to be the new acapulco, very expensive.

Room Tip: dont go near pattys bar noisy till early hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pancake_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new brunswick, canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We went on Feb 24-March 3, 2013. The hotel staff was ok, Fisrt room wonderful but directly overtop of the entrance that was our only issue. Second room nice but not as nice as the first but we were ok with this because they moved us quite quickly. The Entertainment staff and welcoming returning vacationers has made this trip a wonderful vacation. I have never been to such an open resort in my life and because of this I enjoyed the time with my husband completely. the tone of the whole vacation began on Sunday when we saw the pool games. The entertainment staff were so engaging that we laughed and loved all week. The evening entertainment was great as well. I participated in the lingerie and other night shows. If you think you may want to partcipate sit in the front row. An open mind you definity need but please go and enjoy. The evening entertainment was also very erotic to me but not so much that even a prude might enjoy:) The food was not the greatest but please overlook and GO!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bbkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
4.3 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
3.0 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,874 reviews
5.0 mi away
Grand Oasis Cancun
Grand Oasis Cancun
#90 of 175 in Cancun
6,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
4.3 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
6.6 mi away
Grand Oasis Sens
Grand Oasis Sens
#85 of 175 in Cancun
5,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temptation Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temptation Cancun Resort

Property: Temptation Cancun Resort
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 3.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Temptation Resort Spa Cancun)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Temptation Cancun Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Temptation Cancun Resort, “The Playground for Grown-Ups”, caters to adults only (21+), offering a vibrant and passion-infused, topless-optional environment for the chic, the confident and the free-spirited traveler. Designed by Karim Rashid, Temptation offers 426 rooms and suites, plus newly innovated guest areas. There are seven specialized restaurants, 5 bars and a gourmet cafe. The property also features a spectacular spa & sophisticated fitness center. Temptation Cancun Resort… “The Playground for Grown-Ups”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelPower, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Temptation Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temptation Hotel Cancun
Temptation Resort Cancun
Blue Bay Mexico
Temptations Cancun
Blue Bay Resort Cancun
Temptation Resort Spa Cancun
Blue Bay Cancun Mexico
Temptations Resort Cancun
Blue Bay Getaway Spa Cancun
Temptation Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing